DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first rotational axis” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a2 as being anticipated by Church (US 12612835 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Church discloses a downhole tool, comprising a housing (301) and a bit (combination 314, 315) supported in said housing, wherein the bit comprises a bit head (315) having a first end and a second end and having a first longitudinal axis extending from the first end to the second end (shown in fig. 19) and a bit body (314) having a first end and a second end and having a second longitudinal axis, said bit body being attached to a rotational drive part (305), wherein the bit head is releasably connected to said bit body (shown in fig. 19, col. 19 ll. 49-53) and where the rotational drive part is configured to rotate the bit head along the first longitudinal axis (col. 25 ll. 42-60).
With respect to claim 7, Church discloses wherein the bit head comprises a distal cutting structure (shown in figs. 19, 28, col. 19 ll. 49-53).
With respect to claim 15, Church discloses wherein the rotational drive part is configured to rotate the bit body along the first rotational axis (col. 25 ll. 42-60).
With respect to claim 16, Church discloses wherein the first end of the bit head is attached to the second end of the bit body (shown in figs. 19, 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 8-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church in light of Wise (US 2282596 A).
With respect to claim 2, Church discloses wherein the bit extends in a longitudinal direction (shown in claim 19), and wherein the bit head is releasably connected to said bit body (shown in claim 19).
However, Church fails to describe any details of the fastening arrangement.
Nevertheless, Wise discloses a bit head 4 connected to a bit body 3 by a fastening arrangement 9 extending in the longitudinal direction (shown in figs. 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the bit head type and fastening arrangement of Wise instead of the bit head and fastening arrangement of Church in order to provide a replaceable bit which is inexpensive as taught by Wise (pg. 1 col. 1 ll. 11-17), Church discloses using any bit type in col. 19 ll. 49-53.
With respect to claim 3, Wise further discloses wherein the bit head is partly spaced from the bit body by a longitudinal gap (shown in fig. 1, this will be the case when assemble and disassembling the bit, and also shown in the assembled bit of fig. 2, a small longitudinal gap present surrounding the screw).
With respect to claims 4-6, Wise further discloses wherein the fastening arrangement comprises one or more bolts (9), wherein the one or more bolts are accessible from a distal end of the bit head, and wherein the fastening arrangement extends over said longitudinal gap (shown in fig. 2).
With respect to claims 8-13, Wise further discloses wherein the bit head comprises a proximal engagement structure for (6) establishing a rotationally fixed connection with the bit body (shown in fig. 1), wherein the proximal engagement structure of the bit head comprises a first set of teeth (6) extending towards the bit body, wherein the first set of teeth are distributed along a periphery of the bit head (shown in fig. 1), wherein the bit body comprises a distal connection structure (7 and projections between spaces 7) configured to mechanically connect to the proximal engagement structure of the bit head, wherein the distal connection structure of the bit body comprises a second set of teeth (projections between spaces 7) extending towards the bit head, wherein the second set of teeth are distributed along a periphery of the bit body (shown in fig. 1, col. 2 pg. 1, ll. 1-17).
With respect to claim 17, these limitations have been discussed in the rejection of claim 1 except for accessing the bit, disassembling the head from the body, and attaching a new head to the body, which are disclosed in col. 1 ll. 10-17 of Wise, and will happen while the bit body is securely attached to the drive part of Church in the combination.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church in light of Andersen (US 2282596 A).
With respect to claim 14, Church fails to disclose the hole saw.
Nevertheless, Andersen discloses wherein the rotational drive part comprises a circumferential hole saw (combination 11, 53) surrounding said bit head and/or bit body, and wherein the circumferential hole saw is at least partly extending out from said housing (pgph. 69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included a hole saw surrounding the bit head in order to be able to cut a piece out of the material to be drilled as taught by Andersen (pgph. 69).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2085941 A and US 3536150 A also disclose bolt connected heads. US 7389833 B2 discloses leaving a longitudinal gap between the lugs and spaces so that the lugs do not transmit longitudinal force (col. 11 ll. 13-20).
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 10/28/2026