DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “88”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the drill bit handling mechanism" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the drill bit handling mechanism" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Selvam et al. (US 12631075, hereafter Selvam).
With regards to claim 1, Selvam discloses a table-bushing support apparatus for use in a drill bit handling and changing system, the apparatus comprising: a bushing support bracket (528) mounted to a breakout wrench of a drill rig, the bushing support bracket having a base plate arranged to be secured to a platform (204) on an upper surface of the breakout wrench (204 is the central column that connects the wrench 140 and the coupling member 522, which contains bracket and arms); and a pair of support arms (538) extending from the base plate and arranged to capture, lift, and support a table bushing (124, 130) of a drill string, the support arms each including a guiding surface angled relative to the base plate and a tapered front end configured to interact with the table bushing, wherein the support arms are spaced apart by a distance sized to receive the table bushing, and wherein the bushing support bracket is configured to hold the table bushing upward from a deck wrench of the drill rig and support the table bushing during a drill-bit changing operation (Fig. 3C, 7, 8; col. 14:30-67).
With regards to claim 2, Selvam discloses the support arms (538) are arranged to define an opening between the arms and the base plate that is sized for passage of a used drill bit during removal.
With regards to claim 3, Selvam discloses each support arm (538) includes an opposed front and rear end, the front end including a tapered surface arranged to guide the table bushing into engagement with the support arms (Fig. 5B).
With regards to claim 4, Selvam discloses each of the support arms (538) includes a guiding surface angled with respect to the base plate to facilitate a congruent engagement with the table bushing.
With regards to claim 5, Selvam discloses the spacing between the support arms corresponds to a width of the table bushing to ensure stable support while the bit-changing mechanism operates (Fig. 2A, 6, 7; col. 14:30-67).
With regards to claim 6, Selvam discloses the bushing support bracket (520) is configured to capture the table bushing (124) as the drill string is raised, such that the table bushing is lifted from the deck opening (col. 14:30-67).
With regards to claim 7, Selvam discloses during operation, the bushing support bracket holds the table bushing in an elevated position above the breakout wrench to permit insertion of a used drill bit into a receptacle of a bit-changing mechanism (Fig. 3C, 7, 8).
With regards to claim 8, Selvam discloses the guiding surfaces of the support arms are arranged to centralize the table bushing (Fig. 5B, 7, 8).
With regards to claim 9, Selvam discloses the bushing support bracket (528) is configured such that the table bushing is supported independently of the drill bit handling mechanism during removal of a used drill bit and installation of a new drill bit (Fig. 3C, 7, 8).
With regards to claim 10, Selvam discloses a method of supporting a table bushing during a drill-bit changing operation of a drill rig, the method comprising: providing a bushing support bracket (522) mounted (204 is the central column that connects the wrench 140 and the coupling member 522, which contains bracket and arms) to a breakout wrench (140), the bushing support bracket (522) including a base plate (528) and a pair of support arms (538) extending from the base plate; raising a drill string such that a table bushing (124) engages the tapered front ends of the support arms; holding the table bushing upward from a deck wrench using the support arms; positioning the breakout wrench beneath the table bushing while the support arms support the table bushing; and performing a drill-bit changing operation while the table bushing remains supported by the bushing support bracket (Fig. 3C, 7, 8; col. 14:30-67).
With regards to claim 11, Selvam discloses capturing the table bushing (124) between the angled guiding surfaces of the support arms (538) during engagement to support the table bushing, wherein supporting the table bushing allows the drill pipe and drill bit to be raised and lowered without interference from the table bushing (Fig. 7, 8).
With regards to claim 12, Selvam discloses a table-bushing support system for a drill rig, the system comprising: a bushing support bracket (522) mounted (204 is the central column that connects the wrench 140 and the coupling member 522, which contains bracket and arms) to a breakout wrench (140) of the drill rig; and a pair of support arms (538) of the bushing support bracket being configured to engage a table bushing (124) carried on a drill string, wherein the support arms are arranged to hold and support the table bushing away from a deck opening of the drill rig as the drill string is raised, and wherein the bushing support bracket is further configured to hold the table bushing in a supported position during a drill-bit changing operation (Fig. 3C, 7, 8).
With regards to claim 13, Selvam discloses each support arms (538) includes a guiding surface angled with respect to the base plate to guide engagement of the table bushing (124).
With regards to claim 14, Selvam discloses each support element includes a tapered front end arranged to direct the table bushing into engagement with the support arms (Fig. 5B).
With regards to claim 15, Selvam discloses the support arms (538) are spaced apart by a distance selected to receive the table bushing (124) (Fig. 3C, 7, 8).
With regards to claim 16, Selvam discloses the support arms (538) and the base plate (528) define an opening through which a used drill bit can be lowered during a bit-changing operation.
With regards to claim 17, Selvam discloses the support arms (538) are arranged to hold the table bushing (124) above the breakout wrench (140) while the breakout wrench engages the drill string, and wherein the bushing support bracket is arranged to maintain the table bushing in a supported position independently of the drill bit handling mechanism during removal of a used drill bit and installation of a new drill bit (Fig. 7, 8; col. 14:30-67).
With regards to claim 18, Selvam discloses each of the support arms (538) includes an opposed front and rear end, the front ends including tapered surfaces arranged to engage the table bushing during upward movement of the drill string (Fig. 5B).
With regards to claim 19, Selvam discloses the bushing support bracket is arranged to receive the table bushing as the drill bit is moved through the deck opening (Fig. 7, 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art all show similar features to those of the claimed invention.
/DANIEL P STEPHENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676