This office action is in response to application filed 03/17/2026 in which the claims 1-6 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2026, 05/20/2026, 07/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7, 9-10 of copending Application No. 19/569,334 in view of Hanhart (US 2019/0200023 A1).
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation “generating a prediction block by predicting a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block; obtaining, from the bitstream, reconstruction information for the decoded picture; and rearranging samples in the decoded picture based on the reconstruction information”. However Hanhart discloses the above limitation in Para[0068] teaches the coding mode and prediction information are sent to either the spatial prediction unit 260 (if intra coded) or the temporal prediction unit 262 (if inter coded) to form the prediction block); Para[0068] & fig. 7 teaches the prediction block and the residual block are then added together at 226), claim 1 teaches receiving a bitstream encoding a 2D planar video, the bitstream including parameters identifying a projection geometry type having a plurality of faces, the parameters including, for at least one of the faces, an indication of an amount of rotation of the respective face; and mapping the 2D planar video to a 360-degree video using the identified projection geometry format. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting copending claim, since advanced 360-video coding tools takes advantage of the full 3D representation to achieve better compression efficiency.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Co-pending application:19/569,334
Instant application: 19/569,355
1. An image decoding method, comprising:
obtaining, from a bitstream, transform information for a picture; determining a transform type based on the transform information; and performing a transform on the picture based on the transform type, wherein the transform type includes a flipping transform type for flipping the picture and mixed transform type for rotating and flipping the picture, and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
1. An image decoding method, comprising: generating a prediction block by predicting a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block; obtaining, from the bitstream, reconstruction information for the decoded picture; and rearranging samples in the decoded picture based on the reconstruction information,
wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples,
and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the decoded picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
2. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping transform type indicates a transform type for flipping the picture vertically.
2. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping vertically flips the samples.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping transform type indicates a transform type for flipping the picture horizontally.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping horizontally flips the samples.
7. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein a direction of the rotating of the mixed transform type is a counter-clockwise direction.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rotating rotates the samples in a counter-clockwise direction.
9. An image encoding method, comprising:
encoding transform information related to a transform type of a picture;
encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information, wherein the transform type includes a flipping transform type for flipping the picture and mixed transform type for rotating and flipping the picture.
5. An image encoding method, comprising: generating a prediction block of a current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block; encoding reconstruction information related to rearranging samples of the picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information, wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples.
10. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising:
encoding transform information related to a transform type of a picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; generating the bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the transform type includes a flipping transform type for flipping the picture and mixed transform type for rotating and flipping the picture.
6. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: generating a prediction block of a current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block; encoding reconstruction information related to rearranging samples of the picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating the bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples.
Claims 1-6 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4-5, 7-8 of copending Application No. 19/573,609 in view of Hanhart (US 2019/0200023 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation “generating a prediction block by predicting a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block” in the instant claim. However Hanhart discloses the above limitation in Para[0068] teaches the coding mode and prediction information are sent to either the spatial prediction unit 260 (if intra coded) or the temporal prediction unit 262 (if inter coded) to form the prediction block); Para[0068] & fig. 7 teaches the prediction block and the residual block are then added together at 226). See the table below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting copending claim, since decoder to be able to properly and more efficiently encode and decode the 360-video .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application:19/569,355
Co-pending application: 19/573,609
1. 1. An image decoding method, comprising: generating a prediction block by predicting a current block from a bitstream; decoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block; obtaining, from the bitstream, reconstruction information for the decoded picture; and rearranging samples in the decoded picture based on the reconstruction information, wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples, and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the decoded picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
1. An image decoding method, comprising:
obtaining, from a bitstream, transform information for a picture; determining a transform type based on the transform information; and performing a transform on the picture based on the transform type, wherein the transform type includes a mixed transform type for transform the picture by rotating and flipping the picture, and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
2. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping vertically flips the samples.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein a direction of the flipping
is at least one of a vertical direction or a horizontal direction of the picture.
3. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping horizontally flips the samples.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein a direction of the flipping
is at least one of a vertical direction or a horizontal direction of the picture.
4. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rotating rotates the samples in a counter-clockwise direction.
5. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein a direction of the rotating is a counter-clockwise direction.
5. An image encoding method, comprising: generating a prediction block of a current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block; encoding reconstruction information related to rearranging samples of the picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information, wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples.
7. An image encoding method, comprising: encoding transform information related to a transform type of a picture;
encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information, wherein the transform type includes a mixed type for transform the picture by rotating and flipping the picture.
6. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: generating a prediction block of a current block; encoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block; encoding reconstruction information related to rearranging samples of the picture; encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating the bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples.
8. A method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: encoding transform information related to a transform type of a picture;
encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; generating the bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the transform type includes a mixed type for transform the picture by rotating and flipping the picture..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hanhart et al. (US 2019/0200023 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hanhart discloses an image decoding method, comprising: generating a prediction block by predicting a current block from a bitstream (Para[0068] & Fig. 7 teaches the coding mode and prediction information are sent to either the spatial prediction unit 260 (if intra coded) or the temporal prediction unit 262 (if inter coded) to form the prediction block); decoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block (Para[0068] & fig. 7 teaches the prediction block and the residual block are then added together at 226); obtaining, from the bitstream, reconstruction information for the decoded picture (claim 1 teaches receiving a bitstream encoding a 2D planar video, the bitstream including parameters identifying a projection geometry type having a plurality of faces, the parameters including, for at least one of the faces, an indication of an amount of rotation of the respective face; and mapping the 2D planar video to a 360-degree video using the identified projection geometry format); and rearranging samples in the decoded picture based on the reconstruction information (Para[0076] teaches rotate the 3D geometry such that the object or region of interest is projected into a face or set of faces that may be encoded with higher quality. Similarly, if an object or region of interest is split over several faces, which may reduce the redundancy within each face, the geometry rotation may be used to define a different orientation such that one or more important objects can be placed within one face such that better compression efficiency may be achieved), wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples (Para[0103] [0105], [0112] teaches specifies the mapping index in Table 6 of the rotation between the face coordinate system and the picture coordinate system of the face located at the i-th row and j-th column in the frame packed picture.), and wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the decoded picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system (Para[0017] FIG. 2A illustrates cubemap projection on a 3D geometry structure & Para[0070] teaches decoder to unpack the data and project it back from the 2D space to the 3D space).
Regarding claim 2, Hanhart discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping vertically flips the samples (Para[0105] teaches face_vertical_flip_flag).
Regarding claim 3, Hanhart discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the flipping horizontally flips the samples (Para[0112] teaches using horizontal flip).
Regarding claim 4, Hanhart discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the rotating rotates the samples in a counter-clockwise direction (Table 6 teaches Rotation indices Index Rotation in counter-clockwise, Para[0111] teaches Faces may be arranged with different orientations. For example, as illustrated for the cubemap projection, faces “2”, “1”, and “3” are rotated by 90-degree counter-clockwise in the 2×3 grid of FIG. 9B).
Regarding claim 5, Hanhart discloses an image encoding method, comprising (FIG. 6 video encoding system): generating a prediction block of a current block (Para[0067] & Fig. 6 teaches for each input video block (MB or CU), spatial prediction (160) and/or temporal prediction (162) may be performed); encoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block (Para[0067] teaches the prediction block is then subtracted from the current video block (116); and the prediction residual is de-correlated using transform (104) and quantized (106) to achieve the target bit-rate. The quantized residual coefficients are inverse quantized (110) and inverse transformed (112) to form the reconstructed residual, which is then added back to the prediction block (126) to form the reconstructed video block); encoding reconstruction information related to rearranging samples of the picture (Para[0034] FIGS. 10A-10H illustrate the definitions of face rotation for triangular faces: FIG. 10A: 0° rotation; FIG. 10B: 90° rotation; FIG. 10C: 180° rotation; FIG. 10D: 270° rotation; FIG. 10E: 0° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10F: 90° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10G: 180° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10H: 270° rotation followed by vertical flip); encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system (para[0072] teaches to achieve better compression efficiency, advanced 360-video coding tools may take advantage of the full 3D representation, but these tools may benefit from information about the geometry and frame packing as the coding is performed on the projected 2D planar video. Therefore, information regarding the geometry and frame packing parameters may be made available to both the encoder and the decoder to be able to properly and more efficiently encode and decode the 360-video); and generating a bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information (Abstract teaches encoder selects a projection format and maps the 360-degree video to a 2D planar video using the selected projection format. The encoder encodes the 2D planar video in a bitstream and further signals, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection format), wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples (Para[0103] [0105], [0112] teaches specifies the mapping index in Table 6 of the rotation between the face coordinate system and the picture coordinate system of the face located at the i-th row and j-th column in the frame packed picture).
Regarding claim 6, Hanhart discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream (claim 14 teaches encoding the 2D planar video in a bitstream; and signaling, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection geometry type, the parameters including, for at least one of the faces, an indication of an amount of rotation of the respective face.), comprising: generating a prediction block of a current block (Para[0068] teaches the coding mode and prediction information are sent to either the spatial prediction unit 260 (if intra coded) or the temporal prediction unit 262 (if inter coded) to form the prediction block); encoding a picture including the current block based on the prediction block (Para[0067] teaches The prediction block is then subtracted from the current video block (116); and the prediction residual is de-correlated using transform (104) and quantized (106) to achieve the target bit-rate. The quantized residual coefficients are inverse quantized (110) and inverse transformed (112) to form the reconstructed residual, which is then added back to the prediction block (126) to form the reconstructed video block); encoding reconstruction information related to rearranging samples of the picture (Para[0034] teaches FIGS. 10A-10H illustrate the definitions of face rotation for triangular faces: FIG. 10A: 0° rotation; FIG. 10B: 90° rotation; FIG. 10C: 180° rotation; FIG. 10D: 270° rotation; FIG. 10E: 0° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10F: 90° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10G: 180° rotation followed by vertical flip; FIG. 10H: 270° rotation followed by vertical flip); encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system Abstract teaches encoder selects a projection format and maps the 360-degree video to a 2D planar video using the selected projection format. The encoder encodes the 2D planar video in a bitstream and further signals, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection format); and generating the bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information (Abstract teaches encoder selects a projection format and maps the 360-degree video to a 2D planar video using the selected projection format. The encoder encodes the 2D planar video in a bitstream and further signals, in the bitstream, parameters identifying the projection format),; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the rearranging is performed by flipping or rotating the samples (Para[0103] [0105], [0112] teaches specifies the mapping index in Table 6 of the rotation between the face coordinate system and the picture coordinate system of the face located at the i-th row and j-th column in the frame packed picture).
Conclusion
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425