Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 24, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 and 7-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites, “the first stage’s output”, which lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite “a plurality of outputs of the first processing stage” and the latter recitation as “the plurality of outputs of the first processing stage and an additional context” or “… and a plurality of additional context”;
Claim 3 recites, “the operator’s visual attention”, which lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite “a visual attention of the operator”;
Claim 4 recites, “that region”, which lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite, “the specific content region of the visual capture”;
Claim 7 recites, “the operator’s environment”, which lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to either recite, “an environment of the operator” or “the task environment of the operator”;
Claim 8 recites, “the operator’s task environment”, which lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite, “the task environment of the operator”; and
Claim 9 recites, “the operator’s device”, which lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite, “a device of the operator” and the latter recitation as “the device of the operator”.
Appropriate correction is required;
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“multimodal sensing subsystem” in claim 1;
“cognitive state assessment pipeline” in claim 1;
“output subsystem” in claim 1;
“first processing stage” in claim 2;
“gaze-content alignment module” in claim 3;
“action unit analysis module” in claim 6;
“audio capture module” in claim 7; and
“privacy-preserving embedding extraction module” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 8 is rejected for failing to comply with the enablement requirement in the following recitation: “the embedding vectors and facial representations are semantically rich representations suitable for model training but cannot be used to reconstruct the original images or identify the operator.” Although, it is understood that the embedding vectors and facial representations are implemented via “a privacy-preserving embedding extraction module 228 that generates semantically rich but non-reconstructable representations of visual data for model training” (Specification, [0116]), the specification fails to enable one of ordinary skill in the art in practicing the obfuscation process of the disclosed invention that prevents the embedding vectors and facial representations from being utilized in a process to “reconstruct the original images or identify the operator” (Claim 8). As currently recited, the instant application claims that the embedding vectors and facial representations are completely incapable of being utilized to any degree in a process to reconstruct the original images or identify the operator. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be capable of implementing the claimed invention without undue experimentation to identify a method that entirely restricts the use of the embedding vectors and facial representations from being utilized in any manner within a method to reconstruct the original images or identify the operator.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “performance-improving” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “performance-improving” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. By using the term “performance-improving”, the action caused by the output subsystem is rendered indefinite.
Regarding claim 1, the term “performance-optimizing” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “performance-optimizing” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. By using the term “performance-optimizing”, the intervention selected and delivered is rendered indefinite.
Regarding claim 1, the term “its” is not in accordance with proper claim drafting conventions, as it is vague and conversational, lacking the precision and formality required for patent claims. Claim language should clearly and concisely define the scope of the invention without relying on informal expressions.
The Examiner recommends replacing “its” with the proper object of the limitation to obviate the rejection. The context of the instant application does not provide sufficient information to allow the Examiner to interpret the proper object intended by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 2, the term “lower” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “lower” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. By using the term “lower”, the required computational cost when classifying task context is rendered indefinite.
Regarding claim 2, the term “deeper” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “deeper” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. By using the term “deeper”, the processing stage selectively invoked by the set of trigger conditions is rendered indefinite.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation "the deeper processing stage that produces performance assessments". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the claim introduces “cognitive impasse”; however, claim 4 introduces a “stuck state”. Claim 5 is rendered indefinite as it is unclear whether the term “cognitive impasse” is intended to introduce a concept different from a “stuck state” the specification discusses the terms as being identical (Specification, [0181], “‘Cognitive impasse’ or ‘stuck state’ may refer to a condition in which the operator is investing sustained behavioral effort without producing measurable task progress, as determined by the relationship between effort indicators and effectiveness indicators.”). Although it is understood that claim 5 does not depend on claim 4, claim elements are typically assumed to be different elements from each other when given different terminology within the claims; therefore, the confusion remains and must be clarified.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner assumes the terms are synonymous.
Regarding claim 5, the term “visible” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “visible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. By using the term “visible” without clarifying the party at which the visibility must be rendered (e.g., the system or the user), the effectiveness indicator is rendered indefinite.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “semantically rich” is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “semantically rich” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. By using the phrase “semantically rich”, the embedding vectors and facial representations necessary for model training under the instant application are rendered indefinite.
Regarding Claim 9, the claim is rejected for the recitation of an optional limitation being required alongside the remainder of the claim. Specifically, claim 9 depends upon claim 1 where the “structured interface protocol” is introduced within a list of alternative types of actions (i.e., introduced within a non-mandatory limitation of claim 1). Due to the “structured interface protocol” being an optional limitation, it is unclear whether the remainder of the limitations of claim 9 are also optional limitations.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the entirety of claim 9 to be optional. See the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) below.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “most informative” is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “most informative” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. By using the phrase “most informative”, the elements produced by the cognitive state assessment pipeline are rendered indefinite.
Regarding claim 10, the term “gracefully” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gracefully” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. By using the term “gracefully”, the degradation rate produced/required by the system is rendered indefinite.
The following claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
“multimodal sensing subsystem” in claim 1;
“cognitive state assessment pipeline” in claim 1;
“output subsystem” in claim 1;
“first processing stage” in claim 2;
“gaze-content alignment module” in claim 3;
“action unit analysis module” in claim 6;
“audio capture module” in claim 7; and
“privacy-preserving embedding extraction module” in claim 8.
However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no clear linkage between the structure, material, or acts and the function because: (i) the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim, (ii) the structure described in the specification does not perform the entire function in the claim, or (iii) no association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. As detailed in the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, the claim does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends as all limitations within claim 9 are optional. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heimerl [US20210217532A1].
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Heimerl discloses:
A system for cognition-aware performance optimization, the system comprising:
a multimodal sensing subsystem configured to acquire at least two modalities selected from
physiological signals from an operator (Heimerl, [0009], “the disclosed technology provides a PROCESS #1 that includes reading physiological parameters…”),
visual captures of a task environment of the operator (Heimerl, [0009], “…using off-the-body sensors (e.g., camera, interior position sensors (IPS)…”), and
behavioral telemetry from interactions of the operator with the system (Heimerl, [0018], “Leading measures can include time to reduce the group from the crisis state, increased positive behaviors, and/or decreased negative behaviors induced by the applications (e.g., more sharing, more communicating, more acts of service, more effective conflict management).”);
a cognitive state assessment pipeline configured to process the acquired modalities through at least one of a neuroperformance foundation model and a multimodal machine learning model to produce composite cognitive performance assessments integrating physiological state, task context, or behavioral state (Heimerl, [0024], “the intervention determiner utilizes artificial intelligence and/or machine learning and/or other computational methods and algorithms (e.g., Gaussian Mixture Models, Artificial Neural Networks, Fuzzy Expert Systems, Support Vector Machines, and the like) to arrive at a multimodal biometric system and group measure, and to compare input data and parameters and composite values to historical values stored in the database to make the system's automatic determination of the group operating state.”); and
an output subsystem configured to cause a performance-improving action based on the composite cognitive performance assessments, the performance- improving action including at least one of:
(i) selecting and delivering a performance-optimizing intervention to the operator (Heimerl, [0024], “If the intervention determiner detects a crisis state (i.e., above the threshold), it will apply DUAL INTERVENTION methods—conscious (perceptible) and unconscious (imperceptible)—to diffuse the crisis state and return the group operating state to normal.”); or
(ii) exposing the cognitive performance assessments and pre-interpreted behavioral guidance to an external software agent via a structured interface protocol,
enabling the external software agent to modify its interaction behavior based on a current cognitive state of the operator without requiring domain expertise in physiological signal interpretation.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Heimerl discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the multimodal machine learning model employs a hierarchical processing architecture including:
a first processing stage that classifies task context at a lower computational cost (Heimerl, [0129], “The system is configured to conduct periodic operating-state measurement, calibration, and reclassification efforts to ensure the crisis state parameters and threshold values are and remain current.”);
a set of trigger conditions that selectively invoke a deeper processing stage based on the first stage's outputs and at least one of detected state changes, temporal conditions, and behavioral signals (Heimerl, [0116], “the present technology is a learning system on two levels. The first level is computer-driven via simple feedback (such as which response stimulation(s) were provided to the group in response to detection of a given set of physiological symptoms…”),
the trigger conditions being evaluated without invoking the deeper processing stage such that computational cost scales with the frequency of cognitively significant events rather than with elapsed time (Heimerl, [0116], “…as well as artificial intelligence, machine learning, deep learning, neural networks and/or other computer methods and algorithms that are part of the intervention determiner.” In other words, level one evaluates the trigger conditions without the deeper processing stage, and level two invokes the deeper processing stage.); and
the deeper processing stage that produces performance assessments conditioned on the first stage's outputs and additional context (Heimerl, [0116], “as well as artificial intelligence, machine learning, deep learning, neural networks and/or other computer methods and algorithms that are part of the intervention determiner. The intervention determiner uses one or more of these technologies to learn, over time and training, what interventions perform swiftly and effectively to diffuse the crisis state and return the persons to their Normal State Range as well as for purposes of biometric fusion.”).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Heimerl discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the multimodal sensing subsystem further captures facial images of the operator (Heimerl, [0157], “camera 1193 that obtains individual person's facial-expression information”) and processes them through an action unit analysis module that evaluates facial action units according to a configurable rubric to assess at least one of operator fatigue, postural indicators, and affective state (Heimerl, [0211], “camera(s) for analysis of hand gestures, posture, facial expressions, and the like,”),
the action unit assessments being integrated into the composite cognitive performance assessments (As cited in claim 1, Heimerl discloses using the input devices, including the camera, in the composite assessments.).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Heimerl discloses:
The system of claim 1, further comprising an audio capture module configured to acquire speech and ambient sound from the operator's environment for at least one of: voice-based interaction with the system, auditory attention assessment through cortical speech tracking when combined with electroencephalography data, speaker identification and diarization for collaboration context detection, or speech content analysis for task context enrichment (Heimerl, [0104], “the system 202 utilizes one or more user devices/input sensors 212 to monitor, measure, and detect the collective operating state of a group of persons, via obtaining measurements/values of physical (e.g., heartrate, blood flow, breathing, bodily secretions, muscle tension, body metabolism) and/or behavioral (e.g., movement, voice) indicators, or any combination thereof.”).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Heimerl discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the system is deployed in a local-first configuration
wherein sensing, inference, and intervention delivery execute on the operator's device (Heimerl, [0100], “The core of system 202 is the intervention system/server 260 which can be a cloud-based server, the same server as the user device (i.e., a program running and using a database within the user's device), or another server. Intervention system/server 260 has a processor, memory and a communication interface that allows intervention system/server 260 to transmit data and values to/from other components in the system 202.”),
the structured interface protocol is exposed as a local service accessible to other applications on the same device (See citation directly above.), and
raw physiological data, visual captures, and behavioral telemetry are retained exclusively on the operator's device (Heimerl, [0099], “one or more portions of the intervention server 220 is implemented as software that executes within a user's personal computing device (such as a smart cell phone, personal computer, or tablet), and the communications interface to a wired or wireless network is eliminated for such functions.”), with only derived scores, embeddings, or anonymized aggregate metrics optionally transmitted to remote infrastructure for model improvement (Heimerl, [0172], “the individual data is anonymized, and no identifiable individual data is captured, stored, or used by the system.”).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Heimerl discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein:
the cognitive state assessment pipeline is configured to operate with any available subset of the acquired modalities, producing the most informative composite cognitive performance assessment given the available modalities (Heimerl, [0067], “A particular embodiment may include only a subset of all of the features described, or a particular embodiment may include all of the features described.”), and
the system degrades gracefully when one or more modalities are unavailable (Heimerl, [0237], “The user interface display 1901 can include recommended applications 1904 and an option for the user 102A to select their top preferred app from among those available in the app sub-collections 1906.” In other words, even when some modalities are unavailable, the system gracefully selects other modalities.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heimerl and Retzkin [US20220280085A1].
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Heimerl discloses the system of claim 1 as cited above, such as triggering an intervention based on identified content, and the ability to track eye movement for the purposes of attention tracking (Heimerl, [0226], “Eye movement sensors (e.g., smart glasses, cameras) can measure mental distraction (e.g., performance, productivity).”), but Heimerl does not explicitly provide an in-depth teaching of the disclosure’s eye tracking mechanisms.
Retzkin, however, discloses:
a gaze-content alignment module (Retzkin, [0012], “there is provided a patient monitoring system for identifying a cognitive state of a patient, the system comprising a camera configured for recording images of an eye of the patient;”) configured to:
receive gaze fixation coordinates from an eye-tracking sensor (Retzkin, [0045], “A second step comprises employing a supervised machine learning algorithm to determine the eye pupil within the eye image data, based on the coordinates of said key zones.”);
map the gaze fixation coordinates onto semantic content regions of the visual capture identified by the multimodal machine learning model (Retzkin, [0045], “A first step comprises employing an object detection algorithm to detect at least 2, 3, 4 or 5 key zones within the eye image data.”);
determine whether the operator's visual attention is directed at task-relevant content (Retzkin, [0012], “classify said eye image data into gestures and identifying such gestures indicative of the cognitive state of the patient”; Retzkin, [0017], emphasis added, “The term cognitive state encompasses wakefulness, sleep state, delirium, cognitive abnormality such as decline, confusion, disorientation, abnormal attention or consciousness, impaired memory, distress, abnormal decision making, frustration, discomfort, pain, and depression.”);
detect persistent gaze regressions on a specific region of the visual capture exceeding a configurable duration threshold as a comprehension difficulty signal (Retzkin, [0014], “The identification may be based on timing, sequence, duration, pattern, or other measures of the patient's eye gestures. The identification encompasses the likelihood, occurrence and duration at any scale (minutes, hours or days) of the cognitive state. The identification may be deduced from the gestures based on pre-defined criteria.”);
identify the content of the regression region using the multimodal machine learning model (Retzkin, [0089], “the patient monitoring system further comprises an actuator module configured to drive an output unit to present an output to the patient, and wherein the data processing sub-system records reactive image data representative of a reactive eye movement that follows said output, classify said reactive image data into reactive gestures and identifying such gestures indicative of the cognitive state of the patient.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used eye tracking for identifying the area of attention of the user by including the eye tracker for monitoring the user’s eye movement as in the improvement discussed in Retzkin in the system of Heimerl. As in Retzkin, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to track the user’s eye movement to track the area of attention of the user to Heimerl’s method/system for intervention delivery with the predicted result of identifying the content at which the user gazes as needed in Heimerl.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heimerl, Jernigan [US20220071535A1], and Waite [US20240302895A1].
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Heimerl discloses the system of claim 1 as cited above, such as the detection of a plurality of cognitive states, but Heimerl does not explicitly teach a stuck state, a flow state, or a comprehension difficulty state as claimed within the instant application.
Jernigan, however, discloses:
a stuck state and a flow state (Jernigan, [0549], “the status is reported as mental state such as “vigilance”, “overload”, “flow”, “incubating”, “available.””; Jernigan, Figs. 1 and 6-8, Flow Channel);
the stuck state characterized by absence of task progress combined with sustained effort indicators (Jernigan discloses Effortful Attention 136 when the Challenge of a task is higher than the skill of the user. Figs. 6-8, Flow Channel); and
the flow state (Jernigan, Flow 150) characterized by a combination of indicators including sustained focused engagement (Jernigan, Attention 134), consistent productive output (Jernigan, [0554], “the system identifies flow as a high-cost period of interruptions because the user is being productive.”), and absence of error escalation (Jernigan, [0551], “Another example is that some effortful vigilance tasks cause fatigue or lapses in vigilance, which can cause errors.” In other words, the flow state is categorized as an absence of errors.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have monitored the specific cognitive states of the user, including when they are in a stuck stack and in a flow state, in the process of performing various tasks as in Jernigan in the system executing the method of Heimerl with the motivation of richer data for implementing a more tailored intervention as taught by Jernigan over that of Heimerl.
Heimerl/Jernigan discloses the system of claim 4 cited above and the importance of tracking saccades (Jernigan, [0166], “Eye tracking can be useful in a variety of ways, ranging from tracking what the user is looking at to involuntary eye behaviors such as gaze, saccades, pupil dilation, and blinks.”), but Heimerl/Jernigan does not explicitly disclose the comprehension difficulty state as defined by the instant application.
Waite, however, discloses:
the comprehension difficulty state characterized by persistent attentional return to a specific content region of the visual capture (Waite, [0061], “Alternatively, the saccadic patterns may be used to infer a [comprehension] difficulty at the sentence level as well.”), wherein the content of that region is identified by the multimodal machine learning model to enable content-specific intervention (Waite, [0044], “a saccade that moves across the same word location multiple times, the AI (ML model) will highlight the word that is slowing the saccade.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have monitored saccadic patterns for determining a user’s comprehension of specific content by including the eyer tracker for communication with the intervention system as in the improvement discussed in Waite in the system of Heimerl/Jernigan. As in Waite, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to monitor saccadic patterns with the predicted result of identifying comprehension issues as needed in Heimerl/Jernigan.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heimerl and Jernigan.
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Heimerl discloses the system of claim 1 as cited above and collecting behavioral telemetry, such as keyboard activity, pointing device activity, and gaze engagement as input for the system (Heimerl, [0013], “One or more preferred embodiment can include a system for group-crisis state detection and intervention, the system having a plurality of mobile devices (e.g., user devices, input devices) that can collectively detect first biometric conditions specific to individual users of a plurality of users, each of the first biometric conditions identifying a health state of each of the users in the plurality of users and transmit, to a computing system, the first biometric conditions.”; Heimerl, [0208], “A user may enter commands and information into the personal computer 20 through input-devices such as a keyboard 40 and a pointing device 42.”; Heimerl, [0157], “distraction detector 1194 (such as camera that determines a person's gaze or use of their cell phone)…”), but Heimerl does not explicitly teach using these input devices to predict cognitive impasse by computing an effort indicator, an effectiveness indicator, correlating the effort indicator and effectiveness indicator, and determining that the user is in or approaching a stuck state based on threshold values.
Jernigan, however, discloses:
The system is further configured to predict cognitive impasse (Jernigan, Overload 144) by:
computing an effort indicator from behavioral telemetry (Jernigan, e.g., Effortful Attention 136, Effortless Attention 138, Attention 134. See Claim 4 of the instant application for further citations and context.);
computing an effectiveness indicator from visible progress detected via the multimodal machine learning model observation of visual captures including at least one of
content changes (Jernigan, [0350] discusses event markers, such as the usage of software applications, including the beginning and ending (i.e., changing) of using the software applications.),
error resolution, and
work product advancement (Jernigan, [0351], “the tasks the user performs are computer games and can be readily measured. Each game-playing task may have its own metric to track user progress.”; Jernigan, [0352], “Further, the tasks that the user performs for event marking or for training need not be games or gamified tasks, but may be other tasks where the balance of challenge and skill can be adjusted. For example, the task might not be entertainment, but work.”);
computing a relationship between the effort indicator and the effectiveness indicator (Jernigan, [0360], “the user performs a predefined task. This is different from a game-playing task, as the predefined task does not adapt prompts based on prior user input. Rather than cycle users through different states like a game-playing task, a predefined task will be difficult and thus measures just focused, vigilant, or effortful mental states. An example of a predefined task may include a cognitive performance tests, such as a Stroop test.” Jernigan discloses a relationship between the methods of testing effort (i.e., effort indicator), as mentioned in relation to the mental states, and the event markers/work product advancement (i.e., effectiveness indicator) through the disclosure of having users progress through a task while measuring the level of effort placed by the user throughout the task.); and
determining that the operator is in or approaching a stuck state when the effort indicator exceeds a first threshold and the effectiveness indicator falls below a second threshold, indicating high behavioral investment with low output quality (Jernigan, [0551], “Another example is that some effortful vigilance tasks cause fatigue or lapses in vigilance, which can cause errors. An example of such a vigilance task may include human security screeners looking at X-ray of luggage.” In other words, the user is identified as exerting high effort (i.e., increase in effort indicator) while resulting in errors (i.e., low effectiveness indicator).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have monitored the specific cognitive states of the user, including the effort levels of the user, in the process of performing various tasks as in Jernigan in the system executing the method of Heimerl with the motivation of richer data for implementing a more tailored intervention as taught by Jernigan over that of Heimerl.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heimerl and Kurz [US11734570B1].
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Heimerl discloses the system of claim 1 as cited above, further comprising a privacy-preserving embedding extraction module configured to generate on-device representations of visual data (Heimerl, [0099], “one or more portions of the intervention server 220 is implemented as software that executes within a user's personal computing device (such as a smart cell phone, personal computer, or tablet), and the communications interface to a wired or wireless network is eliminated for such functions.”), but Heimerl does not explicitly teach generating non-reconstructable representations of visual data for model training, including an encoder and a facial representation module as described by the instant claim.
Kurz, however, discloses:
generating non-reconstructable representations of visual data for model training, including:
an encoder that produces fixed-dimensional embedding vectors from visual captures of the operator's task environment (Kurz, cols 8-9, line 67 and lines 1-7, respectively, “the embedding (also referred to as feature) is invariant to the difference between the two inputs of the input pair (e.g., the sensitive or unnecessary information in the input data), thereby making it difficult, if not impossible, for a malicious actor to exploit the embedding (e.g., by reverse engineering the features to reconstruct the input data or extract/learn any sensitive information from the embedding).”; Kurz, col, lines, “system 100 uses CCD sensors, event cameras, and depth sensors in combination to detect the physical environment around system 100.”); and
a facial representation module that produces structural or geometric representations of facial images (Kurz, col 13, lines 61-65, “the network can be trained (and later implemented) using input training data that includes spatial/geometrical input data such as depth maps, 3D volumes, 3D point clouds, 3D meshes, or other representations of 3D geometry.”);
wherein the embedding vectors and facial representations are semantically rich representations suitable for model training but cannot be used to reconstruct the original images or identify the operator (Kurz, col 4, lines 11-15, “However, features used to classify the image cannot be used (e.g., by a malicious actor having access to the network) to reconstruct or identify the face of the person or to perform optical character recognition to identify text in the original input image.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the privacy-protection mechanisms of Kurz in the system of Heimerl as privacy is a standard concern within systems implementing features via cameras or other intrusive methods. As in Waite, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the privacy-protection mechanisms with the predicted result of preventing malicious actors from violating the privacy of the user, thereby increasing the appeal of the system to a potential consumer.
Regarding claim 11-20, the Applicant has elected to cancel the claims.
Conclusion
/Z.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715