DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2 and 3 have been canceled. Accordingly, claims 1 and 4-22 remain pending and under current examination.
Withdrawn Objection and Rejections
The objection to the abstract is withdrawn in view of the substitute to the abstract as filed 8/13/2026.
All rejections of claims 2 and 3 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims. Modified grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are presented below.
The following rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 1: the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 15-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP1186650 (Hanada et al.; “Hanada”); the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP1186650 (Hanada et al.; “Hanada”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 15-22 above, and further in view of US 5,665,824 (Chang et al.; “Chang”); and the rejection of claims 13 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP1186650 (Hanada et al.; “Hanada”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 15-22 above, and further in view of US 7351683B2 (Del Duca et al.; “Duca”).
Additionally, in view of Applicant’s terminal disclaimers filed and approved 8/13/2026 in the file wrapper, the double patenting rejections over the following applications are also withdrawn: copending Application No. 19280668(reference application); U.S. Patent No. 12440083; U.S. Patent No. 12035861; U.S. Patent No. 10694917; and U.S. Patent No. 8980816.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/13/2026 (hereafter, “Remarks”) have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach a laundry care sheet having the features claimed as amended. In reply, new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are presented below. Otherwise, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
New Rejections as Necessitated by Amendments filed 8/13/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP1186650 (Hanada et al.; “Hanada”) in view of US 5,665,824 (Chang et al.; “Chang”) and US 7351683B2 (Del Duca et al.; “Duca”).
The instant claims are drawn to a laundry care sheet [product] comprising a layer of film-forming material comprising a composition comprising a water-soluble polymer and one or more surfactants, wherein the water-soluble polymer comprises polyvinyl alcohol, and wherein the layer of film-forming material comprises a first surface and an opposing second surface; and a plurality of particles entrapped in the film-forming material between the first surface and the second surface, wherein the plurality of particles comprises a laundry active; and wherein the laundry care sheet has a thickness and additional components further specified in the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Hanada teaches a laundry detergent sheet product comprising a layer containing a detergent composition and, on both sides of the layer, a connected water-soluble substrate. The layer comprises water-soluble particles each having an average diameter of 60 to 2000 micrometers (see abstract, in particular). The water-soluble substrate includes (i) water-soluble film, (ii) water-soluble nonwoven fabric or woven fabric, (iii) water-soluble laminated substrate consisting of a water-soluble film and said water-soluble nonwoven fabric or woven fabric, and (iv) laminated material formed from a water-soluble film and a web made of water-soluble fibers, and in particular, (iv) is preferable in respect of simplicity and prevention of blocking among the laundry detergent sheets due to humidity (see paragraph [0040]), page 6). Hanada’s water-soluble substrate may be made of polyvinyl alcohol (see [0041]). The laundry sheet has a thickness most preferably from 0.1 to 0.5 cm (a range overlapping the instantly recited range of from about 0.1 mm to about 5 mm)(limitations of claim 1).
Because Hanada does not require the combination of claimed components including at least the claimed thickness range, this rejection is made using obviousness rationale. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use Hanada’s preferred thickness including a value overlapping the instantly claimed laundry care sheet thickness range, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so to achieve good physical structure and desired degradability as taught by Hanada.
Further regarding claim 1, Hanada does not specify the average molecular weight of the polyvinyl alcohol otherwise addressed above. Chang cures this deficiency.
Chang teaches water soluble articles for use in applications for packaging where disposable character is desired (see abstract and column 1, lines 22-30 in particular). Chang teaches the state of the art wherein polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) is considered desirable for replacement of plastic materials in sheet type disposable products (column 1, lines 23-30 and column 2, lines 11-20). Chang specifies that polyvinyl alcohol having a molecular weight of 62,000 g/mol (Mowiol TM GE 4-86) in particular may be employed as the polyvinyl alcohol component (column 6, lines 37-44) wherein Chang further details physical properties of known polyvinyl alcohol materials useful in the best mode as a water soluble degradable material which may be included with other functional agents (see column 5, lines 32-67).
Hanada and Chang are both directed to water soluble sheet type products comprising polyvinyl alcohol. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use Chang’s named polyvinyl alcohol having a specified molecular weight of 62,000 g/mol in place of Hanada’s generically disclosed polyvinyl alcohol. One would have been motivated to do so on account of Chang’s named polyvinyl alcohol’s desirable properties such as crystallinity, glass transition temperature, flow character, and viscosity character, as taught by Chang.
As to claim 4, Hanada specifies the content of particles in its layer is 10 to 90% by weight of that layer, thereby teaching a range of these two components overlapping the claimed range of about 1:1 to about 1:10 (see Hanada claim 3).
As to claims 5 and 6, Hanada teaches that the laminated material formed from water-soluble film and fibers has a basis weight of not more than 50 g/m^2 and preferably at least 10 g/m^2 (see [0045] and [0050]), a range overlapping the instantly claimed ranges.
As to claim 7, Hanada teaches that the film materials have a high degree of dissolution (see [0051] and [0065]-[0067] and Table 2, however Hanada does not specify the dissolution time or measurement method generally referenced in instant claim 7. However, where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971). Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) citing In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531, 173 USPQ 685 (1972). Specifically in the instant case, Hanada teaches a product having the same components instantly claimed for the same purpose as instantly claimed; accordingly, one reasonably would have expected Hanada’s products to have the same or substantially the same dissolution character as instantly described in claim 7, absent evidence to the contrary.
As to claims 8 and 11, Hanada’s surfactant component may preferably include anionic surfactants and nonionic surfactants (see [0023], [0031]), and the water-soluble substrate component in particular may include anionic surfactant (see [0044]). For detergency, the amount of surfactant preferably is 5 to 80 parts by weight, more preferably 5 to 60 parts by weight, further preferably 10 to 60 parts by weight, and most preferably 20 to 60 parts by weight of the base granule group (see [0026])(limitation of claim 9). The anionic surfactant may be an for instance alkyl benzene sulfonate or particularly straight-chain alkyl benzene sulfonates (see [0024])(“alkyl sulfates” as in claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, Hanada specifies that a builder component may be included (see [0030])(limitation of claim 12).
Regarding claim 15, Hanada teaches sodium carbonate may be included (see [0014]).
Regarding claim 16, Hanada’s particles have an average particle diameter of 60 to 2000 micrometers (see [0004]), preferably 88 to 1410 and more preferably 125 to 1000 micrometers (see [0006]).
Regarding claims 17-20, Hanada specifies that preferably the base granule group of detergent particles has such localized structure that the salt is distributed in larger amounts in the vicinity of the surface than in the inside to realize high-rate dissolution and, most preferably, there detergent particles have localized structure starting from the surface of the water-soluble polymer (see [0021]). Here, Hanada describes the same or substantially the same phenomena or distribution as described in claims 17-20 and otherwise suggest a distribution with detergent materials some and/or all at a portion of a second surface and some and/or none at a portion of a first surface, which one would have been motivated to use so to facilitate desirably high dissolution properties as taught by Hanada.
Regarding claim 21, Hanada teaches that the sheet may be machined for easy breakage for instance (see [0055]), which is considered to be cuttable or tearable as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 22, Hanada’s polyvinyl alcohol has a degree of saponification of less than 96 mol-%, a range including the instantly claimed range of 80% to 90% hydrolyzed since saponification is a type of hydrolysis (see [0042]). It is noted that saponification is the hydrolysis of an ester.
Hanada does not specify the enzymes as in claims 1, 13, and 14. Duca cures this deficiency.
Duca teaches a laundry additive sachet which may include an additive composition for instance (see abstract, in particular). Duca’s sachets are made from a water-soluble film or sheet material (column 1, line 66) which may comprise for instance a particulate composition comprising additive ingredients (column 3, lines 9-11). Surfactants and enzymes are named among additive ingredients (column 4, lines 10-15). Duca specifies protease, amylase, and lipase among preferred enzymes which may be included in admixture (see column 13, lines 38-46)(limitation of claim 13) and further may include cellulase (column 13, line 48).
Hanada and Duca are both directed to water-soluble laundry products which may deliver benefit agents such as functional additives such as surfactants. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to add Duca’s enzymes including protease, amylase, lipase, and cellulase as taught by Duca among preferred enzymes to be included individually or in admixture in laundry products, to Hanada’s laundry sheet products, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so based on Duca’s teaching of these enzymes as preferred in detergent compositions. Duca specifies protease to provide the benefit for instance having maximum activity at specific pH range (column 15, line 14); amylase for removing carbohydrate based stains (column 16, lines 24-25); lipase for detergent usage for positive immunological crossreaction with lipase antibody (column 14, lines 44-50); and cellulase for instance for color care benefits (column 14, lines 1-7), and one reasonably would have been motivated to employ each of these enzymes for the specific benefit Duca teaches to be known in the art and desirable in laundry care formulations.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617