Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits in response to the application filed on 05/29/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a US Application No. 18/922,024 filed on 10/21/2014 is acknowledged. Applicant's claim for the benefit of a US Application No. 17/522,997 filed on 11/10/2021 is acknowledged. Applicant's claim for the benefit of a US Application No. 15/110,662 filed on 07/08/2016 is acknowledged. Applicant's claim for the benefit of a PCT Application No. PCT/US2014/072279 filed on 12/23/2014 is acknowledged. Applicant's claim for the benefit of a US Provisional Application No. 62/096,440 filed on 12/23/2014 is acknowledged. Applicant's claim for the benefit of a US Provisional Application No. 61/925,409 filed on 01/09/2014 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation in instant claims 1, 13, and 18 has a similarly-worded limitation in claims 1, 4, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. For example, claims 1, 4, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034 comprise the concept of “providing a QR code to a particular user, wherein the QR code includes a token that is associated with the particular user for the e-commerce transaction; receiving…a response email that includes the token from an email address of a sender, wherein the response email is generated in response to activation of the QR code provided to the particular user; performing a validation of the email address of the sender…and on a condition that the validation of the email address of the sender is successful: decoding the token received in the response email to generate a decoded token, identifying an email address of the particular user based on the decoded token, and processing the e-commerce transaction when the email address of the sender matches the email address of the particular user identified.”
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the combination of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation in instant claim 2 has a similarly-worded limitation in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. For example, the combination of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034 comprises the concept of “wherein the response communication comprises an email message.”
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation in instant claims 3 and 14 have a similarly-worded limitation in claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. For example, claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034 comprise the concept of “wherein the response communication is received using Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP).”
Claims 4, 15, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation in instant claims 4, 15, and 19 have a similarly-worded limitation in claims 1, 4, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. For example, claims 1, 4, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034 comprise the concept of “wherein the sender-authentication validation comprises validating an email address of the sender using at least one of Sender Policy Framework (SPF) validation or DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) validation.”
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation in instant claim 6 has a similarly-worded limitation in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034. For example, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,034 comprises the concept of “wherein the link comprises a mailto link…that includes the transaction token or a token reference.”
Claims 5, 7-12, 16-17, and 20 are rejected based on rejected base claims 1, 13, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no support in the spec. for the computer-implemented functions including the claim 16 limitation “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the transaction token to include…a single-use transaction identifier” nor the claim 17 limitation “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to mark the transaction token as used after the e-commerce transaction is processed and reject a subsequently received response communication that includes the transaction token after the transaction token has been marked as used.”
Applicant is respectfully reminded, for computer-implemented functional claims, "examiners should determine whether the specification discloses the computer and the algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter." MPEP § 2161.01(I).
As an initial matter, the Examiner notes that claims 16-17 are originally-filed claims. However, the originally-filed claims do not disclose how the one or more processors generate a single-use transaction identifier for the transaction token or mark the transaction token as used and so do not provide the necessary written description support for pending claims 16-17. Accord Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349 (indicating original claim language does not necessarily satisfy the written description requirement for the claimed subject matter). That is to say, the originally-filed claims themselves do not provide an algorithm that performs the function of “generating” a single-use transaction identifier or “marking” the transaction token as used in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter.
Furthermore, Applicant's specification does not describe an algorithm that performs the cited functions in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter. The specification makes no mention of a single-use identifier nor marking the transaction token as used.
Applicant is also reminded, "[i]f the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, for lack of written description must be made." MPEP § 2161.01(I).
Therefore, because an algorithm for each of the aforementioned functions is not disclosed in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter, and in accordance with MPEP § 2161.01, claims 16-17 are rejected for lack of written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Section 101 analysis, claim 1 is directed to a method, claim 13 is directed to a system, and claim 18 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (a process, an apparatus, and an article of manufacture).
Under Step 2A Prong One, Claims 1, 13, and 18 recite: generating, by an e-commerce system, a transaction token associated with an e-commerce transaction, wherein the transaction token encodes or references transaction data and a registered address associated with a particular user; transmitting, by the e-commerce system, an electronic communication that includes a link or instruction configured to cause a customer device to generate a response communication including the transaction token; receiving, by the e-commerce system, the response communication from a sender address, wherein the response communication is generated by the customer device only after successful biometric authentication of the particular user; performing, by the e-commerce system, a sender-authentication validation of the response communication; on a condition that the sender-authentication validation is successful, decoding, by the e-commerce system, the transaction token to identify the registered address associated with the particular user; and processing, by the e-commerce system, the e-commerce transaction only when the sender address of the response communication matches the registered address identified from the transaction token.
Claims 1, 13, and 18 as drafted include language (see underlined language above) that recite an abstract idea of confirming the identity of a particular user associated with a transaction before processing said transaction, which falls under the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., commercial interactions).
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the additional claim element(s), considered individually, do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and in a manner that integrates the exception into a practical application of the exception. The additional claim elements(s) “e-commerce system,” “client device,” “system comprising: a communication interface; a memory; and one or more processors,” and “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” generally “apply” the concept of confirming the identity of a particular user associated with a transaction before processing said transaction. The claimed computer components are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform the abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the additional claim element(s), considered in combination, do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and in a manner that integrates the exception into a practical application of the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using e-commerce system, client device, system comprising: a communication interface; a memory; and one or more processors, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium amounts to no more than applying the abstract idea of confirming the identity of a particular user associated with a transaction before processing said transaction. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Under Step 2B, the additional claim element(s), considered individually and in combination, do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself for similar reasons outlined under Step 2A Prong Two.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 2 which claims “wherein the response communication comprises an email message” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claims 3 and 14 which claims “wherein the response communication is received using Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP)” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 5 which claims “wherein the electronic communication comprises an email message, text message, webpage, application notification, checkout-page instruction, or in-application message” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 6 which claims “wherein the link comprises a mailto link, a deep link, or a uniform resource locator that includes the transaction token or a token reference” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 7 which claims “wherein the transaction token includes at least one of a transaction amount, a merchant identifier, an expiration value, a nonce, a transaction identifier, or a payment-token identifier” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 8 which claims “verifying a cryptographic signature associated with the transaction token before processing the e-commerce transaction” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 9 which claims “wherein the transaction token includes a payment-token identifier corresponding to a stored payment credential, and wherein the response communication does not include raw payment-card data” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 10 which claims “wherein the customer device parses the transaction token and determines, based on the transaction token, that biometric authentication is required before the response communication is generated or sent” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 11 which claims “wherein the biometric authentication comprises fingerprint authentication, facial-recognition authentication, voice-recognition authentication, retinal-scan authentication, or gesture-based biometric authentication performed locally by the customer device” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claims 12 and 20 which claims “in response to determining that the sender-authentication validation is unsuccessful or that the sender address does not match the registered address identified from the transaction token, preventing processing of the e-commerce transaction and storing an audit record identifying the response communication” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 16 which claims “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the transaction token to include an expiration value and a single-use transaction identifier” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claim 17 which claims “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to mark the transaction token as used after the e-commerce transaction is processed and reject a subsequently received response communication that includes the transaction token after the transaction token has been marked as used” which merely elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend from, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-11, 13-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killoran (US 20120253896) in view of Carner (US 20140089008).
Regarding Claims 1, 13, and 18, Killoran teaches generating, by an e-commerce system, a transaction token associated with an e-commerce transaction, wherein the transaction token encodes or references transaction data and a registered address associated with a particular user (Paragraphs 0021, 0023, and 0032-0037 teach an e-commerce system may include a message processing module; the message processing module may generate an advertisement email message that is to be transmitted according to the information that describes the email campaign; this may include, for example, the message processing module obtaining information from the e-commerce database that indicates a list of email addresses and other identifying information (such as customer identifiers) for customers that are the intended recipients of the email messages as described in the email campaign information; further, the email messages generated by the message processing module may include one or more mailto hyperlinks that define the contents of email messages that are generated when the mailto hyperlinks are selected; the message body area may display the body of the email message; as shown in FIG. 3, the message body area may display an example email message that shows information related to two example products (Wine One and Wine Two) that are being offered for sale by an example vendor (The Wine Shop); the message body area includes a picture of a bottle of each type of wine, as well as the price for a bottle of each type of wine; the message body area also includes, under the picture of the bottle of Wine One, a number of mailto hyperlinks, such as the “1 Bottle,” “2 Bottles,” “3 Bottles”, “6 Bottles,” and “1 Case (10% Discount)” links; these links may be defined according to the mailto URI scheme or other appropriate format, and each may describe a new email message that may be generated by the email client module when that link is selected); transmitting, by the e-commerce system, an electronic communication that includes a link or instruction configured to cause a customer device to generate a response communication including the transaction token (Paragraph 0023 teaches the message processing module transmit advertisement email messages to customers that are registered with the e-commerce system, such as the user of the customer client device; the advertisement email messages may be HyperText Markup Language (HTML) email messages, Rich Text Format (RTF) email messages, and/or may be defined according to any other appropriate format); receiving, by the e-commerce system, the response communication from a sender address (Paragraphs 0023, 0033, 0040, and 0049 teach the advertisement email messages may include Uniform Resource Identifiers (URIs) or hyperlinks that are defined according to the mailto URI scheme; each mailto URI or hyperlink may describe an email message that may be generated by an email client module when that URI or hyperlink is selected; the generated message may include a number of parameters that indicate, for example, a product that was advertised in the advertisement email that the customer wishes to purchase; the generated message may then be sent to the e-commerce system, and received by the message processing module; when the mailto hyperlinks are selected, new email messages are generated that may be used to initiate orders to purchase the identified products; the email client module may receive a user input that indicates that one of the hyperlinks displayed in the message body area is selected; the user input may be, for example, a mouse click, keyboard input, or any other type of input that indicates that a hyperlink is selected. Referring again to FIG. 2A, the email client module may, in response to this user input, generate and display an order email message as specified by the selected hyperlink; the email client module may send the generated order email message to the e-commerce system in response to input from a user of the customer client device; the email client module may, in response to a selection of the Send button in the message composition window of FIG. 6, transmit an order email message based on the contents of the fields 446, 450, 452, 454, 456 in the message composition window; as another example, the email client module may, in response to a selection of the Send button in the message composition window of FIG. 6, transmit an order email message based on the contents of the fields 646, 650, 652, 654, 656 in the message composition window); performing, by the e-commerce system, a sender-authentication validation of the response communication (Paragraphs 0051-0052 teach the message processing module may validate the contents of the order email message by determining if the message is formatted correctly and/or includes information that it should include; for example, the message processing module may be configured to expect that the text of the body of the order email message should include information related to an order placed by a customer, such as an identifier of a customer that transmitted the message, a product identifier, an identifier that indicates a donation amount, an identifier of a vendor associated with the order, information that indicates a quantity associated with the order, a campaign identifier, and/or other information); on a condition that the sender-authentication validation is successful, decoding, by the e-commerce system, the transaction token to identify the registered address associated with the particular user (Paragraph 0052 teaches alternatively or additionally, the message processing module may validate the contents of the order email message by determining whether it includes information that matches data stored in the e-commerce database; for example, the message processing module may determine whether one or more identifiers (such as a customer identifier, product identifier, vendor identifier, or campaign identifier) in the message corresponds to a valid identifier in the e-commerce database); and processing, by the e-commerce system, the e-commerce transaction only when the sender address of the response communication matches the registered address identified from the transaction token (Paragraph 0023, 0060-0061, and 0083 teach when the generated message is received by the message processing module, the message processing module may then initiate a transaction to purchase the product indicated in the message on behalf of the customer; in such an instance, the message processing module may interact with the order execution module to perform the transaction; in an instance where the message processing module makes a determination that the order should be executed, or in an instance where an order confirmation procedure is not performed, and/or in any other appropriate context, an order execution procedure may be performed, to complete the order indicated in the order email message; the message processing module, the order execution module, the payment processing module, and/or the vendor order fulfillment system may participate in the order execution procedure; the order execution procedure may include, for example, the order execution module accessing credit card account and/or other financial information related to the customer that is stored in the e-commerce database via the database module; this may also include the order execution module accessing bank account and/or other financial information related to the vendor that is stored in the e-commerce database; the order execution module may transmit the financial information related to both the customer and the vendor to the payment processing system, indicating that a payment should be made from the account of the customer to the account of the vendor; the order execution module may then communicate with the payment processing system to charge the customer's account for the amount associated with the order; this may include the order execution module sending one or more messages to the payment processing system that indicate that the customer's account should be charged for the amount associated with the order; this may also include the payment processing system sending one or more messages to the order execution module that indicate that the customer's account was successfully charged; charging the customer's account maybe performed in response to the order execution module receiving information from the vendor order fulfillment system that indicates that the order has been completed).
However, Killoran does not explicitly teach receiving, by the e-commerce system, the response communication from a sender address, wherein the response communication is generated by the customer device only after successful biometric authentication of the particular user.
Carner from same or similar field of endeavors teaches receiving, by the e-commerce system, the response communication from a sender address, wherein the response communication is generated by the customer device only after successful biometric authentication of the particular user (Paragraphs 0131-0132, 0134, and 0136 teach the app configures the device to prompt the user to obtain consent by (i) confirmation of verbal consent or, more preferably, a signed consent and (ii) at least one additional form of consent based on biometric authentication; once consent has been captured by device, the a submit box, may be selected to progress to select options for sending the message; the user is initially presented with a first screen displaying respective boxes for sending the message by text message or email; if sending by email, the automatically-generated text is inserted into a draft email, instead of a text message).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Killoran to incorporate the teachings of Carner to receive, by the e-commerce system, the response communication from a sender address, wherein the response communication is generated by the customer device only after successful biometric authentication of the particular user.
There is motivation to combine Carner into Killoran because biometric authentication provides substantial compliance advantages as regulatory frameworks worldwide mandate strong customer authentication. The EU's PSD2 Strong Customer Authentication requirements explicitly recognize biometrics as a valid inherence factor. The UAE Central Bank's 2026 directive requires banks to replace SMS-based OTPs with phishing-resistant authentication — a mandate that biometrics naturally satisfy. Similar requirements are emerging across Asia-Pacific, with India's RBI requiring two-factor authentication with a dynamic factor and the Philippines' BSP requiring phishing-resistant authentication for financial transactions.
Regarding Claim 1, Killoran teaches a method for improving security of an e-commerce transaction (Paragraph 0030 teaches FIGS. 2A-2B show an example method for email-based electronic commerce; FIGS. 2A-2B show components of the e-commerce system, including the message processing module, the order execution module, and the email interface module).
Regarding Claim 13, Killoran teaches a system for improving security of an e-commerce transaction, the system comprising: a communication interface; a memory; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the communication interface and the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform operations (Paragraph 0021 teaches the e-commerce system may include an account management module, a database module, an e-commerce database, an order execution module, a message processing module, and an email interface module).
Regarding Claim 18, Killoran teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for improving security of an e-commerce transaction, the instructions, when executed by one or more processors of an e-commerce system, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Paragraphs 0006 and 0029 teach a computer-readable storage medium having processor-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by at least one processor in an e-commerce system, will cause the at least one processor to perform a method; each or any combination of the modules described above with reference to FIG. 1 (including the account management module, database module, order execution module, message processing module, email interface module, email client module, web browser module, and the web browser module in the customer client device) may be implemented as software modules, specific-purpose processor elements, or as combinations thereof; suitable software modules include, by way of example, an executable program, a function, a method call, a procedure, a routine or sub-routine, one or more processor-executable instructions, an object, or a data structure).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Killoran further teaches wherein the response communication comprises an email message (Paragraphs 0049-0050 teach the email client module may send the generated order email message to the e-commerce system; this may be performed in response to input from a user of the customer client device; the email client module may, in response to a selection of the Send button in the message composition window of FIG. 6, transmit an order email message based on the contents of the fields 446, 450, 452, 454, 456 in the message composition window; as another example, the email client module may, in response to a selection of the Send button in the message composition window of FIG. 6, transmit an order email message based on the contents of the fields 646, 650, 652, 654, 656 in the message composition window; the email interface module and the message processing module may then receive the order email message; this may include, for example, the message processing module periodically querying the email interface module for information related to new messages received by the email interface module for one or more of the email accounts used by the e-commerce system).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 13 above; and Killoran further teaches wherein the response communication is received using Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) (Paragraph 0024 teaches the email interface module and/or the email client module in the customer client device may communicate email messages using technologies such as Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP)).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Killoran further teaches wherein the electronic communication comprises an email message, text message, webpage, application notification, checkout-page instruction, or in-application message (Paragraphs 0032 and 0035 teach the message processing module and/or the email interface module may then generate the advertising email messages that are to be transmitted according to the information that describes the email campaign; the email interface module may then transmit one of the generated advertising email messages to the email client module).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Killoran further teaches wherein the link comprises a mailto link, a deep link, or a uniform resource locator that includes the transaction token or a token reference (Paragraphs 0023 and 0033 teach the advertisement email messages may be HyperText Markup Language (HTML) email messages, Rich Text Format (RTF) email messages, and/or may be defined according to any other appropriate format; the advertisement email messages may include Uniform Resource Identifiers (URIs) or hyperlinks that are defined according to the mailto URI scheme; each mailto URI or hyperlink may describe an email message that may be generated by an email client module (such as the email client module) when that URI or hyperlink is selected; the email messages generated by the message processing module may include one or more mailto hyperlinks that define the contents of email messages that are generated when the mailto hyperlinks are selected; for example, and as will be described in further detail below, the message processing module may generate the contents of the mailto hyperlinks such that the hyperlinks include information that identifies products that are being sold by a vendor; when the mailto hyperlinks are selected, new email messages are generated that may be used to initiate orders to purchase the identified products).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Killoran further teaches wherein the transaction token includes at least one of a transaction amount, a merchant identifier, an expiration value, a nonce, a transaction identifier, or a payment-token identifier (Paragraphs 0026, 0037, and 0045 teach for each email campaign, the e-commerce database may store information that include an identifier of the vendor associated with the campaign, identifiers of the products associated with the campaign, and/or other information; for each order that is placed with the e-commerce system, the e-commerce database may store information such as an identifier of the customer that placed the order, when the order was placed, an identifier of the vendor associated with the order, and/or other information; the message body area also includes, under the picture of the bottle of Wine One, a number of mailto hyperlinks, such as the “1 Bottle,” “2 Bottles,” “3 Bottles”, “6 Bottles,” and “1 Case (10% Discount)” links; the message body area also includes similar links under the picture of the bottle of Wine Two; these links may be defined according to the mailto URI scheme or other appropriate format, and each may describe a new email message that may be generated by the email client module when that link is selected; the message body area also includes mailto hyperlinks, such as the “$5.00,” “$10.00,” “$25.00,” “$50.00,” and “$100.00” hyperlinks; these hyperlinks may possess similar and/or analogous characteristics, and/or include similar and/or analogous information, as the mailto hyperlinks described above with reference to FIG. 3. The “$5.00” hyperlink describes an email message that, if received by the e-commerce system, will indicate to the e-commerce system that John Smith would like to donate $5.00 to Charitable Organization; similarly, the “$10.00,” “$25.00,” “$50.00, and “$100.00” hyperlinks describe email messages with corresponding information for $10.00, $25.00, $50.00, and $100.00 donations, respectively).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the customer device parses the transaction token and determines, based on the transaction token, that biometric authentication is required before the response communication is generated or sent.
Carner further teaches wherein the customer device parses the transaction token and determines, based on the transaction token, that biometric authentication is required before the response communication is generated or sent (Paragraphs 0131-0132, 0134, and 0136 teach the app configures the device to prompt the user to obtain consent by (i) confirmation of verbal consent or, more preferably, a signed consent and (ii) at least one additional form of consent based on biometric authentication; once consent has been captured by device, the a submit box, may be selected to progress to select options for sending the message; the user is initially presented with a first screen displaying respective boxes for sending the message by text message or email; if sending by email, the automatically-generated text is inserted into a draft email, instead of a text message).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Killoran and Carner to incorporate the further teachings of Carner for the customer device to parse the transaction token and determine, based on the transaction token, that biometric authentication is required before the response communication is generated or sent.
There is motivation to further combine Carner into the combination of Killoran and Carner because of the same reasons listed above for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the biometric authentication comprises fingerprint authentication, facial-recognition authentication, voice-recognition authentication, retinal-scan authentication, or gesture-based biometric authentication performed locally by the customer device.
Carner further teaches wherein the biometric authentication comprises fingerprint authentication, facial-recognition authentication, voice-recognition authentication, retinal-scan authentication, or gesture-based biometric authentication performed locally by the customer device (Paragraphs 0131 and 0127 teach biometric authentication, such as recorded verbal consent; in other embodiments, additional or alternative biometric authentication may be used, such as fingerprint capture).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Killoran and Carner to incorporate the further teachings of Carner for the biometric authentication to comprise fingerprint authentication, facial-recognition authentication, voice-recognition authentication, retinal-scan authentication, or gesture-based biometric authentication performed locally by the customer device.
There is motivation to further combine Carner into the combination of Killoran and Carner because recorded verbal consent is advantageous providing biometric authentication of the person giving the consent, by identifying the person by their unique characteristics or traits, in this case their distinctive voice and/or visual appearance. (Carner Paragraph 0127).
Claims 4, 8, 12, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killoran (US 20120253896) in view of Carner (US 20140089008) in further view of Harding (US 20150012351).
Regarding Claims 4, 15, and 19, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claims 2, 13, and 18 above; however, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the sender-authentication validation comprises validating an email address of the sender using at least one of Sender Policy Framework (SPF) validation or DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) validation.
Harding from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the sender-authentication validation comprises validating an email address of the sender using at least one of Sender Policy Framework (SPF) validation or DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) validation (Paragraph 0029 teaches examples of the types of technical audits, analysis, or processes may include: testing that subject is not too long; subject does not contain any unencoded 8-bit characters; checking to see if a signature or other verification is present and valid, such as a DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) signature; checking to see if a sender policy framework (SPF) record exists and is valid).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Killoran and Carner to incorporate the teachings of Harding for the sender-authentication validation to comprise validating an email address of the sender using at least one of Sender Policy Framework (SPF) validation or DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) validation.
There is motivation to combine Harding into the combination of Killoran and Carner because the audit processor and analyzer verifies all the technical infrastructure aspects of the email message from authentication to the structure of the HTML (Harding Paragraph 0029).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, the combination does not explicitly teach verifying a cryptographic signature associated with the transaction token before processing the e-commerce transaction.
Harding from same or similar field of endeavor teaches verifying a cryptographic signature associated with the transaction token before processing the e-commerce transaction (Paragraphs 0029 and 0032 teach after the email message is parsed, the audit processor and analyzer applies a group of different performance processes to the different parts of the email messages; the audit processor and analyzer verifies all the technical infrastructure aspects of the email message from authentication to the structure of the HTML; examples of the types of technical audits, analysis, or processes may include: testing that subject is not too long; subject does not contain any unencoded 8-bit characters; checking to see if a signature or other verification is present and valid, such as a DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) signature; checking to see if a sender policy framework (SPF) record exists and is valid; checking that the text content encoding is valid and the lines are less than 72 characters, checking that HTML content encoding is valid and lines are less than a predetermined number of characters; and checking that HTML coding is valid for email; the header fields may be checked for unresolved customization fields and a check may be made to verify the presence of a DKIM Signature (or other signature) and a SPF/CallerID record).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Killoran and Carner to incorporate the teachings of Harding to verify a cryptographic signature associated with the transaction token before processing the e-commerce transaction.
There is motivation to combine Harding into the combination of Killoran and Carner because of the same reasons listed above for claim 4.
Regarding Claims 12 and 20, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 18 above; and Killoran further teaches in response to determining that the sender-authentication validation is unsuccessful or that the sender address does not match the registered address identified from the transaction token, preventing processing of the e-commerce transaction (Paragraphs 0051-0052 teach in an instance where the message processing module determines that the information included in the order email message is invalid (e.g., if one or more required pieces of information are missing and/or formatted incorrectly), the message processing module may send one or more emails (not depicted) to the email address from which the order email message was received, indicating that the order email message could not be correctly processed; in an instance where the message processing module determines that the information included in the order email message is invalid (e.g., if one or more of the identifiers in the message are not valid identifiers), the message processing module may send one or more emails (not depicted) to the email address from which the order email message was received, indicating that the order email message could not be correctly processed).
However, the combination does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the sender-authentication validation is unsuccessful or that the sender address does not match the registered address identified from the transaction token, storing an audit record identifying the response communication.
Harding from same or similar field of endeavor teaches in response to determining that the sender-authentication validation is unsuccessful or that the sender address does not match the registered address identified from the transaction token, storing an audit record identifying the response communication (Paragraphs 0032 and 0038 teach the audit processor and analyzer also may perform individual part analysis for the different parts of the email message, such as header validation, message content validation, HTML link validation, text link validation, mobile link validation, HTML structural validation, image rendering verification, and content assessment; the header validation may include checking that the From, To, ReplyTo and Subject headers in the email message are formatted for length, format, and customization fields; the actual addresses may be verified by connecting to the appropriate servers and by determining whether the server will accept email for those addresses; in addition, the header fields may be checked for unresolved customization fields and a check may be made to verify the presence of a DKIM Signature (or other signature) and a SPF/CallerID record; the audit processor and analyzer may also be in communication with the public network either directly or indirectly; in order to determine validity of email address, HTML and text links, the audit processor and analyzer needs to be able to communicate over the public network with other servers, entities, etc.; the results of the analysis are stored in the analysis store; the analysis store and storage may be separate storage devices or may also be different partitions or sections of the same device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Killoran and Carner to incorporate the teachings of Harding to in response to determining that the sender-authentication validation is unsuccessful or that the sender address does not match the registered address identified from the transaction token, store an audit record identifying the response communication.
There is motivation to combine Harding into the combination of Killoran and Carner because the report generator compiles all of the raw data from the audit processor and analyzer and compiles a report that summarizes the results of the audit. The report may be in many different formats and range from very broad to very specific. The report may include a grading or rating system for how well the email message did in the audit (Harding Paragraph 0039).
Claims 9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killoran (US 20120253896) in view of Carner (US 20140089008) in further view of Wedekind (US 20150032636).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the transaction token includes a payment-token identifier corresponding to a stored payment credential, and wherein the response communication does not include raw payment-card data.
Wedekind from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the transaction token includes a payment-token identifier corresponding to a stored payment credential, and wherein the response communication does not include raw payment-card data (Paragraphs 0015 and 0018-20 teach a DPTRS server stores a record of the consumer's device in device database, and a record of the account with the issuing institution in the account database; the record in database for a consumer's device is linked to the record in account database for that consumer's account with the issuing institution via relational link; the relational link comprises an account identification number stored in both the device database and the account database to identify the account related to a payment device; upon consumer initiation, the payment device submits request for a Payment Authorization Credentials (PAC) from the DPTRS server over a secure connection (such as SSL over the internet or otherwise) and sends the Access Token acquired during initial registration; if the Access Token received from payment device matches the shared secret stored in device database, DPRTS server generates a PAC key code and an expiration time set to a desired interval in the future; the PAC may comprise a system-generated PAC identification number, the PAC key code, the expiration time, and the device identification number for payment device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Killoran and Carner to incorporate the teachings of Wedekind for the transaction token to include a payment-token identifier corresponding to a stored payment credential, and wherein the response communication does not include raw payment-card data.
There is motivation to combine Wedekind into the combination of Killoran and Carner because the Dissociative Payment Transaction and Receipt System (DPTRS) disclosed herein may eliminate the noted security vulnerability in the prior art by dissociating the payment account information from the payment credentials. This may be accomplished by generating unique Payment Authorization Credentials (PAC) for each transaction that are valid for only one transaction. The PAC may contain a large hash of random or pseudo-random alphanumeric and non-alphanumeric characters in order to make guessing the PAC virtually impossible. In addition, should an unscrupulous merchant employee or malicious software process copy the PAC, they would not be able to complete fraudulent transactions using the stolen PAC because each PAC is valid for a single use (Wedekind Paragraph 0007).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 13 above; however, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the transaction token to include an expiration value and a single-use transaction identifier.
Wedekind from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the transaction token to include an expiration value and a single-use transaction identifier (Paragraphs 0018-0019 and 0007 teach the payment device is used by a consumer to initiate the payment transaction through the interface on the payment device with the DPTRS-compatible software installed on the payment device; upon consumer initiation, the payment device submits request for a PAC (i.e., are valid for only one transaction) from the DPTRS server over a secure connection (such as SSL over the internet or otherwise) and sends the Access Token acquired during initial registration; the payment device may also provide additional information in the transaction initiation request besides the Access Token; if the Access Token received from payment device matches the shared secret stored in device database, DPRTS server generates a PAC key code and an expiration time set to a desired interval in the future).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Killoran and Carner to incorporate the teachings of Wedekind for the one or more processors to be further configured to generate the transaction token to include an expiration value and a single-use transaction identifier.
There is motivation to combine Wedekind into the combination of Killoran and Carner because of the same reasons listed above for claim 9.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Killoran and Carner teaches all the limitations of claim 13 above; however, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to mark the transaction token as used after the e-commerce transaction is processed and reject a subsequently received response communication that includes the transaction token after the transaction token has been marked as used.
Wedekind from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to mark the transaction token as used after the e-commerce transaction is processed and reject a subsequently received response communication that includes the transaction token after the transaction token has been marked as used (Paragraphs 0019, 0021, 0040, and 0046 teaches the DPTRS server validates the activation status of payment device and the validity of the Access Token by comparing the information received in request to information stored in the device database via query utilizing the Access Token; each PAC object stored as a record in credentials database is symbolically linked to a payment device record in device database by link which may comprise a device identification number; the record for each PAC object in credentials database may also include an additional status field. In some embodiments, the status field may have the following values: “active”, “inactive”, “tab”, “used”, “failed”, or “recurring”, and the initial status of a PAC record may be set to “active”; the DPTRS server creates a PAC as described in relation to FIG. 1 and stores it in the credentials database, and sets the PAC record to an “active” or “tab” status; upon receipt of a payment request and reconciliation of any discrepancies, the DPTRS server checks with the consumer's issuing institution to verify sufficient funds are available, and, if so, facilitates the clearing of the transaction in a similar manner to that described in relation to FIG. 1 except the PAC, transaction amount, and transaction details are retrieved from the tab record, and the merchant is previously authenticated; facilitating the clearing of the transaction includes marking the PAC as being “used” in the credentials database and, optionally, placing the PAC and tab records into historical tables).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Killoran and Carner to incorporate the teachings of Wedekind for the one or more processors to be further configured to mark the transaction token as used after the e-commerce transaction is processed and reject a subsequently received response communication that includes the transaction token after the transaction token has been marked as used.
There is motivation to combine Wedekind into the combination of Killoran and Carner because of the same reasons listed above for claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wallaja (US 20130297425) teaches upon receiving an indication that a user wishes to conduct a financial transaction with an online retailer, the user's identity is determined. Instead of requiring the user to create and log into an account with the online retailer, the user's identity may be determined from an identity framework generated for the user from at least one of a plurality of sessions the user is in. A mobile device identifier, such as a mobile phone number associated with the user's identity framework is then retrieved. The mobile device identifier is then used to complete the financial transaction, providing a measure of security. A one-step or two-step request is transmitted to the mobile device having the associated mobile device identifier to authorize the financial transaction. Upon receiving authorization from the mobile device for the financial transaction, the financial transaction can then be enabled.
Badenhorst (US 20150363781) teaches systems and methods for providing payment credentials usable in a transaction. A method conducted at a token processor, the token processor receives a request for single-use payment credentials from a communication device of a consumer. In response, the token processor obtains or generates single-use payment credentials and obtains or generates a loyalty identifier which is uniquely associated with the consumer. The token processor then transmits the single-use payment credentials and the loyalty identifier to the communication device as a combined single-use payment token capable of being presented using the communication device. In some embodiments, the loyalty identifier is the same for all requests by the consumer for single-use payment credentials, such that the loyalty identifier is usable by a merchant in updating a record of the consumer.
/COURTNEY P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699