DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL “Seamless Roaming Procedure” (hereinafter referred to as LG Electronics).
RE Claim 9, LG Electronics discloses an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – AP MLD), comprising:
one or more processors (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – AP MLD has processor/s); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – AP MLD has memory), cause the AP MLD to:
transmit, to a station (STA) MLD, a first frame indicating a plurality of candidate target AP MLDs for a roaming procedure by the STA MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 6 – AP transmits recommended AP list (probe response frame) to STA);
receive, from the STA MLD, one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicating one or more second AP MLDs from the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 7 – non-AP MLD sends reconfiguration request frame indicating target AP) and requesting addition of one or more links between the STA MLD and the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pgs. 7-8 – reconfiguration involves adding new links to new target AP);
based on acceptance of addition of the one or more links by the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 7 – FIGURE – Before roaming vs. After roaming involves “acceptance” of the addition of the one or more links by the one or more second AP MLDs), transmit, to the STA MLD, one or more link reconfiguration response frames indicating the addition of the one or more links between the STA MLD and the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pgs. 7-8 – receiving reconfiguration response frame which indicates one of the three possible roaming options that involves adding new link/s between the STA and target AP; in addition, this step could be construed as any subsequent communication by the AP MLD to the STA MLD that indicates the addition of the one or more (new) link(s) between the STA MLD and the second AP MLD (i.e. pg. 8 – Link “ADD” step or subsequent step/s)); and
transfer, to the one or more second AP MLDs, context related to the STA MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 8 – non-AP MLD establishes new link with target AP MLD and communication is transferred to target AP MLD).
RE Claim 10, LG Electronics discloses an AP MLD, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP MLD to receive, from the STA MLD, a second frame requesting a recommendation of candidate target AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 6 – non-AP MLD can ask for recommendation list of potential target APs).
RE Claim 12, LG Electronics discloses an AP MLD, as set forth in claim 11 above, wherein the second link reconfiguration request frame executes the transition to the third AP MLD (See LG Electronics pgs. 8-9 – non-AP MLD establishes new link with the target AP MLD).
RE Claim 13, LG Electronics discloses an AP MLD, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs are part of a same mobility domain as the first AP MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – APs affiliated with the same UFT AP MLD).
RE Claim 14, LG Electronics discloses an AP MLD, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the STA MLD is associated with the AP MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 6 – STA MLD is associated with AP MLD).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Seamless Roaming Procedure” (hereinafter referred to as LG Electronics) in view of Fang et al. (US# 2026/0150025 hereinafter referred to as Fang).
RE Claim 1, LG Electronics discloses A station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – non-AP MLD STA), comprising:
one or more processors (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – STA MLD has processor/s); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – STA MLD has memory), cause the STA MLD to:
receive, from a first access point (AP) MLD with which the STA MLD is associated, a first frame indicating a plurality of candidate target AP MLDs for a roaming procedure by the STA MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 6 – STA receives recommended AP list (probe response frame) from AP MLD);
transmit, to the first AP MLD, one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicating one or more second AP MLDs from the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 7 – non-AP MLD sends reconfiguration request frame indicating target AP) and requesting addition of one or more links between the STA MLD and the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pgs. 7-8 – reconfiguration involves adding new links to new target AP);
receive, from the first AP MLD, one or more link reconfiguration response frames indicating addition of the one or more links between the STA MLD and the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 7 – receiving reconfiguration response frame which indicates one of the three possible roaming options that involves adding new link/s between the STA and target AP); and
transmit, to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs, a second communication to the third AP MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 8 – non-AP MLD establishes new link with target AP MLD).
LG Electronics does not specifically disclose transmitting, to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs, a second link reconfiguration request frame requesting comprising a request to execute a transition from the first AP MLD transitioning to the third AP MLD for the roaming procedure.
However, Fang teaches of transmitting, to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs (See Fang FIG 5; [0040]-[0042] – non-AP MLD sends second ML Update/reconfiguration Request (i.e. 508, 512) to A-AP2), a second link reconfiguration request frame requesting comprising a request to execute a transition from the first AP MLD transitioning to the third AP MLD for the roaming procedure (See Fang FIG 5; [0040]-[0042] –second ML Update/reconfiguration Request (i.e. 508, 512) to A-AP2 to transition to A-AP2 (“at this point, the non-AP MLD has completed its transition from being linked to A-AP1 to being linked with A-AP2, such that A-AP2 is now the serving A-AP for the non-AP MLD”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, comprising transmitting, to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs, a second link reconfiguration request frame requesting comprising a request to execute a transition from the first AP MLD transitioning to the third AP MLD for the roaming procedure, as taught in Fang. One is motivated as such in order to provide enhanced roaming to account for link stability issues and improve link reliability (See Fang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 2, LG Electronics, modified by Fang, discloses a STA MLD, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA MLD to transmit to the first AP MLD a second frame requesting a recommendation of candidate target AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 6 – non-AP MLD can ask for recommendation list of potential target APs).
RE Claim 3, LG Electronics, modified by Fang, discloses a STA MLD, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs are part of a same mobility domain as the first AP MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – APs affiliated with the same UFT AP MLD).
RE Claim 4, LG Electronics, modified by Fang, discloses a STA MLD, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA MLD to receive one or more frames from at least one of the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pgs. 8-9 – communication is transferred to new AP MLD).
RE Claim 5, LG Electronics, modified by Fang, discloses a STA MLD, as set forth in claim 4 above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA MLD to determine a link quality for at least one of the one or more links (See Fang [0040]-[0042] – non-AP MLD detecting signal strength measurements for links).
RE Claim 6, LG Electronics, modified by Fang, discloses a STA MLD, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the second link reconfiguration request frame executes the transition to the third AP MLD (See LG Electronics pgs. 8-9 – non-AP MLD establishes new link with the target AP MLD).
RE Claim 11, LG Electronics discloses an AP MLD, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP MLD to receive, from the STA MLD, a second link reconfiguration request frame requesting transitioning to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pgs. 6-9 – AP receiving communication from non-AP MLD that announces link/s it intends to add/delete which leads to transitioning to new target AP MLD).
LG Electronics does not specifically disclose a second link reconfiguration request frame comprising a request to execute a transition to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs for the roaming procedure.
However, Fang teaches of a second link reconfiguration request frame comprising a request to execute a transition to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs for the roaming procedure (See Fang FIG 5; [0040]-[0042] –second ML Update/reconfiguration Request (i.e. 508, 512) to A-AP2 to transition to A-AP2 (“at this point, the non-AP MLD has completed its transition from being linked to A-AP1 to being linked with A-AP2, such that A-AP2 is now the serving A-AP for the non-AP MLD”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, comprising a second link reconfiguration request frame comprising a request to execute a transition to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs for the roaming procedure, as taught in Fang. One is motivated as such in order to provide enhanced roaming to account for link stability issues and improve link reliability (See Fang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 18, LG Electronics discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) (See LG Electronics pg. 3 – non-AP MLD STA),
cause the STA MLD to:
receive, from a first access point (AP) MLD with which the STA MLD is associated, a first frame indicating a plurality of candidate target AP MLDs for a roaming procedure by the STA MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 6 – STA receives recommended AP list (probe response frame) from AP MLD);
transmit, to the first AP MLD, one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicating one or more second AP MLDs from the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 7 – non-AP MLD sends reconfiguration request frame indicating target AP) and requesting addition of one or more links between the STA MLD and the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pgs. 7-8 – reconfiguration involves adding new links to new target AP);
receive, from the first AP MLD, one or more link reconfiguration response frames indicating addition of the one or more links between the STA MLD and the one or more second AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 7 – receiving reconfiguration response frame which indicates one of the three possible roaming options that involves adding new link/s between the STA and target AP); and
transmit, to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs, a second communication to the third AP MLD (See LG Electronics pg. 8 – non-AP MLD establishes new link with target AP MLD).
LG Electronics does not specifically disclose transmitting, to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs, a second link reconfiguration request frame requesting comprising a request to execute a transition from the first AP MLD transitioning to the third AP MLD for the roaming procedure.
However, Fang teaches of transmitting, to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs (See Fang FIG 5; [0040]-[0042] – non-AP MLD sends second ML Update/reconfiguration Request (i.e. 508, 512) to A-AP2), a second link reconfiguration request frame requesting comprising a request to execute a transition from the first AP MLD transitioning to the third AP MLD for the roaming procedure (See Fang FIG 5; [0040]-[0042] –second ML Update/reconfiguration Request (i.e. 508, 512) to A-AP2 to transition to A-AP2 (“at this point, the non-AP MLD has completed its transition from being linked to A-AP1 to being linked with A-AP2, such that A-AP2 is now the serving A-AP for the non-AP MLD”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, comprising transmitting, to a third AP MLD of the one or more second AP MLDs, a second link reconfiguration request frame requesting comprising a request to execute a transition from the first AP MLD transitioning to the third AP MLD for the roaming procedure, as taught in Fang. One is motivated as such in order to provide enhanced roaming to account for link stability issues and improve link reliability (See Fang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 19, LG Electronics, modified by Fang, discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, as set forth in claim 18 above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA MLD to transmit to the first AP MLD a second frame requesting a recommendation of candidate target AP MLDs (See LG Electronics pg. 6 – non-AP MLD can ask for recommendation list of potential target APs).
Claims 7, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Seamless Roaming Procedure” (hereinafter referred to as LG Electronics) in view of Fang et al. (US# 2026/0150025 hereinafter referred to as Fang) and Chen et al. (US# 2024/0032120 hereinafter referred to as Chen).
RE Claim 7, LG Electronics, modified by Fang, discloses a STA MLD, as set forth in claim 1 above. LG Electronics, modified by Fang, does not specifically disclose wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs.
However, Chen teaches of wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs (See Chen [0051] – AP sends neighbor report element including capabilities of AP and other APs proximate to the AP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, modified by Fang, wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication and take advantage of the efficiency and security benefits of newer device capabilities (See Chen [0046], [0065], [0270]).
RE Claim 20, LG Electronics, modified by Fang, discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, as set forth in claim 18 above. LG Electronics, modified by Fang, does not specifically disclose wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs.
However, Chen teaches of wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs (See Chen [0051] – AP sends neighbor report element including capabilities of AP and other APs proximate to the AP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, modified by Fang, wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication and take advantage of the efficiency and security benefits of newer device capabilities (See Chen [0046], [0065], [0270]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Seamless Roaming Procedure” (hereinafter referred to as LG Electronics) in view of Chen et al. (US# 2024/0032120 hereinafter referred to as Chen).
RE Claim 16, LG Electronics discloses an AP MLD, as set forth in claim 9 above. LG Electronics does not specifically disclose wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs.
However, Chen teaches of wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs (See Chen [0051] – AP sends neighbor report element including capabilities of AP and other APs proximate to the AP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, wherein the first frame comprises a neighbor report element, and wherein the neighbor report element indicates capabilities of each of the plurality of candidate target AP MLDs, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication and take advantage of the efficiency and security benefits of newer device capabilities (See Chen [0046], [0065], [0270]).
Claims 8, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Seamless Roaming Procedure” (hereinafter referred to as LG Electronics) in view of Fang et al. (US# 2026/0150025 hereinafter referred to as Fang) and Gupta et al. (US# 2025/0287272 hereinafter referred to as Gupta).
RE Claim 8, LG Electronics discloses a STA MLD, as set forth in claim 1 above. LG Electronics does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicate identifiers of streams of the STA MLD.
However, Gupta teaches of wherein the one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicate identifiers of streams of the STA MLD (See Gupta [0034] – roaming request frame includes data transfer request element indicating flow/traffic IDs that STA is requesting data transfer for).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, wherein the one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicate identifiers of streams of the STA MLD, as taught in Gupta. One is motivated as such in order to support a more reliable and seamless roaming (See Gupta Background; Overview).
RE Claim 17, LG Electronics discloses an AP MLD, as set forth in claim 9 above. LG Electronics does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicate identifiers of streams of the STA MLD.
However, Gupta teaches of wherein the one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicate identifiers of streams of the STA MLD (See Gupta [0034] – roaming request frame includes data transfer request element indicating flow/traffic IDs that STA is requesting data transfer for).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, wherein the one or more first link reconfiguration request frames indicate identifiers of streams of the STA MLD, as taught in Gupta. One is motivated as such in order to support a more reliable and seamless roaming (See Gupta Background; Overview).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Seamless Roaming Procedure” (hereinafter referred to as LG Electronics) in view of Gupta et al. (US# 2025/0287272 hereinafter referred to as Gupta).
RE Claim 15, LG Electronics discloses an AP MLD, as set forth in claim 9 above. LG Electronics does not specifically disclose wherein the context related to the STA MLD comprises sequence numbers per traffic identifier for the STA MLD..
However, Gupta teaches of wherein the context related to the STA MLD comprises sequence numbers per traffic identifier for the STA MLD. (See Gupta [0035] – This can also include requests for dynamic context transfer such as Sequence Number (SN) or packet number (PN) for DL and/or UL transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the MLD transition system, as disclosed in LG Electronics, wherein the context related to the STA MLD comprises sequence numbers per traffic identifier for the STA MLD., as taught in Gupta. One is motivated as such in order to support a more reliable and seamless roaming (See Gupta Background; Overview).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant's arguments that LG Electronics does not specifically disclose the elements of Claims 1-8, 11, 18-20, the Examiner submits that these arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment (See Claims 1-8, 11, 18-20 above, Fang reference).
Regarding Applicant's argument that LG Electronics does not specifically disclose Claim 9, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has argued that slide 7 of LG Electronics is relied upon to teach “based on acceptance of addition of the one or more links by the one or more second AP MLDs, transmit, to the STA MLD, one or more link reconfiguration response frames indicating the addition of the one or more links between the STA MLD and the one or more second AP MLDs” and that slide 7 only contains a single sentence: “[u]pon accepting the roaming request, the UFT AP MLD or the non-AP MLD responds with a Reconfiguration Response frame” and does not describe a frame “indicating the addition of one or more links between the STA MLD and the one or more second AP MLDs”. The Examiner submits that firstly, the language of “[t]he roaming process should be triggered first and this involves…a Reconfiguration Response frame” does not necessitate that the Reconfiguration Response frame 1) be the trigger of the roaming process or 2) not contain other “non-trigger” information. In the same section of slide 7, the Figure shows the “before roaming” and “after roaming” states which involve the new links being added to the second AP. Secondly, even if the Reconfiguration Response Frame of slide 7 was sent as a trigger of the roaming process, arguendo, any of the subsequent “responses” by the AP to the STA that indicate the “ADD”/”DELETE” links (i.e. slide 8) could be interpreted as the claimed reconfiguration response frame/s. That is, the claimed “reconfiguration response frame” can be any subsequent communication from the AP to the STA after the request that shows the “addition” of the one or more links.
Regarding Applicant's argument that LG Electronics does not show an acceptance of “addition of the one or more links”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In at least the Figure on slide 7, LG Electronics shows that the second AP “accepts” the new links as part of the Roaming procedure (Reconfiguration Request/Reconfiguration Response).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chu et al. (US# 2025/0048464 – which teaches of MLD roaming operations).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477