Claim Status
This office action is in response to the amendment and remarks submitted 7/31/2026.
Claim 15 has been amended; support [00184, 00187, 00241].
Claim 16 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are currently pending.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer of 7/31/2026 has been approved. The double patenting rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein et al. (US 2013/0043827 A1) in view of Yue et al. (US 2013/0236753 A1) and Farr (US 2416984).
As to claim 1, Weinstein discloses a portable power case comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) [0049, with the specific in 0042];
at least two leads (156 -distal end of cable having connection interface [0051]) connected to the PCB [0044];
at least one battery connected to the PCB [0054] (or figure 3 which show the schematic); and
wherein the at least two leads includes a wiring portion (cable 125a, 125b).
However, Weinstein fails to disclose:
a heat dissipating layer incorporated into the portable power case;
wherein a spring is provided around the wiring portion;
wherein the wiring portion and the spring are held in the portable power case such that a portion of the spring is positioned outside the portable power case, and another portion of the spring is positioned inside the portable power case.
Yue et al. discloses a battery module having an external case (thus a portable power case) which includes a heat dissipating layer coated on the inner surface of the exterior case [0053] [0057] discloses the heat dissipating layer of Al, Cu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include a heat dissipating coating to the casing of Weinstein because this would allow the heat formed by the batteries to the exterior of the casing and to control the temperature of the power device.
Farr is analogous to the instant application because both are drawn to prevent a cable from being damaged. To do this Farr discloses the use of a strain reliever 34 adapted to prevent sharp bends in the cord at the point that it leave the interior casing of the iron (col. 2 lines 41-52). The strain reliever is formed from a wire wound around the wire thus a spring and as seen from figure 5 the spring is located inside the housing and outside the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the spring to the power supply of Weinstein because this would prevent sharp bends in the cord.
As to claim 2. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 1, wherein the wiring portion of the lead and the spring are held securely in a channel (252) of a battery cover via a clamping mechanism [0060]. The cord is placed in the channel thus is clamped into place by the channel.
As to claim 3. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 1, but is silent to the wiring portion of the lead and the spring are held securely in a channel of a battery cover via adhesive, a retention pin, a hex nut, a hook anchor, and/or a zip tie.
However, these are known means of attachment, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use an adhesive or hook anchor or zip tie to secure the wiring in the channel.
As to claim 4. The portable power case of claim 1 but is silent to the wiring portion of the lead includes a flexible heat shrinking tubing around the wiring portion.
However, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). In this case it is well known to those forming leads/connectors to use a heat shrink material because this would prevent moisture and debris from damaging the wire.
As to claim 5. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 1, wherein the wiring portion is operable to be flexed in any direction for connection to a piece of equipment from any angle [0060] (discussed the cable is flexible to bent way from the housing to connect to the electronic device.).
As to claim 6. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 1, wherein the PCB includes control electronics configured to determine a state of charge of the portable power case [0014] (capacity level of the battery unit or power level remaining).
As to claim 7. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two leads is operable to allow power to flow in and out of the at least one battery simultaneously [0012,0018].
As to claim 15. Weinstein discloses a portable power case (figure 8) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0044-0045, 0042]);
at least two leads connected to the PCB (156 -distal end of cable having connection interface [0051]) connected to the PCB [0044];
at least one battery connected to the PCB; [0054] (or figure 3 which show the schematic) and
wherein the at least two leads are operable to supply power to at least one electronic device and/or charge the portable power case using at least one charging device [0018];
wherein the at least two leads or the at least one lead includes a wiring portion (225b and 225a- cable);
wherein the PCB includes control electronics configured to determine a state of charge of the portable power case and/or the at least one electronic device [0014] (power level of the battery).
And at least one visual, for displaying a state of charge of the portable power case and/or at least one electronic device connected to the portable power case (128 power indicator comprising of three lights [0049]);
Weinstein fails to disclose a heat dissipating layer incorporated into the portable power case; and wherein a spring is provided around the wiring portion and wherein the wiring portion and the spring are held securely in the portable power case such that a portion of the spring is positioned outside the portable power case and another portion of the spring is positioned inside the portable power case (for claim 16).
Yue et al. discloses a battery module having an external case (thus a portable power case) which includes a heat dissipating layer coated on the inner surface of the exterior case [0053] [0057] discloses the heat dissipating layer of Al, Cu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include a heat dissipating coating to the casing of Weinstein because this would allow the heat formed by the batteries to the exterior of the casing and to control the temperature of the power device.
Farr is analogous to the instant application because both are drawn to preventing a cable from being damaged. To do this Farr discloses the use of a strain reliever 34 adapted to prevent sharp bends in the cord at the point that it leave the interior casing of the iron (col. 2 lines 41-52). The strain reliever is formed from a wire wound around the wire thus a spring and as seen from figure 5 the spring is located inside the housing and outside the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the spring to the power supply of Weinstein because this would prevent sharp bends in the cord.
As to claim 17. The portable power case of claim 15, but is silent to the wiring portion of the lead includes a flexible heat shrinking tubing around the wiring portion.
However, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). In this case it is well known to those forming leads/connectors to use a heat shrink material because this would prevent moisture and debris from damaging the wire.
As to claim 18. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 15, wherein the wiring portion can be flexed in any direction for connection to equipment from any angle. [0060] (discussed the cable is flexible to bent way from the housing to connect to the electronic device.)
As to claim 19. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 15, wherein the control electronics include a communications interface (indicator) [0039].
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein et al. (US 2013/0043827 A1) in view of Yue et al. (US 2013/0236753 A1) and Farr (US 2416984) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (WO 2013/106474) (cited in IDS).
As to claims 8 and 9. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 1, wherein the at least two leads include a connector portion (258a or 258b), but does not explicitly state the connector portion of the at least two has an ingress protection (IP) rating. Or as to claim 8. The portable power case of claim 1, wherein the portable power case is waterproof or water resistant.
Yang teaches a casing for a portable electronic device, and its sealing components (Abstract) are sealed to provide protection from water submersion by conforming to an IPX8 standard [0097-0100].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively field to provide sufficient sealing for all the of the respective components including the connectors of Weinstein to an IPX8 standard to provide the benefit of protection from water submersion.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein et al. (US 2013/0043827 A1) in view of Farr (US 2416984).
As to claim 11, Weinstein discloses a portable power case (figure 8) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB ([0044-0045, 0042]);
at least two leads connected to the PCB (156 -distal end of cable having connection interface [0051]) connected to the PCB [0044]; and
at least one battery connected to the PCB [0054] (or figure 3 which show the schematic);
wherein at least two leads include a wiring portion (cable 225);
wherein the portable power case is connected to at least one battery through a cable with a battery protector [0045] (a time is included for automatically turning of the unit if no device is attached). Weinstein discloses the
Weinstein fails to disclose:
wherein a spring is provided around the wiring portion;
wherein the wiring portion and the spring are held securely in the portable power case such that a portion of the spring is positioned outside the portable power case and another portion of the spring is positioned inside the portable power case.
Farr is analogous to the instant application because both are drawn to preventing a cable from being damaged. To do this Farr discloses the use of a strain reliever 34 adapted to prevent sharp bends in the cord at the point that it leave the interior casing of the iron (col. 2 lines 41-52). The strain reliever is formed from a wire wound around the wire thus a spring and as seen from figure 5 the spring is located inside the housing and outside the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the spring to the power supply of Weinstein because this would prevent sharp bends in the cord.
As to claim 12. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 11, wherein the wiring portion of the lead and the spring are held securely in a channel of a battery cover via a clamping mechanism, [0060] The cord is placed in the channel thus is clamped into place by the channel.
As to claim 13. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 11, but is silent to the wiring portion of the lead includes a flexible heat shrinking tubing around the wiring portion.
However, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). In this case it is well known to those forming leads/connectors to use a heat shrink material because this would prevent moisture and debris from damaging the wire.
As to claim 14. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 11, wherein the wiring portion can be flexed in any direction for connection to equipment from any angle. [0060] (discussed the cable is flexible to bent way from the housing to connect to the electronic device.).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein et al. (US 2013/0043827 A1) in view of Yue et al. (US 2013/0236753 A1) and Farr (US 2416984) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 202931205 U, provided in IDS).
As to claim 10. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 1, but does not disclose further including a harness, wherein the at least one battery is connected to the PCB via the harness.
Liu teaches a wire harness fixing structure which connects by frictional force to provide great vibration-proof, impact resistance, and stable usage performance (Abstract) [0009-0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to use a harness which connects by frictional force in the wiring of Modified Weinstein, because Liu recognize such a harness provides great vibration-proof, impact resistance, and stable usage performance.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein et al. (US 2013/0043827 A1) in view of Yue et al. (US 2013/0236753 A1) and Farr (US 2416984) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gohl et al. (US 20150132622)
As to claim 20. Weinstein discloses the portable power case of claim 15, wherein the control electronics include a battery management system (circuitry/controller/microprocess) but does not disclose wherein the battery management system includes at least one safety cutoff.
Gohl discloses a battery and teaches the use of a BMS connected to the connector and further teaches a shut off ability when the battery cell voltage exceeds a preset threshold [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include a cut off feature because this would shut down the battery system when the battery exceeds a threshold thus including a safety feature to the power supply of modified Weinstein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Amended claim 15 has been addressed above. (page 6)
Applicant argues that the spring of Farr is not position inside the device and thus does not extend to the inner portion of the iron where the lead is housed.
Applicant argues that Weinstein does not disclose “at least one visual, audible, or tactile indicator for displaying a state of charge of the portable power case and/or at least one electronic device connected to the portable power case;” and argues that Weinstein does not include an audible with the visual or tactile indicator.
As the claim is written, at least one visual, audible or tactile indicator is written in the alternative and thus does not require all three options. Therefore, Weinstein, which discloses visual indicators does fulfill the claim language.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727