DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Amendment filed on 09/02/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5, 11-14, 16, 18 and 20 have been amended, claims 10 and 19 have been canceled, and new claims 21-22 have been added. Currently, claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20-22 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Amendment to Specification filed on 09/02/2026 is effective to overcome the objection to Specification presented in the previous Office action. Therefore, the previous objection to the Specification has been withdrawn.
Amendments to claims 3, 10, 11, 14, and 18-20 are effective to overcome the claim objections presented in the previous Office action. Therefore, the previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Amendments to claims are not effective to overcome the 112(b) rejection and the 101 rejection presented in the previous Office action. Therefore, the previous 112(b) rejection and the previous 101 rejection are maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (see Remarks, pages 10-11) with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) that amended claims 1 and 12, as well as other dependent claims, are clear and allowable under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Examiner respectfully disagrees.
According to Applicant, the Office action states that “the claimed invention is unclear regarding how data files in the first data file collection are processed, how to generate the second data file collection from the first data file collection and how to calculate the confidence value” (Office action at 6), and Applicant amends independent claims 1 and 12 to recite each of these operations expressly.
However, the recitation of how the second data file collection is generated from the first data file collection as amended raises some issue regarding “new matter” (i.e., whether it is supported by the Specification). In addition, the issue raised in the previous Office action regarding how to calculate a confidence value representing a likelihood that the first data file collection does not include instance of the selected one or more PII types in response to determining that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection is still not clarified.
Therefore, the previous 112(b) rejection is maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (see Remarks, pages 11-13) with respect to rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 for being directed to abstract idea without significantly more and under step 2A that amended independent claims 1 and 12 recite significant additional elements above and beyond the abstract idea and integrate the ideas into a practical application, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claimed invention is directed to process data including broadly recited steps that can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. The process performed on the first data file collection in response to determining that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection includes broadly recited steps (i.e., mental steps or abstract idea) and also is not supported by the Specification on how a confidence value presenting a likelihood that the first data file collection does not include instances of the selected one or more PII types in relation to the second data file having no instances of the selected one or more PII types as recited. As such, the whole process recited by the claimed invention does not realize any improvement (e.g., in automated detection of PII and/or reducing the human review) as stated.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (see Remarks, pages 11-13) with respect to rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 for being directed to abstract idea without significantly more and under step 2B that the ordered combination of limitations of amended independent claims 1 and 12, specifically, per-data-file determination and confidence level, threshold-governed constitution of the second data file collection with expression exclusion of data files determined not to include the selected PII types at or above the selected confidence threshold, and a threshold-gated collection-level clearance conditioned on the outcome as to the second data file collection, adds specific limitations that are improvements beyond what is well-understood, routing, or conventional in the field, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claimed invention is directed to process data including broadly recited steps that can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. The process performed on the first data file collection in response to determining that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection includes broadly recited steps (i.e., mental steps or abstract idea) and also is not supported by the Specification on how a confidence value presenting a likelihood that the first data file collection does not include instances of the selected one or more PII types in relation to the second data file having no instances of the selected one or more PII types as recited. In addition, the roles and relation between “the first data file collection” and “the second data file collection” are unclear and how they are related to human review. As such, the whole process and/or combinations of limitations recited by the claimed invention do not realize any inventive steps or improvement as stated.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, pages 14-16) with respect to 103 rejection of claims 1-20, these arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection based on Joshi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,928,558).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 12, the limitation “wherein a data file of the first data file collection is included in the second data file collection when the respective PII determination for the data file indicates that the data file includes the selected one or more PII types or the respective confidence of the respective PII determination is below the selected confidence and excluded from the second data file collection when the PII determination for the data file indicates that the data file does not include the selected one or more PII types and the respective confidence level of the respective PII determination meets or exceeds the selected confidence threshold” appears not to be supported by the Specification and is directed to “new matter”.
Other dependent claims are rejected as incorporating and failing to resolve the deficiency of the rejected independent claims 1 and 12 upon which they depend correspondingly.
Claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1 and similarly applied to independent claim 12, claim 1 recites feature(s) of
in response to determining that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection:
calculating, by the computer, a confidence value representing a likelihood that the first data file collection does not include instances of the selected one or more PII types;
comparing, by the computer, the calculated confidence value to the selected confidence threshold; and
when the calculated confidence value meets or exceeds the selected confidence threshold, determining, by the computer, that the first data file collection does not require additional review for the presence of the selected one or more PII types.
That appear not being supported by the disclosure of Applicant’s Specification. The Specification discloses that a “second data file collection” is a subset of a “first data file collection” (see [0071]), and the second data file collection includes data files from the first data file collection that are provided for some addition review (e.g., human review) after being processed/reviewed automatically by the system for the presence or absence of the protected information (see [0069]). The Specification also disclose a “generated confidence level” associated with the first data file collection, and using the generated confidence level to determine whether a data file in the first data file collection can be included in the second data file collection (see [0023] and [0071]), wherein the generated confidence level as disclosed in the Specification can be interpreted as a confidence threshold as recited in the claim. However, a confidence level is generated/calculated for each identification of the presence or absence of the protected information for each data file rather than a whole collection of data files (e.g., a first/second data file collection).
Thus, the claimed invention is unclear regarding how data files in the first data file collection are processed, how to generate the second data file collection from the first data file collection, and how to calculate a confidence value representing a likelihood that the first data collection does not include instances of the selected one or more PII types in response to determining that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Other dependent claims are rejected as incorporating the deficiencies of the rejected independent claims 1 and 12 upon which they depend correspondingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of processing/analyzing data without significantly more.
The claims recite an abstract idea of identifying personally identifiable information (PII) in a data file collection associated with a data breach event based on broadly recited steps of generating, analyzing, calculating, comparing and determining, which are broadly recited steps/concepts that can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper and directed to mental processes grouping of abstract ideas . This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because other additional elements including genetic computer components (e.g., memory, processor, program instructions, etc.) and common computer functionality (e.g., inputting, accessing, storing, displaying, etc.) and/or insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., mere data gathering and outputting) for implementing the abstract idea are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because additional elements include only generic/common computer components (e.g., memory, processor, program instructions, etc.) and generic/common computer functions (e.g., accessing, storing, displaying, etc.) and/or insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., mere data gathering and outputting), which are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea.
Abstract idea analysis as follows:
Step 1:
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant claims, claims 1-9 and 11 are directed to a method (i.e. a process), and claims 12-18 and 20-22 are directed to a system comprising at least one computing device comprising a processor and memory storing code (i.e., a machine). Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter).
Step 2a Prong 1 (claims 1 and 12):
The following limitations recited in claims 1 and 12 are abstract ideas that fall under mental processes:
determining, by the computer, for each respective data file of the first data file collection, a respective PII determination indicating whether the respective data file includes the selected one or more PII types and a respective confidence level of the respective PII determinations (this step of determining as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind through mental processes (e.g., observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper, wherein the recitation of “by the computer” can be interpreted as “apply it” to the abstract idea and/or generic computer or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea)
generating, by the computer, a second data file collection comprising data files derived from the first data file collection, wherein a data file of the first data file collection is included in the second data file collection when the respective PII determination for the data file indicates that the data file includes the selected one or more PII types or the respective confidence of the respective PII determination is below the selected confidence and excluded from the second data file collection when the PII determination for the data file indicates that the data file does not include the selected one or more PII types and the respective confidence level of the respective PII determination meets or exceeds the selected confidence threshold (this step of generating as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper for illustration, wherein the recitation of “by the computer” can be interpreted as “apply it” to the abstract idea and/or generic computer or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea);
determining, by the computer, that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection (this step of identifying as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind using mental processes such as observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion, wherein the recitation of “by the computer” can be interpreted as “apply it” to the abstract idea and/or generic computer or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea); and
in response to determining that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection (this step of determining as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind using mental processes such as observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion):
calculating, by the computer, a confidence value representing a likelihood that the first data file collection does not include instances of the selected one or more PII types (this step of calculating as broadly recited without specifying “how” can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, wherein the recitation of “by the computer” can be interpreted as “apply it” to the abstract idea and/or generic computer or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea);
comparing, by the computer, the calculated confidence value to the selected confidence threshold (this step of comparing as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind using mental processes such as observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion, wherein the recitation of “by the computer” can be interpreted as “apply it” to the abstract idea and/or generic computer or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea); and
when the calculated confidence value meets or exceeds the selected confidence threshold, determining, by the computer, that the first data file collection does not require additional review for the presence of the selected one or more PII types (this step of comparing and determining as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind using mental processes such as observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion, wherein the recitation of “by the computer” can be interpreted as “apply it” to the abstract idea and/or generic computer or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea).
All the limitations above are mental steps that can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Step 2a Prong 2 (Claims 1 and 12):
The following limitations in claims 1 and 12 are additional elements:
receiving, by a computer operational with an enterprise IT system, a first data file collection comprising a plurality of data files, wherein the first data file collection is associated with a data breach event (this step of receiving as broadly recited is directed to mere data gathering recited at high level of generality or being insignificant extra-solution activity);
receiving, by the computer, selection of:
one or more PII types for detection in the first data file collection, wherein the selected one or more PII types are associated with a likelihood that data files in the first data file collection will include some or all of the selected one or more PII types;
data file types in the first data file collection; and
a confidence threshold corresponding to an acceptable level for automated review of the first data file collection for the selected one or more PII types (this step of receiving selection of… as directed to mere data inputting/gathering data or insignificant extra-solution activity for implementing the abstract idea;
by a computer (this element can be interpreted as “apply it” to the abstract idea and/or generic computer or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea);
at least one computing device operational with an enterprise IT system, the at least one computing device comprising a processor and memory storing code that, when executed by the processor, causes the at least one computing device to at least (these elements are directed to generic computer components or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea).
These are a generic computer and/or generic computer components used to perform generic computer functions and/or insignificant extra-solution activity for implementing or applying the abstract. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea(s).
Step 2b (Claims 1 and 12):
The following limitations in claims 1 and 12 are additional elements:
receiving, by a computer operational with an enterprise IT system, a first data file collection comprising a plurality of data files, wherein the first data file collection is associated with a data breach event (this step of receiving as broadly recited is directed to mere data gathering recited at high level of generality or being insignificant extra-solution activity);
receiving, by the computer, selection of:
one or more PII types for detection in the first data file collection, wherein the selected one or more PII types are associated with a likelihood that data files in the first data file collection will include some or all of the selected one or more PII types;
data file types in the first data file collection; and
a confidence threshold corresponding to an acceptable level for automated review of the first data file collection for the selected one or more PII types (this step of receiving selection of… as directed to mere data inputting/gathering data or insignificant extra-solution activity for implementing the abstract idea;
by a computer (this element can be interpreted as “apply it” to the abstract idea and/or generic computer or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea);
at least one computing device operational with an enterprise IT system, the at least one computing device comprising a processor and memory storing code that, when executed by the processor, causes the at least one computing device to at least (these elements are directed to generic computer components or mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea).
These are insignificant extra-solution activity and/or generic computer or generic computer components for performing generic computer functions, which are directed to well-understood, routine, conventional activity, and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, claims 2 and 13 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively. As such, claims 2 and 13 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1 and 12.
In addition, claims 2 and 13 include additional elements:
outputting information associated with designation of the first data file collection for no additional review for a presence of instances of the selected one or more PII types for use in one or more of:
a user notification;
a report;
a dashboard; or
machine learning information for use in a subsequent analysis of the first data file collection or a different data file collection (the step of outputting information as broadly recited is directed to mere data outputting/displaying or insignificant extra-solution activity, wherein the section of “for use in one or more of …” is directed to “intended use” or mental process).
These are additional elements directed to an insignificant extra-solution activity or well-understood, routine, conventional activity for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, claims 3 and 14 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively. As such, claims 3 and 14 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1 and 12.
In addition, claims 3 and 14 include additional elements:
wherein the selection of the one or more PII types, data file types or confidence threshold is by a user (this element specifying the selection/input by a user, which still is directed to mere data inputting/gathering or insignificant extra-solution activity).
These are additional elements directed to an insignificant extra-solution activity or well-understood, routine, conventional activity for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, claims 4 and 15 depend on claims 3 and 14 respectively. As such, claims 4 and 15 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 3 and 14.
In addition, claims 4 and 14 include additional elements:
wherein the user selection of the selected one or more PII types is associated with a compliance rule relevant to an owner or manager of the enterprise IT network (this element specifying the user selection as being associated with a compliance rule, which is directed to mere additional structure/data).
These are additional elements directed to mere structure/data for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, claims 5 and 16 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively. As such, claims 5 and 16 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1 and 12.
In addition, claims 5 and 16 include additional elements:
wherein a designation of no additional review being needed is associated with no human review being required for the first data file collection, thereby generating a fully automated review of the first data collection for the selected one or more PII types (this step of generating as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper).
These are additional elements directed to mental process(es), which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, claims 6 and 17 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively. As such, claims 6 and 17 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1 and 12.
In addition, claims 6 and 17 include additional elements:
wherein in response to a determination that no further review is needed of the first data file collection for a presence of the selected one or more PII types, the review of the first data file collection for the presence of the selected one or more PII types is terminated (the steps of determining and terminating the review as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper).
These are additional elements directed to mental process(es), which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, claims 7 and 18 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively. As such, claims 7 and 18 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1 and 12.
In addition, claims 7 and 18 include additional elements:
wherein the selected data file types include unstructured data (this element specifying data file types or being directed to mere additional structure/data).
These are additional elements directed to mere additional structure/data for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, claims 8 and 21 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively. As such, claims 8 and 21 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1 and 12.
In addition, claims 8 and 21 include additional elements:
wherein the selected data file types include pdf files (this element specifying data file types or being directed to mere additional structure/data).
These are additional elements directed to mere additional structure/data for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, claims 9 and 22 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively. As such, claims 9 and 22 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1 and 12.
In addition, claims 9 and 22 include additional elements:
wherein the selected data file types include image data (this element specifying data file types or being directed to mere additional structure/data).
These are additional elements directed to mere additional structure/data for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, claims 11 and 20 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively. As such, claims 11 and 20 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1 and 12.
In addition, claims 11 and 20 include additional elements:
wherein the selected one or more PII types comprises for an individual:
a first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data elements:
social security number;
student, military, or passport ID number;
drivers license number or other identification card number;
medical information;
health insurance identification number; or
biometric data;
a username or email address, in combination with a password or security question that would permit access to an online account; or
an account number or credit card number or debit card number in combination with any required security code, access code, or password that would permit access to that account (these elements specifying the selected one or more PII types and being directed to mere data).
These are additional elements directed to mere additional data, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20-22 (effective filing date 10/24/2020) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,928,558, effectively filed date 11/29/2019), and further in view of Vax et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,238,176, effectively filed date 06/19/2017)
As to claim 1, Joshi et al. teaches:
“A method for identifying personally identifiable information (PII) in a data file collection associated with a data breach event, the method comprising” (see Joshi et al., Abstract, Fig. 1 and [column 4, lines 14-30]):
“receiving, by a computer operational with an enterprise IT system, a first data file collection comprising a plurality of data files,” (see Joshi et al., [column 7, lines 20-29] and [column 8, lines 13-18] for receiving content provided by a user to a content review service, wherein the content data may include documents (i.e., first data file collection); also see [column 9, lines 15-39]);
“receiving, by the computer, selection of” (see Joshi et al., [column 27, lines 1-10 and 17-20] for receiving user input):
“one or more PII types for detection in the first data file collection, wherein the selected one or more PII types are associated with a likelihood that data files in the first data file collection will include some or all of the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 27, lines 1-10] for specifying the key or field of interest (e.g., company name), wherein the key or field of interest as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a PII type as recited; also see [column 27, lines 30-45] for identifying email address in the content; also see [column 4, lines 14-30] for identifying social security number (SSN) in the content);
“data file types in the first data file collection” (see Joshi et al., [column 26, lines 65-67] for searching content, such as images, for fields of interest, wherein fields of interest represent PII types as recited, and images represent data file type; also see [column 27, lines 1-10] for searching invoices for company name; also see [column 9, lines 15-27] for providing content including content presented on a website, which may include images, text, video and/or audio (i.e., different data file types)); and
“a confidence threshold corresponding to an acceptable level for automated review of the first data file collection for the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 9, lines 40-44] wherein the user provides a confidence level associated with the review of the content; also see [column 12, lines 30-40] for a confidence threshold corresponding to searching for fields of interest within the request of the user);
“determining, by the computer, for each respective data file of the first data file collection, a respective PII determination indicating whether the respective data file includes the selected one or more PII types and a respective confidence level of the respective PII determination” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 20-29] and [column 17, lines 5-38] for determining that a content (e.g., a document/file) includes a field of interest (e.g., social security number (SSN), employee name, etc.), the determination is associated with a confidence score/value; also see [column 15, lines 46-57] wherein content may include multiple documents);
“generating, by the computer, a second data file collection comprising data files derived from the first data file collection” (see Joshi et al., [column 5, lines 19-27] for generating/identifying a subset of content (i.e., a second data file collection) for human review after processing by the ML models),
“wherein a data file of the first data file collection is included in the second data file collection when the respective PII determination for the data file indicates that the data file includes the selected one or more PII types or the respective confidence of the respective PII determination is below the selected confidence and excluded from the second data file collection when the PII determination for the data file indicates that the data file does not include the selected one or more PII types and the respective confidence level of the respective PII determination meets or exceeds the selected confidence threshold” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 49-60] if the confidence score of a prediction/determination is less that a defined confidence (e.g., threshold), the content (e.g., document/file) may be sent for human review (i.e., including in the second data file collection), and if the ML models determine that the confidence score is greater than the defined confidence threshold, the content may not be sent for human review (i.e., excluding from the second data file collection; also see [column 9, lines 58-65]);
“determining, by the computer, that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 14-29] for determining whether content includes a social security number; also see [column 9, lines 58-65] and [column 25, lines 45-52] for the reviewer to verify that the content does not contain the field of interest (e.g., a selected PII type(s)); and
“in response to determining that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 14-29] for determining whether content includes a social security number; also see [column 9, lines 58-65]):
“calculating, by the computer, a confidence value representing a likelihood that the first data file collection does not include instances of the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 14-29] and [column 9, lines 58-65] for determining/generating a confidence score/value associated with a determination (e.g., determining if the content includes a field of interest (e.g., social security number), or determining if the content does not include a field of interest (e.g., social security number));
“comparing, by the computer, the calculated confidence value to the selected confidence threshold” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 48-61] for comparing the confidence score of the prediction/determination with a defined confidence threshold); and
“when the calculated confidence value meets or exceeds the selected confidence threshold, determining, by the computer, that the first data file collection does not require additional review for the presence of the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 48-61] for comparing the confidence score of the prediction/determination with a defined confidence threshold to determine that the confidence score is greater than the defined confidence threshold and the content (i.e., first data file collection) may not be sent for human review (i.e., additional review)).
However, Joshi et al. does not explicitly teach a feature of processing data set/collection or files associated with a data breach event as recited as follows:
“wherein the first data file collection is associated with a data breach event”.
Vax et al. explicitly teaches a feature of processing data set/collection or files associated with a data breach event (see Vax et al., [column 25, lines 37-39] for databases that are known to have been breached and/or data dump file(s) to be investigated; also see [column 27, lines 20-25] for scanning data dump file or data breach file).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Vax et al.'s teaching to Joshi et al.’s system by using the content review service of Joshi et al.’s system to process/review any data set/collection including files associated a data breach event. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because the content review service of Joshi et al.’s system allows to detect any data/fields of interest including personal/sensitive data in any data sets/sources as specified by a user/client request. In addition, both of the references (Joshi et al. and Vax et al.) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a system/method for processing/analyzing data sets (e.g., databases, files, etc.) for identifying sensitive/personal information. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claim 2, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“outputting information associated with designation of the first data file collection for no additional review for a presence of instances of the selected one or more PII types for use in one or more of:
a user notification;
a report;
a dashboard; or
machine learning information for use in a subsequent analysis of the first data file collection or a different data file collection (see Joshi et al., [column 17, lines 5-37] for displaying the result from the review content service to the user (i.e., reporting/notifying the user); also see [column 5, lines 55-65 for retraining the ML models based on results/outputs of the ML models; also see [column 35, lines 5-26] for providing a dashboard that may indicate the total number of completed and/or pending reviews for images, text and/or video content).
As to claim 3, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selection of the one or more PII types, data file types, or confidence threshold is by a user” (see Joshi et al., [column 9, lines 15-53] wherein a user provides/selects the content (i.e., data file types), fields/data of interest (i.e., PII types) to be identified in the content, and confidence level (i.e., confidence threshold) associated with the review of the content; also see [column 4, lines 14-29], [column 13, line 64 to column 14, line 23], [column 17, lines 1-38], and [column 27, lines 1-10 and lines 30-45] wherein data/field(s) of interest can include different types of PII such as social security number (SSN), employee name, company name, email address, etc.).
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 3 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the user selection of the selected one or more PII types is associated with a compliance rule relevant to an owner or manager of the enterprise IT network” (see Joshi et al., [column 9, lines 15-39], [column 17, lines 5-38 and [column 27, lines 1-10 and lines 30-45] where a user selects data/fields of interests (i.e., one or more PII types) based on search purposes/rules).
As to claim 5, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein a designation of no additional review being needed is associated with no human review being required for the first data file collection, thereby generating a fully automated review of the first data collection for the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 35-61] and [column 5, lines 19-38] only a subset of content being processed/reviewed by ML models are identified for being sent for human review; also see Fig. 5A).
As to claim 6, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein in response to a determination that no further review is needed of the first data file collection for a presence of the selected one or more PII types, the review of the first data file collection for the presence of the selected one or more PII types is terminated” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 35-61] and [column 5, lines 19-38] only a subset of content being processed/reviewed by ML models are identified for being sent for human review; also see [column 6, lines 25-55] and Figs 5A-B).
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selected data file types include unstructured data” (see Joshi et al., [column 8, lines 8-18] wherein content data may include text or word documents (i.e., unstructured data)).
As to claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selected data file types include pdf files” (see Joshi et al., [column 8, lines 8-18] wherein content data may include PDF documents/files).
As to claim 9, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selected data file types include image data” (see Joshi et al., [column 8, lines 8-18] wherein content data may include images).
As to claim 11, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selected one or more PII types comprises for an individual” (see Joshia et al., [column 17, lines 8-18] for inputting field of interest as “employee name”):
“a first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data elements” (see Joshia et al., [column 17, lines 8-18] for inputting field of interest as “employee name”):
social security number;
student, military, or passport ID number;
drivers license number or other identification card number;
medical information;
health insurance identification number; or
biometric data” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 14-29], [column 13, line 64 to column 14, line 23], [column 17, lines 1-38], and [column 27, lines 1-10 and lines 30-45] wherein data/field(s) of interest can include different types of PII such as social security number (SSN), employee name, company name, email address, etc.); also see Vax et al., [column 4, lines 24-55]);
“a username or email address, in combination with a password or security question that would permit access to an online account” (see Joshi et al., [column 27, lines 30-45] for identifying email addresses in content; also see Vax et al., [column 4, lines 30-33] for email address); or
“an account number or credit card number or debit card number in combination with any required security code, access code, or password that would permit access to that account” (see Joshi et al., [column 26, lines 54-64] wherein a user can search multiple fields of interest within the content, wherein fields of interest can include any types of PII data; also see Vax et al., [column 4, lines 24-40]).
As to claim 12, Joshi et al. teaches:
“A system for identifying personally identifiable information (PII) in a data file collection associated with a data breach event, the system comprising” (see Joshi et al., Abstract, Fig. 1 and [column 4, lines 14-29]):
“at least one computing device operational with an enterprise IT system, the at least one computing device comprising a processor and memory storing code that, when executed by the processor, causes the at least one computing device to at least” (see Joshi et al., Fig. 1):
“receive a first data file collection comprising a plurality of data files,” (see Joshi et al., [column 7, lines 20-29] and [column 8, lines 13-18] for receiving content provided by a user to a content review service, wherein the content data may include documents (i.e., first data file collection); also see [column 9, lines 15-39]);
“receive selection of” (see Joshi et al., [column 27, lines 1-10 and 17-20] for receiving user input):
“one or more PII types for detection in the first data file collection, wherein the selected one or more PII types are associated with a likelihood that data files in the first data file collection will include some or all of the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 27, lines 1-10] for specifying the key or field of interest (e.g., company name), wherein the key or field of interest as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a PII type as recited; also see [column 27, lines 30-45] for identifying email address in the content; also see [column 4, lines 14-30] for identifying social security number (SSN) in the content);
“data file types in the first data file collection” (see Joshi et al., [column 26, lines 65-67] for searching content, such as images, for fields of interest, wherein fields of interest represent PII types as recited, and images represent data file type; also see [column 27, lines 1-10] for searching invoices for company name; also see [column 9, lines 15-27] for providing content including content presented on a website, which may include images, text, video and/or audio (i.e., different data file types)); and
“a confidence threshold corresponding to an acceptable level for automated review of the first data file collection for the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 9, lines 40-44] wherein the user provides a confidence level associated with the review of the content; also see [column 12, lines 30-40] for a confidence threshold corresponding to searching for fields of interest within the request of the user);
“determine, for each respective data file of the first data file collection, a respective PII determination indicating whether the respective data file includes the selected one or more PII types and a respective confidence level of the respective PII determination” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 20-29] and [column 17, lines 5-38] for determining that a content (e.g., a document/file) includes a field of interest (e.g., social security number (SSN), employee name, etc.), the determination is associated with a confidence score/value; also see [column 15, lines 46-57] wherein content may include multiple documents);
“generating a second data file collection comprising data files derived from the first data file collection” (see Joshi et al., [column 5, lines 19-27] for generating/identifying a subset of content (i.e., a second data file collection) for human review after processing by the ML models),
“wherein a data file of the first data file collection is included in the second data file collection when the respective PII determination for the data file indicates that the data file includes the selected one or more PII types or the respective confidence of the respective PII determination is below the selected confidence and excluded from the second data file collection when the PII determination for the data file indicates that the data file does not include the selected one or more PII types and the respective confidence level of the respective PII determination meets or exceeds the selected confidence threshold” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 49-60] if the confidence score of a prediction/determination is less that a defined confidence (e.g., threshold), the content (e.g., document/file) may be sent for human review (i.e., including in the second data file collection), and if the ML models determine that the confidence score is greater than the defined confidence threshold, the content may not be sent for human review (i.e., excluding from the second data file collection; also see [column 9, lines 58-65]);
“determine that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 14-29] for determining whether content includes a social security number; also see [column 9, lines 58-65] and [column 25, lines 45-52] for the reviewer to verify that the content does not contain the field of interest (e.g., a selected PII type(s)); and
“in response to determining that no instances of the selected one or more PII types are identified in the second data file collection” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 14-29] for determining whether content includes a social security number; also see [column 9, lines 58-65]):
“calculate a confidence value representing a likelihood that the first data file collection does not include instances of the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 14-29] and [column 9, lines 58-65] for determining/generating a confidence score/value associated with a determination (e.g., determining if the content includes a field of interest (e.g., social security number), or determining if the content does not include a field of interest (e.g., social security number));
“compare the calculated confidence value to the selected confidence threshold” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 48-61] for comparing the confidence score of the prediction/determination with a defined confidence threshold); and
“when the calculated confidence value meets or exceeds the selected confidence threshold, determine that the first data file collection does not require additional review for the presence of the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 48-61] for comparing the confidence score of the prediction/determination with a defined confidence threshold to determine that the confidence score is greater than the defined confidence threshold and the content (i.e., first data file collection) may not be sent for human review (i.e., additional review)).
However, Joshi et al. does not explicitly teach a feature of processing data set/collection or files associated with a data breach event as recited as follows:
“wherein the first data file collection is associated with a data breach event”.
Vax et al. explicitly teaches a feature of processing data set/collection or files associated with a data breach event (see Vax et al., [column 25, lines 37-39] for databases that are known to have been breached and/or data dump file(s) to be investigated; also see [column 27, lines 20-25] for scanning data dump file or data breach file).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Vax et al.'s teaching to Joshi et al.’s system by using the content review service of Joshi et al.’s system to process/review any data set/collection including files associated a data breach event. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because the content review service of Joshi et al.’s system allows to detect any data/fields of interest including personal/sensitive data in any data sets/sources as specified by a user/client request. In addition, both of the references (Joshi et al. and Vax et al.) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a system/method for processing/analyzing data sets (e.g., databases, files, etc.) for identifying sensitive/personal information. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claim 13, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 12 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“output information associated with designation of the first data file collection for no additional review for a presence of instances of the selected one or more PII types for use in one or more of:
a user notification;
a report;
a dashboard; or
machine learning information for use in a subsequent analysis of the first data file collection or a different data file collection (see Joshi et al., [column 17, lines 5-37] for displaying the result from the review content service to the user (i.e., reporting/notifying the user); also see [column 5, lines 55-65 for retraining the ML models based on results/outputs of the ML models; also see [column 35, lines 5-26] for providing a dashboard that may indicate the total number of completed and/or pending reviews for images, text and/or video content).
As to claim 14, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 12 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selection of the one or more PII types, data file types, or confidence threshold is by a user” (see Joshi et al., [column 9, lines 15-53] wherein a user provides/selects the content (i.e., data file types), fields/data of interest (i.e., PII types) to be identified in the content, and confidence level (i.e., confidence threshold) associated with the review of the content; also see [column 4, lines 14-29], [column 13, line 64 to column 14, line 23], [column 17, lines 1-38], and [column 27, lines 1-10 and lines 30-45] wherein data/field(s) of interest can include different types of PII such as social security number (SSN), employee name, company name, email address, etc.).
As to claim 15, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 14 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the user selection of the selected one or more PII types is associated with a compliance rule relevant to an owner or manager of the enterprise IT network” (see Joshi et al., [column 9, lines 15-39], [column 17, lines 5-38 and [column 27, lines 1-10 and lines 30-45] where a user selects data/fields of interests (i.e., one or more PII types) based on search purposes/rules).
As to claim 16, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 12 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein a designation of no additional review being needed is associated with no human review being required for the first data file collection, thereby generating a fully automated review of the first data collection for the selected one or more PII types” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 35-61] and [column 5, lines 19-38] only a subset of content being processed/reviewed by ML models are identified for being sent for human review).
As to claim 17, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 12 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein in response to a determination that no further review is needed of the first data file collection for a presence of the selected one or more PII types, the review of the first data file collection for the presence of the selected one or more PII types is terminated” (see Joshi et al., [column 2, lines 35-61] and [column 5, lines 19-38] only a subset of content being processed/reviewed by ML models are identified for being sent for human review; also see [column 6, lines 25-55]).
As to claim 18, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 12 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selected data file types include unstructured data. pdf files, image files, or a combination thereof” (see Joshi et al., [column 8, lines 8-18] wherein content data may include text or word documents (i.e., unstructured data)).
As to claim 20, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 12 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selected one or more PII types comprises for an individual” (see Joshia et al., [column 17, lines 8-18] for inputting field of interest as “employee name”):
“a first name or first initial and last name in combination with any one or more of the following data elements” (see Joshia et al., [column 17, lines 8-18] for inputting field of interest as “employee name”):
social security number;
student, military, or passport ID number;
drivers license number or other identification card number;
medical information;
health insurance identification number; or
biometric data” (see Joshi et al., [column 4, lines 14-29], [column 13, line 64 to column 14, line 23], [column 17, lines 1-38], and [column 27, lines 1-10 and lines 30-45] wherein data/field(s) of interest can include different types of PII such as social security number (SSN), employee name, company name, email address, etc.); also see Vax et al., [column 4, lines 24-55]);
“a username or email address, in combination with a password or security question that would permit access to an online account” (see Joshi et al., [column 27, lines 30-45] for identifying email addresses in content; also see Vax et al., [column 4, lines 30-33] for email address); or
“an account number or credit card number or debit card number in combination with any required security code, access code, or password that would permit access to that account” (see Joshi et al., [column 26, lines 54-64] wherein a user can search multiple fields of interest within the content, wherein fields of interest can include any types of PII data; also see Vax et al., [column 4, lines 24-40]).
As to claim 21, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 12 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selected data file types include pdf files” (see Joshi et al., [column 8, lines 8-18] wherein content data may include PDF documents/files).
As to claim 22, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 12 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Joshi et al. as modified by Vax et al. teaches:
“wherein the selected data file types include image data” (see Joshi et al., [column 8, lines 8-18] wherein content data may include images).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Phuong Thao Cao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164