DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed with the US on 05/07/2026 and having an Effective Filing Date of 03/25/2026, in which claims 1-12 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07 MAY 2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has/have been considered. An initialed copy of Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2025/0257582 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 1 Wang discloses a debris basket, applicable to a water surface cleaning robot and comprising:
a debris basket body 410 provided with a debris collection cavity for accommodating debris, wherein a first end of the debris basket body is provided with a water inlet 413 communicating with the debris collection cavity, and a second end of the debris basket body opposite to the first end is provided with a plurality of water outlets (shown in figs. but not labeled) communicating with the debris collection cavity;
the debris basket body is provided with a plurality (i.e. 2) of accommodating spaces recessed toward the debris collection cavity (i.e. to accommodate water flow channel guide around the propeller 310); the plurality of accommodating spaces are located on two sides of the water outlets and are configured to accommodate driving mechanisms of the water surface cleaning robot; and
the water inlet, the debris collection cavity, and the water outlets form a debris collecting water flow channel; the accommodating spaces form a propelling water flow channel; and the debris collecting water flow channel and the propelling water flow channel are isolated from each other (i.e. by water flow channel guide around the propeller 310); Abstract, [0261]-[0268], Figs. 49a,b.
Regarding Claim 2 Wang discloses the debris basket according to claim 1, wherein the debris basket body is provided, on two sides of the water inlet, with flanges 4133 extending outwards obliquely; [0270], Figs. 49a,b.
Regarding Claim 4 Wang discloses the debris basket according to claim 1, further comprising a rolling brush 450 rotatably connected within the debris collection cavity and located above the water inlet; [0225], Figs. 49a,b.
Regarding Claim 5 Wang discloses the debris basket according to claim 1, further comprising a handle disposed within the debris collection cavity (the plastic between openings in the sides debris body, or the door 471, may function as handles and thus are considered handles under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 6 Wang discloses the debris basket according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of drainage holes are formed in a bottom of the debris collection cavity; Figs. 30a, 49a,b.
Regarding Claim 7 Wang discloses a debris basket, applicable to a water surface cleaning robot and comprising:
a debris basket body 410 provided with a debris collection cavity for accommodating debris, wherein a first end of the debris basket body is provided with a water inlet 413 communicating with the debris collection cavity, and a second end of the debris basket body opposite to the first end is provided with a plurality of water outlets (shown in figs. but not labeled) communicating with the debris collection cavity;
the debris basket body is divided into a first segment (at the inlet) and a second segment (at the opposite end outlets) along a direction from the water inlet to the water outlets; the debris collection cavity has a cross-sectional area at the first segment larger than a cross-sectional area at the second segment such that accommodating spaces (i.e. the recesses formed to accommodate water flow channel guide around the propeller 310); configured to accommodate driving mechanisms of the water surface cleaning robot are formed on two sides of the second segment; and
the water inlet, the debris collection cavity, and the water outlets form a debris collecting water flow channel; the accommodating spaces form a propelling water flow channel; and the debris collecting water flow channel and the propelling water flow channel are isolated from each other (i.e. by water flow channel guide around the propeller 310); Abstract, [0261]-[0268], Figs. 49a,b.
Regarding Claim 9 Wang discloses the debris basket according to claim 1 and a water surface cleaning robot 1000, comprising a robot body 100 and the debris basket 410 according to claim 1, wherein a mounting cavity is formed within the robot body, and the debris basket is detachably mounted within the mounting cavity; Abstract, [0201]-[0204], [0261]-[0268]; Figs. 49a,b.
Regarding Claim 10 Wang discloses the debris basket according to claim 7 and a water surface cleaning robot 1000, comprising a robot body 100 and the debris basket 410 according to claim 7, wherein a mounting cavity is formed within the robot body, and the debris basket is detachably mounted within the mounting cavity; Abstract, [0201]-[0204], [0261]-[0268]; Figs. 49a,b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding Claim 3 Wang discloses the debris basket according to claim 1, wherein the debris basket body is provided with a gradually expanding structure 4113, that is meant to expand the area of water collected into the inlet 413, and while the images clearly show it extending out of the sides, it is not clear if it expands downward, i.e. obliquely toward a water surface, however the images do show a lip extending off of the bottom of the inlet, and therefore it would have been obvious to include this bottom lip portion as part of the gradually expanding structure 4113, and thus it would have been obvious to expand it away from the opening downward, to direct more water into the inlet, and extend it at an expansion angle of greater than or equal to 45 degrees as taught for the gradually expanding structure 4113 [0270]. Thus forming on a bottom of the water inlet, a scoop extending obliquely toward a water surface.
Regarding Claim 11 Wang discloses the water surface cleaning robot according to claim 9, further comprising a driving mechanism (propeller 310) that comprises a driving motor and a propeller [0268], and after the debris basket is mounted within the mounting cavity, the driving mechanism is located within the accommodating spaces; Figs. 49a,b.
It is not specifically disclosed that the drive motor of propeller 310 is connected to the propeller via and output shaft, however, a drive motor used in the device is shown in Fig. 35, and it would therefore have been obvious to use this drive motor for the drive motor of the propeller. The drive motor of Fig. 35 has an output shaft, and thus it would have been obvious to connect the drive motor to the center of the propeller via the output shaft in order to spin the propeller.
Fig. 49a shows the center of the propellers may be higher than a bottom surface of the debris basket body in a height direction, and thus it would have been obvious to place the output shaft of the driving motor higher than a bottom surface of the debris basket body in a height direction.
Regarding Claim 12 Wang discloses the water surface cleaning robot according to claim 10, further comprising a driving mechanism (propeller 310) that comprises a driving motor and a propeller [0268], and after the debris basket is mounted within the mounting cavity, the driving mechanism is located within the accommodating spaces; Figs. 49a,b.
It is not specifically disclosed that the drive motor of propeller 310 is connected to the propeller via and output shaft, however, a drive motor used in the device is shown in Fig. 35, and it would therefore have been obvious to use this drive motor for the drive motor of the propeller. The drive motor of Fig. 35 has an output shaft, and thus it would have been obvious to connect the drive motor to the center of the propeller via the output shaft in order to spin the propeller.
Fig. 49a shows the center of the propellers may be higher than a bottom surface of the debris basket body in a height direction, and thus it would have been obvious to place the output shaft of the driving motor higher than a bottom surface of the debris basket body in a height direction.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of WO 2024/154077 A1 (hereinafter “Klein-Frucht”).
Regarding Claim 8 Wang discloses the debris basket according to claim 7, wherein the accommodating spaces (for propellers 310) start between the water inlet and the water outlets (as shown in Figs. 49a,b), and thus is seen to comprise a transition segment provided between the first segment and the second segment, and along the direction from the water inlet to the water outlets, and the debris collection cavity has a decreasing cross-sectional area at the transition segment.
Wang does not disclose the debris collection cavity has a gradually decreasing cross-sectional area at the transition segment.
However Klein-Frucht discloses a similar robot pool skimmer having a debris basket, wherein one end (first segment) of the debris basket as a cross-sectional area/diameter larger than the other end (second segment), and which comprises a transition segment provided between the first segment and the second segment, and along the direction from a water inlet to water outlets, and the debris collection cavity has a gradually decreasing cross-sectional area at the transition segment; Abstract, P21/L26-P25/L2; Figs. 3B, 4.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the debris basket of Wang by forming the debris collection cavity to have a gradually decreasing cross-sectional area at the transition segment as disclosed by Klein-Frucht because this a known means to transition from a first segment and a second segment of different cross-sectional areas for a similar debris basket of a robot pool skimmer and because the gradual change would be expected to provide less resistance to fluid flow through the debris basket from the water inlet to the water outlets than a sharp/abrupt change.
Conclusion
/ERIC J MCCULLOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773