DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment, filed September 29, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims have been fully considered. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented below by introducing the new reference of Pickering et al (US 6,408,019).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 11 – 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giallorenzi et al (US 9,130,689) in view of Pickering et al (US 6,408,019).
Re claim 1, Giallorenzi teaches of a method, comprising: receiving, by a particular device (#102, Fig.1), a random number seed (PN code seed in a beacon channel, Figures 3 – 4) transmitted from a beaconing device (#101, Fig.1) to synchronize the particular device with the beaconing device (Col 1, Lines 8 – 15); generating, by the particular device, one or more random numbers based on the random number seed (PN code, where a PN code (Pseudo-Random Noise or Pseudo-Noise code) is defined as a sequence of binary numbers that appears completely random, Col 3, Lines 39 – 45); determining, by the particular device, a spreading code associated with the one or more random numbers (PN code generator, #320, Fig.3); de-spreading, by the particular device, a received signal using the spreading code (#310, #311, Fig.3). However, Giallorenzi does not specifically teach of generating, by the particular device, a plurality of random numbers based on the random number seed; determining, by the particular device, a plurality of spreading code chips associated with the one or more random numbers, the plurality of spreading code chips including a current spreading code chip and a previous spreading code chip. Giallorenzi does not specifically teach of examining, by the particular device, the received signal as de-spread to determine whether the received signal contains symbols associated with a message.
Pickering teaches of generating, by a particular device, a plurality of random numbers based on the random number seed (receive a seed 253 from which a string of random numbers or samples are generated, Col 13, Lines 23 – 40, Fig.5); determining, by the particular device, a plurality of spreading code chips (noise segments, #226, Fig.3), each spreading code chip being a spreading code associated with a respective random number of the plurality of random numbers (single noise segment, Col 13, Lines 23 – 40, Fig.5), the plurality of spreading code chips including a current spreading code chip and a previous spreading code chip (as shown in Fig.3); de-spreading, by the particular device, a received signal using the current spreading code chip and the previous spreading code chip (noise demodulator, Fig.2); and examining, by the particular device, the received signal as de-spread to determine whether the received signal contains symbols associated with a message (The correlation function reveals whether a received noise segment matches a current noise segment in the correlator 213 at any given time, Col 11, Lines 35 – 50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined a plurality of spreading code chips associated with a plurality random numbers that are based on the random number seed for interference resistance, secure communications, and multiple-user access. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected the despread symbols for maximized processing gain.
Re claim 11, Giallorenzi teaches of an apparatus configured to: receive, by a particular device (#102, Fig.1), a random number seed (PN code seed in a beacon channel, Figures 3 – 4) transmitted from a beaconing device (#101, Fig.1); generating, by the particular device, one or more random numbers based on the random number seed (PN code, where a PN code (Pseudo-Random Noise or Pseudo-Noise code) is defined as a sequence of binary numbers that appears completely random, Col 3, Lines 39 – 45); determining, by the particular device, a spreading code associated with the one or more random numbers (PN code generator, #320, Fig.3); de-spreading, by the particular device, a received signal using the spreading code (#310, #311, Fig.3). However, Giallorenzi does not specifically teach of generating, by the particular device, a plurality of random numbers based on the random number seed; determining, by the particular device, a plurality of spreading code chips associated with the one or more random numbers, the plurality of spreading code chips including a current spreading code chip and a previous spreading code chip. Giallorenzi does not specifically teach of examining, by the particular device, the received signal as de-spread to determine whether the received signal contains symbols associated with a message. Giallorenzi does not specifically teach of the apparatus, comprising: a processor configured to execute one or more processes; a communication interface; and a memory configured to store a process executable by the processor that when executed is configured to perform the method.
Pickering teaches of an apparatus, comprising: a processor configured to execute one or more processes (#153, Fig.1); a communication interface (from #143, Fig.1); and a memory configured to store a process executable by the processor that when executed (#156, Fig.1) is configured to: generate, by a particular device, a plurality of random numbers based on the random number seed (receive a seed 253 from which a string of random numbers or samples are generated, Col 13, Lines 23 – 40, Fig.5); determine, by the particular device, a plurality of spreading code chips (noise segments, #226, Fig.3), each spreading code chip being a spreading code associated with a respective random number of the plurality of random numbers (single noise segment, Col 13, Lines 23 – 40, Fig.5), the plurality of spreading code chips including a current spreading code chip and a previous spreading code chip (as shown in Fig.3); de-spread, by the particular device, a received signal using the current spreading code chip and the previous spreading code chip (noise demodulator, Fig.2); and examine, by the particular device, the received signal as de-spread to determine whether the received signal contains symbols associated with a message (The correlation function reveals whether a received noise segment matches a current noise segment in the correlator 213 at any given time, Col 11, Lines 35 – 50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined a plurality of spreading code chips associated with a plurality random numbers that are based on the random number seed for interference resistance, secure communications, and multiple-user access. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected the despread symbols for maximized processing gain. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device comprise a processor and a memory configured to store program instructions to be executed by the processor for advanced signal processing.
Re claims 2 and 12, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, as well as Pickering teaches of wherein the previous spreading code chip is associated with a previous random number (each spreading code chip is associated with a corresponding random number, Fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the previous spreading code chip be associated with a previous random number for efficient spectrum spreading.
Re claims 3 and 13, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, as well as Pickering teaches of wherein de-spreading comprises: attempting to decode the received signal using each of the plurality of spreading code chips (#213, Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have decoded the received signal using each of the plurality of spreading code chips so as to recover signal data.
Re claims 4 and 14, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, as well as Pickering teaches of wherein the plurality of spreading code chips further includes one or more additional previous spreading code chips (a number of subsequent chips of the PN code, #216, Fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of spreading code chips further include one or more additional previous spreading code chips so as to form the PN code sequence.
Re claims 5 and 15, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, as well as Pickering teaches of wherein determining the plurality of spreading code chips comprises using each random number of the plurality of random numbers as an entry into a chip table that associates each of a plurality of random numbers with a respective spreading code chip, thereby selecting the respective spreading code chip associated with that random number (Record indexer, Fig.2 and Col 13, Lines 23 – 67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined the plurality of spreading code chips comprises using each random number of the plurality of random numbers as an entry into a chip table for reduced processing and faster acquisition.
Re claims 7 and 17, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, as well as Pickering further teaches of comprising: detecting a symbol in the received signal as de-spread (a peak output when the segments match, Abstract and Col 11, Lines 35 – 65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected a symbol in the received signal as de-spread for efficient receiver performance.
Re claim 20, Giallorenzi teaches of a method, comprising: receiving, by a particular device (#102, Fig.1), a random number seed (PN code seed in a beacon channel, Figures 3 – 4) transmitted from a beaconing device (#101, Fig.1) to synchronize the particular device with the beaconing device (Col 1, Lines 8 – 15); generating, by the particular device, one or more random numbers based on the random number seed (PN code, where a PN code (Pseudo-Random Noise or Pseudo-Noise code) is defined as a sequence of binary numbers that appears completely random, Col 3, Lines 39 – 45); determining, by the particular device, a spreading code associated with the one or more random numbers (PN code generator, #320, Fig.3); de-spreading, by the particular device, a received signal using the spreading code (#310, #311, Fig.3). However, Giallorenzi does not specifically teach of generating a plurality of random numbers based on the random number seed; determining a plurality of spreading code chips associated with the one or more random numbers, the plurality of spreading code chips including a current spreading code chip and a previous spreading code chip. Giallorenzi does not specifically teach of examining the received signal as de-spread to determine whether the received signal contains symbols associated with a message. Giallorenzi does not specifically teach of a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions that cause a computer of a particular device to execute the method.
Pickering teaches of a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions that cause a computer of a particular device to execute a method (Col 7, Lines 40 – 55) comprising: generating, by a particular device, a plurality of random numbers based on the random number seed (receive a seed 253 from which a string of random numbers or samples are generated, Col 13, Lines 23 – 40, Fig.5); determining, by the particular device, a plurality of spreading code chips (noise segments, #226, Fig.3), each spreading code chip being a spreading code associated with a respective random number of the plurality of random numbers (single noise segment, Col 13, Lines 23 – 40, Fig.5), the plurality of spreading code chips including a current spreading code chip and a previous spreading code chip (as shown in Fig.3); de-spreading, by the particular device, a received signal using the current spreading code chip and the previous spreading code chip (noise demodulator, Fig.2); and examining, by the particular device, the received signal as de-spread to determine whether the received signal contains symbols associated with a message (The correlation function reveals whether a received noise segment matches a current noise segment in the correlator 213 at any given time, Col 11, Lines 35 – 50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined a plurality of spreading code chips associated with a plurality random numbers that are based on the random number seed for interference resistance, secure communications, and multiple-user access. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected the despread symbols for maximized processing gain. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for its storage capacity, portability, where data cannot be changed and for preventing accidental erasure of programs or files.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giallorenzi and Pickering in view of Kalkunte et al (US 2017/0366219).
Re claims 6 and 16, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, except of wherein the received signal is transmitted from a remote device via a satellite.
Kalkunte teaches of wherein the received signal is transmitted from a remote device via a satellite (Paragraph 0079).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the received signal transmitted from a remote device via a satellite to perform satellite communication.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giallorenzi and Pickering in view of Fay (US 2016/0218829).
Re claim 8, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claim 7, except of further comprising: determining whether the symbol signifies an end of a communication.
Fay teaches of determining whether the symbol signifies an end of a communication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined whether the symbol signifies an end of a communication so as to successfully decode the next communication frame.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giallorenzi and Pickering in view of Rose et al (US 2008/0263117).
Re claims 9 and 18, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, as well as Pickering teaches of wherein the random number seed is dynamically updated (Col 13, Lines 64 – 67). Giallorenzi and Pickering do not specifically mention of wherein the random number seed is periodically updated.
Rose teaches of a random number seed is periodically updated (periodically reseed, Paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the random number seed be periodically updated to guarantee reliable communication.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giallorenzi and Pickering in view of Shaffer et al (US 2019/0068239).
Re claims 10 and 19, Giallorenzi and Pickering teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, except of wherein the particular device is a ground station.
Shaffer teaches of having a particular device be a ground station (Figures 1 and 3, Paragraph 0097).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular device be a ground station to communicate with satellites.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633