DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-9, 11, 14-15, 19-20 and 22-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/28/26. It is noted that claims 8-9, 15 and 19-20 are drawn to non-elected embodiments and are therefore withdrawn at this time.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support needs to be provided for “the opening defining fingers extending into the opening” as found in claim 10.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-13, 16-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what structure is required of the elongated shape to read on the limitation “positionable to urge soft tissue of a plantar surface of at least a heel of the individual’s foot toward a lateral side of a plantar surface of the individual’s foot”, is additional shape or location required of the opening? It is unclear what if the limitation is further defining the opening.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear what structure is required of the opening to read on “the opening is positioned over at least a portion of a loading path across a foot”. It is unclear what is required to read on the claim and if the invention is being further defined.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear what structure is required to read on the opening to be “positioned over at least a portion of a standing loading path across the foot while standing, a walking loading path across the foot while walking, and a running loading path across the foot while running”, is there a particular opening or location structure? It is unclear if any additional structure is being required of the claim.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear what is required of the stability layer to read on the limitation “wherein the running loading path comprises a heel strike running loading path and/or midfoot strike running loading path”. Is additional structure being required of the claim? What is a heel strike running path/midfoot strike running path, are these movements or structures?
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear where the paisley shape is situated to read on “located under a loading path of a normal arched foot when standing, walking, or running” where would this be located on the stability layer and what is “a loading path of a normal arched foot”?
Regarding claim 21, it is unclear what shape of the support and elongated opening is required to read on something that “urges a volume of soft tissue of at least a heel of a foot beyond a longitudinal centerline of the stability layer, toward a lateral side of the stability layer”.
Any remaining claims are rejected depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The limitation “wherein the opening is positioned over at least a portion of a loading path across a foot” should include the limitation “configured to”, “adapted to”, “sized to”, “when worn” or other similar language to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riggs (US 4,235,028).
In regard to claim 1, Riggs teaches a stability layer for footwear (figure 2), comprising: a support with a heel edge and a front edge (see figure 2), the support including an upper surface with a concave shape (see figures 2 and 3); and an opening through the support and having an elongated shape extending between the front edge and the heel edge (aperture: 32, figure 2), the elongated shape positionable to urge soft tissue of a plantar surface of at least a heel of the individual's foot toward a lateral side of a plantar surface of the individual's foot (figures 2-4, 6 and 7 column 3, lines 27-41).
In regard to claim 2, Riggs teaches wherein the opening is positioned over at least a portion of a loading path across a foot (see figures 2-4 and 6-7).
In regard to claim 3, Riggs teaches wherein the opening (32) is positioned over at least a portion of a standing loading path across the foot while standing, a walking loading path across the foot while walking, and a running loading path across the foot while running (figures 6 and 7 column 3, lines 27-41).
In regard to claim 4, Riggs teaches wherein the running loading path comprises a heel strike running loading path and/or a midfoot strike running loading path (figures 6 and 7 column 3, lines 27-41).
In regard to claim 16, Riggs teaches wherein a thickness of the support tapers between an outer periphery of the support and an inner periphery of the support that defines the opening, with an outer peripheral thickness adjacent to the outer periphery exceeding an inner peripheral thickness adjacent to the inner periphery (see figures 3 and 4).
In regard to claim 21, Riggs teaches wherein a shape of the support and the elongated shape of the opening urge a volume of soft tissue of at least a heel of a foot beyond a longitudinal centerline of the stability layer, toward a lateral side of the stability layer (figures 6 and 7 column 3, lines 27-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs (US 4,235,028) in view of Schouwenburg et al. (US 2017/0224050).
Riggs teaches a stability layer as detailed above. However, Riggs fails to teach wherein the elongated shape comprises a paisley shape; and wherein the paisley shape is situated to include a concave side facing a medial side of the support and a convex side facing a lateral side of the support.
In regard to claim 5, Schouwenburg et al. teaches a stability layer wherein an elongated opening is located in the heel area, wherein the elongated opening comprises a paisley shape (paragraph 0035 paisley shaped/teardrop shape, see figure 2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the elongated opening of Riggs in a paisley shape as taught by Schouwenburg et al., since the elongated opening of Riggs being a paisley shape would provide an opening that is designed to off load the plantar fascia insertion at the caleaneus (see Schouwenburg et al. paragraph 0035).
In regard to claim 6, the combined references teach wherein the paisley shape is situated to include a concave side facing a medial side of the support and a convex side facing a lateral side of the support (Schouwenburg et al.: paragraph 0035, figure 2A).
In regard to claim 7, the combined references teach wherein the paisley shape is situated and located under a loading path of a normal arched foot when standing, walking, or running (Schouwenburg et al.: paragraph 0035, figure 2A).
Claim(s) 10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs (US 4,235,028) in view of Whitney et al. (US 2012/0017467).
Riggs teaches a stability layer with an elongated opening as described above in claim 1. However, Riggs fails to teach slits continuous with and extending outwardly from the opening, the slits are spaced a plurality of distances apart from each other around a periphery of the opening; and wherein the slits have substantially the same length.
In regard to claim 10, Whitney et al. teaches a stability layer further comprising: slits continuous with and extending outwardly from an opening, the slits defining fingers extending into the opening (see figure 1 cavity/opening: 16, paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the elongated opening of Riggs with the slits/channels as taught by Whitney et al., since the elongated openings of Riggs provided with slits/channels would provide the opening with expansion capabilities (Whitney et al.: paragraph 0021).
In regard to claim 12, the combined references teach wherein the slits are spaced a plurality of distances apart from each other around a periphery of the opening (Whitney et al.: figure 1, opening: 16, paragraph 0021).
In regard to claim 13, the combined references teach wherein the slits have substantially the same length (Whitney et al.: figure 1, opening: 16, paragraph 0021).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs (US 4,235,028) in view of Wakeland et al. (US 9,655,404).
Riggs teaches a stability layer as described above in claim 1. However, Riggs fails to teach a substantially horizontal ledge extending substantially laterally outward around at least a portion of the heel edge of the support; and a plurality of buttresses extending from an upper surface and/or a lower surface of the ledge.
In regard to claim 17, Wakeland et al. teaches a stability layer wherein a substantially horizontal ledge extending substantially laterally outward around at least a portion of a heel edge of the support (figures 2-5, identifier 48: engagement features).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the stability layer of Riggs with the heel ledge as taught by Wakeland et al., since the stability layer of Riggs provided with a heel ledge would provide an engagement feature to hold the stability layer in place within the shoe.
In regard to claim 18, Wakeland et al. teaches a plurality of buttresses extending from an upper surface and/or a lower surface of the ledge (figures 2-5, identifier 48, engagement features).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the stability layer of Riggs with the buttresses as taught by Wakeland et al., since the stability layer of Riggs provided with a buttresses would provide engagement features to hold the stability layer in place within the shoe.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited in PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Yamamoto (US 9,877,544) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732