DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s reply, filed on 08/17/2026, to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 07/02/2026.
Claims 1-2, 5-7 and 10 are amended. Claims 1-10 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL, Wook Bong Lee, Samsung, IEEE P802.11 Wireless LANs, doc.: IEEE 802.11-21/0272r4, Date: 2021-2-18, hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, 5, 6 and 10, Lee teaches, a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising (The method is understood, in line with the Spec, as an AP (=second STA) indicating 80 MHz BWs, in a 320 MHz system with 40 MHz resolution/granularity, to an STA (=first STA) operating with 80 MHz BW, to request for channel quality feedback report):
receiving, by a first station (STA), a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame from a second STA (see Lee page 25, Figure 35-7 page 25, “EHT NDP Announcement”, received by EHT beamformee (=first STA); and
receiving, by the first STA a Null Data Packet (NDP) frame from the second STA (see Lee page 25, Figure 35-7 page 25, “EHT sounding NDP”, received by EHT beamformee (=first STA), wherein the NDPA frame includes information on a partial bandwidth (see Lee page 9, Figure 9-61e, “Partial BW Info”),
wherein the information on the partial bandwidth includes 9 bits including a first bit and 8 bits including feedback bitmap information (see Lee Figure 9-61f page 10, Partial BW Info subfield format),
wherein the first bit indicates a resolution bandwidth for each bit in the feedback bitmap information (see Lee page 10, Figure 9-61f, “Partial BW Info subfield format, B0 Resolution”; line 11 “The Resolution subfield in the Partial BW Info subfield indicates the resolution bandwidth for each bit in Feedback Bitmap.”),
wherein, based on the first bit being set to 1, the resolution bandwidth is 40 MHz (Lee page 10, line 28 “When the bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame is 320 MHz, set the Resolution bit BO to value l, indicating resolution of 40 MHz”),
wherein the first STA operates with an 80 MHz bandwidth, wherein a bandwidth of a PPDU carrying the NDPA frame is 320 MHz and includes four 80 MHz subbands (Lee page 10, line 28, “When the bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame is 320 MHz […]”; page 24, line 30 “An 80 MHz operating EHT beamformee shall support all partial BW feedback modes as shown in Table 9-28d”, page 11, Table 9-28d, last row, 8 “Operating channel width of the EHT beamformee (MHz)” = 80, “Bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame” = 320 MHz, “Feedback RU/MRU Size” = 996 (i.e., 80 MHz, Spec [244] “the 80 MHz subblock uses the 996 tone RU”). Lee implies that BW of NDPA frame of 320 MHz includes four 80 MHz sub-bands, by indicating four 996-tone RUs (=80 MHz) in a 320 MHz bandwidth),
wherein second and third bits of the 9 bits correspond to two 484-tone resource units (RUs), respectively, arranged from a lower frequency to a higher frequency within a lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein fourth and fifth bits of the 9 bits correspond to two 484-tone RUs, respectively, arranged from a lower frequency to a higher frequency within a second lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein sixth and seventh bits of the 9 bits correspond to two 484-tone RUs, respectively, arranged from a lower frequency to a higher frequency within a third lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein eighth and ninth bits of the 9 bits correspond to two 484-tone RUs, respectively, arranged from a lower frequency to a higher frequency within a highest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on the second and third bits both being set to 1, the second and third bits indicate a feedback request for a 996-tone RU occupying the lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on the fourth and fifth bits both being set to 1, the fourth and fifth bits indicate a feedback request for a 996-tone RU occupying the second lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on the sixth and seventh bits both being set to 1, the sixth and seventh bits indicate a feedback request for a 996-tone RU occupying the third lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on the eighth and ninth bits both being set to 1, the eighth and ninth bits indicate a feedback request for a 996-tone RU occupying the highest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on the second and third bits not both being set to 1, the second and third bits indicate the request of feedback on each of the two 484-tone RUs in the lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on the fourth and fifth bits not both being set to 1, the fourth and fifth bits indicate the request of feedback on each of the two 484-tone RUs in the second lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on the sixth and seventh bits not both being set to 1, the sixth and seventh bits indicate the request of feedback on each of the two 484-tone RUs in the third lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, and wherein, based on the eighth and ninth bits not both being set to 1, the eighth and ninth bits indicate the request of feedback on each of the two 484-tone RUs in the highest frequency 80 MHz subband (Lee page 10, lines 29-30; page 11, lines 1-3 “B1 to B8 indicates the request of feedback on the each of the eight 484-tone RUs from lower frequency to higher frequency. If Bi and B2 are both set to 1, it indicates the feedback request, on the lowest 996-tone RU, and if B3 and B4 are both set to 1, it indicates the feedback request on the second lowest 996-tone RU, and if BS and B6 are both set to 1 it indicates the feedback request on the second highest 996-tone RU, and if B7 and B8 are both set to 1, it indicates the feedback request on the highest 996-tone RU”; page 11, Table 9-28d, last row no. 5, “Operating channel width of the EHT beamformee (MHz)” = 80, “Bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame” = 320 MHz, “Feedback RU/MRU Size” = 996, “Partial BW Info subfield values” = 111000000, 100110000, 100001100, 100000011”. 484-tone RUs represents 40 MHz BW (see Spec [257] “the feedback unit is 40 MHz (484 RU)” and 996-tone RUs represents 80 MHz BW above. Lee thus teaches 2 bits each for a 484-tone corresponding to 80 MHz BW, from lowest to highest 80 MHz BWs in a 320 MHz BW and shows setting of corresponding 2 bits to 1 indicating the corresponding 80 MHz).
With respect to claim 5, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding first STA. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 6, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding method of an inter-working transmitting side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 10, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding second STA of the inter-working transmitting side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Lee teaches the methods as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 6.
Lee further teaches, wherein, based on only one of the second and third bits being set to 1, the one of the second and third bits indicates the request of feedback on a corresponding one of the two 484- tone RUs in the lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on neither of the second and third bits being set to 1, feedback is not requested for either of the two 484-tone RUs in the lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on only one of the fourth and fifth bits being set to 1, the one of the fourth and fifth bits indicates the request of feedback on a corresponding one of the two 484-tone RUs in the second lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on neither of the fourth and fifth bits being set to 1, feedback is not requested for either of the two 484-tone RUs in the second lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on only one of the sixth and seventh bits being set to 1, the one of the sixth and seventh bits indicates the request of feedback on a corresponding one of the two 484- tone RUs in the third lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on neither of the sixth and seventh bits being set to 1, feedback is not requested for either of the two 484-tone RUs in the third lowest frequency 80 MHz subband, wherein, based on only one of the eighth and ninth bits being set to 1, the one of the eighth and ninth bits indicates the request of feedback on a corresponding one of the two 484- tone RUs in the highest frequency 80 MHz subband, and wherein, based on neither of the eighth and ninth bits being set to 1, feedback is not requested for either of the two 484-tone RUs in the highest frequency 80 MHz subband (The claim is about setting a single bit of the 9-bit to 1 for representing feedback bandwidth of 484-tone RUs (see Lee page 11, Table 9-28d, last row no. 5, “Operating channel width of the EHT beamformee (MHz)” = 80, “Bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame” = 320 MHz, “Feedback RU/MRU Size” = 484, “Partial BW Info subfield values” = 110000000, 101000000, 100100000, 100010000, 100001000. 100000100, 100000010, 100000001”, teaches each 484-tone RUs are indicated individually).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Lee teaches the methods as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 6.
Lee further teaches, wherein, based on the first bit being set to 0, the resolution bandwidth is 20 MHz, wherein, based on the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the NDPA frame being 20 MHz, the second bit is set to 1 to indicate feedback request for a 242-tone RU, and the third to ninth bits are set to 0, wherein, based on the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the NDPA frame being 40 MHz, the second and third bits indicate feedback request for each of two 242-tone RUs from lower frequency to higher frequency, and the fourth to ninth bits are set to 0, wherein, based on the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the NDPA frame being 80 MHz, when the second to fifth bits are all set to 1, it indicates feedback request for a 996-tone RU, and when the second to fifth bits are not all set to 1, it indicates feedback request for each of four 242-tone RUs from lower frequency to higher frequency, and the sixth to ninth bits are set to 0, wherein, based on the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the NDPA frame being 160 MHz, when the second to fifth bits are all set to 1, it indicates feedback request for a lower 996-tone RU, and when the second to fifth bits are not all set to 1, the second to fifth bits indicate feedback request for each of four 242-tone RUs from lower frequency to higher frequency in the lower 996-tone RU, when the sixth to ninth bits are all set to 1, it indicates feedback request for an upper 996-tone RU, and when the sixth to ninth bits are not all set to 1, the sixth to ninth bits indicate feedback request for each of four 242-tone RUs from lower frequency to higher frequency in the upper 996-tone RU (See Lee page 11, Table 9-28d, row nos. 1-4; page 10, lines 16-28 “When the bandwidth of EHT NOP Announcement frame is less than 320 MHz, set the Resolution bit B0 to value 0, indicating resolution of 20 MHz.
• When the bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame is 20 MHz, B1 is set to value 1 to indicate the request of feedback on the 242-tone RU. B2-B8 are Reserved and set to 0.
• When the bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame is 40 MHz, B1 and B2 indicates the request of feedback on each of the two 242-tone RUs from lower frequency to higher frequency. B3--B8 are Reserved and set to 0.
• When the bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame is 80 MHz, B1 to B4 indicates the request of feedback on each of the four 242-tone RUs from lower frequency to higher frequency. B5-B8 are Reserved and set to 0. If B1 to
B4 are all set to 1, it indicates the feedback request on 996-tune RU.
• When the bandwidth of EHT NDP Announcement frame is 160 MHz, B1 to B8 indicates the request of feedback on each of the eight 242-tone RUs from lower frequency to higher frequency. If B1 to B4 are all set to 1, it indicates the
feedback request on the lower 996-tone RU, and if B5 to B8 are all set to 1, it indicates the feedback request, on the higher 996-tone RU.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Lee teaches the methods as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 6.
Lee further teaches, further comprising: transmitting, by the first STA, a frame including feedback information to the second STA (See Lee page 21,35.5. EHT Sounding protocol, 35.5.1 General “The EHT beamformee returns an estimate of the channel state in an EHT compressed beamforming/CQI report carried in one or more EHT Compressed Beamforming/CQI frames”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in Remarks page 21-22 “Furthermore, the mere presence in the cited reference of two 484-tone RUs does not establish the claimed relationship. The Office Action reasons that eight 484-tone RUs correspond to four 996-tone RUs and therefore suggests that the 320 MHz bandwidth is divided into four 80 MHz subbands. Even assuming that two 484-tone RUs are located within each 80 MHz subband, that physical arrangement alone does not establish the claimed signaling relationship.
That is, the amended claims require not only the physical arrangement of the RUs, but also a particular interpretation of the feedback bitmap: a) individual interpretation of each bit with respect to a corresponding 484-tone RU under a first bit-value condition; and b) collective interpretation of the two bits with respect to a 996-tone RU under a second bit-value condition.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee clearly shows, in the cited Table 9-28d, bit settings of the 9-bit to represent feedback bandwidth with 40 MHz (=484-tone RUs) granularity for different 80 MHz channels, in case of BW of NDPA frame being 320 MHz.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu; Jian, US 20230086669 A1, NULL DATA PACKET ANNOUNCEMENT FRAME TRANSMISSION METHOD AND RELATED APPARATUS, (Claims 1-7).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475