DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 27, embodiment of Figs. 33a-33c, in the reply filed on 10/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 objected to because of the following informalities: the should not precede claim in the first line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0028474.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a floor panel comprising a plurality of multi-purpose tiles (as shown in Fig. 1), each tile having a top and a bottom (upper and lower surfaces as shown in Fig. 2), wherein each tile comprises: a first pair of opposite edges consisting of a first edge and an opposite second edge (components 2); and a second pair of opposite edges consisting of a third edge and an opposite fourth edge (components 3); wherein the first edge comprises a first mechanical coupling part comprising a lateral tongue (tongue extension at 16), the lateral tongue being connected to the first edge via a recessed connection section (at 17), the connection section being formed by a blocking recess that extends from the bottom of the tile in a direction of the top of the tile (17, see Fig. 2), and wherein the second edge includes a second mechanical coupling part (as shown in Fig. 2), configured to cooperate with the first mechanical coupling part of another of such tiles so as to couple two of such tiles together, the second mechanical coupling part comprising a lower lip (13, portion below 12) and an upper lip (at 11, above 12) defining a recess (12), said recess configured for accommodating the lateral tongue of a second of the tiles so that two of such tiles, when coupled, are locked together in a vertical direction (see Fig. 3), wherein the lower lip extends beyond a distal end of the upper lip (see Fig. 2) and comprises a blocking lip (13) at least partially beyond the distal end of the upper lip, wherein the lower lip comprises a bearing point (surface of 14) positioned distally beyond the blocking lip, wherein the bearing point comprises a support surface of the bearing point (upper surface), said support surface being positioned closer to the bottom of the tile than the blocking lip (see Fig. 2), wherein the first mechanical coupling part comprises a support recess (18) positioned at the recessed connection section, wherein said support surface of the bearing point is configured for accommodating the support recess of a second of the tiles so that the second of such tiles, when coupled to the first of such tiles, is supported in a vertical direction (see Fig. 3), wherein the blocking lip is configured to be accommodated in the blocking recess of the second of the tiles so that the two of such tiles, when coupled, are locked together in a horizontal direction (see Fig. 3, generally). The phrases “configured to cooperate with the first mechanical coupling part of another of such tiles so as to couple two of such tiles together,” “configured for accommodating the lateral tongue of a second of the tiles so that two of such tiles, when coupled, are locked together in a vertical direction,” “configured for accommodating the support recess of a second of the tiles so that the second of such tiles, when coupled to the first of such tiles, is supported in a vertical direction,” and “configured to be accommodated in the blocking recess of the second of the tiles so that the two of such tiles, when coupled, are locked together in a horizontal direction” are statements of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the blocking lip comprises a back-side chamfer, wherein the bearing point further comprises a back-side surface of the bearing point distally beyond the support surface of the bearing point, and wherein the back-side surface of the bearing point and the back-side chamfer are configured for cooperating so as to guide the lateral tongue, upon coupling two of such tiles together, towards the top portion of the blocking lip. The phrase “configured for cooperating so as to guide the lateral tongue, upon coupling two of such tiles together, towards the top portion of the blocking lip” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the upper lip and the lower lip together define a passage which, without elastic deformation of the upper and/or lower lip, blocks insertion of the lateral tongue into the recess when the top of the two of such tiles are parallel to one another.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein, when two of such tiles are coupled, the lower lip is configured to support the support recess by the support surface and a bottom side of the lateral tongue distally of the blocking recess by a top surface of the lower lip adjacent to the blocking lip, without substantially resting on a top of the blocking lip when the two of such tiles are coupled in a resting position (see Fig. 3). The phrase “configured to support the support recess by the support surface and a bottom side of the lateral tongue distally of the blocking recess by a top surface of the lower lip adjacent to the blocking lip, without substantially resting on a top of the blocking lip when the two of such tiles are coupled in a resting position” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding clam 7, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein, when two of such tiles are coupled, the support surface and the top surface of the lower lip adjacent to the blocking lip are configured to form a primary vertical support for the bottom side of the lateral tongue and the support recess of the second of such tiles (see Fig. 3), wherein a blocking clearance is defined between the blocking lip and the blocking recess (see vertical space formed between 13 and 17 and above 18). The phrase “configured to form a primary vertical support for the bottom side of the lateral tongue and the support recess of the second of such tiles” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the support surface of the bearing point and the support recess are configured to at least partially transfer a downward load away from the blocking recess (the load will be transferred to the panel below, see Fig. 3) and/or a spring point when two of such tiles are coupled, wherein the spring point connects the lower lip and the tile with a reduced thickness in view of the lower lip and the tile. The phrase “configured to at least partially transfer a downward load away from the blocking recess and/or a spring point when two of such tiles are coupled, wherein the spring point connects the lower lip and the tile with a reduced thickness in view of the lower lip and the tile” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the blocking lip, at its upper side, comprises a guiding surface sloping downwards towards the recess formed by the upper lip and the lower lip (at C as shown in Fig. 3), this guiding surface being configured to cooperate with the distally downward sloping bottom side of the tongue so as to guide the lateral tongue, upon coupling two of such tiles together, into the recess formed by the upper lip and the lower lip. The phrase “configured to cooperate with the distally downward sloping bottom side of the tongue so as to guide the lateral tongue, upon coupling two of such tiles together, into the recess formed by the upper lip and the lower lip” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the lateral tongue comprises, at its upper side, a guiding surface sloping downward towards the distal end of the tongue(16a), and wherein the upper lip includes, at its lower side, a guiding surface sloping upwards towards the distal end of the upper lip (12a), which is configured to cooperate with the guiding surface at the upper side of the tongue so that, upon coupling two of such tiles, the lateral tongue is guided into the recess formed by the upper lip and the lower lip. The phrase “configured to cooperate with the guiding surface at the upper side of the tongue so that, upon coupling two of such tiles, the lateral tongue is guided into the recess formed by the upper lip and the lower lip” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the bottom surface of the upper lip comprises a first section (16b) and a second section (17a), the first section positioned more distally from the second edge than the second section (see Fig. 2), wherein the first section and second section extend obliquely downwards into the tile, and wherein the second section is oriented steeper than the first section (see Fig. 2, generally).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the first mechanical coupling part of the first of such tiles and the second mechanical coupling part of the second of such tiles define an additional groove clearance (at 31) and/or an additional rear clearance when the two of such tiles are coupled, wherein the additional groove clearance is defined by the lateral tongue of the first mechanical coupling part and the recess of the second mechanical coupling part (see Fig. 3), and wherein the additional rear clearance is defined by an upward flank, substantially perpendicular to the bottom of the first of such tiles, of the first mechanical coupling part and a head flank, substantially perpendicular to the bottom of the second of such tiles, of the second mechanical coupling part.
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the sideward tongue comprises a top, wherein a distal section of said top of the sideward tongue (portion that falls beneath 11) is positioned beneath the upper lip when the sideward tongue is received in the recess, said distal section extending along a horizontal axis oriented away from the first edge over a distal section length, wherein the top of the blocking lip extends along the horizontal axis oriented away from the second edge over a blocking lip length, which distal section length is smaller than the blocking lip length (as shown in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0028474 in view of Pervan, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0293879.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a floor panel but does not specifically disclose wherein the lower lip is configured to elastically bend downwards and/or the upper lip is configured to elastically bend upwards upon coupling the two of such tiles so as to be able to push the lateral tongue, with the blocking lip against a distally downward sloping bottom side of the lateral tongue, into the recess defined by the upper lip and the lower lip when returning fully or partially to its relaxed state. Pervan teaches a floor panel with a bending capability during installation (paragraph 32). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the panel with the lower lip having bending capability for ease of assembly. The phrase “configured to elastically bend downwards and/or the upper lip is configured to elastically bend upwards upon coupling the two of such tiles so as to be able to push the lateral tongue, with the blocking lip against a distally downward sloping bottom side of the lateral tongue, into the recess defined by the upper lip and the lower lip when returning fully or partially to its relaxed state” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the bearing point further comprises a back-side surface of the bearing point distally beyond the support surface of the bearing point (distal, outermost substantially vertical surface of 14), wherein the back-side surface of the bearing point is configured to cooperate with the bottom side of the lateral tongue of the second of such tiles so as to guide the lateral tongue, upon coupling two of such tiles together, towards the support surface of the bearing point (see Fig. 3, generally). The phrase “configured to cooperate with the bottom side of the lateral tongue of the second of such tiles so as to guide the lateral tongue, upon coupling two of such tiles together, towards the support surface of the bearing point” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim(s) 10, 15-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0028474.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a floor panel but does not specifically disclose wherein the downwards sloping guiding surface forms an angle between 55 deg and 70 deg with a vertical plane perpendicular to the bottom of the tile. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the guiding surface with a slope within the given range for ease of assembly of the panels and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a floor panel wherein the top surface of the lower lip extends substantially parallel to the support surface of the bearing point (see Fig. 2), but does not disclose wherein the support surface of the bearing point extends obliquely downwards towards the blocking lip. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the panel with the bearing point surface extending downward towards the blocking lip depending on the method of production as it would function in the same manner, and since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a floor panel but does not specifically disclose wherein the support surface of the bearing point forms an angle between 0 deg and 20 deg with respect to the bottom of the tile. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the panel with the support surface having an angle with respect to the bottom of the tile within the given range as the coupling parts will function in the same manner, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a floor panel but does not specifically disclose wherein when the sideward tongue is received in the recess when the two of such tiles are coupled, the recess defines an unoccupied volume that is at most 10% of an occupied volume of the recess defined by the upper and lower lip. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the recess and sideward tongue so that an unoccupied area of the recess falls within the given range for ease of assembly of the panels and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0028474 in view of Schneider, U.S. Patent 6,385,936.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a floor panel but does not disclose wherein the recess defined by the upper and the lower lip extends obliquely downwards into the tile, such that a top surface of the lower lip extends continuously downwards into the tile over a greater part of a distance from the blocking lip to a lowest point of said recess. Schneider teaches a floor panel having a recess extending obliquely downwards into the panel (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the panel with an obliquely downwardly extending recess depending on the method of production, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a floor panel but does not disclose wherein the recess defined by the upper and the lower lip extends obliquely downwards into the tile, such that the bottom surface of the upper lip extends continuously downwards into the tile over at least 75% of its length. Schneider teaches a floor panel having a recess extending obliquely downwards into the panel over at least 75% of its length (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the panel with an obliquely downwardly extending recess depending on the method of production, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a floor panel but does not disclose wherein a bottom side of the sideward tongue comprises a bevel part, said bevel part extending obliquely downwards away from the first edge, said bevel part extending over a distance of between 50% and 100% of the top surface of the lower lip, and with an angle matching the top surface of the lower lip. Schneider teaches a floor panel with a sideward tongue (30) wherein a bottom side of the sideward tongue comprises a bevel part, said bevel part extending obliquely downwards away from the first edge, said bevel part extending over a distance of between 50% and 100% of the top surface of the lower lip (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the panel with a sideward tongue having a beveled lower surface for ease of assembly, and since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Conclusion
GISELE D. FORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/GISELE D FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3633