Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments dated 8/26/26 have resolved the previously presented drawing objections, specification objections, and 112(b) rejections from the preceding Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection. In particular the examiner notes the recitations concerning the presence of a ball seat formed within the inner flowbore and applicant’s arguments concerning that subject matter.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 8/26/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Patent 11713645, 11634965, 12674371, and Application 19436507 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 21-22 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
The invention characterized by new claims 21-22 (classified in E21B23/06) and the originally presented claims (classified in E21B33/12) are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the combination does not require all of the particulars of the downhole tool, e.g. the construction of the components of the particularly recited material, the particulars of the slips compromised of at least two slip segments and their relative arrangement, etc. The subcombination has separate utility such as deployment without use of the recited work string and/or setting tool assembly e.g. deployment as a pump-down tool.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(A) Separate classification;
(B) A separate status in the art even when classifiable together;
(C) A different field of search: It is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s) e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries. Examiner notes that a different field of search may exist even though inventions may be classified together; and/or
(D) The inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph/A.
In this case, the invention would at least require a unique text searching strategy and/or are classified differently, as indicated above.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 21-22 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “a run-in configuration”. However, this has already been introduced in the parent claim. The appropriate antecedent term should be used. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US 2121002 A), in view of Carisella (US 6354372 B1), in view of Merron (US 20210054704 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baker teaches a downhole tool for use in a wellbore, the downhole tool comprising:
a mandrel (Fig 1-3, elements including 11, and conical features 50 and 38) comprising:
a distal end of the mandrel (Fig 1-3, downhole end, particularly at approximate 27 and below);
a proximate end of the mandrel (Fig 1-3, uphole end);
an outer surface of the mandrel (Fig 1-3, outer surface seen and defined by 51, 54, 38);
an inner flowbore disposed in the mandrel, and extending therethrough from the proximate end to the distal end (Fig 1-3, flow bore 21); and
a ball seat formed within the inner flowbore between the distal end and the proximate end (Fig 1-3, ball seat best seen in Fig 3 with ball 60 engaged on the seat);
a carrier ring slidingly engaged with the outer surface (Fig 1-3, carrier ring “B”),
a slip (Fig 1, slip “A” at the outer surface); and
wherein the outer surface comprises a first angled surface and a second angled surface (Fig 1-3, uphole and downhole conical surfaces, generically at faces at 51 and 38), wherein the first angled surface comprises a first reference plane that in a longitudinal cross-section view bisects a longitudinal axis at a first angle (Fig 1, plane defined by surface 51), and
wherein the second angled surface comprises a second reference plane that in the longitudinal cross-section view bisects the longitudinal axis at a second angle at an opposite orientation of that of the first angle (Fig 1, plane defined by surface 38, which is opposite/negative to the plane of the first angle).
Baker is silent on the carrier ring further comprising an outer seal element groove; a seal element is disposed in the outer seal element groove; and wherein the slip comprises an at least one slip groove that forms a lateral opening in the slip that is defined by a depth that extends from a slip outer surface to a slip inner surface; a lower sleeve proximate the slip in a run-in configuration.
Carisella teaches the carrier ring further comprising an outer seal element groove (Fig 2-3, slip groove occupied by 104 and 106);
a seal element is disposed in the outer seal element groove (Fig 3, seal 120 is retained in the groove of the slip 102 as seen); and
wherein the slip comprises an at least one slip groove that forms a lateral opening in the slip that is defined by a depth that extends from a slip outer surface to a slip inner surface (please note, the slips of Carisella, are being applied to both the slips “A” and “B” of Baker. Although the same reference to the figures are made, the modification is made to the slip and carrier ring of Baker. Fig 2-3, slip 104 has a groove 106 extending through the outer surface to inner surface, as seen) and wherein the outer slip surface further comprises an at least one insert disposed therein (Fig 2-3, insert 106A)
a lower sleeve proximate the slip in a run-in configuration (Fig 2-3, sleeve 104).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having the slip structure, its slip retaining mechanism, and its corresponding groove in the slip as disclosed by Carisella applied to each of the slips of Baker because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the expandable slip structure of Baker) for another (the expandable slip structure of Carisella) to obtain predictable results (slip structures expandable to engage a wellbore wall within the borehole).
Baker as modified by Carisella is silent on wherein at least one of the slip, the lower sleeve, and the mandrel is made of a composite material.
Merron teaches wherein at least one of the slip and the mandrel is made of a composite material (Para 0062, variety of components e.g. “One or more components of the zonal isolation device 200 such as the wedge 180, expansion ring 190, anchoring assembly 215, end element 170, and/or lower mandrel 163 may comprise[…] a composite material”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having one or more of the recited components formed by a composite material as disclosed by Merron because Merron identifies a list of known materials and selection of one material would be required to implement the invention of the primary reference. Merron teaches the selected material is workable with a reasonable expectation of success in a downhole tool.
Regarding claim 3, Baker as modified by Merron, in what is cited in the parent claim above, is not explicit on wherein any component of the downhole tool is made of a dissolvable material.
Merron teaches wherein any component of the downhole tool is made of a dissolvable material (Para 0062-0064, “one or more components […] may be made of a degradable or dissolvable material.” Note Merron teaches a large number of components may be made from a material, which may be different from those recited as being made of a different material).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having one or more of the recited components formed by the material as disclosed by Merron, as cited and discussed above, because Merron identifies a list of known materials and selection of one material would be required to implement the invention of the primary reference. Merron teaches the selected material is workable with a reasonable expectation of success in a downhole tool.
Regarding claim 4, Baker as modified teaches wherein each of the slip, the lower sleeve, and the mandrel is made of the composite material (Para 0062 of Merron).
Regarding claim 5, Baker teaches wherein the downhole tool comprises a shear feature (Fig 1, shear pin 44).
Regarding claim 6, Baker teaches wherein the carrier ring comprises an underside surface entirely in contact with the outer surface (Fig 1, sloped portion of B which is in contact with surface 51, as seen), wherein the inner surface comprises a first inner surface having a constant first inner diameter from the ball seat to the distal end (Fig 3, seat engaged with 60 has a constant diameter to distal end as defined in the parent claim), and wherein the outer surface is devoid of threads (Fig 3, outer surface as defined is free of threads, note portion 11a is not drawn to the mandrel).
Regarding claim 7, Baker as modified teaches wherein a set configuration the lower sleeve is not in direct contact with the mandrel (Fig 2-3 of Carisella, sleeve 120 resides solely in the slip and is never in contact with mandrel).
Regarding claim 8, Baker as modified teaches wherein the slip further comprises an at least two slip segments (Fig 3 of Carisella, slip segments e.g. 101H and 101A) separated by the at least one slip groove therebetween (Fig 2-3, slip groove as defined in the parent claim separated them).
Regarding claim 9, Baker as modified teaches wherein the slip further comprises an another slip segment adjacent one of the at least two slip segments (Fig 3 of Carisella, slip segment 101B) and also separated by a respective slip groove therebetween (Fig 3 of Carisella, slip groove between 101A and 101B).
Regarding claim 10, Baker teaches a downhole tool for use in a wellbore, the downhole tool comprising:
a cone member (Fig 1-3, elements including 11, and conical features 50 and 38) comprising:
a distal end of the cone member (Fig 1-3, downhole end, particularly at approximate 27 and below);
a proximate end of the cone member (Fig 1-3, uphole end);
an outer surface of the cone member (Fig 1-3, outer surface seen and defined by 51, 54, 38);
an inner flowbore disposed in the cone member, and extending therethrough from the proximate end to the distal end (Fig 1-3, flow bore 21);
an inner surface within the inner flowbore (Fig 1-3, flow bore 21 has inner surface, as seen); and
a ball seat within the inner flowbore disposed on the inner surface (Fig 1-3, ball seat best seen in Fig 3 with ball 60 engaged on the seat);
a carrier ring slidingly engaged with the outer surface (Fig 1-3, carrier ring “B”),
a slip engaged with the cone member (Fig 1, slip “A” at the outer surface)
wherein the outer surface comprises a first angled surface and a second angled surface (Fig 1-3, uphole and downhole conical surfaces, generically at faces at 51 and 38),
wherein the first angled surface comprises a first reference plane that in a longitudinal cross-section view bisects a longitudinal axis at a first angle (Fig 1, plane defined by surface 51),
wherein the second angled surface comprises a second reference plane that in the longitudinal cross-section view bisects the longitudinal axis at a second angle at an opposite orientation of that of the first angle (Fig 1, plane defined by surface 38, which is opposite/negative to the plane of the first angle),
wherein the outer surface is devoid of threads (Fig 3, outer surface as defined is free of threads, note portion 11a is not drawn to the mandrel),
wherein in a run-in configuration, an underside surface of the carrier ring is directly engaged with the outer surface (Fig 1, sloped portion of B which is in contact with surface 51, as seen),
wherein no portion of the underside surface hangs off or extends beyond a furthermost proximate end of the outer surface in either the run-in or a set configuration (Fig 1, Fig 3, no part of the underside of B overhands mandrel 11 in the run in configuration of Fig 1, or set configuration of Fig 3),
Baker is silent on the carrier ring further comprising an outer seal element groove; a seal element disposed in the outer seal element groove; wherein the slip further comprises an at least two slip segments separated by an at least one slip groove therebetween, and wherein the at least one slip groove forms a lateral opening in the slip that is defined by a depth that extends from a slip outer surface to a slip inner surface and a lower sleeve.
Carisella is silent on the carrier ring further comprising an outer seal element groove (Fig 2-3, slip groove occupied by 104 and 106);
a seal element disposed in the outer seal element groove (Fig 3, seal 120 is retained in the groove of the slip 102 as seen);
wherein the slip further comprises an at least two slip segments separated by an at least one slip groove therebetween, and wherein the at least one slip groove forms a lateral opening in the slip that is defined by a depth that extends from a slip outer surface to a slip inner surface (please note, the slips of Carisella, are being applied to both the slips “A” and “B” of Baker. Although the same reference to the figures are made, the modification is made to the slip and carrier ring of Baker. Fig 2-3, slip 104 has a groove 106 extending through the outer surface to inner surface, as seen) and a lower sleeve (Fig 2-3, sleeve 104).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having the slip structure, its slip retaining mechanism, and its corresponding groove in the slip as disclosed by Carisella applied to each of the slips of Baker because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the expandable slip structure of Baker) for another (the expandable slip structure of Carisella) to obtain predictable results (slip structures expandable to engage a wellbore wall within the borehole).
Baker as modified by Carisella is silent on wherein each of the slip, the lower sleeve, and the mandrel is made of composite material.
Merron teaches wherein each of the slip, the lower sleeve, and the mandrel is made of composite material (Para 0062, variety of components e.g. “One or more components of the zonal isolation device 200 such as the wedge 180, expansion ring 190, anchoring assembly 215, end element 170, and/or lower mandrel 163 may comprise[…] a composite material”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having one or more of the recited components formed by a composite material as disclosed by Merron because Merron identifies a list of known materials and selection of one material would be required to implement the invention of the primary reference. Merron teaches the selected material is workable with a reasonable expectation of success in a downhole tool.
Regarding claim 11, Baker as modified teaches wherein one or both of the at least two slip segments comprise an at least one insert disposed therein (Fig 2-3 of Carisella, insert 106A).
Regarding claim 13, Baker as modified by Merron, in what is cited in the parent claim above, is not explicit on wherein any component of the downhole tool is made of a dissolvable material.
Merron teaches wherein any component of the downhole tool is made of a dissolvable material (Para 0062-0064, “one or more components […] may be made of a degradable or dissolvable material.” Note Merron teaches a large number of components may be made from a material, which may be different from those recited as being made of a different material).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having one or more of the recited components formed by the material as disclosed by Merron, as cited and discussed above, because Merron identifies a list of known materials and selection of one material would be required to implement the invention of the primary reference. Merron teaches the selected material is workable with a reasonable expectation of success in a downhole tool.
Regarding claim 14, Baker teaches wherein the inner surface comprises a first inner surface having a first inner diameter (Fig 3, ID below ball seat at 60), and the inner surface has a second inner surface having a second inner diameter that is larger than the first inner diameter (Fig 3, ID above ball seat at 60).
Regarding claim 15, Baker as modified teaches wherein the downhole tool comprises a shear feature (Fig 1, shear pin 44).
Regarding claim 16, Baker as modified teaches wherein the first inner surface comprises a constant first inner diameter from the ball seat to the distal end (Fig 3, constant ID to the distal end, as defined).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US 2121002 A), in view of Carisella (US 6354372 B1).
Regarding claim 18, Baker teaches a downhole tool for use in a wellbore, the downhole tool comprising:
a cone member (Fig 1-3, elements including 11, and conical features 50 and 38) comprising:
a distal end of the cone member (Fig 1-3, downhole end, particularly at approximate 27 and below);
a proximate end of the cone member (Fig 1-3, uphole end);
an outer surface of the cone member (Fig 1-3, outer surface seen and defined by 51, 54, 38), the outer surface comprising an at least a portion that is frustoconical (Fig 1-2, frustoconical portion seen at 50);
an inner flowbore disposed in the cone member, and extending therethrough from the proximate end to the distal end (Fig 1-3, flow bore 21);
an inner surface within the inner flowbore (Fig 1-3, flow bore 21 has inner surface, as seen); and
a ball seat within the inner flowbore disposed on the inner surface (Fig 1-3, ball seat best seen in Fig 3 with ball 60 engaged on the seat);
a carrier ring slidingly engaged with the outer surface (Fig 1-3, carrier ring “B”),
a slip engaged with the cone member in a run-in configuration (Fig 1, slip “A” at the outer surface in Fig 1, run-in configuration); and
wherein the outer surface comprises a first angled surface and a second angled surface (Fig 1-3, uphole and downhole conical surfaces, generically at faces at 51 and 38),
wherein the first angled surface comprises a first reference plane that in a longitudinal cross-section view bisects a longitudinal axis at a first angle (Fig 1, plane defined by surface 51),
wherein the second angled surface comprises a second reference plane that in the longitudinal cross-section view bisects the longitudinal axis at a second angle at an opposite orientation of that of the first angle (Fig 1, plane defined by surface 38, which is opposite/negative to the plane of the first angle),
wherein the inner surface comprises a first inner surface having a first inner diameter (Fig 3, ID below ball seat at 60),
wherein the inner surface has a second inner surface having a second inner diameter that is larger than the first inner diameter (Fig 3, ID above ball seat at 60),
wherein in the run-in configuration the ball seat has a relative position between the carrier ring and the slip (Fig 1, ball seat at approximately 23 is between at least portions of the carrier ring and slip “A” and “B”),
wherein the outer surface is devoid of threads (Fig 3, outer surface as defined is free of threads, note portion 11a is not drawn to the mandrel).
Baker is silent on the carrier ring further comprising an outer seal element groove; a seal element disposed in the outer seal element groove; wherein the slip further comprises an at least two slip segments separated by an at least one slip groove therebetween, wherein the at least one slip groove forms a lateral opening in the slip that is defined by a depth that extends from a slip outer surface to a slip inner surface, and wherein the outer slip surface comprises an at least one insert disposed therein; and a lower sleeve proxime the slip in the run-in configuration.
Carisella teaches the carrier ring further comprising an outer seal element groove (Fig 2-3, slip groove occupied by 104 and 106);
a seal element disposed in the outer seal element groove (Fig 3, seal 120 is retained in the groove of the slip 102 as seen);
wherein the slip further comprises an at least two slip segments separated by an at least one slip groove therebetween, wherein the at least one slip groove forms a lateral opening in the slip that is defined by a depth that extends from a slip outer surface to a slip inner surface (please note, the slips of Carisella, are being applied to both the slips “A” and “B” of Baker. Although the same reference to the figures are made, the modification is made to the slip and carrier ring of Baker. Fig 2-3, slip 104 has a groove 106 extending through the outer surface to inner surface, as seen), and
wherein the outer slip surface comprises an at least one insert disposed therein (Fig 2-3, insert 106A); and
a lower sleeve proxime the slip in the run-in configuration (Fig 2-3, sleeve 104).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having the slip structure, its slip retaining mechanism, and its corresponding groove in the slip as disclosed by Carisella applied to each of the slips of Baker because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the expandable slip structure of Baker) for another (the expandable slip structure of Carisella) to obtain predictable results (slip structures expandable to engage a wellbore wall within the borehole).
Regarding claim 19, Baker teaches wherein the carrier ring comprises an underside surface entirely in contact with the outer surface (Fig 1, sloped portion of B which is in contact with surface 51, as seen).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US 2121002 A), in view of Carisella (US 6354372 B1), in view of Merron (US 20210054704 A1), in view of in view of Gentry (US 20030221833 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Baker teaches wherein the slip is slidingly movable along the outer surface as the downhole tool moves from a run-in configuration to a set configuration (Fig 1-3 see movement of slip “A” from the run-in of Fig 1 to set configuration of Fig 3).
Baker is silent on wherein the first angle is in a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees.
Gentry teaches a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees (Fig 3, Para 0041, expansion cone angle 20 is 9 degrees).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees as disclosed by Gentry because Gentry has shown that the selection of a cone angle of 9 degrees is known in the art to be able to expand slips in a wellbore environment and more specifically it “is able to support internal and external axial loads imposed on downhole tool assembly” (Para 0029).
Regarding claim 12, Baker is silent on wherein the first angle is in a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees.
Gentry teaches a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees (Fig 3, Para 0041, expansion cone angle 20 is 9 degrees).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees as disclosed by Gentry because Gentry has shown that the selection of a cone angle of 9 degrees is known in the art to be able to expand slips in a wellbore environment and more specifically it “is able to support internal and external axial loads imposed on downhole tool assembly” (Para 0029).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US 2121002 A), in view of Carisella (US 6354372 B1), in view of in view of Gentry (US 20030221833 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Baker as modified teaches wherein the carrier ring comprises an underside surface that is movable along the outer surface (Fig 1, sloped portion of B which is in contact with surface 51, as seen)., wherein no portion of the underside surface hangs off or extends beyond a furthermost proximate end of the outer surface in either the run-in or a set configuration (Fig 1, Fig 3, no part of the underside of B overhands mandrel 11 in the run in configuration of Fig 1, or set configuration of Fig 3), and wherein the first inner surface has a constant first inner diameter from the ball seat to the distal end (Fig 3, seat engaged with 60 has a constant diameter to distal end as defined in the parent claim).
Baker is silent on wherein the first angle is in a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees.
Gentry teaches a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees (Fig 3, Para 0041, expansion cone angle 20 is 9 degrees).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Baker by having a first angle range of 5 degrees to 10 degrees as disclosed by Gentry because Gentry has shown that the selection of a cone angle of 9 degrees is known in the art to be able to expand slips in a wellbore environment and more specifically it “is able to support internal and external axial loads imposed on downhole tool assembly” (Para 0029).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676