DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (Invention I) in the reply filed on 07/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-10 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20140350105(11/27/2014; PTO 892) in view of US20060280721 (12/14/2006; PTO 892),
Le Sann et al. (Org Biomol Chem. 2005 May 7;3(9):1719-28. Epub 2005 Mar 31; IDS filed 04/02/2024), US20110237666 (09/29/2011; PTO 892), US20120329742 (12/27/2012; PTO 892),
US20150065571 (03/05/2015; PTO 892).
US20140350105 teaches the use of ketogenic precursors to quickly produce elevated and sustained levels of ketone bodies in the blood and methods for assisting the body's transition into nutritional ketosis; specifically, the use of a combination of medium chain triglycerides (MCT) with mineral salts of beta-hydroxybutyrate (.beta.HB) is presented to provide an easy and accelerated method for inducing and sustaining nutritional ketosis (see paragraph [0003]). US20140350105 teaches a composition, comprising: at least one medium chain fatty acid or ester thereof; and at least one beta-hydroxybutyrate compound, wherein the beta-hydroxybutyrate compound is comprised of a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt, or a combination of beta-hydroxybutyrate precursor and beta-hydroxybutyrate salt, see claim 1; wherein the at least one beta-hydroxy butyrate compound is racemic DL-beta hydroxybutyrate or the single isomer R-beta hydroxybutyrate, see claim 5. The R-beta hydroxybutyrate is also referred to as D-beta-hydroxybutyrate and is considered enantiomerically pure. US20140350105 teaches the composition is delivered in the form of a ready-to-drink formula, see para [0041] which reads on foodstuff. US20140350105 teach the at least one beta-hydroxybutyrate compound comprises one or more of: a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt comprising sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate, arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, potassium beta-hydroxybutyrate, calcium beta-hydroxybutyrate, magnesium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lithium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lysine beta-hydroxybutyrate, histidine beta-hydroxybutyrate, ornithine beta-hydroxybutyrate, creatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, agmatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, or citrulline beta-hydroxybutyrate; a salt mixture further comprising beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or combination thereof; or a combination of a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and 1,3-butanediol, beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl acetoacetate, beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate, a salt mixture and 1,3-butanediol, a salt mixture and ethyl acetoacetate, or a salt mixture and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate, see claim 2. Such teaching of beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt would be considered enantiomerically enriched beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, enantiomerically enriched beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, and enantiomerically enriched beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt. See entire publication and claims especially claims 1-10 and paragraphs [0032]-[0043]. US20140350105 teaches the following:
[0033] As such, a composition of ketone precursors is disclosed which comprises at least one medium chain fatty acid, or an ester thereof such as a medium chain triglyceride, and a .beta.-hydroxybutyrate ketone source or precursor. There are numerous sources of ketones and ketogenic precursors. Nonlimiting examples of the beta-hydroxybutyrate compound include beta-hydroxybutyrate salts such as sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, potassium beta-hydroxybutyrate, calcium beta-hydroxybutyrate, magnesium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lithium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lysine beta-hydroxybutyrate, histidine beta-hydroxybutyrate, ornithine beta-hydroxybutyrate, creatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, agmatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, citrulline beta-hydroxybutyrate, beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt, or a combination of salts. Nonlimiting examples of combinations of beta-hydroxybutyrate salts include sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, or beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt and beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt. Other .beta.-hydroxybutyrate ketone sources include, without limiting the scope, 1,3-butanediol, ethyl acetoacetate, and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate. The compounds, are optionally administered between 2 grams and 50 grams, between 5 grams and 30 grams, or between 10 grams and 20 grams. For example, the ketone compounds are optionally administered at 2 grams, 4 grams, 5 grams, 6 grams, 7 grams, 8 grams, 9 grams, 10 grams, 11 grams, 12 grams, 13 grams, 14 grams, 15 grams, 17 grams, 19 grams, 20 grams, 22 grams, 24 grams, 26 grams, 28 grams, 30 grams, 32 grams, 34 grams, 36 grams, 38 grams, 40 grams, 42 grams, 44 grams, 46 grams, 48 grams, or 50 grams.
Claim 2. The composition of claim 1, wherein the at least one beta-hydroxybutyrate compound comprises one or more of: a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt comprising sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate, arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, potassium beta-hydroxybutyrate, calcium beta-hydroxybutyrate, magnesium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lithium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lysine beta-hydroxybutyrate, histidine beta-hydroxybutyrate, ornithine beta-hydroxybutyrate, creatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, agmatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, or citrulline beta-hydroxybutyrate; a salt mixture further comprising beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or combination thereof; or a combination of a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and 1,3-butanediol, beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl acetoacetate, beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate, a salt mixture and 1,3-butanediol, a salt mixture and ethyl acetoacetate, or a salt mixture and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate.
The teachings of the reference differ from the claims in that the reference does not teach the recited composition comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water.
US20060280721 teaches nutritional supplements and therapeutic compositions comprising (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate derivatives and compositions for inducing ketosis by elevating ketone body concentrations in blood where the compositions can be used therapeutically to treat several diseases and also can be used as nutritional supplements to increase metabolic efficiency (see claims 1-24 and paragraph [0020]). US20060280721 teaches that to maintain elevated blood ketone body concentrations over a 24 hour period, delayed release formulations can be used; and that the release of the (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate derivatives can be controlled by a number of formulation techniques such as enteric coatings, film coatings, microencapsulation and the like which can be used to retard release of the (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate derivatives (see [0058]). US20060280721 teaches that although (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and acetoacetate could be administered directly to achieve elevated levels of ketone bodies in a subject, however, direct administration of these compounds is impractical and dangerous. For example, direct administration of either (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate or acetoacetate in their acid form can result in significant acidosis following rapid absorption from the gastrointestinal tract. Administration of the sodium salt of these compounds is also unsuitable due to a potentially dangerous sodium overload that would accompany administration of therapeutically relevant amounts of these compounds.
Le Sann et al. teach enantioselective syntheses of β-hydroxycarbonyl compounds which can be used to make enantiomerically pure (D)-β-hydroxybutyrate (see entire publication especially pages 1719-23 and schemes 1-2).
US20110237666 teaches hyydroxybutyrate ester and medical use thereof encompassing a compound which is 3-hydroxybutyl 3-hydroxybutyrate (Ketone Ester of instant application) enantiomerically enriched with respect to (3R)-hydroxybutyl (3R)-hydroxybutyrate of formula (I) which is an effective and palatable precursor to the ketone body (3R)-hydroxybutyrate and may therefore be used to treat a condition which is caused by, exacerbated by or associated with elevated plasma levels of free fatty acids in a human or animal subject, for instance a condition where weight loss or weight gain is implicated, or to promote alertness or improve cognitive function, or to treat, prevent or reduce the effects of neurodegeneration, free radical toxicity, hypoxic conditions or hyperglycaemia. See entire publication especially claims 1-9 and paragraphs [0008]-[0033].
US20120329742 teaches the stomach acid inhibitors ranitidine and famotidine used to treat upper GI conditions inhibiting the action of histamine on the parietal cell which inhibits acid secretion (see paragraph [0007]).
US20150065571 teaches a beverage comprising water and a ketone body ester comprising a monoester of D-beta-hydroxybutyrate with R-1,3-butanediol (Abstract, [0001]); and discloses “[e]xamples of beverages include soft beverages, alcoholic beverages, energy beverages, dry drink mixes, nutritional beverages and herbal teas for infusion or herbal blends for decoction in water” ([0077]). US20150065571 teaches the following:
[0040] Examples of suitable ketone body or ketone body esters or compounds which provide a ketone body in situ include hydroxybutyrates and derivatives thereof, for example esters and oligomers of hydroxybutyrate including D-.beta.-hydroxybutyrate and derivatives thereof, including esters derived from alcohols and compounds containing one or more free hydroxyl groups. The-D .beta.-hydroxybutyrate moiety is preferably monomeric. Monoesters are especially preferred and esters where two or more hydroxyl groups have been esterified but the esterified hydroxyl groups are not in a "beta-relationship, in which the hydroxyl groups are not attached to adjacent carbon atoms.
[0041] Suitable alcohols include butanediol, especially, 1,3-butanediol, altrose, arabinose, dextrose, erythrose, fructose, galactose, glucose, glycerol, gulose, idose, lactose, lyxose, mannose, ribitol, ribose, ribulose, sucrose, talose, threose, xylitol, xylose. Preferably the alcohol is selected from R-1,3-butanediol and glycerol.
[0055] The composition in liquid form suitably comprises the dry composition diluted with a suitable liquid, for example water, fruit juice or milk, preferably at a ratio of 1:1 to 1:10, more preferably 1:3 to 1:7 of dry composition to liquid. The level of ketone body which is organoleptically acceptable will vary according to the precise composition and its form and the effect of other components of the composition.
[0056] The composition may be solid, for example a powder, tablet, bar, confectionary product or a granule and intended for use as a solid oral dose form. In another embodiment, the solid composition may be mixed before use with a liquid, preferably water, fruit based liquid or a dairy product, for example milk and yoghurt, to provide a liquid drink for the user. Milk, fruit juice and water are especially preferred as a carrier for the composition. The composition may be provided, as desired, as a liquid product in a form ready for consumption or as a concentrate or paste suitable for dilution on use. The diluent for use with the liquid composition is preferably milk, fruit juice or water.
[0047] The invention further comprises a method of reducing muscle breakdown by administration of a ketone body ester in a dose regime wherein the regime comprises administering in at least one dose of a ketone body ester to provide a circulating level of hydroxybutyrate and acetoacetate in the blood from 0.1- or 1 to 20 mM, preferably 0.5- or 1 to 10 mM and optimally 1 to 8 mM for example 2 to 5 mM wherein at least one dose comprises a ketone body ester in an amount of at least 0.1 g/kg bodyweight of the subject per dose and preferably 0.3 to 1.5 g/kg for example at least 0.3 to 0.75 g/kg bodyweight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the claimed invention by modifying and/or combining the reference teachings by making a composition comprising buffer, water, enantiomerically enriched (D)-β-hydroxybutyrate as taught by US20140350105 or enantiomerically pure (D)-β-hydroxybutyrate made by the enantioselective syntheses of Le Sann et al. or β-hydroxybutyrate salts selected from sodium, potassium, and calcium; 1,3-butanediol of US20140350105, racemic 1,3-butanediol or enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, enantiomerically pure (D)-1,3-butanediol, or wherein the 1,3-butanediol is enriched with respect to (D)-1,3-butanediol; and 3-hydroxybutyl 3-hydroxybutyrate (Ketone Ester) taught by US20110237666 or (D)-3- hydroxybutyl (D)-3-hydroxybutanoate, where the β-hydroxybutyrate and 1,3-butanediol are present in any of the recited molar ratio. In regard to the amount/concentration of β-hydroxybutyrate and 1,3-butanediol, it is noted that: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A). Further, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do this in order to obtain a composition that can be used to treat any of the recited conditions and diseases and for inducing and sustaining nutritional ketosis taught by US20140350105 and US20060280721. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the composition having the recited ratio and amounts of components of the as routine experimentation and/or as desired. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have a reasonable expectation of success because making compositions comprising β-hydroxybutyrate salts and 1,3-butanediol enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer are known in the art as shown by the reference teachings. Thus, the claimed invention was within the ordinary skill in the art to make and use at the time the invention was made, and was as a whole clearly prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US Patent 12098411 (09/24/2024; PTO 892). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the patent teach the claimed composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of US Patent 11655487 (05/23/2023; PTO 892). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the patent teach the claimed composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of US Patent 11760963 (09/19/2023; PTO 892). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the patent teach the claimed composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-25 of copending Application 18678629. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending application teach the claimed composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of copending Application 18364136. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending application teach the claimed composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application 19174611. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending application teach the claimed composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application 18436905. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending application teach the claimed composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application 19544207, claims 1-18 of copending Application 19544257, claims 1-7 of copending Application 19676494, claims 1-9 of copending Application 19676472. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending applications teach the claimed composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHRISTIAN L FRONDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652