DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: Amendment filed 09/17/2026. This action is made final.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 11 and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
These claims recite “activating, “without user input …”. This is a negative limitation and examiner does not find support for the limitation in the Specifications and Drawings of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With regard to Claims 1, 11, 20
These claims recite a method, a system, one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media, respectively and are one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong 1
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
Claim 1 recites:
A method comprising:
determining a scheduled start time of a meeting between a user and one or more persons;
activating, based on the scheduled start time of the meeting, a microphone of an electronic device to record audio in a vicinity of the user;
triggering, based on the scheduled meeting, a conversation-extraction process for the user and the one or more persons, comprising:
generating a transcription of at least a portion of the recorded audio; and
determining, based on the transcription and from an AI model, a summary of the conversation; and
storing the summary in a data store for the user.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the bolded limitations above are directed to a mental process able to be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. A human can determine a schedule of a meeting, take notes of the meeting/conversation on a paper, retrieve the conversation note, summarize and keep it for further record mentally or with pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong 2
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception or whether the claim is “directed to” the judicial exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
The additional elements in this claim are “a microphone of an electronic device, turning on the microphone” , “an AI model. These elements are recited at a high level of generality and is considered as merely reciting the words ‘apply it’ with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea using a microphone by turning on for recording pupose or using an AI model, as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The courts have identified this type of limitation is insufficient to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Thus, these additional elements identified above when considered individually and in combination, do not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Even when viewed in combination the additional element does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As explained with respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, there are no additional elements.
Thus, when considered, individually and in combination, these additional elements fail to amount to ‘significantly more’.
See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 1 is ineligible.
With regard to Claims 11 and 20,
These claims are similar in scope to Claim 1 and are rejected under a similar rationale. The processors and memory recited in these claims are also generic computing components.
Claims 11 and 20 are ineligible.
Dependent Claims:
Claims 2-10, 12-19: These claims only recite further abstract ideas (mental processes) such as determining end time of a schedule meeting, determining metrics of conversation, showing an advertisement and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-13, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0354493 A1) in view of Cheung et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0151058 A1 hereinafter Cheung) in view of SHEN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0190/908 hereinafter Shen)
With regard to claims 1, 11, 20, Nakajima teaches a method, a system, one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media comprising
determining a scheduled start time of a meeting between a user and one or more persons <meeting start module is provided see fig 2 item 1900 para 0051, calendars can be used for scheduled conversations para 0036>;
activating,
triggering, based on the scheduled meeting, a conversation-extraction process for the user and the one or more persons <conversation summary can be extracted para 0040, fig 1>, comprising:
generating a transcription of at least a portion of the audio recorded by the microphone <conversation summary can be extracted para 0040, fig 1>; and
one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media storing instructions (claim 11) <para 0100>;
one or more processors (claim 11) <para 0061, fig 2>.
Nakajima does not appear to explicitly disclose determining, based on the transcription and from an AI model, a summary of the conversation; and storing the summary in a data store for the user
In the same field of endeavor, Cheung teaches a microphone of an electronic device to record audio in a vicinity of the user <capturing audio data of the surrounding physical environment/proximity para 0025, 0058, 0072-0073>;
determining, based on the transcription and from an AI model, a summary of the conversation <summary can be extracted using artificial language para 0003, 0034>; and
storing the summary in a data store for the user <audio data transcription/summary can be stored para 0075, 0076, fig 4 items 432, 436>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nakajima, Cheung before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Nakajima to include the teachings of Cheung, in order to obtain limitations taught by Cheung. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an efficient use of the audio recording device and use of other tools to manipulate recorded data.
Nakajima, Cheung do not appear to explicitly disclose activating without user input, a microphone, by turning on the microphone so that the microphone records audio.
In the same field of endeavor Shen teaches activating without user input, a microphone, by turning on the microphone so that the microphone records audio <microphone can be automatically turned on to capture recording para 0041>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nakajima, Cheung, Shen before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Nakajima, Cheung to include the teachings of Shen, in order to obtain limitations taught by Shen. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an efficient way to record audio with minimum intervention.
With regard to claims 2, 12, these claims depend upon claims 1, 11, respectively, which are rejected above. In addition, Nakajima teaches the method further comprising extracting the at least a portion of the recorded audio corresponding to a conversation between a user and the person <conversation summary can be extracted para 0040, fig 1>.
With regard to claims 3, 13, these claims depend upon claims 2, 12, respectively, which are rejected above. In addition, Cheung teaches wherein extracting the at least a portion of the recorded audio corresponding to a conversation between a user and the person comprises determining, by an AI model, the portion of the recorded audio corresponding to the conversation <artificial intelligence model can be used to extract conversation data para 0003, 0077>.
With regard to claims 5, 15, these claims depend upon claims 1, 11, respectively, which are rejected above. In addition, Nakajima teaches the method further comprising providing, outside of a time for the meeting and based at least in part on the scheduled start time, audio or visual content by the electronic device <visual content can be provided para 0031>.
With regard to claims 7, 17, these claims depend upon claims 1, 11, which are rejected above. In addition, Nakajima teaches the method further comprising generating, by an AI model, a draft email to the person from the user based on the summary of the conversation <conversation can be recorded and transmitted para 0029, conversation summary can be extracted para 0040, fig 1, using teachings Cheung of AI para 0003>.
With regard to claims 8, 18, these claims depend upon claims 1, 11, which are rejected above. In addition, Cheung teaches the method further comprising:
generating a transcription of each of a plurality of audio recordings from a plurality of electronic devices at a particular event <see fig 1C, recording from a plurality of speakers can be determined para 0003, 0034> ;
determining, based on the generated transcriptions, one or more conversation metrics at the event <conversation topic at a meeting can be determined para 0034>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nakajima, Cheung before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Nakajima to include the teachings of Cheung, in order to obtain limitations taught by Cheung. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an efficient use of multiple conversation recordings and the context of conversation.
With regard to claims 9, 19, these claims depend upon claims 8, 18, which are rejected above. In addition, Nakajima teaches wherein:
the plurality of audio recordings each correspond to one of a plurality of meetings for a particular entity at the event <audio data from multiple meetings can be extracted para 0036>; and
the one or more conversation metrics comprise a summary of the outcome of the plurality of meetings for that particular entity at that particular event <summary of conversations can be provided para 0006-0010, <conversation summary can be extracted para 0040, fig 1>.
With regard to claim 10, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Nakajima teaches the method further comprising one or more of:
activating, based on the scheduled start time of the meeting and on an identification of one or more speakers near the scheduled start time, a microphone of an electronic device to record audio in a vicinity of the user; or
identifying the at least a portion of the audio based on an identification of one or more speakers within a duration substantially defined by the scheduled start time and a scheduled end time for the meeting <speaker can be identified from the set of audio data para 0010, 0028>.
Claims 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima in view of Cheung in view of Shen in view of Findlay (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0177469 A1 hereinafter Findlay).
With regard to claims 4, 14, these claims depend upon claims 1, 11, respectively, which are rejected above. In addition, Nakajima teaches the method further comprising:
determining a scheduled end time of the meeting <meeting end module is provided end time fig 2 item 2000 para 0051>; and
Nakajima, Cheung, Shen do not appear to explicitly disclose deactivating, based on the scheduled end time of the meeting, the microphone of the electronic device.
In the same field of endeavor, Findlay teaches
deactivating, based on the scheduled end time of the meeting, the microphone of the electronic device <microphone can be turned off (deactivate) at the end of the meeting para 0035>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nakajima, Cheung, Shen, Findlay before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Nakajima, Cheung, Shen to include the teachings of Findlay, in order to obtain limitations taught by Findlay. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides effective usage of a microphone.
Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima in view of Cheung in view of Shen in view of Morabia et al (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0260965 A1 hereinafter Morabia).
With regard to claims 6 and 16, these claims depend upon claims 5, 15, which are rejected above. Nakajima, Cheung, Shen do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Morabia teaches wherein the content comprises an advertisement <content can be an advertisement para 0019>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nakajima, Cheung, Shen, Morabia before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Nakajima, Cheung, Shen to include the teachings of Morabia, in order to obtain limitations taught by Morabia. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an effective way to enhance a meeting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 17, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANIL K BHARGAVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172