Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lumley (EP 2687401).
Regarding Claim 1, Lumley discloses A child safety seat (1), comprising:
a seat housing (10);
a top tether (70) extending from a top of the seat housing for connection with an anchor point of a vehicle;
a safety belt (40) attached to the seat housing; and
a locking apparatus (100) arranged on the seat housing and including a locking member (104),
wherein the locking member is switchable between a lock position (Fig. 3) for locking the safety belt and an unlock position (Fig. 4) for unlocking the safety belt; and
the top tether is configured to act on the locking member when tensioned, so that the locking member is capable of switching from the lock position to the unlock position (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Lumley discloses wherein
the locking apparatus further includes an elastic member (110), wherein the elastic member acts on the locking member to keep the locking member at the lock position,
the top tether is configured to act on the locking member when tensioned (see Fig. 4), so that the locking member overcomes a force of the elastic member to switch from the lock position to the unlock position (see Figs. 3[Wingdings font/0xE0]4).
Regarding Claim 3, Lumley discloses wherein the locking member is provided with a pivot shaft (102), and the locking member is switchable between the lock position and the unlock position by rotating around the pivot shaft (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Lumley discloses wherein
the safety belt includes a shoulder belt (40/42) and an adjustment belt (belt shown in Figs. 2 and 3 connected to belt 40/42), which are connected with each other, the adjustment belt enables the shoulder belt to tighten a child when pulled outwards (see Fig. 4);
the locking member is arranged on a path of the adjustment belt to act on the adjustment belt (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Lumley discloses wherein the locking member is provided with a pressing portion (104a) and an abutting portion (104b), the pressing portion is adapted to be driven by the top tether to rotate around the pivot shaft (see Fig. 4), the abutting portion locks the safety belt by abutting against the adjustment belt (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Lumley discloses wherein
a first end (72) of the top tether is connected to a fixed point (104), and a second end (74) of the top tether is configured to be connected to the anchor point of the vehicle (via 74); and
the locking member is arranged close to the first end of the top tether (see Figs. 2-4), and the top tether, when tensioned, presses against the pressing portion to cause the locking member to rotate from the lock position to the unlock position (see Figs. 3[Wingdings font/0xE0]4).
Regarding Claim 9, Lumley discloses wherein the locking apparatus further includes a connecting rod (see annotated Fig. 2 below) arranged parallel to the pivot shaft, the connecting rod forms the fixed point, and the first end of the top tether is provided with a ring (looped end of 72) sleeving the connecting rod.
Regarding Claim 10, Lumley discloses wherein a first end (72) of the top tether is connected to the pressing portion, and a second end (74) of the top tether is configured to be connected to the anchor point of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 11, Lumley discloses wherein the pressing portion is provided with a mounting hole (see annotated Fig. 3 below), and the first end of the top tether is provided with another ring (looped end of 72, see Fig. 3) passing through the mounting hole.
Regarding Claim 13, Lumley discloses another locking apparatus configured to limit a movement of the safety belt in at least one direction (see “the shoulder straps 40 and 42 extend over reinforcing bar 30 and partway down the rear of the seat back portion 16 before being connected to a yoke which is in turn connected to an adjuster strap extending to a strap adjuster mounted on the seat body 10 below the front edge of the seat portion 14”).
Regarding Claim 14, Lumley discloses wherein
the safety belt includes a shoulder belt (40/42) and an adjustment belt (see Fig. 2 and 3), which are connected with each other, the adjustment belt enables the shoulder belt to tighten a child when pulled outwards (see Fig. 4);
the seat housing includes a seat portion and a backrest portion (see Fig. 1), the adjustment belt extends from a front end of the seat portion (see Fig. 1), and the top tether extends from an upper part of the backrest portion (see Fig. 1);
said another locking apparatus is arranged at the front end of the seat portion (see “the shoulder straps 40 and 42 extend over reinforcing bar 30 and partway down the rear of the seat back portion 16 before being connected to a yoke which is in turn connected to an adjuster strap extending to a strap adjuster mounted on the seat body 10 below the front edge of the seat portion 14”).; and
the locking member is located behind said another locking apparatus and configured to lock or unlock the adjustment belt (see Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lumley (EP 2687401) in view of Xu (CN 111452684).
Regarding Claim 6, Lumley fails to disclose wherein the abutting portion is provided with a toothed portion adapted to engage with the adjustment belt. Xu teaches wherein an abutting portion (4-1) is provided with a toothed portion (4-14 or 4-24) adapted to engage with an adjustment belt (5). Lumley and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. child safety seats. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the abutting portion of Lumley with the toothed portion of Xu. The motivation would have been to provide a greater grip on the belt and prevent slippage of the abutting portion on the belt in the event of a car accident.
Regarding Claim 15, Lumley discloses , wherein
the seat housing includes a backrest portion, and a headrest arranged on the backrest portion (see Fig. 1, and
the top tether extends from the top of the backrest portion (see Fig. 1). Lumley fails to disclose the headrest arranged on the backrest portion in a height-adjustable manner (emphasis added). Xu teaches a headrest arranged on a backrest portion in a height-adjustable manner (see height adjusting handle 1). . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the headrest of Lumley with the adjustable headrest of Xu. The motivation would have been to accommodate different sizes of children in the safety seat and allow the safety belts to better fit the occupant of the safety seat.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,636,981. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent are more specific than those of the instant application. For example, Claim 1 of the patent requires all of the limitations of Claim 1 of the instant application and also includes additional limitations. A species anticipates a genus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 7 and 12 require limitations not disclosed by Lumley and not obvious in view of the prior art of record..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619