DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the piston rod" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that the proper basis appears to be in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 20170183928 to Herrera et al.
Regarding claim 1, Herrara discloses a downhole tool, comprising: a tool body 90 having a tool axis, and at least three arms movable between a retracted position (fig. 3A) and a projected position (figs. 3B-3D), each arm having a first arm part 102 and a second arm part 114, where the second arm part is connected with the tool body (through element 110), and the first arm part is projectable from the tool body (with element 126), wherein the tool body comprises three actuator assemblies 110, each actuator assembly comprising a piston chamber and a piston unit 112, and each piston unit being connected with one of the second arm parts, wherein each piston unit has a longitudinal piston axis that is parallel to the tool axis and is offset in a radial direction from the tool axis (figs. 3A-3D and 4B; at least paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 2, the downhole tool according to claim 1, wherein the piston units are allowed to move individually (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 4, the downhole tool according to claim 1, wherein the piston chamber comprises a first chamber part (above 112) and a second chamber part (below 112), and the first chamber part is fluidly separated from the second chamber part (figs. 3A-3D).
Regarding claim 6, the downhole tool according to claim 1, wherein each actuator assembly comprises a spring biasing the arm from the projected position to the retracted position (paragraphs 0027 and 0044).
Regarding claim 8, the downhole tool according to claim 1, wherein each arm has a pivot point connecting the arm with the tool body (fig. 3A shows the arm parallel to the tool body, whereas figs. 3B-3D show the arm pivoting away from the body).
Regarding claim 11, the downhole tool according to claim 8, wherein the pivot point is arranged at a first distance from the outer face of the tool body, the first distance being less than 20% of a tool body diameter (as seen in figs. 3B-3D, the pivot point is where 112 and 114 meet/connect, and the distance from the tool body to this point is clearly much less than 20% of the tool body 90 diameter).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 20120131996 to Anish et al.
Regarding claim 1, Anish discloses a downhole tool, comprising: a tool body 200 having a tool axis, and at least three arms 14/126 movable between a retracted position (fig. 2A) and a projected position (figs. 2B-2C), each arm having a first arm part 112/124 and a second arm part 204, where the second arm part is connected with the tool body, and the first arm part is projectable from the tool body, wherein the tool body comprises at least three actuator assemblies 118/210, each actuator assembly comprising a piston chamber and a piston unit, and each piston unit being connected with one of the second arm parts, wherein each piston unit has a longitudinal piston axis that is parallel to the tool axis and is offset in a radial direction from the tool axis (figs. 2A-6; at least paragraphs 0024-0035).
Regarding claim 2, the downhole tool according to claim 1, wherein the piston units are allowed to move individually (paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 5, the downhole tool according to claim 1, wherein the piston unit comprises a piston rod 212 mechanically connected with the second arm part (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 6, the downhole tool according to claim 1, wherein each actuator assembly comprises a spring 208 biasing the arm from the projected position to the retracted position (paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 8, the downhole tool according to claim 1, wherein each arm has a pivot point 206 connecting the arm with the tool body (paragraph 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrera et al in view of US 20050263282 to Jeffrey et al.
Herrara teaches the first arm part 102 from claim 1 above, with the arm part having a terminal end 104 (fig. 3A). However, it is not specifically taught that the end has a cutting edge element having a cutting or abrasive insert.
Jeffrey also teaches an extendable arm 72 with a terminal end 78 (fig. 15b), wherein it is further taught that the end has a cutting edge element (serrations) having an abrasive insert (paragraph 0065). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the abrasive insert as taught by Jeffrey in the terminal end of the arm of Herrara. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because the abrasive insert was a well-known material for creating higher friction between the tool and the tubular it is interacting with, as taught by Jeffrey.
Claim(s) 9, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrara et al in view of US 20240392640 to Sommer et al.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Herrara teaches the tool from claim 1 above, the tool having piston chambers for the actuators. However, it is not specifically taught that there is a common chamber connected to the piston chambers, or that there is a motor powered through a wireline connected to the tool and a pump driven by the motor.
Sommer teaches a tool similar to that of Herrara, wherein it is further taught that there is a motor powered through a wireline connected to the tool and a pump driven by the motor (paragraphs 0084 and 0125-0126). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the motor/wireline/pump as taught by Sommer in the tool of Herrara. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because the motor/wireline/pump was a well-known means for supplying hydraulic fluid to drive piston actuators, as taught by Sommer. With this modification to Herrara, the pump would be the common chamber connected to the piston chambers of the actuators.
Regarding claim 14, Herrara teaches the tool from claim 1 above, wherein the arm comprises an engagement part having an arm engagement face with a curvature (paragraph 0025). However, it is not specifically taught that the curvature is shaped like the profile of half a tooth of an involute gear, a trochoid gear or a cycloidal gear.
Sommer teaches a tool similar to that of Herrara, wherein it is further taught that there is an arm engagement face with a curvature, wherein the curvature is shaped like the profile of half a tooth of an involute gear, a trochoid gear or a cycloidal gear (paragraph 0100). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the curvature shape as taught by Sommer in the tool of Herrara. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because the curvature shape was a well-known shape for end portions of downhole extendable/retractable arms, as taught by Sommer. Additionally, it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the arm engagement face with the claimed shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHANE BOMAR/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3674