DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Connell (US 3962825 A), hereafter referred to as “O’Connell”.
Regarding claim 1, O’Connell discloses a block stacking assembly (fig. 1a-2) securing a starter block of growing medium to an extender block of growing medium (figs. 1a-2 discloses an assembly that is configured to secure two block elements 10 and 13, and thus is capable of securing a starter block to an extender block), said block stacking assembly comprising:
first and second base flanges (12a) extendable under the extender block such that the extender block secures said block stacking assembly in place (figs. 1a-2 and col. 2, lines 8-12);
first and second side arms extending upwardly from said first and second bases, respectively (arms extending upward from each element 12a; figs. 1a-2); and
a cross member (horizontal member extending between the two side arms including 12b; figs. 1a-2) connecting said first side arm to said second side arm over the starter block (figs. 1a-2).
Regarding claim 2, O’Connell discloses the block stacking assembly as set forth in claim 1, and further discloses that said first and second side arms are coplanar (fig. 1a showing that the two arms of 12 lie on a common plane).
Regarding claim 3, O’Connell discloses the block stacking assembly as set forth in claim 2, and further discloses that at least one of said first and second side arms extends through a sidearm bend allowing said block stacking assembly to extend alongside the starter and extender blocks when stacked upon each other and in use (both arms that extend from each element 12a include bends that align with the contour of the two blocks 13 and 10; figs. 1a-2).
Regarding claim 4, O’Connell discloses the block stacking assembly as set forth in claim 3, and further discloses that said cross member (horizontal member extending between the two side arms including 12b; figs. 1a-2) includes a trunk relief (12b) allowing the block stacking assembly to be mounted close to a center of the starter block (the shape of 12b allows 12 to be mounted close to a center of 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Gallo (US 20100083573 A1), hereafter referred to as “Gallo”.
Regarding claim 5, O’Connell teaches the block stacking assembly as set forth in claim 4, but does not explicitly teach that said cross member includes at least one waterline cut-away.
Gallo teaches a block stacking assembly (fig. 1-6) including at least one waterline cut-away (110, 111, 100; figs. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of O’Connell, such that the cross member includes at least one waterline cut-away, as taught by Gallo, in order to extend the freshness of the plant by providing liquids to them (abstract).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell in view of Kacines (US 11076534 B1), hereafter referred to as “Kacines”.
Regarding claim 6, O’Connell teaches a block stacking assembly (fig. 1a-2) securing a starter block of growing medium to an extender block of growing medium (figs. 1a-2 discloses an assembly that is configured to secure two block elements 10 and 13, and thus is capable of securing a starter block to an extender block), said block stacking assembly comprising:
first and second side arms (arms extending upward from each element 12a; figs. 1a-2) extending parallel to each other (figs. 1a-2); and
a cross member (horizontal member extending between the two side arms including 12b; figs. 1a-2) connecting said first side arm to said second side arm over the starter block (fig. 1a-2), but does not explicitly teach that each of said first and second arm including a plurality of holes extending therethrough.
Kacines teaches a plant securing assembly (figs. 1-15) including a plurality of holes (26 in figs. 1-2; see also 54, 56, and 58 in fig. 11) extending through an arm (24 in figs. 1-2; 50 in fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of O’Connell, such that each of said first and second arm including a plurality of holes extending therethrough, as taught by Kacines, in order to improve the aesthetics of the assembly and to also allow a user to insert flowers through the openings of the first and second side arms (col. 2, lines 36-40 and col. 8, lines 23-37 of Kacines).
Regarding claim 7, O’Connell in view of Kacines teaches the block stacking assembly as set forth in claim 6, and O’Connell further teaches that said first and second side arms are coplanar (fig. 1a showing that the two arms of 12 lie on a common plane).
Regarding claim 8, O’Connell in view of Kacines teaches the block stacking assembly as set forth in claim 7, and O’Connell further teaches that wherein at least one of said first and second side arms extends through a sidearm bend allowing said block stacking assembly to extend alongside the starter and extender blocks when stacked upon each other and in use (both arms that extend from each element 12a include bends that align with the contour of the two blocks 13 and 10; figs. 1a-2).
Regarding claim 9, O’Connell in view of Kacines teaches the block stacking assembly as set forth in claim 8, and O’Connell further teaches that said cross member (horizontal member extending between the two side arms including 12b; figs. 1a-2) includes a trunk relief (12b) allowing the block stacking assembly to be mounted close to a center of the starter block (the shape of 12b allows 12 to be mounted close to a center of 13).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell in view of Kacines as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gallo.
Regarding claim 10, O’Connell in view of Kacines teaches the block stacking assembly as set forth in claim 9, but does not explicitly teach that said cross member includes at least one waterline cut-away.
Gallo teaches a block stacking assembly (fig. 1-6) including at least one waterline cut-away (110, 111, 100; figs. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of O’Connell in view of Kacines, such that the cross member includes at least one waterline cut-away, as taught by Gallo, in order to extend the freshness of the plant by providing liquids to them (abstract).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3643