CARBON PARTICLES AND METHOD FOR THEIR MANUFACTURE
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 19/570,940 Art Unit: 1727 August 19, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Response to Restriction filed on July 02, 2026 have been received. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and fully considered. The traversal arguments are persuasive and the restriction has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 19 recites an intended use for a carbon particle. The courts have held that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of compact prosecution, the claim will be construed without the word “substantially”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardman (US 2021/0017025 A1; as found in IDS dated 03/18/2026).
As to Claims 1, 4-8 and 19-20, Hardman discloses a battery comprising a negative active material having a graphite (carbon) particle comprising: carbon in an amount of 99 wt%; boron in an amount of 0.05-7 wt (Abstract and paragraphs [0003]). Hardman further teaches of maximizing the carbon content and minimizing impurities such as sulfur (paragraphs [0022, 0026-0027]). Hardman is recognizing the amounts of impurities and carbon as result-effective variable in providing a high purity carbon particle for use in a battery (paragraphs [0026 and 0065]). Hardman does not specifically disclose the claimed amount of the claimed impurities. However, the courts have held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), see MPEP 2144.05, II, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amounts of carbon and impurities in the carbon particle of Hardman to read on the claims because Hardman teaches that a high purity carbon particle for an anode can be provided (paragraphs [0026 and 0065]).
As to Claim 2, Hardman discloses wherein the carbon particle has a BET surface area of 5-15 m2/g (paragraph [0022]).
As to Claim 3, it is the position of the Office that the carbon particle of Hardman intrinsically comprises the claimed peaks given that the amounts of elements in the carbon particle of Hardman and the claimed invention are the same, see MPEP 2112.
As to Claim 9, Hardman teaches of a particle size of 20 microns (paragraph [0028]).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 19/111,341 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727