DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Rifle Speed (see attached NPL: Handguard Window Cuts; Riflespeed.com; 29 November 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Rifle Speed discloses a system for a handguard, said system comprising: a handguard body; a barrel located within said handguard body; a gas control system coupled to said barrel; wherein said handguard body comprises a front side; a top side, a rear side, and a bottom side, and wherein the front side is opposite from the bottom side, and wherein said front side is opposite said rear side; wherein a first handguard window extends within said front side (see annotated Fig. 1 below; applicant should note the Rifle Speed Fig. 2 is the exact same picture as Applicant’s Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein a second handguard window extends within said rear side (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 3, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said top side comprises a rail system (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said first handguard window exposes said gas control system (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said first handguard window does not extend to the top side or bottom side (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 6, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said first handguard window extends only within said front side (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 7, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said gas control system comprises a radial knob (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 8, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said radial knob comprises a plurality of indicia along a circumference of said gas control (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 9, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said radial knob comprises divots (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said first handguard window is sufficiently sized to allow a user's fingers to access and manipulate said gas control (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 11, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said rail is uninterrupted (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 12, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said top side and said bottom sides are uninterrupted (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 13, Rifle Speed fails to expressly discloses wherein said first handguard window is created by casting. Applicant should note that “even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Regarding claim 14, Rifle Speed fails to expressly discloses wherein said first handguard window is created by molding. Applicant should note that “even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Regarding claim 15, Rifle Speed further discloses wherein said gas control can be adjusted without removing said handguard body (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rifle Speed in view of Larson, JR. et al (US 2014/0013642) [hereinafter Larson].
In the event that the applicant disagrees with the above 102 rejection of claims 13 and 14 in view of Rifle Speed, the following rejection is added.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Rifle Speed fails to expressly discloses wherein said first handguard window is created by casting or molding.
Larson teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture handguards 30, 130, 230, 330 using a variety of techniques, such as various casting and molding techniques, including liquid-based casting techniques, powder techniques, prepreg techniques, and other such techniques, as well as forging, extrusion, machining, and other techniques and combinations of such techniques.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been capable of applying this known technique of manufacturing handguards to the handguard of Rifle Speed and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. __, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007). The predictable result being manufacturing a handguard with a known technique.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JOSHUA E FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641