Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-8 refer to "An image decoding method”, Claim 9 refers to "An image encoding method”, and, Claim 10 refers to "A method for transmitting a bitstream”. Claims 9-10 are similarly rejected in light of rejection of claims 1-8, any obvious combination of the rejection of claims 1-8, or the differences are obvious to the ordinary skill in the art. It is well known in the art that encoding and decoding are reverse processes of video coding method/system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20160241868 A1), hereinafter Li, in view of Ye et al. (US 20100086049 A1), hereinafter Ye, further in view of Jeon et al. (US 20160269730 A1), hereinafter Jeon.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an image decoding method, comprising (Abstract): and (Fig. 18).
Li discloses all the elements of claim 1 but Li does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section obtaining, from a first level of a bitstream, one or more flags indicating whether one or more second transforms are applicable for
However, Ye from the same or similar endeavor teaches obtaining, from a first level of a bitstream, one or more flags indicating whether one or more second transforms are applicable for ([0024], [0061]-[0080], combination of flags, could be layers of flags).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li to incorporate the teachings of Ye to have a low bit rate syntax (Ye, [0024). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Li in view of Ye discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section indicating whether a transform process for the current block is omitted; determining whether the transform process for the current block is omitted based on the information; and transforming the current block based on the determined results, wherein the information is obtained when a size of the current block is less than a predetermined value.
However, Jeon from the same or similar endeavor teaches indicating whether a transform process for the current block is omitted; determining whether the transform process for the current block is omitted based on the information; and transforming the current block based on the determined results, wherein the information is obtained when a size of the current block is less than a predetermined value (Fig. 3-4, [0017]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li in view of Ye to incorporate the teachings of Jeon to improve compression rate and image quality (Jeon, Abstract). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Ye discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein a number of the one or more additional transforms is 2 or more (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Ye discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the first level is a sequence level or a picture level of the bitstream (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Ye discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the second level is a block level of the bitstream (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Ye discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein an additional transform, among the one or more additional transforms, performed on the current block is determined based on a block partition mode of the current block (Ye, Fig. 18, Li, [0061]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Ye discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein an additional transform, among the one or more additional transforms, performed on the current block is determined based on an encoding mode of the current block (Ye, Fig. 18, Li, [0061]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Ye discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein an additional transform, among the one or more additional transforms, performed on the current block is determined based on an intra prediction mode of the current block (Ye, Fig. 18, Li, [0056], [0061]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Ye discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, further comprising: deriving a quantization parameter prediction value for the current block based on a quantization parameter set at a unit higher than the current block or a quantization parameter set at the same unit as the current block; and deriving the transform coefficient based on the quantization parameter prediction value and a quantization parameter difference value for the current block, wherein the quantization parameter difference value is obtained from the bitstream based on first information included in the bitstream (Ye, Fig. 18, [0056], Li, [0056], [0061]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 9-10, See Examiner’s Note.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad J Rahman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487