DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C (Figs. 1C, 2C, and 3C) in the reply filed on September 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “endplates of the vertebrae” should be “endplate of the vertebra” due to referring to a single contacting surface (line 11). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be a comma between “inferior opening” and “wherein” (line 3). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “endplates of the vertebrae” should be “endplate of the vertebra” due to referring to a single contacting surface (line 5). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be a comma between “superior opening” and “wherein” (line 8) and between “inferior opening” and “wherein” (line 13). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “endplates of the vertebrae” should be “endplate of the vertebra” due to referring to a single contacting surface (lines 10-11 and line 16). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parry et al. (US 2019/0117410 A1).
Claim 1. Parry discloses a spinal implant for insertion between the endplates of adjacent vertebrae comprising:
a circumscribing wall member (see Fig. 5B inset; see also Fig. 5G inset) defining an interior hollow portion (central opening 224);
said wall member comprising:
a superior surface (upper surface 216) defining a superior opening (opening in upper surface 216 that leads to central opening 224),
an inferior surface (lower surface 218) defining an inferior opening (opening in lower surface 218 that leads to central opening 224),
a first arching portion (see Fig. 5B inset; see also Fig. 5G inset) extending inwardly from the wall member and upwardly towards the superior surface decreasing the size of the superior opening; and
a second arching portion (see Fig. 5B inset; see also Fig. 5G inset) extending inwardly from the wall member and downwardly towards the inferior surface decreasing the size of the inferior opening (Figs. 5A-5I; paras. 0120-0131).
Claim 4. Parry discloses wherein said wall member includes a porous structure (lattice or mesh component 242; see para. 0125) (Figs. 5A-5I; paras. 0120-0131).
[AltContent: textbox (Second Arching Portion)][AltContent: textbox (First Arching Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Wall Member)]
[AltContent: textbox (Wall Member)][AltContent: textbox (First Arching Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Second Arching Portion)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parry et al. (US 2019/0117410 A1) in view of Casey et al. (US 2021/0059822 A1).
Claim 5. Parry discloses spinal implant for insertion between the endplates of adjacent vertebrae comprising:
a circumscribing wall member (see Fig. 5B inset on pg. 4 above; see also Fig. 5G inset on pg. 5 above) defining an interior hollow portion (central opening 224);
said wall member comprising:
a superior surface (upper surface 216) defining a superior opening (opening in upper surface 216 that leads to central opening 224),
an inferior surface (lower surface 218) defining an inferior opening (opening in lower surface 218 that leads to central opening 224), and
a first arching portion (see Fig. 5B inset on pg. 4 above; see also Fig. 5G inset on pg. 5 above) extending inwardly from the wall member and upwardly towards the superior surface decreasing the size of the superior opening (Figs. 5A-5I; paras. 0120-0131).
Claim 8. Parry discloses wherein said wall member includes a porous structure (lattice or mesh component 242; see para. 0125) (Figs. 5A-5I; paras. 0120-0131).
Claim 9. Parry discloses spinal implant for insertion between the endplates of adjacent vertebrae comprising:
a circumscribing wall member (see Fig. 5B inset on pg. 4 above; see also Fig. 5G inset on pg. 5 above) defining an interior hollow portion (central opening 224);
said wall member includes porous structure (lattice or mesh component 242; see para. 0125) and further comprises:
a superior surface (upper surface 216) defining a superior opening (opening in upper surface 216 that leads to central opening 224), and
an inferior surface (lower surface 218) defining an inferior opening (opening in lower surface 218 that leads to central opening 224);
a first arching portion (see Fig. 5B inset on pg. 4 above; see also Fig. 5G inset on pg. 5 above) extending inwardly from the wall member and upwardly towards the superior surface decreasing the size of the superior opening; and
a second arching portion (se see Fig. 5B inset on pg. 4 above; see also Fig. 5G inset on pg. 5 above) extending inwardly from the wall member and downwardly towards the inferior surface decreasing the size of the inferior opening (Figs. 5A-5I; paras. 0120-0131).
Parry fails to disclose wherein the amount of arching inwardly by the first arching portion defining the superior opening being determined by an acceptable Hounsfield Parameter value determined from a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the superior surface (claim 5), wherein the amount of arching inwardly by the first arching portion defining the superior opening being determined by an acceptable Hounsfield Parameter value determined from a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the superior surface, and wherein the amount of arching inwardly by the second arching portion defining the inferior opening being determined by an acceptable Hounsfield Parameter value determined from a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the inferior surface (claim 9).
Casey teaches obtaining a radiodensity scan of the endplates of vertebrae contacting an implant (see paras. 0026-0027 and 0038, which refer to CT scanning and radiodensity), wherein the implant (see Fig. 16, which shows implants 242) has a superior opening on a superior surface and an inferior opening on an inferior surface (see axial view 214 of Fig. 15, which shows that central openings are occupied by lattice 231; see also Fig. 1, which shows a variety of implants having central openings, and Fig. 4, which shows implant 60 with apertures 82 that allow bone to grow from the endplates through the implant for fusion as stated in para. 0045), wherein the radiodensity scan is used to determine a Hounsfield Parameter value correlating to the contact between the superior and inferior surfaces of the implant and the endplates of the vertebrae in order to avoid subsidence (see para. 0076, which refers to voxels rendered in Hounsfield units for bone density and which refers to voxels rendered in Hounsfield units for bone density and the differences in the voxels between cortical and cancellous tissue; see para. 0079, which refers to using the Hounsfield units to select the implant and selecting the implant to avoid subsidence; note that because Casey’s goal is to avoid subsidence, it is apparent that there is a calculation of the Hounsfield Parameter value, which the Examiner is interpreting to be calculated by the computer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spinal implant of Parry such that the footprint of the superior and inferior surfaces of the implant are determined by an acceptable Hounsfield Parameter value determined from a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the superior surface (claims 5 and 9) and an acceptable Hounsfield Parameter value determined from a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the inferior surface (claim 9), as suggested by Casey, in order to avoid subsidence. In view of such a modification, and because the amount of arching inwardly of the first and second arching portions would necessarily affect the footprint of the superior and inferior surfaces, it is obvious that the amount of arching inwardly by the first arching portion defining the superior opening would be determined by an acceptable Hounsfield Parameter value determined from a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the superior surface (claim 5), the amount of arching inwardly by the first arching portion defining the superior opening would be determined by an acceptable Hounsfield Parameter value determined from a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the superior surface, and the amount of arching inwardly by the second arching portion defining the inferior opening would be determined by an acceptable Hounsfield Parameter value determined from a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the inferior surface (claim 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 10, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or teach a spinal implant wherein the amount of arching inwardly by the first and/or second arching portions is determined by a Hounsfield Parameter value between about -5.0 and 8.0, wherein the Hounsfield Parameter value is determined by a radiodensity scan of the endplates of the vertebrae contacting the superior and inferior surfaces of the spinal implant (claims 2, 6, and 10). Note that the Examiner is treating the claimed Hounsfield Parameter value and the way in which the Hounsfield Parameter value is determined as having patentable weight, thereby resulting in a patient-specific spinal implant.
Conclusion
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773