This application is in response to amendment filed 08/03/2026 in which the claims 1-7 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejection Under U.S.C. 102
The Examiner has rejected Claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hanhart. See OA at par. 9, pages 17-26. Among the rejected claims, Claims 1, 6, and 7 are independent.
In rejecting Claim 1, the Examiner stated that Hanhart discloses "obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture" and "wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions" by referring to pars. [0011], [0077], and [0062]-[0064] of Hanhart. See OA at pages 18-19, emphasis added.
Applicant respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
In the Examiner-cited paragraphs [0062]-[0064], Hanhart discloses a mathematical or algorithmic process in which interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position:
[0062] In an exemplary scenario, a 360-degree video in equirectangular format is taken as input, and it is desired to convert the input into cubemap format. The following steps are applied:[0063] 1) For each sample position (uc, vc) in cubemap format, calculate the corresponding coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular format by the method introduced above.
[0064] 2) If the coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular thus calculated are not at integer sample position, interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position using samples at its neighboring integer positions.
Hanhart, pars. [0062]-[0064], emphasis added.
However, contrary to the Examiner's assertion, nowhere does Hanhart disclose, otherwise teach or suggest, any information related to the interpolation being obtained from the bitstream. Emphasis added. Instead, Hanhart merely discloses a technique for applying an interpolation filter to obtain the sample value. See Hanhart, par. [0064].
In contrast, Claim 1 recites "obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture" and "wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions." Emphasis added.
At least for these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that Hanhart fails to disclose, otherwise teach or suggest, one or more features of Claim 1.
Claims 6 and 7 recite substantially similar features of Claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner's rejection of Claims 1, 6, and 7 and Claims 2-5 that depend from Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by Hanhart is moot and requests withdrawal of the rejection.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and clarifies that Hanhart et al. in Abstract teaches the encoder encodes the 2D planar video in a bitstream and further signals, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection format. The parameters identifying the projection format may be signaled in a video parameter set, sequence parameter set, and/or picture parameter set of the bitstream.
Para[0062] clearly teaches in an exemplary scenario, a 360-degree video in equirectangular format is taken as input, and it is desired to convert the input into cubemap format. The following steps are applied: Para [0063] 1) For each sample position (uc, vc) in cubemap format, calculate the corresponding coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular format by the method introduced above. [0064] 2) If the coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular thus calculated are not at integer sample position, interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position using samples at its neighboring integer positions.
Para[0070] One issue is that, to be able to properly reconstruct the 360-video from the decoded 2D planar video, the geometry and frame packing parameters should be available to the decoder to unpack the data and project it back from the 2D space to the 3D space. For example, the cubemap format can be represented using different arrangements, such as 3×2, 4×3, 1×6, or 6×1, with different face orders, different face rotations, or different face sizes. Additionally, if a different format than the coding format is used at the receiver side, then the geometry and frame packing parameters are also required to convert the coding format to the required format. For example, if the coding format is cubemap but the display format is equirectangular, then a conversion has to be performed. In a practical way, it is better for the file format multiplexer to extract those frame packing arrangement information from the video itself instead of depending on external metadata when it multiplexes those elementary streams.
Thus examiner concludes that in video compression standards (like H.264, HEVC, VVC, VP9, or AV1), a compressed contains bitstream syntax elements and structural metadata—such as fractional motion vectors,—that instruct the decoder exactly how to reconstruct and interpolate those sub-regions dynamically are as disclosed in Hanhart et al.
Hence examiner respectfully submits that Hanhart disclose features of Claim 1.
Claims 6 and 7 recite substantially similar features of Claim 1, hence same response applies to claims 6, 7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/573,614 in view of Hanhart et al. (US 2019/0200023 A1 ). Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation generating a residual block of a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions. However Hanhart discloses generating a residual block of a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions (Para[0068] & Fig. 7 teaches the residual transform coefficients are sent to inverse quantization unit 210 and inverse transform unit 212 to reconstruct the residual block, the prediction block and the residual block are then added together at 226, Para[0062] teaches a 360-degree video in equirectangular format is taken as input, and it is desired to convert the input into cubemap format. The following steps are applied: [0063] 1) For each sample position (uc, vc) in cubemap format, calculate the corresponding coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular format by the method introduced above. [0064] 2) If the coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular thus calculated are not at integer sample position, interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position using samples at its neighboring integer positions.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, to obtain reconstructed video block to properly reconstruct the 360-video from the decoded 2D planar video, the geometry and frame packing parameters should be available to the decoder to unpack the data and project it back from the 2D space to the 3D space.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant applicaiton:19/569,342
Co-pending application:19/573,614
1. An image decoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; and rearranging the sub-regions based on the rearrangement information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions, and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
1. An image decoding method, comprising:
obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; and rearranging the sub-regions based on the rearrangement information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions, and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
2. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged side-by-bide.
2. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged side-by-bide.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged in a top-bottom.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged in a top-bottom.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating whether flipping is applied to the sub-regions.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating whether flipping is applied to the sub-regions.
5. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating a sub-region to which flipping is applied among the sub-regions.
5. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating a sub-region to which flipping is applied among the sub-regions.
6. An image encoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block based on a prediction block of the current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions.
6. An image encoding method, comprising:
encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information,
wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block based on a prediction block of the current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating the bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising:
encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating the bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/662,454 in view of Hanhart et al. (US 2019/0200023 A1). Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation information related to interpolation of the sub-regions. However Hanhart discloses information related to interpolation of the sub-regions (Para[0062] teaches a 360-degree video in equirectangular format is taken as input, and it is desired to convert the input into cubemap format. The following steps are applied: [0063] 1) For each sample position (uc, vc) in cubemap format, calculate the corresponding coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular format by the method introduced above. [0064] 2) If the coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular thus calculated are not at integer sample position, interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position using samples at its neighboring integer positions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, to obtain reconstructed video block to properly reconstruct the 360-video from the decoded 2D planar video, the geometry and frame packing parameters should be available to the decoder to unpack the data and project it back from the 2D space to the 3D space.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant applicaiton:19/569,342
Co-pending application:19/662,454
1. An image decoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; and rearranging the sub-regions based on the rearrangement information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions, and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
1. An image decoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block in a picture from a bitstream; decoding the picture based on the residual block; obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in the decoded picture; and rearranging the sub-regions based on the rearrangement information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions,
and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the decoded picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
2. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged side-by-bide.
2. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged side-by-bide.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged in a top-bottom.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged in a top-bottom.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating whether flipping is applied to the sub-regions.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating whether flipping is applied to the sub-regions.
5. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating a sub-region to which flipping is applied among the sub-regions.
5. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating a sub-region to which flipping is applied among the sub-regions.
6. An image encoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block based on a prediction block of the current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions.
6. An image encoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block in a picture; encoding the picture based on the residual block;
encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in the picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information,
wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block based on a prediction block of the current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating the bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block in a picture;
encoding the picture based on the residual block;
encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in the picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; generating the bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9-15 of copending Application No. 18/771,226 in view of Hanhart et al. (US 2019/0200023), Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation generating a residual block of a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions. However Hanhart discloses generating a residual block of a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions (Para[0068] & Fig. 7 teaches the residual transform coefficients are sent to inverse quantization unit 210 and inverse transform unit 212 to reconstruct the residual block, the prediction block and the residual block are then added together at 226, Para[0062] teaches a 360-degree video in equirectangular format is taken as input, and it is desired to convert the input into cubemap format. The following steps are applied: [0063] 1) For each sample position (uc, vc) in cubemap format, calculate the corresponding coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular format by the method introduced above. [0064] 2) If the coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular thus calculated are not at integer sample position, interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position using samples at its neighboring integer positions.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, to obtain reconstructed video block to properly reconstruct the 360-video from the decoded 2D planar video, the geometry and frame packing parameters should be available to the decoder to unpack the data and project it back from the 2D space to the 3D space.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant applicaiton:19/569,342
Co-pending application:18/771,226
1. An image decoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; and rearranging the sub-regions based on the rearrangement information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions, and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
9. An image decoding method, comprising: generating a prediction block by predicting a current block in a picture; decoding the picture based on the prediction block;
obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in the decoded picture; and rearranging the sub-regions based on the rearrangement information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions,
and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the decoded picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
2. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged side-by-bide.
10. The image decoding method of claim 9, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged side-by-bide.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged in a top-bottom.
11. The image decoding method of claim 9, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged in a top-bottom.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating whether flipping is applied to the sub-regions.
12.The image decoding method of claim 9, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating whether flipping is applied to the sub-regions.
5. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating a sub-region to which flipping is applied among the sub-regions.
13.The image decoding method of claim 9, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating a sub-region to which flipping is applied among the sub-regions.
6. An image encoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block based on a prediction block of the current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions.
14. An image encoding method, comprising: generating a prediction block by predicting a current block in a picture; encoding the picture based on the prediction block;
encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in the picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block based on a prediction block of the current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block; encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating the bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions.
15. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: generating a prediction block by predicting a current block in a picture; encoding the picture based on the prediction block;
encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in the picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; generating the bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type and flipping information for the sub-regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hanhart et al. (US 2019/0200023 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hanhart discloses an image decoding method (FIG. 7 illustrates a video decoder), comprising: generating a residual block of a current block from a bitstream (Para[0068] & Fig. 7 teaches the residual transform coefficients are sent to inverse quantization unit 210 and inverse transform unit 212 to reconstruct the residual block); decoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block (para[0068] & Fig. 7 teaches the prediction block and the residual block are then added together at 226); obtaining, from a bitstream, rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture (Para[0011] teaches syntax elements may be used to specify a projection geometry and/or to specify an arrangement of faces in a frame-packed picture using a grid system. Faces can have different size and/or orientation. In some embodiments, face arrangement on a 2-D plane may have various characteristics, such as constant face width/height along each column/row. 360-Degree Video Property Signaling at Video Level. Para[0077] teaches each picture may be coded in a different projection geometry or with the same geometry but with different face arrangements, sizes, or quality. para[0111] teaches faces may be arranged with different orientations, para0156] teaches FIGS. 14A and 14B illustrate exemplary alternative arrangements of faces in a frame-packed picture. FIGS. 14A and 14B each illustrate arrangements of six faces, such as may be used in conjunction with a cubemap projection) ; and rearranging the sub-regions based on the rearrangement information, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions (claim 1 teaches method of decoding 360-degree video encoded in a bitstream, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream encoding a 2D planar video, the bitstream including parameters identifying a projection geometry type having a plurality of faces, the parameters including, for at least one of the faces, an indication of an amount of rotation of the respective face; and mapping the 2D planar video to a 360-degree video using the identified projection geometry format. para[0111] teaches faces may be arranged with different orientations, para0156] teaches FIGS. 14A and 14B illustrate exemplary alternative arrangements of faces in a frame-packed picture. FIGS. 14A and 14B each illustrate arrangements of six faces, such as may be used in conjunction with a cubemap projection, Para[0103] and table 6 teaches face_rotation_idc syntax element Para[0105] teaches face_vertical_flip_flag. Para[0112] & Table teaches rotation may be combined with a vertical flip (or, in some embodiments, a horizontal flip) & Table teaches face_vertical_flip_flag), and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions (Para[0062] teaches a 360-degree video in equirectangular format is taken as input, and it is desired to convert the input into cubemap format. The following steps are applied: [0063] 1) For each sample position (uc, vc) in cubemap format, calculate the corresponding coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular format by the method introduced above. [0064] 2) If the coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular thus calculated are not at integer sample position, interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position using samples at its neighboring integer positions), and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system (Para[0130] teaches parameters may be used to map a sample from its location in the frame-packed picture to the corresponding location in the 3D geometry. This information may be exploited by advanced 360-video coding to achieve better compression efficiency. For example, the codec may exploit redundant information between neighboring faces in the 3D representation that are not collocated in the frame-packed picture).
Regarding claim 2, Hanhart discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged side-by-bide (Para[0061] teaches there are different frame packing configurations, such as 3×2 and 4×3. In the 3×2 configuration, the 6 faces are packed into 2 rows, with 3 faces in one row. In the 4×3 configuration, the 4 faces PX, NZ, NX, PZ are packed into one row (e.g., the center row), and the faces PY and NY are separately packed into two different rows (e.g., the top and bottom rows). The example of FIG. 2C makes use of 4×3 frame packing that corresponds to the equirectangular picture in FIG. 1C).
Regarding claim 3, Hanhart discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rearrangement type includes a type in which the sub-sub-regions are rearranged in a top-bottom (Para[0061] teaches there are different frame packing configurations, such as 3×2 and 4×3. In the 3×2 configuration, the 6 faces are packed into 2 rows, with 3 faces in one row. In the 4×3 configuration, the 4 faces PX, NZ, NX, PZ are packed into one row (e.g., the center row), and the faces PY and NY are separately packed into two different rows (e.g., the top and bottom rows)..
Regarding claim 4, Hanhart discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating whether flipping is applied to the sub-regions (Para[0105] teaches face_vertical_flip_flag[i][j]: specifies whether the face located at the i-th row and j-th column in the frame packed picture is flipped vertically after rotation & Para[0112] teaches face_vertical_flip_flag[).
Regarding claim 5, Hanhart discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping information includes information indicating a sub-region to which flipping is applied among the sub-regions (Para[0105] teaches face_vertical_flip_flag[i][j]: specifies whether the face located at the i-th row and j-th column in the frame packed picture is flipped vertically after rotation & Para[0112] teaches face_vertical_flip_flag& Table & Fig. 9C & FIG. 10E: 0° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10F: 90° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10G: 180° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10H: 270° rotation followed by vertical flip).
Regarding claim 6, Hanhart discloses an image encoding method, comprising: generating a residual block of a current block based on a prediction block of the current block (Fig. 6 & Para [0067] teaches the prediction block is then subtracted from the current video block (116); and the prediction residual is de-correlated using transform (104) and quantized (106) to achieve the target bit-rate); encoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block (Fig. 6 & Para [0067] teaches the quantized residual coefficients are inverse quantized (110) and inverse transformed (112) to form the reconstructed residual, which is then added back to the prediction block (126) to form the reconstructed video block); encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture (Para[0011] teaches syntax elements may be used to specify a projection geometry and/or to specify an arrangement of faces in a frame-packed picture using a grid system. Faces can have different size and/or orientation. In some embodiments, face arrangement on a 2-D plane may have various characteristics, such as constant face width/height along each column/row. 360-Degree Video Property Signaling at Video Level. Para[0077] teaches each picture may be coded in a different projection geometry or with the same geometry but with different face arrangements, sizes, or quality); encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system (Para[0130] teaches parameters may be used to map a sample from its location in the frame-packed picture to the corresponding location in the 3D geometry. This information may be exploited by advanced 360-video coding to achieve better compression efficiency. For example, the codec may exploit redundant information between neighboring faces in the 3D representation that are not collocated in the frame-packed picture); and generating a bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information (Abstract teaches An encoder selects a projection format and maps the 360-degree video to a 2D planar video using the selected projection format. The encoder encodes the 2D planar video in a bitstream and further signals, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection format), wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions (para[0009] & claim 14 teaches encoding 360-degree video, an encoder selects a projection format, wherein the projection format includes information such as a geometry type and/or geometry orientation. The encoder maps the 360-degree video to a 2D planar video using the selected projection format. The encoder encodes the 2D planar video in a bitstream and further signals, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection format. Various geometry types may be used and may be signaled in the bitstream, including equirectangular, cubemap, equal-area, octahedron, icosahedron, cylinder, and user-specified polygon. For geometries types that are associated with a plurality of faces, frame-packing parameters may be signaled to identify the positions and/or orientations of those faces in the 2D planar video. Different faces may be encoded with different sizes and/or different levels of quality. Para[0075], Para[0111] teaches faces may be arranged with different orientations, para0156] teaches FIGS. 14A and 14B illustrate exemplary alternative arrangements of faces in a frame-packed picture. FIGS. 14A and 14B each illustrate arrangements of six faces, such as may be used in conjunction with a cubemap projection, Para[0103] and table 6 teaches face_rotation_idc syntax element Para[0105] teaches face_vertical_flip_flag. Para[0112] & Table teaches rotation may be combined with a vertical flip (or, in some embodiments, a horizontal flip) & Table teaches face_vertical_flip_flag. Para[0062] teaches a 360-degree video in equirectangular format is taken as input, and it is desired to convert the input into cubemap format. The following steps are applied: [0063] 1) For each sample position (uc, vc) in cubemap format, calculate the corresponding coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular format by the method introduced above. [0064] 2) If the coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular thus calculated are not at integer sample position, interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position using samples at its neighboring integer positions.).
Regarding claim 7, Hanhart discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising (Para[0075] teaches 360-degree video coding are addressed by signaling the geometry and frame packing parameters in the bitstream by means of additional high-level syntax elements. In particular, the projection geometry type can be specified, including different parameters for the geometry faces to locate them on the 2D planar video. The 360-video parameters can be signaled at different levels): generating a residual block of a current block based on a prediction block of the current block (Fig. 6 & Para [0067] teaches the prediction block is then subtracted from the current video block (116); and the prediction residual is de-correlated using transform (104) and quantized (106) to achieve the target bit-rate); encoding a picture including the current block based on the residual block (Fig. 6 & Para [0067] teaches the quantized residual coefficients are inverse quantized (110) and inverse transformed (112) to form the reconstructed residual, which is then added back to the prediction block (126) to form the reconstructed video block); encoding rearrangement information related to rearranging sub-regions in a picture (Para[0011] teaches syntax elements may be used to specify a projection geometry and/or to specify an arrangement of faces in a frame-packed picture using a grid system. Faces can have different size and/or orientation. In some embodiments, face arrangement on a 2-D plane may have various characteristics, such as constant face width/height along each column/row. 360-Degree Video Property Signaling at Video Level. Para[0077] teaches each picture may be coded in a different projection geometry or with the same geometry but with different face arrangements, sizes, or quality); encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system (Para[0130] teaches parameters may be used to map a sample from its location in the frame-packed picture to the corresponding location in the 3D geometry. This information may be exploited by advanced 360-video coding to achieve better compression efficiency. For example, the codec may exploit redundant information between neighboring faces in the 3D representation that are not collocated in the frame-packed picture); and generating the bitstream comprising the rearrangement information and the projection information (Abstract teaches An encoder selects a projection format and maps the 360-degree video to a 2D planar video using the selected projection format. The encoder encodes the 2D planar video in a bitstream and further signals, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection format); and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearrangement information includes rearrangement type information indicating a rearrangement type, flipping information for the sub-regions, and information related to interpolation of the sub-regions (para[0009] & claim 14 teaches encoding 360-degree video, an encoder selects a projection format, wherein the projection format includes information such as a geometry type and/or geometry orientation. The encoder maps the 360-degree video to a 2D planar video using the selected projection format. The encoder encodes the 2D planar video in a bitstream and further signals, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection format. Various geometry types may be used and may be signaled in the bitstream, including equirectangular, cubemap, equal-area, octahedron, icosahedron, cylinder, and user-specified polygon. For geometries types that are associated with a plurality of faces, frame-packing parameters may be signaled to identify the positions and/or orientations of those faces in the 2D planar video. Different faces may be encoded with different sizes and/or different levels of quality. Para[0075], Para[0111] teaches faces may be arranged with different orientations, para0156] teaches FIGS. 14A and 14B illustrate exemplary alternative arrangements of faces in a frame-packed picture. FIGS. 14A and 14B each illustrate arrangements of six faces, such as may be used in conjunction with a cubemap projection, Para[0103] and table 6 teaches face_rotation_idc syntax element Para[0105] teaches face_vertical_flip_flag. Para[0112] & Table teaches rotation may be combined with a vertical flip (or, in some embodiments, a horizontal flip) & Table teaches face_vertical_flip_flag. Para[0062] teaches a 360-degree video in equirectangular format is taken as input, and it is desired to convert the input into cubemap format. The following steps are applied: [0063] 1) For each sample position (uc, vc) in cubemap format, calculate the corresponding coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular format by the method introduced above. [0064] 2) If the coordinates (ue, ve) in equirectangular thus calculated are not at integer sample position, interpolation filter may be applied to obtain the sample value at this fractional position using samples at its neighboring integer positions).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abbas et al. (US 2017/0295356 A1) discloses encoding the image , a facet may be encoded independent from other portions of the image (other facets). The encoded version of the facet may be transformed to obtain transformed portions. The transformation may include rotation, flipping (horizontally or vertically).
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425