NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION NECESSITATED BY THE IDS FILED 08/24/26
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 12-17, 19, 32-35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yellen et al. (WO 2019/079399).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yellen discloses a method comprising: introducing a plurality of live cells into a fluidic device such that an individual live cell is located in a discrete area of the device; assessing a characteristic of the cell in the discrete area including interaction with another cell, protein secretion by the cell, and response of the cell to a drug; and in the discrete area releasing nucleic acids from the cell. See paragraphs 3-4, 10, 43-50, 59, 104, 109-111, 114-134, and 168-169. The claimed methods cannot be distinguished from the methods of Yellen.
Regarding claim 2, Yellen discloses imaging the cells.
Regarding claim 5, Yellen discloses detecting a protein secreted by the cell.
Regarding claim 6, Yellen discloses detecting the protein via a capture antibody.
Regarding claim 7, Yellen discloses locating an antibody on a bead.
Regarding claim 8, Yellen discloses detecting a cytokine.
Regarding claim 9, Yellen discloses capture of a nucleic acid from the cell using a capture oligonucleotide in the discrete area.
Regarding claim 10, Yellen discloses the use of barcodes.
Regarding claims 12-14, Yellen discloses sequencing nucleic acids within the discrete area.
Regarding claim 15, Yellen discloses detection of mRNA via production of cDNA.
Regarding claim 16, Yellen discloses lysing cells.
Regarding claim 17, Yellen discloses assessing a response of the cell to a drug.
Regarding claim 19, Yellen discloses the use of human cells and assessing a health status.
Regarding claims 32-35, Yellen discloses assessing an interaction between cells, based on production of a molecule, such as a cytokine.
Regarding claim 38, Yellen discloses assessing interaction between cells, cell protein secretion, and response of a cell to a drug.
7. Claims 3-4, 11, 18, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yellen.
The teachings of Yellen are discussed above.
Regarding claim 3, Yellen does not disclose assessing cell morphology.
Regarding claim 4, Yellen does not disclose assessing cell motility.
Regarding claim 11, Yellen does not disclose the use of a capture oligonucleotide comprising a sequencing primer.
Regarding claim 18, Yellen does not disclose assessing a surface protein of the cell.
Regarding claims 36-37, Yellen does not disclose assessing a cell response to a physiological condition, such as temperature or mechanical stimulus.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Yellen in the manner of these dependent claims because doing so would have merely involved straightforward, logical scientific reasoning, which as well established in U.S. patent practice does not support unobviousness. That is, cell morphology and cell motility were phenotypic characteristics of cells known to be important and for which it was conventional to assess. The use of capture oligonucleotides having sequencing primers was conventional for facilitating sequencing of captured nucleic acids. Assessing surface proteins of cells was conventional and of known importance. Assessing cell response to various surrounding physiological conditions was also conventional and of known importance. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out the claimed methods.
CONCLUSION
8. No claims are free of the prior art.
9. Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 08/24/26 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10. Yellen et al. (US 2021/0114029) is made of record by the Office as a reference of interest.
09/02/26
/KENNETH R HORLICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681