DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks filed September 9, 2026 are entered and have been fully considered. Applicant has corrected the abstract; therefore the objection is withdrawn. Applicant has amended claims 1, 10, and 18; cancelled claims 2-3, 6, 11-12, and 19; added new claims 21-26. The pending claims are now 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-18, 20-26. In light of the amendment to claim 1, the previous 102 rejection over Rajput is withdrawn because it no longer reads on the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 14 fails to further limit claim 1 (since it depends upon claim 8) from which it ultimately depends because claim 14 states that “the polyester polyol comprises subunits with one or more dicarboxylic acids with at least 3 carbons” but amended claim 1 already states that the polyester polyol comprises subunits of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid which is a dicarboxylic acid with at least 3 carbons.
Claim 15 fails to incorporate all the limitations of claim 10 from which it depends because it lists 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid as one of the possible dicarboxylic acids, which is already required in amended claim 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-18 and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayfield et al, WO2021222140.
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 10, 13-15, 22, 24, Mayfield teaches biodegradable polyurethanes that are made from a polyester polyol reacted with a diisocyanate, ¶[8]. In the table of ¶[0242] Mayfield exemplifies polyester polyols derived from several diols and dicarboxylic acids which include 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid, adipic acid, azelaic acid, 1,3-propanediol, 1,6-hexanediol and reads on the acids and diols of claims 5, 14-15. The polyester polyol is formed from any of the diols and diacids and a mixture of more than one may be used, ¶[242].
Mayfield teaches that polyurethanes are prepared by reacting the polyester polyols with diisocyanates including heptamethylene diisocyanate, ¶[0242], page 42.
Mayfield further teaches that a chain extender may be included in the polyurethane as a rate regulating compound which accelerates degradation of the bio-based polymer, ¶¶[160, 162, 218], and the chain extenders listed include linear aliphatic diols such as 1,3-propylene glycol (another name for 1,3-propanediol), 1,4-butane diol, 1,6-hexane diol, and 1,8-octane diol ¶¶[162, 218], which reads on claims 4, 13, 22, and 24.
Mayfield teaches a method of making the polyurethane ¶¶[235-236] comprising preparing the polyester polyol from diols and dicarboxylic acids, which reads on the first polymerization of claim 10. Then the PU is prepared by mixing the polyester polyol and other ingredients such as catalysts and extenders (reads on chain extenders) then combining with the diisocyanate to produce the reactive resin, pour into a mold and cure, ¶[236], which reads on the second polymerization reaction of claim 10.
The fact that Mayfield discloses several types of diols, diacids, and diisocyanates which can be suitably selected to form a polyurethane does not render any particular combination of diol, diacid, and diisocyanate less obvious. A reference is available for all that it teaches to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories, Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have practiced the invention of Mayfield producing a polyurethane derived from the reaction of heptamethylene diisocyanate with a polyester polyol derived from 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid, and further included a linear aliphatic chain extender as a rate regulating compound to accelerate the degradation of the bio-based polymer with the motivation of producing another permutation of a biodegradable polyurethane with improved degradation rate as taught by Mayfield.
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 16, Mayfield teaches the polyurethanes are biodegradable, ¶¶[95-96] and Fig. 3 and 4 showing biodegradation of PU in different environments with enzymes.
Mayfield also teaches the polyurethane may be a thermal plastic (thermoplastic) polyurethane (TPU) ¶¶[194, 197].
Regarding claims 8, 17, and 21, Mayfield teaches the polyurethane can be the form of a foam, which is a thermoset type of polyurethane, ¶¶[144, 238].
Regarding claim 18 and 25, Mayfield teaches a composition comprising a polyurethane that has units derived from a linear diisocyanate such as heptamethylene diisocyanate ¶¶[198, 242], linear aliphatic chain extenders such as 1,3-propylene glycol (another name for 1,3-propanediol), 1,4-butane diol, 1,6-hexane diol, and 1,8-octane diol ¶¶[162, 218], and a polyester polyol comprising 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid units, see table in ¶[242], as explained above for claim 1 and applied here. Mayfield also teaches the polyurethanes are biodegradable ¶¶[95-96, 244-247], see Fig. 3 and 4 showing biodegradation of PU in different environments with enzymes.
Mayfield does not explicitly teach the persistence of any microplastic from the biodegradable PUs compared to a similar PU. But according to applicant in ¶[0070] of the instant specification, the way to prevent accumulation of microplastics is to develop a completely biodegradable polymer. Therefore, because Mayfield teaches biodegradable polyurethanes with a high percentage of degradation (Fig. 9 change in mass), the biodegradable PU would inherently produce fewer persistent microplastics compared to a non-biodegradable polyurethane with similar properties.
Regarding claim 20, Mayfield teaches the polyurethane may be a thermal plastic (thermoplastic) polyurethane ¶¶[194, 197].
Regarding claim 23, Mayfield exemplifies a polyester polyol on page 42 derived from succinic acid, azelaic acid, and 1,3-propanediol. Mayfield also lists in the table on page 41 that 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid is a suitable dicarboxylic acid for use in the polyester polyol. It is prima facie obvious to substitute one material for another to obtain predictable results when the materials are recognized as functional equivalents in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have practiced the invention of Mayfield but substituting the succinic acid in the polyester polyol with 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid with the motivation of obtaining the predictable result of another permutation of a biodegradable polyester polyol for use in a biodegradable polyurethane as taught by Mayfield because it is a simple substitution of dicarboxylic acids.
Regarding claim 26, Mayfield teaches the polyurethane can be the form of a foam, which is a thermoset type of polyurethane, ¶¶[144, 238].
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendment to claim 1, the previous 102 rejection over Rajput is withdrawn because it no longer reads on the claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/9/2026 regarding the 103 rejection over Mayfield have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the person skilled in the art would not select the 2,5-FDCA because it would confer hard segment like properties (page 3) is not persuasive. Applicant points to ¶[281-285] of Mayfield which states that the biodegradation is controlled by the polyol segment, the amount of soft segments, and the amount of branching. Mayfield does state that “polyurethanes with longer carbon chains and less branching have larger ratios of soft segments to hard segments, which allow for greater biodegradation due to accessible ester and urethane bonds for hydrolysis” ¶[281], but this does not teach away from the use of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid. The 2,5-FDCA is in the polyol, or soft segment, of the polyurethane, not the hard segment, and Mayfield is teaching in ¶[281-285] that polyol chain length and branching affect the biodegradation and does not say anything about the effects of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid. Furthermore, Mayfield does not teach away from the embodiments that have fewer soft segments and some branching and instead states they are both part of the present technology, ¶[282] and see claim 8 where the diols and dicarboxylic acids are branched. But rather, Mayfield is describing preferred embodiments that achieved the greatest biodegradation. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments (In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971)).
Mayfield lists 2,5-FDCA in the table ¶[242] of dicarboxylic acids to use for a biodegradable polyester polyol which is to be reacted with a diisocyanate and chain extender for making a biodegradable polyurethane and in the absence of an express teaching away, one of ordinary skill would not be discouraged from utilizing the 2,5-FDCA. Therefore, the skilled person would be motivated to use the 2,5-FDCA because Mayfield specifically lists it as suitable for the biodegradable polyurethane and does not teach away from its use.
Regarding applicant’s argument of unexpected results, the data is convincing in that it shows a greater increase in biodegradability for the SP27A sample with the heptamethylene diisocyanate over the SP26A sample with hexamethylene diisocyanate, compared to the change in biodegradability to the comparative CP217A and CP216A samples with the same diisocyanates (Fig. 26); and the data is convincing that the SP27A sample has a greater drop in durometer than expected (table 12), which results in a softer foam product, but the data is not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Applicant points to example SP27A for the unexpected results, which uses specific raw materials, the 2,5-FDCA and heptamethylene diisocyanate is claimed in claims 1, 10, and 18, but the exact chain extender, 1,3-PDO, is not claimed in the independent claims and the linear aliphatic chain extender can be any thereof. Applicant does not show examples where the chain extender was changed to any of the other chain extender diols of claim 4 and compared to the foam results with PDO, therefore the claims are broader in scope than the showing concerning the exact raw materials used for the unexpected results. Furthermore, SP27A uses the raw materials in a specific ratio, shown in Table 11. There are no amounts, percentages, or ratios listed in the claims; therefore the claims include any amount of the ingredients, and are broader in scope than the showing of unexpected results.
For all the reasons given above, the 103 rejection over Mayfield is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766