DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed features:
1) "the outer stabilizing element is formed in a substantially rounded triangular shape" in claim 1;
2) "the outer stabilizing element extends from the heel region to a ball region of the article of footwear disposed within the forefoot region" in claim 13;
3) "outer stabilizing element includes a first portion and a second portion, the first portion of the outer stabilizing element being separated from the second portion of the outer stabilizing element along the bite line such that the first portion of the outer stabilizing element supports a lateral side of the upper and the second portion supports a lateral side of the midsole" in claim 14;
4) "wherein the second portion of the outer stabilizing element includes a relief" in claim 15; and
5) "the outer stabilizing element is formed as a rounded triangle" in claim 20,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: "494" in para. 0039, and "504" in para. 0056. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “18” has been used to designate both anterior end 18 of footwear 10 and a heel region 18 of the first sidewall (paras. 0025, 0043). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because: the description to Fig. 6A in para. 0056 0059 is not consistent with the depiction in Fig. 6A. For example, the description in para. 0056 states: [the third intersecting region 1016 disposed anterior to each of the first intersecting region 1012 and the second intersecting region 1014." However, Fig. 6A depicts the opposite. Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because: the description to Fig. 7A in para. 0059 is not consistent with the depiction in Fig. 7A. For example, the description in para. 0059 includes: "[t]he outer stabilizing element 1000 includes the first edge 1010 extending a first length
1000acL between the first point 1000a and the second point 1000b, the second edge 1020 extending a second length 1000abL between the third point 1000c and the second point 1000b, and a third edge 1030 extending a third length 1000cbL between the third point 1000c and the first point 1000a." At least the above definitions of 1000acL, 1000abL and 1000cbL do not match Fig. 7A.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
In claim 14, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "wherein outer stabilizing element includes a first portion and a second portion, the first portion of the outer stabilizing element being separated from the second portion of the outer stabilizing element along the bite line such that the first portion of the outer stabilizing element supports a lateral side of the upper and the second portion supports a lateral side of the midsole, and wherein the first portion of the outer stabilizing element is comprised of a material that is more flexible than a material of the second portion of the outer stabilizing element";
In claim 15, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "wherein the second portion of the outer stabilizing element includes a relief".
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6, 11, 14, 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, lines 9-11, "between .5x and .9x the first length" appears to read "between 0.5 and 0.9 times the first length" or "between 50% and 90% of the first length", and between "between.1x and .5x the first length" appears to read "between 0.1 and 0.5 times the first length" or "between 10% and 50% of the first length";
In claim 6, line 1, ".5 inches" appears to read "0.5 inch";
In claim 11, line 2, ".5 inches" appears to read "0.5 inch;
In claim 11, line 4, ".05 inches" appears to read "0.05 inch";
In claim 14, line 1, "outer stabilizing element" should read "the outer stabilizing element";
In claim 16, line 3, "midfoot" should read "mid-foot";
In claim 17, line 3, ".01 inches" appears to read "0.01 inch";
In claim 17, line 5, "midfoot" should read "mid-foot".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole". The claim has previously defined "the upper including an outer side surface" and "the midsole including an outer side surface". It is unclear whether the limitation is referring to the previously defined outer side surfaces of the upper and the midsole or different outer side surface(s). Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the outer side surface of the upper and the outer side surface of the midsole.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a substantially rounded triangular shape". First, the term "substantially" is a term of approximation, which is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree. Second, the term "rounded" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining what shapes are considered to be "rounded triangular". Taken together, it is unclear what is included or excluded by "substantially rounded triangular"; e.g., how far a shape can be from a triangular shape to still be considered as a "substantially rounded triangular shape". Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained.
Claim 11 is indefinite as it depends from claim 11 itself. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a rigid material". Claim 12 depends from claim 1, and claim 1 has set forth the outer stabilizing element including a fourth material. It is unclear whether the rigid material in the limitation is the fourth material or a different material. It is also noted that the phrase "formed of" has the same meaning of "composed of", and "composed of" has been interpreted as the same manner as either "consisting of" or "consisting essentially of". See MPEP 2111.03, Section IV. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of the fourth material, the fourth material being a rigid material.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "wherein the second portion of the outer stabilizing element includes a relief". It is unclear what is being referred to by the term "relief". Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "an end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the heel region". The claim depends from claim 1, and claim 1 has defined the outer stabilizing element "extending from a first end disposed in a heel region of the article of footwear to a second end disposed in a mid-foot region of the article of footwear". It is unclear whether "an end" in the limitation refers to the previously defined first end or a different end. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the first end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the heel region of the article of footwear.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "an end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the midfoot region". The claim depends from claim 1, and claim 1 has defined the outer stabilizing element "extending from a first end disposed in a heel region of the article of footwear to a second end disposed in a mid-foot region of the article of footwear". It is unclear whether "an end" in the limitation refers to the previously defined second end or a different end. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the second end disposed in the mid-foot region of the article of footwear.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of thermoplastic polyurethane". Claim 18 depends from claim 1, and claim 1 has set forth the outer stabilizing element including a fourth material. It is unclear whether the rigid material in the limitation is the fourth material or a different material. It is also noted that the phrase "formed of" has the same meaning of "composed of", and "composed of" has been interpreted as the same manner as either "consisting of" or "consisting essentially of". See MPEP 2111.03, Section IV. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of the fourth material, the fourth material being thermoplastic polyurethane.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole". The claim has previously defined "the upper including an outer side surface" and "the midsole including an outer side surface". It is unclear the limitation is referring to the previously defined outer side surfaces of the upper and the midsole or different outer side surface(s). Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the outer side surface of the upper and the outer side surface of the midsole.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole". The claim has previously defined "the upper including an outer side surface" and "the midsole including an outer side surface". It is unclear the limitation is referring to the previously defined outer side surfaces of the upper and the midsole or different outer side surface(s). Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the outer side surface of the upper and the outer side surface of the midsole.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "from the first end to the second end". There is insufficient antecedent basis "the first end" and "the second end" in the claim. It is also unclear what the limitation refers to in the context of of the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the outer stabilizing element extending from a first end to a second end.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "a rounded triangular shape". The term "rounded" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining what shapes are considered to be "rounded triangular". It is unclear what is included or excluded by "rounded triangular"; e.g., how far a shape can be from a triangular shape to still be considered as a "rounded triangular shape". Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained.
The remaining claims each depend from a rejected base claim and are likewise rejected.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to contain a reference to a claim previously set forth. Claim 11 depends from claim 11 itself. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kormann (US 2016/0302508 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kormann discloses an article of footwear (sports shoe 100; fig. 1; paras. 0032, 0075) comprising:
a lateral side and a medial side disposed opposite the lateral side (the shoe having both a lateral side and a medial side; fig. 1; paras. 0060-0061);
a forefoot region (see annotated fig. 1), a mid-foot region (see annotated fig. 1), and a heel region (see annotated fig. 1);
an upper (upper 120; fig. 1; para. 0075) configured to receive a foot of a wearer of the article of footwear (as being a sports shoe; fig. 1; para. 0032), the upper formed of a first material (TPU with a hardness of 64D; para. 0079), and the upper including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
a sole structure (sole 110; fig. 1; para. 0075) connected to the upper along a bite line (see annotated fig. 1) of the article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
a midsole (midsole 111; fig. 1; para. 0076) coupled to the upper (fig. 1; para. 0076), the midsole comprised of a second material (expanded TPU with a hardness of 80A; para. 0076) different from the first material (as discussed above; paras. 0076, 0079), and the midsole including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
an outsole (outsole 112; fig. 1; para. 0076) coupled to the midsole (fig. 1; para. 0076), the outsole including a ground-contacting surface (at the bottom; fig. 1; paras. 0076, 0078), the outsole including a third material (TPU with a hardness of 60 A; para. 0076) different from each of the first material and the second material (as discussed above; paras. 0076, 0079), and the outsole including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
an outer stabilizing element (a triangular portion of heel counter 124; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0078) including a fourth material (TPU with 95 A; para. 0078) different from each of the first material, the second material, and the third material (as discussed above; paras. 0076, 0078, 0079), the outer stabilizing element coupled to an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole (either directly or indirectly; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0082),
wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed in a substantially rounded triangular shape (see annotated fig. 1) to support the upper and the midsole of the article of footwear through each of the heel region and the mid-foot region (see annotated fig. 1; para. 0078).
Annotated Fig. 1 from US 2016/0302508 A1
Regarding claim 2, Kormann discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outer stabilizing element is disposed solely on the lateral side of the article of footwear (the heel counter only provided in a lateral region; paras. 0023, 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 4, Kormann discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outsole is a cleated plate (in a form of a plate provided with separate profile elements to provide traction and abrasion resistance; fig. 1; para. 0076).
Regarding claim 18, Kormann discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a thermoplastic polyurethane (para. 0078).
Regarding claim 19, Kormann discloses an article of footwear (sports shoe 100; fig. 1; paras. 0032, 0075) comprising:
a lateral side and a medial side disposed opposite the lateral side (the shoe having both a lateral side and a medial side; fig. 1; paras. 0060-0061);
a forefoot region (see annotated fig. 1), a mid-foot region (see annotated fig. 1), and a heel region (see annotated fig. 1);
an upper (upper 120; fig. 1; para. 0075) configured to receive a foot of a wearer of the article of footwear (as being a sports shoe; fig. 1; para. 0032), the upper including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
a sole structure connected to the upper (sole 110; fig. 1; para. 0075), the sole structure comprising:
a midsole (midsole 111; fig. 1; para. 0076) coupled to the upper (fig. 1; para. 0076), the midsole including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
an outsole (outsole 112; fig. 1; para. 0076) coupled to the midsole (fig. 1; para. 0076), the outsole including a ground-contacting surface (at the bottom; fig. 1; paras. 0076, 0078), and the outsole including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
an outer stabilizing element (a triangular portion of heel counter 124; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0078) extending from a first end disposed in a heel region of the article of footwear to a second end disposed in a mid-foot region of the article of footwear (see annotated fig. 1), the outer stabilizing element coupled to an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole from the first end to the second end (either directly or indirectly; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0082),
wherein the outer stabilizing element includes at least two intersecting regions (see annotated fig. 1) where the outer stabilizing element intersects a bite line of the article of footwear (see annotated fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Kormann discloses an article of footwear (sports shoe 100; fig. 1; paras. 0032, 0075) comprising:
a lateral side and a medial side disposed opposite the lateral side (the shoe having both a lateral side and a medial side; fig. 1; paras. 0060-0061);
a forefoot region (see annotated fig. 1), a mid-foot region (see annotated fig. 1), and a heel region (see annotated fig. 1);
an upper (upper 120; fig. 1; para. 0075) configured to receive a foot of a wearer of the article of footwear (as being a sports shoe; fig. 1; para. 0032), the upper including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
a sole structure connected to the upper (sole 110; fig. 1; para. 0075), the sole structure comprising:
a midsole (midsole 111; fig. 1; para. 0076) coupled to the upper (fig. 1; para. 0076), the midsole including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
an outsole (outsole 112; fig. 1; para. 0076) coupled to the midsole (fig. 1; para. 0076), the outsole including a ground-contacting surface (at the bottom; fig. 1; paras. 0076, 0078), and the outsole including an outer side surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
an outer stabilizing element (a triangular portion of heel counter 124; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0078) coupled to an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole from the first end to the second end (either directly or indirectly; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0082), wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed as a rounded triangle (see annotated fig. 1) with a first side (see annotated fig. 1) extending along the upper (see annotated fig. 1), a second side (see annotated fig. 1) extending along the midsole (see annotated fig. 1), and a third side extending from the midsole to the upper (see annotated fig. 1).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatfield (US 2013/0104423 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Hatfield, in a first embodiment, discloses an article of footwear (golf shoe 5800; figs. 58A-58E; para. 0319) comprising:
a lateral side (fig. 58D; para. 0319) and a medial side (fig. 58C; para. 0319) disposed opposite the lateral side (figs. 58A-58D);
a forefoot region, a mid-foot region, and a heel region (figs. 58A-58E);
an upper (upper 5802; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319) configured to receive a foot of a wearer of the article of footwear (figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319), the upper including an outer side surface (figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319); and
a sole structure (sole structure 5804; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319) connected to the upper (figs. 58A-58D), the sole structure comprising:
a midsole (midsole 5820; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0323) coupled to the upper (figs. 58A-58D), the midsole including an outer side surface (figs. 58A-58D); and
an outsole (outsole components 5834, 5836, 5838, 5840, 5842, 5844; figs. 58A-58E; paras. 0328-0329) coupled to the midsole (fig. 58E; paras. 0328-0329), the outsole including a ground-contacting surface (fig. 58E; paras. 0328-0329), and the outsole including an outer side surface (fig. 58E); and
an outer stabilizing element (a portion of side perimeter support 5818; see annotated fig. 58C; para. 0322) extending from a first end disposed in a heel region of the article of footwear (see annotated fig. 58C) to a second end disposed in a mid-foot region of the article of footwear (the support 5818 may end in a forefoot region; fig. 58C; para. 0322), the outer stabilizing element coupled to an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole from the first end to the second end (fig. 58C; para. 0322),
wherein the outer stabilizing element includes at least two intersecting regions (see annotated fig. 58C) where the outer stabilizing element intersects a bite line of the article of footwear (see annotated fig. 58C).
Annotated Fig. 58C from US 2013/0104423 A1
Regarding claim 20, Hatfield discloses an article of footwear (golf shoe 5800; figs. 58A-58E; para. 0319) comprising:
a lateral side (fig. 58D; para. 0319) and a medial side (fig. 58C; para. 0319) disposed opposite the lateral side (figs. 58A-58D);
a forefoot region, a mid-foot region, and a heel region (figs. 58A-58E);
an upper (upper 5802; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319) configured to receive a foot of a wearer of the article of footwear (figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319), the upper including an outer side surface (figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319); and
a sole structure (sole structure 5804; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319) connected to the upper (figs. 58A-58D), the sole structure comprising:
a midsole (midsole 5820; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0323) coupled to the upper (figs. 58A-58D), the midsole including an outer side surface (figs. 58A-58D); and
an outsole (outsole components 5834, 5836, 5838, 5840, 5842, 5844; figs. 58A-58E; paras. 0328-0329) coupled to the midsole (fig. 58E; paras. 0328-0329), the outsole including a ground-contacting surface (fig. 58E; paras. 0328-0329), and the outsole including an outer side surface (fig. 58E); and
an outer stabilizing element (a portion of side perimeter support 5818; see annotated fig. 58C; para. 0322) coupled to an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole from the first end to the second end (see annotated fig. 58C; para. 0323), wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed as a rounded triangle (see annotated fig. 58C) with a first side extending along the upper (see annotated fig. 58C), a second side extending along the midsole (see annotated fig. 58C), and a third side extending from the midsole to the upper (see annotated fig. 58C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kormann (US 2016/0302508 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kormann discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, except for wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a transparent material. However, Kormann does disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a thermoplastic polyurethane material (paras. 0032, 0078). In addition, Applicant has not disclosed that such a configuration solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose other than aesthetics. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified configured the outer stabilizing element as disclosed by Kormann, with wherein the TPU for the the outer stabilizing element is transparent, in order to provide a desired visual effect driven by fashion. It has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.04, Section I.
Regarding claim 16, Kormann discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outer stabilizing element tapers from an end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the heel region to an end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the midfoot region (see fig. 1).
Kormann does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element tapers outwardly. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a shoe generally widens from a rear end toward a mid-foot portion corresponding to the anatomical feature of a human foot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the shoe as disclosed by Kormann to be widening from a rear end to a mid-foot portion, in order to provide a shoe with a shape fitted with a human foot. By this configuration, the outer stabilizing element would taper outwardly from the end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the heel region to the end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the midfoot region.
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatfield (US 2013/0104423 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hatfield, in a first embodiment, discloses an article of footwear (golf shoe 5800; figs. 58A-58E; para. 0319) comprising:
a lateral side (fig. 58D; para. 0319) and a medial side disposed (fig. 58C; para. 0319) opposite the lateral side (figs. 58A-58D);
a forefoot region, a mid-foot region, and a heel region (figs. 58A-58E);
an upper (upper 5802; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319) configured to receive a foot of a wearer of the article of footwear (figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319), the upper formed of a first material (natural leathers, synthetic leathers, fabric or textile materials, spacer meshes; para. 0319), and the upper including an outer side surface (figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319); and
a sole structure (sole structure 5804; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0319) connected to the upper along a bite line of the article of footwear (figs. 58A-58D), the sole structure comprising:
a midsole (midsole 5820; figs. 58A-58D; para. 0323) coupled to the upper (figs. 58A-58D), the midsole comprised of a second material (a foam material such as polyurethane foam; para. 0323) different from the first material (para. 0323), and the midsole including an outer side surface (figs. 58A-58D); and
an outsole (outsole components 5834, 5836, 5838, 5840, 5842, 5844; figs. 58A-58E; paras. 0328-0329) coupled to the midsole (fig. 58E; paras. 0328-0329), the outsole including a ground-contacting surface (fig. 58E; paras. 0328-0329), the outsole including a third material (relative hard, durable, and abrasion resistant materials, such as thermoplastic rubbers, carbon fiber, PEBAX; para. 0329) different from each of the first material and the second material (as discussed above), and the outsole including an outer side surface (fig. 58E); and
an outer stabilizing element (a portion of side perimeter support 5818; see annotated fig. 58C; para. 0322) including a fourth material (polymeric foam or other polymeric materials; para. 0322), the outer stabilizing element coupled to an outer side surface of each of the upper and the midsole (fig. 58C; para. 0323),
wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed in a substantially rounded triangular shape (see annotated fig. 58C; para. 0323) to support the upper and the midsole of the article of footwear through each of the heel region and the mid-foot region (see annotated fig. 58C; para. 0323).
Hatfield does not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth material is different from each of the first material, the second material, and the third material. However, Hatfield does disclsoe wherein the fourth material may be selected from a large group of materials (polymeric foam or other polymeric materials; para. 0322). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the fourth material of the outer stabilizing element to be different from the first, second and third materials, in order to provide desired support for the lateral side of the wearer's foot during a golf swing and helps reduce excessive sinking and supination, particularly on the forward foot during the golfer's downswing (Hatfield; fig. 57A; para. 0317). Such a configuration would be considered as a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 1. Hatfield, in the first embodiment, does not disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element is disposed solely on the lateral side of the article of footwear. However, Hatfield, in a second embodiment, teaches wherein an outer stabilizing element (side support structure 5730; fig. 57B; para. 0318) is disposed solely on the lateral side of the article of footwear (fig. 57B; para. 0318). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the article of footwear as disclosed by Hatfield in the first embodiment, with wherein the outer stabilizing element is disposed solely on the lateral side of the article of footwear as taught by Hatfield in the second embodiment, in order to provide support for the lateral side of the wearer's foot during a golf swing and helps reduce excessive sinking and supination, particularly on the forward foot during the golfer's downswing (Hatfield; para. 0317).
Regarding claim 3, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, except for wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a transparent material. However, Hatfield does disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a polymer material (para. 0322). In addition, Applicant does not disclose that such a configuration solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose other than aesthetics. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified configured the outer stabilizing element as disclosed by Hatfield, with wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a transparent polymeric material, in order to provide a desired visual effect. It has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.04, Section I.
Regarding claim 4, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outsole is a cleated plate (see fig. 58E; para. 0330).
Regarding claim 5, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outer stabilizing element includes
a first side (see annotated fig. 58C) extending a first length (see annotated fig. 58C) between a first point (see annotated fig. 58C) of the outer stabilizing element disposed on the upper (see annotated fig. 58C) and a second point (see annotated fig. 58C) of the outer stabilizing element disposed at the bite line (see annotated fig. 58C) of the article of footwear between the midsole and the upper (see annotated fig. 58C),
a second side (see annotated fig. 58C) extending a second length (see annotated fig. 58C) between a third point (see annotated fig. 58C) of the outer stabilizing element disposed on the midsole (unitarily formed; para. 0323) and the second point of the outer stabilizing element (see annotated fig. 58C), and
a third side (see annotated fig. 58C) extending a third length between the third point of the outer stabilizing element and the first point of the outer stabilizing element (see annotated fig. 58C).
Hatfield does not explicitly disclose wherein the second length is between .5x and .9x the first length, and wherein the third length is between .1x and .5x the first length. However, the annotated Fig. 58C does appear to show the above feature. In addition, Hatfield discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the first length, the second length and the third length as claimed, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 5. Hatfield does not explicitly disclose wherein the first length is between .5 inches and 20 inches. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the first length is reasonably in the range when considering a normal human shoe size. In addition, Hatfield discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the first length as claimed, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the first side extending between the first point and the second point is concave when the article of footwear is viewed from an external vantage point (see the broken line between the first and second points in annotated fig. 58C).
Regarding claim 8, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the first point of the outer stabilizing element is disposed along a plane that is offset from a plane extending through the second point of the outer stabilizing element (vertical planes; annotated fig. 58C).
Regarding claim 9, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the third point of the outer stabilizing element is disposed along a plane that is offset from the plane extending through the second point of the outer stabilizing element (vertical planes; annotated fig. 58C).
Regarding claim 12, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 1. Hatfield does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a rigid material. However, Kormann does disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element may be formed from a polymer material which may be a rigid material (para. 0322). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the material of the outer stabilizing element to be a rigid material, in order to use a highly durable and non-deformable material for sufficient side support. Also, such a configuration would be considered as a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 13, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outer stabilizing element extends from the heel region to a ball region of the article of footwear disposed within the forefoot region (fig. 58C; para. 0322).
Regarding claim 16, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the outer stabilizing element tapers from an end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the heel region to an end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the midfoot region (the support 5818 may end in a midfoot region; fig. 58C; para. 0322).
Hatfield does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element tapers outwardly. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a shoe generally widens from a rear end toward a mid-foot portion corresponding to the anatomical feature of a human foot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the shoe as disclosed by Hatfield to be widening from a rear end to a mid-foot portion, in order to provide a shoe with a shape fitted with a human foot. By this configuration, the outer stabilizing element would taper outwardly from the end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the heel region to the end of the outer stabilizing element disposed in the midfoot region.
Regarding claim 18, Hatfield discloses the article of footwear of claim 1. Hatfield does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a thermoplastic polyurethane. However, Hatfield does disclose wherein the outer stabilizing element is formed of a polymer (para. 0322). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the material of the outer stabilizing element as claimed, in order to provide a highly durable and impact-resistant material for the outer stabilizing element. Such a configuration would be considered as a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Status of Claims
Pending claims 10-11, 14-15 and 17 are currently free of prior art rejections, but are questioned under objections and rejections as stated above. The claims should not be construed as reciting allowable subject matter. It is noted that substantive amendments to the claims may result in prior-art-based rejections in a future Office action, and all pending claims remain rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional relevant references cited on attached PTO-892 form(s) can be used to formulate a rejection if necessary. Frederick (US 4,354,318 A) can be a 102 reference for claim 19. Nakano (US 2001/0039745 A1) also teaches an article of footwear comprising an upper, a sole structure, and an outer stabilizing element coupled to an outer surface of the upper and an outer surface of the sole structure, the outer stabilizing element having a substantially rounded triangular shape.
/AIYING ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732