DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the provisional application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/792033, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The provisional application does not disclose “a third female connector along the first line”, “a fourth female connector disposed along the first line”, “a securing line that includes a first bead…and a second bead” as required by claims 1-14, “a securing line” as required by claims 15-20.
So the current pending claims have an effective filing date of 4/21/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/21/26 was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/21/26. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8: recites “are each a nano bead having a diameter of approximately 3 mm”; however, by definition, the bead cannot constitute “nano” anything when it is 3mm in diameter because “nano” by definition means “one billionth” and a “millimeter” is one thousandth of a meter, not one billionth. For examination purposes, the claim will be treated as reciting “have a diameter of approximately 3mm”. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 12, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kleinman (US 20150327611).
Claim 1: Kleinman discloses a hair extension system comprising: a hair extension including a first line/base (200) with a first hair weft (20) including a first female connector (400a) disposed at a first end of the first line/base, a second female connector (400b) disposed along the first line/base at a opposing second end of the first line/base; a third female connector (600) [0016 & 0028] disposed along the first line at a first offset distance from the first female connector (see Fig 7); a fourth female connector (600) disposed along the first line at a second offset distance from the second female connector; and a second line/base (700) having a second hair weft (20, see Fig 7) that includes a first male connector (600) disposed at a first end of the second line/base to releasably engage the third female connector [0016 & 0028]; and a second male connector (600) disposed at a second end of the second line/base (700) to releasably engage the fourth female connector (600) [0016 & 0028]; and a securing line (50) that can include a first bead [0034] at a first end of the securing line securing the securing line to the first female connector (400a) [0034] of the first line/base (200) (see Fig 7) and a second bead [0034] at a second opposite end of the securing line (50, see Fig 7) securing the securing line to the second female connector (400b) [0034] and the securing line and the first line/base together define a head opening to receive a portion of a user’s head [0047].
Claim 2: the first line/base (200) is illustrated with a length greater than a length of the second line/base (700, see Fig 7).
Claim 3: the securing line secures the extension system to a user’s head without additional clips or glue [0047].
Claim 4: Regarding the language “crimped”, the applicant is advised that, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In this case, the cited limitations failed to distinguish the claimed structure from the patented device of Kleinman that includes a bead at each end of the securing line. See MPEP § 2113. Kleinman also discloses the first female connector and the second female connector to be holes, or “eyes” that receive the beads of the securing line [0034].
Claim 5: Kleinman discloses the first male connector, the second male connector, the third female connector and the fourth female connector can include at least hooks, clips, and combinations thereof. A hook is known to mate with an eye, or a “clip”. So the office interprets this to constitute Kleinman disclosing the third female connector and fourth female connector can each include an eye and the first male connector and the second male connector can include a hook to engage the respective eye.
Claim 6: the first offset distance is substantially equal to the second offset distance (see Fig 7).
Claim 7: the third female connector (600) is spaced inward from the first female connector (400a) along the first line/base and the fourth female connector (600) is spaced inward from the second female connector (400b) and when connected together, the second line/base (700) is layered beneath the first line/base (200, see Fig 7) so the two are vertically offset (see Figs 6-7).
Claim 9: the opening between the securing line and the first line/base defines a “head gap” sized to receive the portion of the head [0047] to distribute the hair across the user’s head [0047].
Claim 10: a third line/base (900) including a third hair weft (20, see Figs 6-7) coupled to the second line/base (700) at additional connection points and provides more hair volume (see Figs 6-7).
Claim 12: Kleinman indicates the hair can be animal or synthetic [0050] and that an additional accessory (900) can be releasably coupled to the second line/base (700) at one or more attachment points (600) and synthetic or animal hair [0050] both constitute “decorative strands”.
Claim 15: Kleinman discloses a hair extension system (see Figs 6-7) comprising: a hair extension configured to be worn on a user’s head [0047] including a first line/base (200) having a first hair weft (20) and a second line/base (700) having a second hair weft (20), the second line/base is releasably coupled to the first line/base [0016 & 0028] at a first connection point (600) and a second connection point (600) spaced from the first connecting point; and a securing line (50) coupled to the first line/base at a first securing connection point (400a) near an end of the first line/base and a second securing connection point (400b) disposed near an opposing second end of the first line/base and a head opening is defined between the first line/base and the securing line to receive a portion of a user’s head [0047] (see Figs 6-7).
Claim 16: the first connection point is disposed inward from the first securing line connection point along the first line/base by a first offset distance and the second connection point is disposed inward from the second securing line connection point along the first line/base by a second offset distance approximately equal to the first offset distance (see Figs 6-7).
Claim 17: Kleinman discloses that the securing line can be coupled to the fist line via a pair of beads at the two ends of the securing line [0034]. So Kleinman discloses the securing line coupled to the first line at the connection points via beads on the securing line. Regarding the language “crimped”, the applicant is advised that, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In this case, the cited limitations failed to distinguish the claimed structure from the patented device of Kleinman that includes a bead at each end of the securing line. See MPEP § 2113.
Claim 18: Kleinman discloses the second line/base can be releasably coupled to the first line at the two connection points by at least hooks, clips, and combinations thereof. A hook is known to mate with an eye, or a “clip”. So the office interprets this to constitute Kleinman disclosing the connectors can include an eye and a hook to engage the respective eye.
Claim 19: Kleinman discloses a hair extension system (see Figs 6-7) comprising: a hair extension configured to be worn on a user’s head [0047] including at least a first line/base (200) having a first hair weft (20) coupled thereto; the first line/base having a first end and an opposite second end (see Figs 6-7); and a securing line (50) coupled to the first line/base at a first securing connection point (400a) near an end of the first line/base and a second securing connection point (400b) disposed near an opposing second end of the first line/base and a head opening is defined between the first line/base and the securing line to receive a portion of a user’s head [0047] (see Figs 6-7) without additional clips or glue.
Claim 20: The at least one line/base can include a second line/base (700) having a second hair weft (20), the second line/base is releasably coupled to the first line/base [0016 & 0028] at a first connection point (600) and a second connection point (600) spaced from the first connecting point and the first and second wefts are layered to collective hang when worn (see Figs 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleinman (US 20150327611).
Claim 8: Kleinman discloses the securing line to be an elastic string [[0047], which is a monofilament line and discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the beads having a diameter of about 3mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the hair extension of Kleinman by providing beads and their corresponding holes or eyelets to be about 3mm since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim 11: Kleinman discloses the first line and the securing line cooperating to be positioned on a user’s head when worn and discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the first line/base having a length of approximately 14 inches. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the hair extension of Kleinman by providing the first line/base to be about 14 inches since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claims 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleinman (US 20150327611) in view of Moeszinger (US 20080178902).
Claim 13: Kleinman already discloses the connectors and the device can comprise silicone [0016 & 0028] and discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for a headband removably attached to the system. Moeszinger, however, teaches an adjustable hair extension system wherein a series of hair extensions (40) each comprising a base/line are joined to a securing line (18+18’) and a headband (10) in order to allow a user to cover the exposed part of the securing line when wearing the wig. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the wig of Kleinman by providing the securing line with a removable headband in view of Moeszinger in order to allow a user to cover different portions of their head as desired when wearing the wig.
Claim 14: modified Kleinman discloses the invention of claim 13 and discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for a silicone backing on the headband; however, Kleinman does explicitly contemplate that silicone is a known fastener that can be used to attach the various components together [0016 & 0028] and silicone is known to also be skin-friendly. So it would not have taken a leap of inventiveness to modify the headband of modified Kleinman to have a silicone fastener that would also be capable of coming into contact with a user’s head when worn since Kleinman already contemplates the use of silicone fasteners and the modification is to provide the wig with a removable headband.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JENNIFER GILL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772