DETAILED ACTION
The amendment after non-final office action filed September 28, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2-5 were cancelled, claims 1, 8, 10 were amended and claims 1, 6-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
The restriction was deemed proper and made final in the previous office action. Claims 13-20 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 6-12 are examined on the merits of this office action.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection to claim 8 is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed September 28, 2026.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed September 28, 2026.
Maintained/Revised Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, First Paragraph
Claims 1, 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while providing a working example directed to treatment of post cholecystectomy biliary dysfunction/SOD using tirzepatide, does not reasonably provided enablement for the full scope of the claims of treating biliary complications as recited in instant claim 1 which includes abnormal liver enzymes regardless of the cause. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. * Please note the claims have been amended substantially in thus, the enablement rejection has also been amended and present it below.
To comply with the enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, a specification must adequately teach how to make and how to use a claimed invention throughout its scope, without undue experimentation. Plant Genetic Systems N.V. v. DeKalb Genetics Corp., 315 F.3d 1335, 1339, 65 USPQ2d 1452, 1455 (Fed. Cir. 2003). There are a variety of factors which may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation. These factors include: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The Nature of the Invention/ The breadth of the claims
The claimed invention concerns administrators appetite for treating one or more biliary complications in a subject, where in the bilateral complications are sphincter of Oddi dysfunction, biliary dysfunction, abnormal liver enzymes or post cholecystectomy syndrome. Although claim one has been amended to limit the therapeutic agent to tirzepatide and the therapeutic result to treatment of the specified bilateral complications, the claim is no longer limited to patients having undergone cholecystectomy. Thus claim one encompasses treating biliary complications in patients with or without a history of gallbladder removal. Furthermore, because the complications are recited in the alternative, the claim encompasses treating abnormal liver enzymes independently of sphincter of ODI dysfunction or post cholecystectomy syndrome. Thus the claim encompasses A broader patient population than that demonstrated in the working example, as well as biliary complications involving different underlying pathological mechanisms.
.
The State of the Prior Art
The art at the time of filing is replete with reviews of use of GLP1 agonists and their association with gallbladder disease (see Mejia, abstract). In particular, Mejia teaches “Glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonists (GLP-1RAs) have become essential medications in the management of type 2 diabetes mellitus and obesity due to their ability to improve glucose control and facilitate weight loss by enhancing insulin secretion, reducing glucagon release, and slowing gastric emptying. These mechanisms make GLP-1RAs highly effective for metabolic disorders, benefiting patients who require both glycemic control and weight reduction. However, despite their clinical efficacy, GLP-1RAs have been associated with an increased risk of gallbladder disease, including gallstone formation known as cholelithiasis and inflammation of the gallbladder called cholecystitis, especially with prolonged use and higher doses. This review explores the potential mechanisms by which GLP-1RAs may contribute to biliary disease, focusing on the roles of cholecystokinin suppression, bile acid receptor signaling, and alterations in gut-brain pathways. In addition, we present a novel algorithm designed to outline strategies to address the risks of biliary disease in patients treated with GLP-1Ras” (see also Table 2, incidences of Cholecystectomy). Thus, clearly there is a correlation of GLP1Ras and Gallbladder dysfunction due to the gut motility (amongst other effects) of GLP1Ras. However, this is different than treating patients without a gallbladder. However, Karhus (see attached handout, 2023) teaches use of different GLP1 agonists for treatment of bile acid diarrhea which is a common complication with patients that have undergone gallbladder removal (see abstract). Karkhus also teaches “a greater GLP-1-induced absorption of bile acids in the small intestine may increase the activation of the nuclear bile acid receptor farnesoid X receptor (FXR), and thereby result in FXR-dependent production of small intestinal fibroblast
growth factor 19 (FGF19) known to reduce bile acid synthesis”.
Hartman discloses reductions in alt and ASD following administration of tirzepatide in patients with type 2 diabetes (see rejection below). However reduction of liver enzymes in one specific population (type 2 diabetes) does not necessarily establish tirzepatide effectively treats elevated liver enzymes due to any cause, SOD dysfunction, biliary dysfunction generally or PCS. The arch is not established predictable therapeutic efficacy throughout the full range of claimed complications.
The Predictability or Unpredictability of the Art/ The Relative Skill of Those in the Art
The level of ordinary skill in the art is relatively high. A person of ordinary skill would be expected to possess Knowledge of pharmacology, GI Physiology, hepatobiliary disorders, and therapeutic administration of dual receptor agonists. However, the level of ordinary skill does not eliminate the uncertainty associated with predicting therapeutic responses across different biliary conditions in patient populations. In particular, knowledge that tirzepatide reduces alt and AST in type 2 diabetic patients does not establish that it will treat biliary dysfunction arising from different underlying causes. The treatment of biliary complications using dual receptor agonists is relatively unpredictable. Although tirzepatide has demonstrated beneficial effects on liver enzyme levels in diabetic patients, GLP1 receptor agonist also affect gastrointestinal motility and have been associated with gallbladder and biliary adverse effects. These potentially divergent physiological effects demonstrate that improvement in one hepatobiliary parameter does not necessarily predict improvement in other biliary disorders. Furthermore, the therapeutic response demonstrated in a post cholecystectomy patient does not necessarily establish comparable efficacy in patients with an intact gallbladder or in patients having biliary dysfunction arising from different causes. The specification does not provide sufficient information to predict which forms of the claim biliary complications would respond to tirzepatide administration.
Amount of Guidance/ The Presence or Absence of Working Examples
The specification provides general guidance concerning dual receptor agonists, tirzepatide administration, and treatment of biliary complications (see specification paragraphs 0080-0085). However, the disclosure provides limited condition specific guidance for treating the full range of biliary complications encompassed by the amended claims. In particular, the specification does not adequately explain how to determine which patients without a history of cholecystectomy would respond to tirzepatide treatment for sphincter of oddi dysfunction or other biliary dysfunction. The specification further provides limited guidance regarding the additional therapeutic outcomes recited in claims 6 through 8 including maintaining long-term liver enzyme stability and reducing liver volume and fibrosis. With respect to claim 9 and 10, the disclosure must enable the claim daily dosing regimens, including doses up to approximately 15 milligrams per day, notwithstanding the once weekly administration generally described in clinical studies. Claim 11 additionally requires Co administration for which the disclosure provides limited guidance regarding the therapeutic effectiveness combination for claim binary complications. Accordingly, the amount of guidance provided is insufficient to establish that the full school of the claim methods can be practiced without undue experimentation.
The specification provides a working example involving a 51 year old female patient with a history of cholecystectomy, recurrent right upper quadrant abdominal pain, sphincter of odor dysfunction, biliary dysfunction and abnormal liver enzymes (see specification, paragraphs 0114-0117). Following administration of tirzepatide, the patient reportedly experienced normalization of liver enzymes, resolution of abdominal pain, and avoidance of additional ERCP, narcotic medication or surgical intervention. This example provides evidence of treatment in a particular patient with post cholecystectomy biliary dysfunction. The specification does not provide additional working examples demonstrating treatment of sphincter of Oddi dysfunction or biliary dysfunction in patients without a prior gallbladder removal. Furthermore, the working example does not demonstrate the full range of additional outcomes in treatment regimens recited independent claims 6 through 11. Although working examples are not required for every embodiment, the limited example, considered with the breadth of the claims an unpredictability of the art weighs against enablement of the full scope of the claimed invention.
The Quantity of Experimentation Necessary
And view the breadth of the claim patient population, the different underlying mechanisms of the recited biliary complications, the limited guidance and working example, and the unpredictability reflected in the prior art, substantial experimentation would be necessary to determine which embodiments achieve the claim treatment. The disclosure does not provide sufficient guidance to resolve these uncertainties through routine application of the disclosed working example. Accordingly the quantity of experimentation necessary to practice the full scope of the claims would be undo.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues “Without acquiescence and solely to expedite prosecution, claim 1 is amended to recite a method of treating one or more biliary complications in a subject, including, among other things, that "the GLP-1-GIP receptor agonist is tirzepatide." As acknowledged by the Examiner, the specification enables treatment of biliary complications using tirzepatide. Thus, the amended claims do not lack enablement, and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Although the amendments limit the claimed therapeutic agent to tirzepatide and specify the biliary complications being treated, the claims remain broader than the disclosure reasonably enables. In particular, amended claim 1 is no longer limited to patients having undergone cholecystectomy and encompasses treatment of biliary complications in patients with or without prior gallbladder removal. The specification provides a limited working example involving a patient with post cholecystectomy biliary dysfunction. However, the disclosure does not provide sufficient guidance to enable treatment across the full scope of the claimed biliary conditions and patient populations without undue experimentation. Furthermore, the prior art demonstrates unpredictable GI and biliary effects associated with GLP-1 receptor agonists. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartman (Diabetes Care 2020;43:1352–1355, see also supplemental Data).
Regarding claim 1, Hartman discloses identifying patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus and administering therapeutically effective doses of tirzepatide a dual GLP1/GIP receptor agonist at 1, 5, 10 and 15 mg once weekly for 26 weeks (page 1353, research design and methods; supplemental appendix, study design and participants). Hartman further discloses baseline alt and AST measurements and statistically significant reduction in liver enzymes following tirzepatide administration (page 1353 Results; supplemental Table S2). The claim binary complications expressly include abnormal liver enzymes. Thus, a diabetic patient having elevated liver enzyme constitutes a patient in need of treatment within the scope of claim 1. Hartman's identification and treatment of such patient would satisfy the identifying limitation, notwithstanding that the patient was identified for treatment of diabetes. The reduction of elevated liver enzymes resulting from tirzepatide administration constitutes the claim therapeutic effect, which need not have been previously recognized.
Regarding claim 6, Hartman discloses administration of tirzepatide to the identified patients and reductions in alt, AST, and K-18, together with increased adiponectin (pages 1353-1354, Results, Figure 1; supplemental table S2). The recited metabolic or anti-inflammatory effects are inherent insofar as they necessarily result from the disclosed administration.
Regarding claim 7, Hartman discloses treating the identified patients for 26 weeks, with reductions in liver enzymes and PRO-C3, a fibrosis biomarker (pages 1353-1354, results, Figure 1, supplemental table S2). These disclosures support sustained hepatic improvement in anti-fibrotic effects. The disclose repeated administration over 26 weeks supports the claimed long term therapeutic effects. To the extent that maintaining liver enzyme stability and reducing liver fibrosis necessarily result from the disclosed treatment, these effects are inherent in Hartman's method.
Regarding claim 8, Hartman discloses reductions in alt and AST following administration of tirzepatide to the identified patients (see page 1353, Results, Supplemental Table S2). Furthermore, Hartman teaches the same patient population in administering the same drug and thus these administration effects would inherently be achieved by practicing the method of Hartman.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman (Diabetes Care 2020;43:1352–1355, see also supplemental Data) in view of Urva (Diabetes obesity and metabolism, volume 22, issue 10, pages 1886-1891, published October 2020, and supporting information).
Regarding claim 1, Hartman discloses identifying patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus and administering therapeutically effective doses of tirzepatide a dual GLP1/GIP receptor agonist at 1, 5, 10 and 15 mg once weekly for 26 weeks (page 1353, research design and methods; supplemental appendix, study design and participants). Hartman further discloses baseline alt and AST measurements and statistically significant reduction in liver enzymes following tirzepatide administration (page 1353 Results; supplemental Table S2). The claim binary complications expressly include abnormal liver enzymes. Thus, a diabetic patient having elevated liver enzyme constitutes a patient in need of treatment within the scope of claim 1. Hartman's identification and treatment of such patient would satisfy the identifying limitation, notwithstanding that the patient was identified for treatment of diabetes. The reduction of elevated liver enzymes resulting from tirzepatide administration constitutes the claim therapeutic effect, which need not have been previously recognized.
Regarding claim 6, Hartman discloses administration of tirzepatide to the identified patients and reductions in alt, AST, and K-18, together with increased adiponectin (pages 1353-1354, Results, Figure 1; supplemental table S2). The recited metabolic or anti-inflammatory effects are inherent insofar as they necessarily result from the disclosed administration.
Regarding claim 7, Hartman discloses treating the identified patients for 26 weeks, with reductions in liver enzymes and PRO-C3, a fibrosis biomarker (pages 1353-1354, results, Figure 1, supplemental table S2). These disclosures support sustained hepatic improvement in anti-fibrotic effects. The disclose repeated administration over 26 weeks supports the claimed long term therapeutic effects. To the extent that maintaining liver enzyme stability and reducing liver fibrosis necessarily result from the disclosed treatment, these effects are inherent in Hartman's method.
Regarding claim 8, Hartman discloses reductions in ALT and AST following administration of tirzepatide to the identified patients (see page 1353, Results, Supplemental Table S2). Furthermore, Hartman teaches the same patient population in administering the same drug and thus these administration effects would inherently be achieved by practicing the method of Hartman.
Hartman discloses administering tirzepatide to patients with type 2 diabetes at doses of 1, 5, 10 and 15 mg weekly resulting in reductions in alt and AST(see page 1353, results, Supplemental Table S2). Hartman does not expressly disclose administering approximately 2.5 mg/day.
Urva discloses tirzepatide administration at 0.5, 1.5, and 4.5 mg in human subjects (supplemental table 4), and further teaches daily administration of tirzepatide in mice for 14 days (section 2.1, methods). These disclosures established that tirzepatide dose and administration frequency were investigated variables (result effective). It would have been obvious to investigate alternative dosing regimens and optimize the dose to achieve a desired therapeutic response. It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of tirzepatide within the ranges taught by the prior to achieve optimal therapeutic effectiveness in the patients.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654