DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS document submitted 9/10/2026 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response dated 8/27/2026 is acknowledged and appreciated. Applicant argues that the Nissing reference (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0182978) does not teach features consistent with "obtaining, based on one or both of the flight control signal and the ground attribute value, a payload ratio of a first amount of the first payload to a second amount of the second payload." In response, Examiner asserts that Nissing describes utilizing various “field data” (par. 50) to formulate a field prescription instructing an application drone where to fly and what agrichemicals to apply (par. 254). Nissing also describes that the drones may carry multiple different payloads comprised of herbicides and/or fertilizers (par. 190) to be applied based on a formulated prescription. Note that Nissing describes “field data” to encompass a wide range of related variables with examples being geographic identifiers, imagery data, weather data and many others that may be obtained via sensors. Examiner asserts that Nissing is describing utilizing a formulated prescription based on real time sensor data to apply multiple payload agrichemicals in at least some ratio derived through the prescription. Also, Nissing describes transmitting sensor data, obtained via the drone, to a server computing subsystem, to formulate a agrichemical prescription, and transmitting this data to the ground and drone subsystems including application drones (par. 141, 142).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34-37, 39-52 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nissing et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0182978).
In regards to claim 34, Nissing et al (henceforth referred to as Nissing) disclose a drone-based payload management system comprising:
at least one drone having a first payload bay and a second payload bay configured
to store a first payload and a second payload. Nissing teaches a system that includes drones with multiple payloads (in multiple payload bays) to disperse on agricultural fields (pars. 126, 134, 171), respectively;
one or more sensors (items 112);
a drone communications interface provided in the at least one drone. Par. 126 of Nissing describes the communication structure of the system including in/on the drones; and
a drone processing unit provided in the at least one drone, the drone processing
unit coupled with the one or more sensors, the first payload bay, and the second payload bay and being configured to perform operations. Nissing teaches drones with both scouting and application functions (par. 144) and that the drones include a processor (item 114) incorporated into the system including the sensors and the payload bays, the operations comprising:
determining, based on an output of at least one of the one or more sensors,
a ground attribute value of a ground surface associated with a location of the at
least one drone while the at least one drone is deployed. Nissing teaches using sensors to determine at least a ground condition (par. 99) and using this to derive a payload ratio;
transmitting a signal indicating the ground attribute value to an external device via the drone communications interface. Nissing teaches transmission of the data including ground attribute data to external computer/processor in/on ground station (pars. 131-133);
receiving a flight control signal from the external device via the drone
communications interface. Nissing discloses that the application drones receive instructions from a ground station via a communication system (par. 133-135);
obtaining, based on one or both of the flight control signal and the ground
attribute value, a payload ratio of a first amount of the first payload to a second
amount of the second payload. Nissing teaches that the prescription for chemical application may be formulated using obtained ground conditions including imagery (par. 161) and the drone applies the prescribed material into/onto the crop fields based on the prescription (par. 190); and,
in response to receipt of the flight control signal, causing the first and
second payload bays to release the first payload and the second payload
respectively according to the payload ratio. The Nissing system directs the application drone to release payloads in a prescribed ratio (par. 190).
In regards to claim 35, Nissing discloses that the external device comprises a hub, a cloud-based server, or a drone. Nissing teaches that the “subsystem” may be cloud-based computing facility (par. 136).
In regards to claim 36, Nissing discloses that the external device comprises a mobile hub provided on a vehicle. The external device of Nissing constitutes a vehicle and is mobile. Nissing teaches use of scouting drone etc.
In regards to claim 37, Nissing discloses that the external device comprises a stationary hub. Nissing teaches an off-site computer hub that is fixed.
In regards to claim 39, Nissing discloses that the flight control signal comprises an instruction to adjust one or more items selected from the group consisting of the payload ratio, a delivery timing of one or both of the first and second payloads, and a delivery position of the at least one drone. Nissing describes scouting drones that may analyze various aspects of the agricultural field to develop a prescription including ratios to be applied and relay this to application drones (pars. 141-143).
In regards to claim 40, Nissing discloses that the flight control signal is generated by the external device based at least in part on one or more factors selected from the group consisting of existence of a higher-priority delivery target, existence of another drone en route to the same delivery target, a command to return to a base, a weather forecast, and a physical obstruction. Nissing discloses various factors influencing the systems generation of control signals including weather forecasting (par. 185).
In regards to claim 41, Nissing discloses that the one or more sensors includes at least one sensor selected from the group consisting of a GPS sensor, an accelerometer, a LIDAR sensor, a RADAR sensor, a camera, a thermometer, a magnetometer, a gyroscope, an inertial measurement unit, and a spectrometer. Nissing teaches moisture, temperature, altimeter, accelerometer, humidity and various other sensors including cameras (par. 99).
In regards to claim 42, Nissing discloses that the ground attribute value quantifies at least one attribute selected from the group consisting of a chemical attribute, an elevation attribute, a slope attribute, a physical attribute, an optical attribute, and a geographical attribute. Nissing teaches precision agriculture using drone based sensors to measure and formulate a precise prescription for a specific area including using physical attributes (pars. 144-147).
In regards to claim 43, Nissing discloses that the ground attribute value is determined, at least in part, from an image descriptor. Nissing teaches using imagery to determine the necessary prescription (par. 148).
In regards to claim 44, Nissing discloses that the ground attribute value is determined in real-time from a digital representation of the ground surface. Nissing teaches using digital image data in real time to determine prescription (see abstract).
In regards to claim 45, Nissing discloses that the ground attribute value is determined, at least in part, by reference to a previously characterized attribute of the ground surface associated with the location. Nissing teaches retrieval of imaging to determine new problems (par. 213).
In regards to claim 46, Nissing discloses that the ground attribute value adheres to a ground attribute namespace or ontology. The ground attribute, as understood, adheres to a specific namespace.
In regards to claim 47, Nissing discloses that the payload ratio is derived from the ground attribute value via one or more items selected from the group consisting of a lookup table, a function, and a machine learning model. The system of Nissing utilizes computers to analyze and determine prescription(s).
In regards to claim 48, disclose one or both of the first and second
payload bays comprises a controllable payload aperture coupled with the drone processing unit, the controllable payload aperture being controllable to release the respective payload in different amounts or at different flow rates. The drones of the Nissing system includes a releasing aperture for each of the chemical cartridges capable of releasing different amounts and at different rates.
In regards to claim 49, Nissing discloses the at least one drone comprises at least one unmanned aerial vehicle. Nissing teaches ground based or air based drone.
In regards to claim 50, Nissing discloses that the at least one drone comprises a fleet of two or more drones, and wherein the drone communications interface enables communication between at least two drones of the fleet. Nissing teaches multiple drones in the system communicating between each other (i.e. scout and application drones).
In regards to claim 51, Nissing discloses that the at least one drone operates in a stand- alone configuration when the flight control signal from the external device is unavailable, the drone processing unit deriving the payload ratio and causing the first and second payload bays to release the first and second payloads according to the payload ratio without external instruction. At par. 144, Nissing describes a stand-alone drone that determines a prescription and applies the material in the corresponding ratio.
In regards to claim 52, Nissing discloses that the operations further comprise determining a dispersion of one or both of the first and second payloads on the ground surface after release. Nissing teaches a system that determines when and where to release and disperse a payload. Nissing does not explicitly disclose adjusting subsequent releases of one or both of the first and second payloads based on the determined dispersion. However, the claim subject matter requires the Nissing apparatus to perform a function and a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, Note that the Nissing drone system is capable of performing a "test" run and utilizing the test run to formulate future dispersion of the payload.
In regards to claim 54, Nissing discloses a drone-based payload management method comprising:
providing at least one drone having a first payload bay and a second payload bay
configured to store a first payload and a second payload, respectively. Nissing teaches at least two different chemicals or the like in separate catridges
providing one or more sensors. Nissing teaches that the drones may have sensors that determine conditions in/on the ground surface (par. 99);
determining, based on an output of at least one of the one or more sensors, a
ground attribute value of a ground surface associated with a location of the at least one drone while the at least one drone is deployed. Nissing teaches using the sensors to formulate a prescription (par. 161) based on some ground attribute (i.e. moisture);
transmitting a signal indicating the ground attribute value to an external device via
a drone communications interface provided in the at least one drone. Nissing teaches transmission of the data including ground attribute data to external computer/processor in/on ground station (pars. 131-133);
receiving a flight control signal from the external device via the drone
communications interface. Nissing discloses that the application drones receive instructions from a ground station via a communication system (par. 133-135);
obtaining, based on one or both of the flight control signal and the ground
attribute value, a payload ratio of a first amount of the first payload to a second amount of the second payload. Nissing teaches that the prescription for chemical application may be formulated using obtained ground conditions including imagery (par. 161) and the drone applies the prescribed material into/onto the crop fields based on the prescription (par. 190); and,
in response to receipt of the flight control signal, causing the first and second
payload bays to release the first payload and the second payload respectively according to the payload ratio. The Nissing system directs the application drone to release payloads in a prescribed ratio (par. 190).
In regards to claim 55, Nissing discloses a drone-based payload management system comprising:
at least one drone having a first payload bay and a second payload bay configured
to store a first payload and a second payload. Nissing teaches at least two different chemicals or the like in separate catridges, respectively;
one or more sensors. Nissing teaches that the drones may have sensors that determine conditions in/on the ground surface (par. 99);
a drone communications interface provided in the at least one drone. Nissing teaches that the scout and application drones include communication interfaces; and
one or more non-transitory program storage media on which are stored
instructions executable by one or more processors or programmable circuits to perform operations. Nissing teaches computer programs and
software for implementing drone-based agro operations (par. 249), comprising:
determining, based on an output of at least one of the one or more sensors. Nissing teaches that the drones may have sensors including cameras that determine conditions in/on the ground surface (par. 99);
a ground attribute value of a ground surface associated with a location of the at
least one drone while the at least one drone is deployed. Nissing teaches determining at least some ground attributes including moisture level;
transmitting a signal indicating the ground attribute value to an external
device via the drone communications interface. Nissing teaches transmission of the data including ground attribute data to external computer/processor in/on ground station (pars. 131-133);
receiving a flight control signal from the external device via the drone
communications interface. Nissing discloses that the application drones receive instructions from a ground station via a communication system (par. 133-135);
obtaining, based on one or both of the flight control signal and the ground
attribute value, a payload ratio of a first amount of the first payload to a second
amount of the second payload. Nissing teaches that the prescription for chemical application may be formulated using obtained ground conditions including imagery (par. 161) and the drone applies the prescribed material into/onto the crop fields based on the prescription (par. 190); and,
in response to receipt of the flight control signal, causing the first and
second payload bays to release the first payload and the second payload
respectively according to the payload ratio. The Nissing system directs the application drone to release payloads in a prescribed ratio (par. 190).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissing et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0182978) in view of Torii et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0241571).
In regards to claim 38, Nissing does not disclose that the external device comprises a master drone that controls or directs operations of the at least one drone. However, Nissing teaches multiple drones operating in a system and Torii et al (henceforth referred to as Torii) teaches a drone fleet with at least a master drone that controls other drones (par. 129) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide a controlling “master” drone in the system of Nissing as taught by Torii, to allow a central command that dictates instructions to all drones of the system.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissing et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0182978).
In regards to claim 53, Nissing does not teach that the at least one drone further has a third payload bay configured to store a third payload, and wherein the payload ratio further specifies a relative amount of the third payload to the first and second amounts. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide more payload bays in/on the drones of Nissing to carry additional material and, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 34-55 are rejected.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641