DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office action is in response to the amendment of March 16, 2026 which canceled claims 1-15 and added new claims 16-29; and amended the first paragraph of the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the status of the parent application should be updated in the first paragraph of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Schneider (USPN 5,701,873).
With regards to claim 16 Schneider discloses a high-pressure fuel pump (note the abstract) comprising: a housing (138, see Fig. 4); a camshaft assembly (110) disposed through the housing, the camshaft assembly having an offset lobe (113) and a cam ring (114) encircling the offset lobe; a first modular barrel unit coupled to a first side (top) of the housing; and any one of a passive inlet metering valve (119a, 134), an active inlet metering valve, and a hybrid active inlet metering valve coupled to the housing, wherein the first modular barrel unit includes: a module body (133a) defining: a first opening (129a, 134a; labeled in annotated Fig. 4) configured to receive an inlet valve (134, see Fig. 4), a second opening (labeled in annotated Fig. 4 below) configured to receive a plunger (117), a channel (labeled in the annotated Fig. 4 below) configured to house an outlet check valve (118), and a modular pathway (labeled in the annotated Fig. 4) configured to align with at least one fuel pathway (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) of the housing of the high pressure pump; a plunger disposed in the second opening; and an outlet check valve (118) disposed within the channel.
With regards to claim 26 Scheiner discloses the high-pressure fuel pump of claim 16, further comprising a second modular barrel unit (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) coupled to the housing (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) on a second side (bottom) of the housing opposite from the first side, the first modular barrel unit and the second modular barrel unit are positioned within a first common plane (i.e., the plane of Fig. 4).
With regards to claim 29 Schneider discloses a modular barrel unit (labeled 1st barrel unit in annotated Fig. 4) comprising: a module body (133a) defining: a first opening (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) configured to receive an inlet valve (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) of at least one of a passive inlet (134) metering valve, an active inlet metering valve, and a hybrid active inlet metering valve; a second opening (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) configured to receive a plunger (117); a channel (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) configured to house an outlet check valve (118); and a modular pathway (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) configured to align with at least one fuel pathway (labeled in annotated Fig. 4) of a high-pressure fuel pump; a plunger (117) disposed within the second opening; and an outlet check valve (118) disposed within the channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18, 19, 22, 23 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner in view of Rosu et al (USPN 8,181,564).
As set forth above, Schneider discloses the fuel pump of claims 16 and 26 including the barrel axis having axis (claim 17) and the plungers having axis (claims 18, 28). The corresponding barrels and plungers have coaxial axis. With regards to claim 19 there are springs (135) biasing the plungers against the cam shaft assembly as claimed. The camshaft assembly includes a centerline point (C, claims 22 and 23). Schneider does not disclose the barrel axes; the plunger axes and the centerline axis all being offset relative to one another.
Rosu et al in Fig. 2 discloses a similar high pressure fuel pump including first (208a) and second (208b) barrel units, first and second plungers (201) and a crankshaft (204) having a centerline (labeled in annotated Fig. 4).
At the time of the effective filing date of the application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a housing that mounts the barrels and plungers offset to the camshaft centerline, as taught by Rosu et al, instead of a housing that mounts the barrels, plungers and centerline in alignment, as taught in Schneider, since offset and aligned modular pump units are recognized as equivalence for their use in the fuel pumping art and selection of either of these known equivalents to pump fuel by actuating the plungers would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (Note MPEP 2144.06).
Claim(s) 20, 21, 24, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider in view of Rosu et al as applied to claims 17, 22 and 26 above, and further in view of Gaessler et al (USPN 6,4976,216).
As set forth above Schneider in view of Rosu et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed and Schneider additionally teaches that there may be third and fourth barrel units mounted in a same plane that is different than the same plane the first and second barrel units are mounted in (see Fig. 5). Schneider et al in view of Rosu et al do not teach that the third and fourth barrel units are mounted on third and fourth sides of the housing and offset relative to one another.
Gaessler et al discloses in Fig. 2 a fuel pump including multiple barrel units and plungers 3, 5 evenly spaced and arranged in two planes.
At the time of the effective filing date of the application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the third and fourth barrel units of Schneider be rotated 90 degrees to be evenly spaced relative to the first and second barrel units, as taught by Gaessler et al, instead of all the barrel units being mounted to extend from the first and second side of the pump since equally spaced and adjacently spaced barrel units are recognized as equivalence for their use in the multi-cylinder fuel pumping art and selection of either of these known equivalents to organize four barrel units would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (Note MPEP 2144.06). Further it would have been obvious to make the axis of the barrels and plungers be offset relative to one another for the same reasons it would have been obvious to make the first and second barrel units be offset to one another in the rejections of claims 17, 22 and 26 above.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19, note especially claims1-3, 7, 14, 16 and 17, of U.S. Patent No. 12,631,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are all broader versions of the claims of the patent. Specifically, the limitations of claims 16, 17, 20 and 21 are all present in claim 1 of the ‘164 patent. The limitations of claim 18 are present in claim 2 of the ‘164 patent. The limitations of claim 19 are present in claim 3 of the ‘164 patent. The limitations of claims 22-25 are present in claim 7 of the ‘164 patent. The limitations of claim 16 and 26 are present in claim 14 of the ‘164 patent. The limitations of claim 27 are present in claim 16 of the ‘164 patent. The limitations of claim 128 are present in claim 17 of the ‘164 patent. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art having possession of the claims in the ‘164 patent would also have possession of the claims in the instant application.
Conclusion
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
CGF
September 29, 2026