DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the arm comprising a wedge and the arm comprising a cradle must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the through-hole of the wedge" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the through-hole of the cradle" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brown US 4,551,942.
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses an integrated sprouter device, comprising: a container (J-1) with an open end (Brown, column 2: line 14); a porous filter (40) configured to fit over an edge of the open end of the container; a collar (42) configured to secure the porous filter flush over the edge of the open end of the container; and a stand (S) comprising: a base (27); and an arm (20) extending from the base at an angle and including a through-hole (S-1) configured to receive the collar; wherein the container is substantially a straight-walled container (Brown, Figure 2); wherein the porous filter is perforated by slots (Brown, Figure 1); and wherein the slots are precisely positioned to be flush with the edge of the open end of the container (Brown, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Brown discloses the slots extending over the edge of the open end of the container (Brown, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Brown further discloses the arm comprising a cradle and wherein the container is configured to rest in the through-hole of the cradle (Brown, Figures 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Audet CA2024376.
Regarding claim 1, Audet discloses an integrated sprouter device, comprising: a container (15) with an open end; a porous filter (16) configured to fit over an edge of the open end of the container; a collar (14) configured to secure the porous filter flush over the edge of the open end of the container; and a stand (10) comprising: a base; and an arm extending from the base at an angle and including a through-hole configured to receive the collar (Audet, Figure 1); wherein the container is substantially a straight-walled container (Audet, Figure 1); wherein the porous filter is perforated by slots (Audet translation: The mouth of the latter is covered by a grid or mesh (16,17,18) ); and wherein the slots are precisely positioned to be flush with the edge of the open end of the container (Audet, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Audet further discloses the arm comprising a wedge and wherein the container is configured to rest in the through-hole of the wedge (Audet, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Audet further discloses the arm comprising a cradle and wherein the container is configured to rest in the through-hole of the cradle (Audet, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Audet further discloses the angle being 45 degrees (Audet translation, abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown US 4,551,942 in view of Kraehenmann DE 19752159.
Regarding claim 5, Brown discloses the arm extending from the base at an angle (Brown, Figure 2) but fails to explicitly disclose the angle. Kraehenmann teaches an arm (7) extending from a base (6) at an angle of 45 degrees (Kraehenmann translation: The container 1 is at an angle to the support surface 6 and forms an angle δ .sub.1 of approximately 45 °.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success for the angle of the arm of Brown to be 45 degrees as taught by Kraehenmann as to allow for proper drainage of the container (Brown, abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: DE 202005000789.
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642