DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits in response to communications on 8/26/2026. Claims 1 is cancelled. Claims 2-19 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/6/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/26/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Non-English documents have been considered in as much as the drawings and translated portions provided therein (See MPEP 609).
Documents listed but not submitted are found with parent application 18525278.
Foreign patent document and/or NPL(s) listed but not submitted and not found is/are lined through and not considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 10-12, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Oren et al. (US 20200000367) in view of PACHECO et al. (US 20140243742).
Regarding claim 2, Oren et al. teaches:
A robotic interventional device control system comprising:
a first interventional device;
a second interventional device concentrically nested within the first interventional device;
a controller configured to control axial movement and/or rotational movement of the first interventional device and the second interventional device;
a sensor system configured to detect a first position of the first interventional device and a second position of the second interventional device;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath)
one or more hardware processors configured to generate a user interface, the user interface comprising an instrument window, the instrument window comprising:
a first visual representation of the first interventional device, the first visual representation comprising a first visual indication of a first distal end of the first interventional device; and
a second visual representation of the second interventional device, the second visual representation comprising a second visual indication of a second distal end of the second interventional device, wherein the second visual indication of the second distal end of the second interventional device is positioned relative to the first visual indication of the first distal end of the first interventional device at a distance correlated to a distance between the second distal end of the second interventional device and the first distal end of the first interventional device during movement of the second interventional device relative to the first interventional device based on the detected first and second positions received from the sensor system; and
a display configured to display the user interface;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath; figs 4A-5C [0055]-[0068] showed and discussed displaying catheter, sheath…)
For purpose of compact prosecution, if Applicant intended the controller to be a remote controller, then in addition and in the alternative, PACHECO et al. teaches:
a controller configured to control axial movement and/or rotational movement;
(at least figs, 2, 10 [0026]-[0031] [0056]-[0057] discussed remote controller 224) so an operator may control each of these degrees of freedom ([0026]-[0031] [0056]-[0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of Oren et al. with controller configured to control rotational movement of the interventional device as taught by PACHECO et al. so an operator may control each of these degrees of freedom.
Regarding claim 3, Oren et al. teaches:
wherein the instrument window further comprises an interventional device marker associated with the first visual representation or the second visual representation;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath; figs 4A-5C [0055]-[0068] showed and discussed displaying catheter, sheath…)
Regarding claim 10, Oren et al. teaches:
wherein the first visual representation of the first interventional device and the second visual representation of the second interventional extend along a central longitudinal axis;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath; figs 4A-5C [0055]-[0068] showed and discussed displaying catheter, sheath…)
Regarding claim 11, Oren et al. teaches:
wherein the first interventional device is associated with a first identifier and the second interventional device is associated with a second identifier, wherein the sensor system comprises one or more sensors configured to identify the first interventional device based on the first identifier and the second interventional device based on the second identifier;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath; figs 4A-5C [0055]-[0068] showed and discussed displaying catheter, sheath…)
Regarding claim 12, Oren et al. teaches:
wherein the instrument window comprises:
a first interventional device marker associated with the first visual representation and configured to indicate a type of the first interventional device based on the identification of the first interventional device by the one or more sensors; and
a second interventional device marker associated with the second visual representation and configured to indicate a type of the second interventional device based on the identification of the second interventional device by the one or more sensors;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath; figs 4A-5C [0055]-[0068] showed and discussed displaying catheter, sheath…)
Regarding claim 17, Oren et al. teaches:
wherein the first visual indication corresponds to a shape of the first distal end of the first interventional device and the second visual indication corresponds to a shape of the second distal end of the second interventional device;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath; figs 4A-5C [0055]-[0068] showed and discussed displaying catheter, sheath…)
Regarding claim 18, Oren et al. teaches:
wherein the shape of the first visual indication and the shape of the second visual indication are different from each other;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath; figs 4A-5C [0055]-[0068] showed and discussed displaying catheter, sheath…)
Regarding claim 19, Oren et al. teaches:
wherein the distance correlated to a distance between the second distal end of the second interventional device and the first distal end of the first interventional device is a scaled distance relative to the distance between the second distal end of the second interventional device and the first distal end of the first interventional device;
(at least figs. 1-5C [0024]-[0071] discussed catheter system 110, catheter, introducer sheath, handle, computer system 115, sensing/tracking catheter with the introducer, displaying; in particular [0051]-[0054] discussed sensing of catheter and introducer sheath; figs 4A-5C [0055]-[0068] showed and discussed displaying catheter, sheath…)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oren et al. (US 20200000367) in view of PACHECO et al. (US 20140243742) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Amit et al. (US 8876726).
Regarding claim 4, Oren et al. does not explicitly teach:
wherein the interventional device marker comprising a radial progress indicator configured to provide a visual indication of a degree of rotation relative to a threshold of the first interventional device or the second interventional device about a longitudinal axis;
However, Amit et al. teaches:
wherein the interventional device marker comprising a radial progress indicator configured to provide a visual indication of a degree of rotation relative to a threshold of the first interventional device or the second interventional device about a longitudinal axis;
(at least figs. 1-3, 5, col 3 line 15 to col 6 line 25, col 7 line 10-65 discussed processor 48, catheter being rotated about its longitudinal axis, sensors 66 to sense catheter rotation, display 52, arrow 68, alphanumeric field 67, indicating if catheter is being rotated in recommended direction or non-recommended direction) to identify rotation (col 3 line 15 to col 6 line 25, col 7 line 10-65)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of Oren et al. with wherein the interventional device marker comprising a radial progress indicator configured to provide a visual indication of a degree of rotation relative to a threshold of the first interventional device or the second interventional device about a longitudinal axis as taught by Amit et al. to identify rotation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 13-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
West et al. (US 20190290368) discussed tracking relative position of catheter and sheath and catheter and guidewire ([0047]] [0060]).
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3656
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656