DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and species as follow:
Claim 1 and 18: , "an acid" for (A)(1), "Hydroxyethylidene diphosphonic salt"
for (A)(2),
Claim 5: pH from about 3.0 to about 7.0 for (A)(3),
"phosphonate" for (A)(4), "diverting agent" for (A)(5), and
"particulate material" for (A)(5b),
Applicant respectfully submits claims 1, 5-13, 18, 19, and 20 are readable on the elected species, in the reply filed on 08/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-13, 18-19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Milne et al. (US 2007/0235189 A1) (“Milne” herein).
(Claims contain only selected species)
Claim 1.
Milne discloses an aqueous composition, comprising:
water; [0055]
an acid, having a non-zero, molecular weight less than about 400 Daltons, [0028-0029]
a hydrogen fluoride (HF) source; [0033] and a
fluoride scale inhibitor comprising hydroxyethylidene diphosphonic salt, wherein a concentration of the fluoride scale inhibitor in the aqueous composition is greater than or equal to about 0.1 wt.% and less than about 2.0 wt.%. [0030-0031]
Since Milne discloses the same composition to treat a wellbore comprising water, an acid, hydrogen fluoride source, a hydroxyethylene disphosphoic salt such as suitable phosphonic acids and their salts, include HEDP: 1-hydroxyethylidene-1,1-phosphonic acid , it would be an aqueous composition, and an acid having an acid, having a non-zero, molecular weight less than about 400 Daltons.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp v DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 5.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 1, wherein the aqueous composition has a pH from about 3.0 to about 7.0. [0028-0029]
Claim 6.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 1, wherein the fluoride scale inhibitor further comprises a phosphonate. [0030-0031]
Claim 7.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 1, wherein the fluoride scale inhibitor further comprises 2-phosphonobutane-1,2,4-tricarboxylic salt thereof, amino trimethylene phosphonic salt thereof, diethylene triamine penta methylene phosphonic salt thereof, 2-hydroxy phosphonoacetic salt thereof, bis(hexamethylene triamine penta methylene phosphonic salt thereof, hydroxyethylamino-di(nethylene phosphonic salt thereof, ethylene diamine tetra (methylene phosphonic salt thereof, and hexamethylenediaminetetra methylenephosphonic salt thereof. [0030-0031]
Claim 8.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 1, further comprising diverting agent. [0016, 0046, 0056, 0062]
Claim 9.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 8, further comprising the permanent clay stabilizer, and wherein the permanent clay stabilizer comprises:
a blend of sodium formate and cationic polymer;
poly-quaternary amines;
boric acid; or
a combination thereof. [0029, 0040, 0047-0049, 0054]
Claim 10.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 1, further comprising one or more self- diverting additives including: foam; particulate material; or a viscoelastic surfactant-based diverter; or a combination thereof. [0016, 0046, 0056, 0062]
Claim 11.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 1, wherein the acid is an organic acid. [0028-0029]
Claim 12.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 11, wherein the acid is citric acid. [0028-0029]
Claim 13.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 1, wherein the acid is an organic acid in a mixture of organic and mineral acids. [0028-0029]
Claim 18-19
Milne discloses an aqueous composition, comprising:
water; [0055]
an acid, wherein the acid has a non-zero, molecular weight less than about 400 Daltons. [0028-0029]
a hydrogen fluoride (HF) source; [0033] and
a fluoride scale inhibitor comprising:hydroxyethylidene diphosphonic acid salt thereof; wherein a concentration of the fluoride scale inhibitor in the aqueous composition is greater than or equal to about 0.1 wt.% and less than about 2.0 wt.%.[0030-0031]
Since Milne discloses the same composition to treat a wellbore comprising water, an acid, hydrogen fluoride source, a hydroxyethylene disphosphoic salt such as suitable phosphonic acids and their salts, include HEDP: 1-hydroxyethylidene-1,1-phosphonic acid , it would be an aqueous composition, and an acid having an acid, having a non-zero, molecular weight less than about 400 Daltons.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp v DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 20.
Milne discloses the aqueous composition of claim 18, wherein the aqueous composition has a pH from about -0.8 to about 7. [0028-0029]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fuller et al. (US 2008/0139412 A1) Method For Treating A Subterranean Formation, Ziaudin et al. (US 2016/0025895 A1) Well Treatment With Digital Core Analysis, and Koelewiijn et al. (US 11,912,937 B2) Acidizing Treatment Fluid For Delayed Acidification In The Oil Field Industry.
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616 09/25/2026