DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application 19/569,463 filed 03/17/2026, in which claims 1-19 are presented for examination. Currently claims 1-19 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0041643 A1 hereinafter Chang and further in view of Ichikawa et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0073400 A1 hereinafter Ichikawa.
Consider Claim 1:
Chang discloses an information processing apparatus comprising one or more processors and memory configured to: (Chang, See Abstract.)
execute a display processing that performs a display of … an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units whose positions are capable of being adjusted separately at least in a front-back direction and a left-right direction when respectively held in front of both eyes of the user, and (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
wherein in the display processing, the display of the indicator image is performed as a display indicating an edge of a theoretical viewing area in which the user is able to theoretically view the image through the left and right display units in a case where the positions of the left and right display units respectively become positions correct for both eyes of the user. (Chang, [0031], “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 4A together, the lens group 130 includes a left-eye lens 132 and a right-eye lens 134. The left-eye lens 132 is disposed on an optical transmission path of the left-eye image LI. The right-eye lens 134 is disposed on an optical transmission path of the right-eye image RI. By respectively disposing the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI within focuses (not illustrated) of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134, the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI are respectively refracted by the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 to generate magnified erected virtual images at the back (e.g., a clear sight distance of the user) of the display screen 110. The magnified erected virtual images will be the image seen by the user.”)
Chang, while disclosing adjustment to the head worn device for correcting interpupillary distance both left to right and front to back in a displayed image however does not further suggest to provide the display of an indicator image in an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units.
Ichikawa however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide image indicators for alignment purposes and therefore teaches to provide the display of an indicator image in an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units. (Ichikawa, [0109-0122], [0110], “FIG. 15 schematically depicts a calibration image displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 and a see-through image displayed on the head-mounted display 100. A calibration image 52 displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 is an image in which corners and edges are distributed in an overall area of the image and repetitions of a same pattern do not exist at positions close to each other. In the example of FIG. 15, the calibration image 52 is an image in which figures of a circle, a triangle, and a cross are distributed at random in terms of direction and arrangement. However, figures represented in a calibration image are not restricted to them.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide image indicators for alignment purposes as this was a known technique in view of Ichikawa and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of to improve the efficiency of calibration of a stereo camera provided in a head-mounted display and mitigate the burden on the user. (Ichikawa, [0010])
Consider Claim 2:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the display processing, the display of the indicator image is performed as a display indicating at least a part of the edge of the theoretical viewing area. (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
Consider Claim 3:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the theoretical viewing area is defined by a hood member that has been attached to each of the left and right display units. (Chang, [0032], “As shown in FIG. 2A to FIG. 3B, the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 may be fixed onto two mechanical structures (e.g., cylindrical structures as illustrated in the drawing), respectively. The two mechanical structures are structurally separated from each other and respectively connected to the focal length adjustment device 140 and the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150. Accordingly, the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 fixed on the two mechanical structures can conduct a longitudinal movement (a front-back movement) through the focal length adjustment device 140 and can conduct a lateral movement (a left-right movement) through the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the one or more processors and memory is further configured to execute an instruction processing that issues, to the user, an instruction to align an inner periphery of the hood member with the indicator image by adjusting the position of each of the left and right display units. (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the one or more processors and memory is further configured to execute a sight line detection processing that detects a sight line of the user, and in the sight line detection processing, a calibration is performed when the instruction is issued to the user by the instruction processing. (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the display processing, the display of the indicator image is performed by using a predetermined figure. (Ichikawa, [0109-0122], [0110], “FIG. 15 schematically depicts a calibration image displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 and a see-through image displayed on the head-mounted display 100. A calibration image 52 displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 is an image in which corners and edges are distributed in an overall area of the image and repetitions of a same pattern do not exist at positions close to each other. In the example of FIG. 15, the calibration image 52 is an image in which figures of a circle, a triangle, and a cross are distributed at random in terms of direction and arrangement. However, figures represented in a calibration image are not restricted to them.”)
Consider Claim 7:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the predetermined figure is a circular frame line. (Ichikawa, [0109-0122], [0110], “FIG. 15 schematically depicts a calibration image displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 and a see-through image displayed on the head-mounted display 100. A calibration image 52 displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 is an image in which corners and edges are distributed in an overall area of the image and repetitions of a same pattern do not exist at positions close to each other. In the example of FIG. 15, the calibration image 52 is an image in which figures of a circle, a triangle, and a cross are distributed at random in terms of direction and arrangement. However, figures represented in a calibration image are not restricted to them.”)
The Office notes that it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) and a change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Consider Claim 8:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the predetermined figure is a rectangular frame line. (Ichikawa, [0109-0122], [0110], “FIG. 15 schematically depicts a calibration image displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 and a see-through image displayed on the head-mounted display 100. A calibration image 52 displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 is an image in which corners and edges are distributed in an overall area of the image and repetitions of a same pattern do not exist at positions close to each other. In the example of FIG. 15, the calibration image 52 is an image in which figures of a circle, a triangle, and a cross are distributed at random in terms of direction and arrangement. However, figures represented in a calibration image are not restricted to them.”)
The Office notes that it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) and a change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Consider Claim 9:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein in the display processing, the display of the indicator image is performed by using a plurality of the predetermined figures. (Ichikawa, [0109-0122], [0110], “FIG. 15 schematically depicts a calibration image displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 and a see-through image displayed on the head-mounted display 100. A calibration image 52 displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 is an image in which corners and edges are distributed in an overall area of the image and repetitions of a same pattern do not exist at positions close to each other. In the example of FIG. 15, the calibration image 52 is an image in which figures of a circle, a triangle, and a cross are distributed at random in terms of direction and arrangement. However, figures represented in a calibration image are not restricted to them.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the display processing, the display of the indicator image is performed by combining a plurality of types of figures. (Ichikawa, [0109-0122], [0110], “FIG. 15 schematically depicts a calibration image displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 and a see-through image displayed on the head-mounted display 100. A calibration image 52 displayed on the outputting apparatus 50 is an image in which corners and edges are distributed in an overall area of the image and repetitions of a same pattern do not exist at positions close to each other. In the example of FIG. 15, the calibration image 52 is an image in which figures of a circle, a triangle, and a cross are distributed at random in terms of direction and arrangement. However, figures represented in a calibration image are not restricted to them.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the display processing, the display of the indicator image is performed by coloring. (Ichikawa, [0109-0122], [0111], “Further, if the figures and the background in the calibration image 52 are represented in different colors, the accuracy of extracting corresponding points can be enhanced. If the user wearing the head-mounted display 100 turns the face toward the screen of the outputting apparatus 50, a picture of the calibration image 52 is displayed as a see-through image on the display section 124 of the head-mounted display 100. In FIG. 15, a pair of images having a parallax therebetween, that is, a left eye image 54a and a right eye image 54b, are depicted as the see-through image.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein in the display processing, the user performs the display of the indicator image on one of the left and right display units by coloring with a first color, and the user performs the display of the indicator image on the other of the left and right display units by coloring with a second color different from the first color. (Ichikawa, [0109-0122], [0111], “Further, if the figures and the background in the calibration image 52 are represented in different colors, the accuracy of extracting corresponding points can be enhanced. If the user wearing the head-mounted display 100 turns the face toward the screen of the outputting apparatus 50, a picture of the calibration image 52 is displayed as a see-through image on the display section 124 of the head-mounted display 100. In FIG. 15, a pair of images having a parallax therebetween, that is, a left eye image 54a and a right eye image 54b, are depicted as the see-through image.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the display processing, a range that is optically visible when both eyes of the user are directed toward the edge of the theoretical viewing area through the left and right display units is treated as the theoretical viewing area. (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and memory is further configured to execute a non-display processing that hides the indicator image. (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Chang in view of Ichikawa discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 14, wherein in the non-display processing, the indicator image is hidden in response to an input from the user. (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
Consider Claim 16:
Chang discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image that the user views through the left and right display units is an XR image. (Chang, [0003], “On the market, a near eye display used in Virtual Reality (VR) applications generally includes lenses and a display screen.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Chang discloses a head mounted display comprising: (Chang, See Abstract.)
the information processing apparatus according to claim 1; (Chang and Ichikawa, See Claim 1 rejection.)
the left and right display units; and (Chang, [0031], “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 4A together, the lens group 130 includes a left-eye lens 132 and a right-eye lens 134.”)
a holding portion for holding the left and right display units on a user's head or in a user's hand. (Chang, [0027], “In the embodiments of the invention, the near eye display system is, for example, a portable virtual reality (VR) system, which can be put on a head portion of the user so the user can experience a virtual world constructed from a computer-simulated real environment using a near eye display technology. However, the displayed content and applications of the near eye display system are not limited to the above.”)
Consider Claim 18:
Chang discloses an control method for an information processing apparatus, the control method comprising: (Chang, See Abstract.)
a display step of performing a display of an indicator image in an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units whose positions are capable of being adjusted separately at least in a front-back direction and a left-right direction when respectively held in front of both eyes of the user, and (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
wherein in the display step, the display of the indicator image is performed as a display indicating an edge of a theoretical viewing area in which the user is able to theoretically view the image through the left and right display units in a case where the positions of the left and right display units respectively become positions correct for both eyes of the user. (Chang, [0031], “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 4A together, the lens group 130 includes a left-eye lens 132 and a right-eye lens 134. The left-eye lens 132 is disposed on an optical transmission path of the left-eye image LI. The right-eye lens 134 is disposed on an optical transmission path of the right-eye image RI. By respectively disposing the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI within focuses (not illustrated) of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134, the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI are respectively refracted by the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 to generate magnified erected virtual images at the back (e.g., a clear sight distance of the user) of the display screen 110. The magnified erected virtual images will be the image seen by the user.”)
Chang, while disclosing adjustment to the head worn device for correcting interpupillary distance both left to right and front to back in a displayed image however does not further suggest to provide display of an indicator image in an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units.
Ichikawa however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide image indicators for alignment purposes and therefore teaches a display of an indicator image in an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units.
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide image indicators for alignment purposes as this was a known technique in view of Ichikawa and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of to improve the efficiency of calibration of a stereo camera provided in a head-mounted display and mitigate the burden on the user. (Ichikawa, [0010])
Consider Claim 19:
Chang discloses an non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a control method for an information processing apparatus, the control method comprising: (Chang, [0054], “Based on different requirements, the near eye display system 100 may further include other elements. For instance, as shown in FIG. 1, the near eye display system 100 may further include a memory unit 180 and an input unit 190. The memory unit 180 is coupled to the control unit 170 and capable of storing processing program, controlling program, image data, temporary data or related data. Further, the memory unit 180 may be used by the control unit 170 and the graphic processing unit 120. For instance, the memory unit 180 may be a general memory, a flash memory, a solid state disk, or a combination of at least two of the above. The input unit 190 is coupled to the control unit 170, and receives commands and operating actions inputted by the user, which are provided for the control unit 170 to determine the meaning of the commands from the user. For example, the input unit 190 may be a touch panel, but the invention is not limited thereto.”)
a display step of performing a display of an indicator image in an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units whose positions are capable of being adjusted separately at least in a front-back direction and a left-right direction when respectively held in front of both eyes of the user, and (Chang, [0031], [0035], “As shown in FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B and FIG. 4A, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 can control a lateral distance D3 between the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 so a center of each lens is aligned with a center of the corresponding eye for allowing the user to comfortably see the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI. The interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 may be a mechanical structure adjustable by a manual adjustment or a power-based adjustment. In the case of the power-based adjustment, the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 is coupled to the control unit 170. The control unit 170 instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate a lateral displacement amount of the left-eye lens 132 or the right-eye lens 134 according to commands from the user. Alternatively, with automatic settings, the control unit 170 can determine the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 according to an interpupillary distance of the user detected by the detection unit 160, and instructs the interpupillary distance adjustment device 150 to modulate the lateral displacement amounts of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134.”)
wherein in the display step, the display of the indicator image is performed as a display indicating an edge of a theoretical viewing area in which the user is able to theoretically view the image through the left and right display units in a case where the positions of the left and right display units respectively become positions correct for both eyes of the user. (Chang, [0031], “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 4A together, the lens group 130 includes a left-eye lens 132 and a right-eye lens 134. The left-eye lens 132 is disposed on an optical transmission path of the left-eye image LI. The right-eye lens 134 is disposed on an optical transmission path of the right-eye image RI. By respectively disposing the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI within focuses (not illustrated) of the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134, the left-eye image LI and the right-eye image RI are respectively refracted by the left-eye lens 132 and the right-eye lens 134 to generate magnified erected virtual images at the back (e.g., a clear sight distance of the user) of the display screen 110. The magnified erected virtual images will be the image seen by the user.”)
Chang, while disclosing adjustment to the head worn device for correcting interpupillary distance both left to right and front to back in a displayed image however does not further suggest to provide display of an indicator image in an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units.
Ichikawa however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide image indicators for alignment purposes and therefore teaches a display of an indicator image in an image that a user is able to view through left and right display units.
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide image indicators for alignment purposes as this was a known technique in view of Ichikawa and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of to improve the efficiency of calibration of a stereo camera provided in a head-mounted display and mitigate the burden on the user. (Ichikawa, [0010])
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626