DETAILED ACTION
The TrackOne Request, filed March 30, 2026, was granted May 27, 2026. Therefore, this application is accorded special status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on August 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group I and Group II share limitations and that there is no serious search burden to search both Groups. This is not found persuasive because, although the method of Group II (claim 20) requires the Type II CRISPR-associated (Cas) protein, the method of use includes steps and method endpoints that are not required or recited in the claims of Group I (claims 1-19). Therefore, the search burden to search both Groups I and II is deemed to be significant.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 6, 2026.
Claims 1-19 are under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed May 27, 2026 has been considered.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Figures 2A-2B, 5, 6A-6B, 8, and 11 appear to have sequences in the Figures, but do not have appropriate sequence identifiers.
Specific deficiency - The incorporation by reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.834(c)(1), 1.835(a)(2), or 1.835(b)(2) is missing, defective or incomplete.
Required response - Applicant must:
• Provide a substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
The Sequence Listing Incorporation by Reference paragraph lists the size of the XML file as 1,598,000 bytes, whereas the XML file itself lists the size as 1,635,510 bytes.’
Specification
The use of the terms ALPHAFOLD® at paragraphs [0200] and [0218] ; NEXTSEQ® at paragraphs [0205] and [0225]; and OPTI-MEM® at paragraphs [0211], [0222], [0231], [0242], and [0247]; which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 14, line 2, “enhance” should be changed to “enhances.”
At claim 14, lines 3 and 9, “a wild type” should be changed to “the wild type.”
At claim 14, lines 9 and 11, “corresponding” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At claim 1, line 5, it is not clear how much sequence identity is required to “an” amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69. It is unclear if the sequence identity is over the entire of SEQ ID NO: 69. It is suggested that the first occurrence of “an” at line 5 be changed to “the.”
At claim 1, line 8, it is not clear how much sequence identity is required to “an” amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69. It is unclear if the sequence identity is over the entire of SEQ ID NO: 69. It is suggested that the first occurrence of “an” at line 8 be changed to “the.”
Claims 2-11 depend from claim 1, and are therefore included in these rejections.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the wild-type Cas protein" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
At claim 12, line 13, it is not clear how much sequence identity is required to “an” amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69. It is unclear if the sequence identity is over the entire of SEQ ID NO: 69. It is suggested that “an” at line 13 be changed to “the.”
At claim 1, line 16, it is not clear how much sequence identity is required to “an” amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69. It is unclear if the sequence identity is over the entire of SEQ ID NO: 69. It is suggested that “an” at line 16 be changed to “the.”
Claims 13-19 depend from claim 12, and are therefore included in these rejections.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation “an amino acid mutation at K1315,” and the claim also recites “optionally, the mutation at position K1315 is K1315Q or K1315T,” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “a mutation at at least one position selected from A113, L1298, and K1315,” and the claim also recites “optionally, the mutation at position A1113, if present, is A1113R; the mutation at L1298, if present, is L1298R; and the mutation at K1315, if present, is K1315Q or K1315T,” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more.
The claims recite a Type II CRISPR-associated (Cas) protein comprising an amino acid sequence having 100% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 69. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because SEQ ID NO: 69 is a wild type sequence, which is interpreted as being a product of nature.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69 is deemed to be the wild type Type II of the claimed invention (see at least paragraphs [0014]-[0020] and Table 2). Because instant SEQ ID NO: 69 is disclosed as being a wild type sequence, a sequence that has 100% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 69 is a product of nature (claims 1 and 12). Further, the polynucleotide sequence encoding SEQ ID NO: 69 is also deemed to be a product of nature, and is set forth in SEQ ID NO: 169 (claim 19). In addition, the tracrRNA sequence having 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 821 is also noted as a wild type tracrRNA (see at least paragraphs [0041]-[0044] and Table 16). Because SEQ ID NO: 821 is disclosed as being a wild type sequence, a tracrRNA sequence that has 100% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 821 is deemed to be a product of nature (claims 14-15).
Thus, polypeptides and polynucleotides having 100% sequence identity to the Cas polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 69, the polynucleotide encoding the Cas polypeptide having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 169, and the tracrRNA sequence of SEQ ID NO: 821, each of SEQ ID NOS: 69, 169, and 821 are all directed to wild type molecules. Because each of SEQ ID NOS: 69, 169, and 821 are wild type sequences, they are deemed to be products of nature, and do not include anything significantly more or different.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harrington et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0301379, published September 12, 2024, filed May 29, 2024, and claiming priority to PCT Patent Application No. PCT/US2022/080258, filed November 21, 2022).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Harrington discloses CRISPR-Cas effector proteins and use thereof for modification, detection and engineering of nucleic acids (abstract). Harrington discloses Type II CRISPR-Cas systems that couple with a tracrRNA (paragraph [0317]). Harrington discloses a Type II CRISPR-Cas protein having 80.4% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 69 (SEQ ID NO: 1970) (Appendix I).
Regarding claim 11, Harrington discloses that the Cas protein can be a nickase or a dead Cas protein (paragraphs [0004] and [0195]).
Regarding claim 13, Harrington discloses that the guideRNA can include the tracrRNA and a linker sequence connecting the tracrRNA and direct repeat sequences for form an sgRNA (paragraphs [0317]-[0319]).
Regarding claim 17, Harrington discloses that a polynucleotide encoding the Type II Cas protein can be operably linked to a promoter, present in a vector, and can be a deoxyribonucleic acid sequence (paragraphs [0335]-[0341]). Harrington discloses that the polynucleotide can be codon-optimized for expression in a eukaryotic cell (paragraphs [0099]- [0100]). Harrington discloses that the promoter can be an inducible or constitutive promoter (paragraphs [0337] and [0344]-[0348]). Harrington discloses that the vector can be a viral vector, such as an adeno-associated vector, a retroviral vector, a lentiviral vector, a herpes simplex viral vector, an adenoviral vector or a plasmid vector (paragraphs [0338] and [0358]).
Harrington discloses each and every limitation of claims 1, 11-13, and 17, and therefore Harrington anticipates claims 1, 11-13 and 17.
Allowable Subject Matter
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the Type II CRISPR-associated (Cas) protein, having the claimed amino acid sequence mutations at A1113, L1298, K1315, and/or Q1191 based on instant SEQ ID NO: 69.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (U.S. Patent No. 8,697,359, issued April 14, 2014) discloses CRISPR systems, complexes and effector proteins including Cas9 (abstract and column 2, line 10 to column 2, line 15). Zhang discloses that the Cas9 CRISPR protein is a Type II CRISPR protein (column 3, lines 16-43).
NANCY J. LEITH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1636
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636