DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B (Figure 5A) encompassed by claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 07/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not directed to the invention of elected Figure 5A and claims 1-20. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In specification, paragraph [0001], please insert the US Patent number corresponding to the parent application number 18/977,292.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “generally” in claims 5 and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to differentiate between a circular shape and a generally circular shape without having any guidance as to what variations or deviations are acceptable. Similarly, it is unclear how one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to differentiate between an elliptical shape a generally elliptical shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaes (US 7,900,335).
As applied to claims 1 and 13, Vaes teaches a system for manufacturing a part, the system comprising:
a machining apparatus (CNC milling machine 120, abstract; col. 3, lines 34-56, Fig. 12) configured to machine a sheet of material (sheet 122 over table 11, Fig. 13); and
a controller (CNC milling machine is computer numerical controlled) configured to generate commands to control the machining apparatus, the controller being configured to:
cause the machining apparatus to form a first segment and a second segment from the material (plurality of segments 102, Figs. 13-14, see Annotated Figures below); cause the machining apparatus to form a first shape in an end of the first segment, the first shape including two curved surfaces; cause the machining apparatus to form a second shape in an end of the second segment, wherein the first shape of the first segment and the second shape of the second segment are complementary to one another (female end 106 and male end 104); cause the machining apparatus to form a first opening in the end of the first segment; and cause the machining apparatus to form a second opening in the end of the second segment (see Annotated Figures below).
As applied to claim 2, Vaes teaches the invention cited including the controller being further configured to cause the machining apparatus to remove material (by CNC milling machine, Figs. 12-14) to form a plurality of layers that, when connected, form the part (emphasis added text is an intended use limitation but depicted in Figs. 16 and 18).
As applied to claims 3-5 and 17-18, Vaes teaches the invention cited including the controller being further configured to cause the machining apparatus to form a first hole at an end of the first opening and a second hole at an end of the second opening, the first hole intersecting the first opening and the second hole intersecting the second opening and the first hole and the second hole having generally circular shapes (see Annotated Figures above).
As applied to claim 6, Vaes teaches the invention cited including wherein the controller being further configured to form the first opening on an edge of the end of the first segment (end 106) and form the second opening on an edge of the end of the second segment (end 104, see the edges at Annotated Figures above).
As applied to claim 8, Vaes teaches the invention cited including wherein the first segment and the second segment are segments of a single layer (sheet layer 122, Fig. 14).
As applied to claims 9-10 and 19-20, Vaes teaches the invention cited including wherein the first shape includes a recess (recess shown in Annotated Figure above) and the second shape includes a protrusion (protrusion shown in Annotated Figure above), the recess configured to receive the protrusion (see Figs 16 and 18).
As applied to claims 11-12 and 14-15, Vaes teaches the invention cited including wherein the second shape includes a second pair of curved surfaces (see Annotated Figures above) that are configured to contact the first pair of curved surfaces (see Figs. 16 and 18).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olsen (US 5,505,365).
As applied to claims 1 and 13, Olsen teaches a system for manufacturing a part, the system comprising:
a machining apparatus (numerically controlled/CNC controlled laser cutting machine, abstract; col. 1, lines 6-17; col. 3, lines 38-47) configured to machine a sheet of material (sheets 51 and 52 are made of a material); and
a controller (numerically controlled/CNC controlled) configured to generate commands to control the machining apparatus, the controller being configured to:
cause the machining apparatus to form a first segment and a second segment from the material; cause the machining apparatus to form a first shape in an end of the first segment, the first shape including two curved surfaces; cause the machining apparatus to form a second shape in an end of the second segment, wherein the first shape of the first segment and the second shape of the second segment are complementary to one another; cause the machining apparatus to form a first opening in the end of the first segment; and cause the machining apparatus to form a second opening in the end of the second segment (see Annotated Figures 4A(1) and 4A(2) below).
As applied to claim 2, Olsen teaches the invention cited including the controller being further configured to cause the machining apparatus to remove material (by CNC laser cutting) to form a plurality of layers that, when connected, form the part (emphasis added text is an intended use limitation but depicted in Figs. 4B and 4C).
As applied to claim 6, Olsen teaches the invention cited including wherein the controller being further configured to form the first opening on an edge of the end of the first segment and form the second opening on an edge of the end of the second segment (see the edges at Annotated Figures 4A(1) and 4A(2) above).
As applied to claim 7, Olsen teaches the invention cited including wherein the controller being further configured to form the first opening on an edge of the end of the first segment (see Fig 4A(1) above) and form the second opening on an edge of the end of the second segment (see Fig. 4A(2) above), the first opening and the second opening forming a butt joint (emphasis added text is an intended use limitation but depicted in Fig. 4C showing portions of 1st and 2nd openings at the joint line).
As applied to claim 8, Olsen teaches the invention cited including wherein the first segment and the second segment are segments of a single layer (see Fig. 4C showing 1st and 2nd segments are on a single/common layer/plane).
As applied to claims 9-10 and 19-20, Olsen teaches the invention cited including wherein the first shape includes a recess (recess shown in Fig. 4A(1) above) and the second shape includes a protrusion (protrusion shown in Fig. 4A(2) above), the recess configured to receive the protrusion (see Figs 4B and 4C).
As applied to claims 11-12 and 14-15, Olsen teaches the invention cited including wherein the second shape includes a second pair of curved surfaces (see Fig. 4A(2) above) that are configured to contact the first pair of curved surfaces (see Fig. 4A(1) and Figs. 4B, 4C).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,599,952. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower claim 1-12 and 14 of ‘952 Patent anticipates the instant claims 1.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-7 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,526. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower claim 1-2, 5-7 and 10 of ‘526 Patent anticipates the instant claims 1-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Titz et al. (US 20070170300A1) teaches a method and system for producing improved joint to join material webs (11, 21) in the area of cut edges (abstract, Fig. 7).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 07/22/2026