Detailed Action
Response to amendments
The amendments made to the claims 09/21/2026 have been entered.
In view of the amendments made, the 102 rejections made in the non-final office action of 06/23/2026 have been modified. See rejections below.
In view of the amendments made, the 112(b) rejection over claims 93-106, 108-109, 114-118, and 120 have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendments the 112(b) and 112(d) rejections over claims 108-109 and 117-118 have been withdrawn.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer over U.S. Patent 11,986,475 and co-pending application 18/849,309 is acknowledged. The non-statutory double patenting rejections made have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The third party submission and the information disclosure statement submitted 08/14/2026 and 09/21/2026, respectively, have been considered.
Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
KSR Rationales
The MPEP in section 2143, subsection I gives examples of Rationales for supporting a conclusion of obvious. These rationales are non-exhaustive and include (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 93-109, 111-114, 117-118, and 123 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu-Farseeva (European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, 158, 2018, 593-619) in view of Böhm (ChemBioChem, 2004, 5, 637-643), Silverman (The Organic Chemistry of Drug Design and Drug Action, Academic Press, 1992), and Subbaiah (J. Med. Chem. 2021, 64, 14046-14128).
Chu-Farseeva on p. 594, Figure 1 teaches compound XL019, shown below.
XL019
Regarding the limitation “E”, claim 93 states that “E…are each independently aryl or heteroaryl”. The term “aryl” is defined in the specification as follows.
Claim 95 specifies the core structure below.
Claim 96 specifies the core structure below.
Claims 98-99, dependent upon claim 94, are drawn to compounds wherein the B ring system is a pyridine ring (claim 98: X5 is N and X6 is CR9, claim 99: X5 is CR8 and X6 is N).
Claims 105 and 106, dependent upon claim 98, are drawn to compounds wherein R6, R7 and R9 are hydrogen (H).
Claim 106 is drawn to a compound wherein the B ring is fluorinated at the R9 position and R6 and R7 are H.
Regarding claim 95, only one of X1-X4 is nitrogen (pyridine ring). Regarding claim 96, the instant ring is a positional isomer of the reference ring.
Regarding claims 98 and 99, which are dependent upon claim 94, the compound claim is essentially a pyridine ring (either X5 is nitrogen and X6 is nitrogen, or vice versa). This can be reached by simply modifying one carbon of the phenyl ring in XL019 to a nitrogen.
Regarding claims 105 and 106, which are dependent upon claim 98, claim 105 is a simple pyridine ring and claim 106 is a fluorinated pyridine ring. One of ordinary skill in the art could achieve claim 98 by simply modifying the phenyl ring of XL019 to include one nitrogen in the ring. One of ordinary skill in the art could achieve the compound of 99 by further substituting the hydrogen corresponding to R9 to a fluorine atom.
Motivation and reasoning to make these modifications is found in Böhm and Silverman, and Subbaiah.
Böhm is drawn to methods of fluorination of medicinal compounds. Böhm in sec. Introduction teaches that fluorination of medicinal compounds can have an effect on the metabolic stability of a compound, can influence the basicity of a compound, and can increase the binding affinity of a medicinal compound. Böhm specifically states “There are many examples illustrating that the replacement of an oxidizable C-H group by a C-F group increases metabolic stability of the molecule”, that a fluorine atom “reduces basicity; this results in better membrane permeation of a compound,” and “increasingly, fluorine substituents are introduced to increase the binding affinity of a compound.” Böhm on p. 638, Scheme 1 and 2 depicts the effects of fluorinating a phenyl ring.
Böhm Scheme 1
Böhm Scheme 2
Silverman on p. 19 states “Bioisosteres are substituents or groups that have chemical or physical similarities, and which produce broadly similar biological properties. Bioisosterism is a lead modification approach that has been shown to be useful to attenuate toxicity or to modify the activity of a lead, and it may have significant role in the alteration of metabolism of a lead.” Silverman in Table 2.2 lists the following biological equivalent bioisosteres. See 1. Univalent atoms and Groups 5. Ring Equivalents
Subbaiah on p. 14082, left col., para. 1 teaches to substitution of a meta-substituted phenyl ring. Subbaiah specifically states “A MMP analysis of the effects of replacing a 1,3-disubstituted benzene ring with azoles and azine on metabolic stability in HLM revealed furan…and thiophene… present a low probability of achieving advantage…However, in examples where a 3,5-1H-pyrazole, a 3,5-isoxazole, a (3,5)-1,2,4-oxadiazole, a 1,3,4-oxadiazole, a 2,4-1H-imidazole, or a 3,5-1H-1,2,4,-triazole…were deployed, these heterocycles offered enhanced metabolic stability indicated that these transforms represent useful substituted…For six-membered heterocycles, the three pyridine isomers…offered a similarly modest advantage, while a 3,5-pyrazine was poor despite a reduction in the LogD7.4 value”. These results are summarized in as differences in Δ CIint, HLM stability, and LogD7.4, shown below.
Note that the pyridine ring systems all provide similar modification when replacing a phenyl ring and that the pyridine rings are somewhat similar to the pyrazine ring system in 63p in terms of properties. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the pyrazine ring of Chu-Farseeva to instead have a pyridine ring system.
Considering the above, the modifications necessary to achieve the instant compounds are within the skillset of one of ordinary skill and the motivation to make the modifications is also explicitly taught.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Chu-Farseeva to arrive at the instant compound. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make the modifications in efforts to optimize the pharmacological properties of the compound.
Claim(s) 93, 97, 100-101, 103, 115-118, and 123 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20190152954) in view of Subbaiah (J. Med. Chem. 2021, 64, 14046-14128).
Regarding claims 93, 97, 100-101, 103, 110, and 115-118 Wang on p. 129, right col., discloses a compound with the following structure.
Where the compound above differs from the instant claims is that pyrazine ring is excluded from the instant claims. However, it would be obvious to modify the pyrazine ring to a pyridine ring in view of the teachings of Subbaiah.
Subbaiah on p. 14082, left col., para. 1 teaches to substitution of a meta-substituted phenyl ring. Subbaiah specifically states “A MMP analysis of the effects of replacing a 1,3-disubstituted benzene ring with azoles and azine on metabolic stability in HLM revealed furan…and thiophene… present a low probability of achieving advantage…However, in examples where a 3,5-1H-pyrazole, a 3,5-isoxazole, a (3,5)-1,2,4-oxadiazole, a 1,3,4-oxadiazole, a 2,4-1H-imidazole, or a 3,5-1H-1,2,4,-triazole…were deployed, these heterocycles offered enhanced metabolic stability indicated that these transforms represent useful substituted…For six-membered heterocycles, the three pyridine isomers…offered a similarly modest advantage, while a 3,5-pyrazine was poor despite a reduction in the LogD7.4 value”. These results are summarized in as differences in Δ CIint, HLM stability, and LogD7.4, shown above.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Wang via the teachings of Subbaiah to arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable assumption of success. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make the modification as Subbaiah teaches that the pyrazine ring system shares similar properties with the pyridine ring system and it would be obvious to try in efforts for optimization of the compound.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 119-122 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624