DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 10/20/26 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, and 13 of copending Application No. 19/550,233 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1,
Claim 1 of Application No. 19/697,524
Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233
An optical communication system for a data center environment comprising:
a first terminal comprising a light source configured to generate a modulated optical signal encoding a data stream,
An optical communication system comprising:
a first terminal comprising a light source configured to generate a modulated optical signal encoding a data stream,
a beam steering element configured to direct the modulated optical signal through free space toward a second terminal, and
a beam steering element configured to direct the modulated optical signal through free space toward a second terminal, and
a controller configured to command the beam steering element;
a controller configured to command the beam steering element;
a second terminal comprising collection optics configured to receive the modulated optical signal from the first terminal,
a second terminal comprising collection optics configured to receive the modulated optical signal from the first terminal,
a detector configured to convert the received modulated optical signal into an electrical data stream, and
a detector configured to convert the received modulated optical signal into an electrical data stream, and
a spatially sensitive detector configured to generate alignment information indicative of an angular offset between the modulated optical signal and the second terminal;
a spatially sensitive detector configured to generate alignment information indicative of an angular offset between the modulated optical signal and the second terminal;
a pointing, acquisition, and tracking system configured to perform an acquisition sequence in which the beam steering element scans an angular search region to locate the second terminal and iteratively refines alignment based on the alignment information until a signal quality metric exceeds a predetermined acquisition threshold; and
a pointing, acquisition, and tracking system configured to perform an acquisition sequence in which the beam steering element scans an angular search region to locate the second terminal and iteratively refines alignment based on the alignment information generated by the spatially sensitive detector until a signal quality metric exceeds a predetermined acquisition threshold; and
a feedback system configured to continuously monitor the signal quality metric during an established communication link and to compute and apply steering corrections to the beam steering element to maintain alignment between the first terminal and the second terminal in the presence of environmental disturbances.
a feedback system configured to: continuously monitor the signal quality metric during an established communication link and to compute and apply steering corrections to the beam steering element to maintain alignment between the first terminal and the second terminal in the presence of environmental disturbances
However, Claim 1 of Application No. 19/697,524 differs from Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233 because Claim 1 of Application No. 19/697,524 does not include “detect a link disruption event when the signal quality metric falls below a predetermined disruption threshold for a duration exceeding a timeout period; classify the link disruption event as either a temporary obstruction or a persistent failure; enter a hold state maintaining a current alignment of the beam steering element upon classification as a temporary obstruction; and initiate a recovery sequence comprising a directed search across a narrowed angular region centered on a last known position of the second terminal upon classification as a persistent failure or upon expiration of the hold state; and wherein the beam steering element comprises at least one of a microelectromechanical systems mirror, an optical phased array, a liquid crystal spatial light modulator, a metasurface, a digital micromirror device, an acousto-optic modulator, an electro-optic modulator, a Risley prism, or a liquid lens.”
It is clear that all the elements of the Claim 1 of Application No. 19/697,524 are to be found in Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233 (as the Claim 1 of Application No. 19/697,524 fully encompasses patent Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233). The difference between the Claim 1 of Application No. 19/697,524 and the Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233 lies in the fact that the Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233 includes many more elements and thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233 is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the Claim 1 of Application No. 19/697,524. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since Claim 1 of Application No. 19/697,524 is anticipated by Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233, it is not patentably distinct from Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233.
Regarding claim 3,
Claim 3 of Application No. 19/697,524
Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233
The optical communication system of claim 1, wherein the beam steering element comprises at least one of a microelectromechanical systems mirror, an optical phased array, a liquid crystal spatial light modulator, a metasurface, a digital micromirror device, an acousto-optic modulator, an electro-optic modulator, a galvanometer-driven mirror, a Risley prism, or a liquid lens.
wherein the beam steering element comprises at least one of a microelectromechanical systems mirror, an optical phased array, a liquid crystal spatial light modulator, a metasurface, a digital micromirror device, an acousto-optic modulator, an electro-optic modulator, a Risley prism, or a liquid lens.
Regarding claim 4,
Claim 4 of Application No. 19/697,524
Claim 2 of Application No. 19/550,233
The optical communication system of claim 1, wherein the first terminal further comprises a beacon light source configured to emit a beacon signal at a wavelength distinct from the modulated optical signal, and the second terminal further comprises a beacon filter configured to pass light at the beacon wavelength while rejecting light at the wavelength of the modulated optical signal, wherein the pointing, acquisition, and tracking system performs the acquisition sequence based on the beacon signal independently of the modulated optical signal.
The optical communication system of claim 1, wherein the first terminal further comprises a beacon light source configured to emit a beacon signal at a wavelength distinct from the modulated optical signal, and the second terminal further comprises a beacon filter configured to pass light at the beacon wavelength while rejecting light at the wavelength of the modulated optical signal, wherein the pointing, acquisition, and tracking system performs the acquisition sequence based on the beacon signal independently of the modulated optical signal.
Regarding claim 5,
Claim 5 of Application No. 19/697,524
Claim 6 of Application No. 19/550,233
The optical communication system of claim 4, wherein the beacon light source is further configured to modulate the beacon signal to encode control data for communication to the second terminal, and wherein the second terminal further comprises a beacon detector configured to receive the beacon signal and to extract the control data from the beacon signal, wherein the control data and the alignment information are communicated between the first terminal and the second terminal without requiring a radio frequency link or a wired data connection between the first terminal and the second terminal.
The optical communication system of claim 2, wherein the beacon light source is further configured to modulate the beacon signal to encode control data for communication to the second terminal, and wherein the second terminal further comprises a beacon detector configured to receive the beacon signal and to extract the control data from the beacon signal, wherein the control data and the alignment information are communicated between the first terminal and the second terminal without requiring a radio frequency link or a wired data connection between the first terminal and the second terminal.
Regarding claim 7,
Claim 7 of Application No. 19/697,524
Claim 3 of Application No. 19/550,233
The optical communication system of claim 1, wherein the first terminal further comprises a Small Form-factor Pluggable transceiver device configured to generate the modulated optical signal and output the modulated optical signal through a fiber optic port, and transmit optics configured to receive the modulated optical signal from the fiber optic port and produce a beam directed onto the beam steering element.
The optical communication system of claim 1, wherein the first terminal further comprises a Small Form-factor Pluggable transceiver device configured to generate the modulated optical signal and output the modulated optical signal through a fiber optic port, and a collimator configured to receive the modulated optical signal from the fiber optic port and produce a collimated beam directed onto the beam steering element.
Regarding claim 8,
Claim 8 of Application No. 19/697,524
Claim 1 of Application No. 19/550,233
The optical communication system of claim 1, wherein the feedback system is further configured to: detect a link disruption event when the signal quality metric falls below a predetermined disruption threshold for a duration exceeding a timeout period;
detect a link disruption event when the signal quality metric falls below a predetermined disruption threshold for a duration exceeding a timeout period;
classify the link disruption event as either a temporary obstruction or a persistent failure;
classify the link disruption event as either a temporary obstruction or a persistent failure;
enter a hold state maintaining a current alignment of the beam steering element upon classification as a temporary obstruction; and
enter a hold state maintaining a current alignment of the beam steering element upon classification as a temporary obstruction; and
initiate a recovery sequence comprising a directed search across a narrowed angular region centered on a last known position of the second terminal upon classification as a persistent failure or upon expiration of the hold state.
initiate a recovery sequence comprising a directed search across a narrowed angular region centered on a last known position of the second terminal upon classification as a persistent failure or upon expiration of the hold state.
Regarding claim 9,
Claim 9 of Application No. 19/697,524
Claim 4 of Application No. 19/550,233
The optical communication system of claim 1, further comprising a network controller in communication with a plurality of terminals including the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the network controller is configured to compute a link topology assigning terminal pairings, issue link assignment instructions directing each terminal to initiate the acquisition sequence with a designated partner terminal, and issue reconfiguration instructions to reassign terminal pairings in response to a reconfiguration trigger.
The optical communication system of claim 1, further comprising a network controller in communication with a plurality of terminals including the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the network controller is configured to: compute a link topology assigning terminal pairings based on bandwidth requirements, redundancy targets, and line-of-sight availability; issue link assignment instructions directing each terminal to initiate the acquisition sequence with a designated partner terminal; and issue reconfiguration instructions to reassign terminal pairings in response to a reconfiguration trigger
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US11777599B2) in view of Mitchell et al. (US11909439B2) and Mendenhall et al. (US6535314B1).
Regarding claim 1, Mitchell discloses An optical communication system (Fig. 1A) for a data center environment comprising:
a first terminal (Fig. 1A; terminal 100A) comprising a light source (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; Tx Source 225) configured to generate a modulated optical signal encoding a data stream (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; Column 6, lines 4-6; The Tx source 225 converts transmit data from the modem 235 into Tx beams. The Tx source 225 can include a laser),
a beam steering element (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; beam steering unit 205) configured to direct the modulated optical signal through free space toward a second terminal (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; Column 4, lines 37-40; Column 4, lines 34-36; The telescope 200 and beam steering unit 205 are optical components that direct Rx beams to the wavefront sensor 210 and fiber 215, and direct Tx beams to the remote terminal. The Tx beam 105A propagates through the telescope 200 and into free space), and a controller configured to command the beam steering element (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; Column 4, line 66-Column 5, line 3; Column 6, lines 47-52; The Tx direction may be determined or updated based on feedback signals (e.g., alignment errors), for example from the controller 250, modem 235, and the wavefront sensor 210 (this feedback path not shown in FIG. 2.) The controller 250 receives information (e.g., from the wavefront sensor 210 and the modem 235) to determine alignment errors between the terminal 100A and the remote terminal 100B. The controller 250 provides instructions (e.g., to the beam steering unit 205) to reduce the alignment errors);
a second terminal (Fig. 1A; terminal 100B) comprising collection optics configured to receive the modulated optical signal from the first terminal (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; Fig. 5; Column 7, lines 41-48; the telescope 200 includes optical components that receive the Rx beam 105B and focus it to a Rx spot 515 at the focal plane 312 and that direct the Tx beam 105A from a Tx spot 525 at the focal plane 312 to the remote terminal. In the example of FIG. 5, the telescope 200 includes a window 500 that allows beams to propagate in and out of the terminal, a bi-focal lens 505, and a converging lens 510),
a detector (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; Rx detector 230) configured to convert the received modulated optical signal into an electrical data stream (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; Column 6, lines 1-3 and 12-14; The Rx detector 230 is a photodetector that converts Rx beams from the circulator 220 into electrical signals. The modem 235 decodes information in the electrical signals from the Rx detector 230), and
a spatially sensitive detector (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; wavefront sensor 210) configured to generate alignment information indicative of an angular offset between the modulated optical signal and the second terminal (Fig. 1A; Fig. 2A; Fig. 3A; Column 5, lines 18-20 and 31-38; Column 9, lines 32-36; The wavefront sensor 210 is a component that detects incident light (e.g., the Rx beam 105B) for position detection, acquisition, and tracking. The wavefront sensor 210 includes detectors 304 to determine the position of the incident Rx beam 105B. Based on the detected position of the Rx beam 105B, the FSO terminal 100 can align components of the FSO terminal 100 (e.g., the telescope 200, beam steering unit 205, or the wavefront sensor itself) so that the Rx beam 105B is centered on the wavefront sensor 210. In one approach, the Tx and/or Rx wavelengths are adjustable, which allows adjustment of the magnitude of the angular separation (difference in angle between the Tx and Rx beams) and also possibly adjustment of the angular offset (average of angles of the Tx and Rx beams)).
However, the present system does not expressly disclose a pointing, acquisition, and tracking system configured to perform an acquisition sequence in which the beam steering element scans an angular search region to locate the second terminal and iteratively refines alignment based on the alignment information until a signal quality metric exceeds a predetermined acquisition threshold; and a feedback system configured to continuously monitor the signal quality metric during an established communication link and to compute and apply steering corrections to the beam steering element to maintain alignment between the first terminal and the second terminal in the presence of environmental disturbances.
Mitchell et al. discloses a pointing, acquisition, and tracking system configured to perform an acquisition sequence (Fig. 11; Abstract; During a tracking mode, the controller is configured to adjust an orientation of the FSO terminal based on signals from the inner set of detectors. During an acquisition mode, the controller is configured to adjust the orientation of the FSO terminal based on signals from the outer set of detectors) in which the beam steering element scans an angular search region to locate the second terminal (Fig. 2; Fig. 11; Column 12, lines 64-66; Column 13, lines 20-21; Both terminals scan their beams with the goal of causing the outgoing Tx beam to intersect the other terminal's Rx aperture. To scan a solid angle of space, a spiral path is a convenient approach for FSO acquisition); and a feedback system configured to continuously monitor the signal quality metric during an established communication link and to compute and apply steering corrections to the beam steering element to maintain alignment between the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 2; Fig. 8; Column 4, lines 43-50; Column 9, lines 45-54; The beam steering unit 205 (e.g., controlled by the controller 250) may operate in different modes, such as a beam acquisition mode or a beam tracking mode. For example, an initial Tx direction can be established through a beam acquisition mode. The Tx direction may be determined or updated based on feedback signals (e.g., alignment errors), for example from the wavefront sensor 210 (this feedback path not shown in FIG. 2). The Rx beam 750 is offset from the central detector 715 but is close enough that the central detector 715 still receives a portion of the Rx beam 715. The inner detectors 710 also receive portions of the Rx beam 750. These inner detectors 710 allow the controller to detect smaller misalignments from the central detector 715 and adjust the FSO terminal accordingly (e.g., during a tracking mode)) in the presence of environmental disturbances (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; Column 13, lines 26-32; If the local terminal's spiral is too rapid, the turbulence pattern may be such that the turbulence induced intensity concentrations miss the far terminal's Rx aperture as the beam spirals by, in which case the local terminal would need to spend time repeating the search once the unsuccessful search has completed. (Here turbulence refers to atmospheric turbulence. This causes intensity concentrations. Instead of a smooth, even stream of light, the turbulence splits the beam into random bright spots and dark gaps known as scintillation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the current system with the wavefront sensor of Michell et al. in order to add a central detector instead of a cavity with an optical fiber. This will result in less dead space on the wavefront sensor (Mitchell et al., Column 9, lines 27-29).
However, the present combination still lacks iteratively refines alignment based on the alignment information until a signal quality metric exceeds a predetermined acquisition threshold.
Mendenhall et al. discloses iteratively refines alignment based on the alignment information (Fig. 1A; Fig. 4; Fig. 13; Fig. 14; Column 14, lines 51-65; The illumination of terminal 12 by beam 16 illustrated in FIG. 10 occurs at some time prior to the stage completion, T10 shown in FIG. 14. At time T10, the initial region of uncertainty RU1 is reduced to a second region of uncertainty RU2 also illustrated by new scan field of view SC2 (FIGS. 11 and 12). Point ahead mechanism 110 and fine track mechanism 60 point the center line of the scan into region RU2 as determined by the pulse detected in detector quadrant AQ1. Point ahead mechanism 110 begins to scan transmit beam 17 in region RU2 beginning at center point 100'. As shown in FIG. 14, uncertainty region RU2 is smaller than uncertainty region RU1. The scanning of transmit beam 17 in region RU2 is the same as the scanning previously described-in region RU1, except that the diameter of the region is smaller) until a signal quality metric exceeds a predetermined acquisition threshold (Fig. 1A; Fig. 4; Fig. 14; Fig. 17; Fig. 8; Column 13, lines 57-60; Column 16, lines 32-38; When a signal with the appropriate characteristics is received, and the signal is above the pre-determined power level threshold, acquisition sensor 96 defines the detector quadrant in which the pulse was detected. At the final cycloidal acquisition stage, illustrated by uncertainty region TU in FIG. 14, when the average pulse rate exceeds a predetermined threshold, the cycloidal pattern is removed from the commands sent to the point ahead mechanisms (e.g., point ahead mechanism 110) resulting in a constant power beam on the opposing terminal track sensor (e.g., track sensor 80)). (Mendenhall et al. teaches that the spiral scan sweeps out the uncertainty region at a constant velocity with a distance between the arms of the spiral set to minimize the time to cover the uncertainty region while maintaining probability of adequately covering the complete region (Column 13, lines 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the spiral scanning technique, as taught by Mendenhall et al., in the present combination in order to minimize the time to detect the remote node (Mendenhall et al., Column 13, lines 23-30).
Regarding claim 3, the present combination discloses The optical communication system of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the beam steering element comprises at least one of a microelectromechanical systems mirror, an optical phased array, a liquid crystal spatial light modulator, a metasurface, a digital micromirror device, an acousto-optic modulator, an electro-optic modulator, a galvanometer-driven mirror, a Risley prism, or a liquid lens (Michell et al., Fig. 2; Column 4, lines 32-42; the beam steering unit 205 can be a mechanically driven reflective or refractive device. Examples of such devices are microelectronic array (MEMS) devices or opto-acoustic devices that exploit acoustic waves in reflective or refractive materials can be used).
Regarding claim 4, the present combination discloses The optical communication system of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the first terminal further comprises a beacon light source (Michell et al., Fig. 2; beacon source 227) configured to emit a beacon signal at a wavelength distinct from the modulated optical signal (Michell et al., Fig. 2; Fig. 9; Column 11, lines 54-60; Filter 925 blocks wavelengths of beacon beam 910 (e.g., and wavelengths from other potential background sources). This prevents the Rx detector 935 from receiving light from the beacon beam 910 (e.g., and other background sources) and may thus increase the SNR of the Rx detector 935, assuming the Rx and beacon beams have different wavelengths), and the second terminal further comprises a beacon filter (Michell et al., Fig. 9; filter 940) configured to pass light at the beacon wavelength while rejecting light at the wavelength of the modulated optical signal (Michell et al., Fig. 9; Column 11, lines 60-64; Filter 940 blocks wavelengths of Rx beam 915 (e.g., and wavelengths from other sources, such as back reflection). This prevents the WFS 950 from receiving light from the Rx beam 915 (e.g., and other background sources) and may thus increase the SNR of the WFS 950), wherein the pointing, acquisition, and tracking system performs the acquisition sequence based on the beacon signal independently of the modulated optical signal (Michell et al., Fig. 9; the wavefront sensor 950 only receives beacon beam 910 for alignment process).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US11777599B2), Mitchell et al. (US11909439B2), and Mendenhall et al. (US6535314B1) in view of Schuster et al. (US6970651B1).
Regarding claim 2, the present combination discloses The optical communication system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose the light source operates at a wavelength and power level selected to comply with applicable eye safety standards for deployment in an occupied facility.
Schuster et al. discloses the light source operates at a wavelength and power level selected to comply with applicable eye safety standards for deployment in an occupied facility (Fig. 3; Column 10, lines 19-34; Free-space optical communication systems are constrained in regard to a maximum amount of power that may be transmitted over a finite period of time. These constraints may be embodied in the form of eye-safety standards promulgated by federal, state or local regulatory agencies or other organizations. In general, eye-safety standards and maximum permissible exposures associated with those standards, are scaled based on an individual's exposure time. For example, with wavelengths longer than 1400 nm, if the maximum permissible exposure is based on an exposure duration of 10 seconds, then by transmitting only short bursts equaling a total of 0.1 seconds in every 10 seconds, approximately 100 times as much peak power can be transmitted within the permissible maximum exposure standards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the eye-safety standards, as taught by Schuster et al., in the present combination in order to promote safety.
Regarding the first terminal and the second terminal are each mounted on or adjacent to a computing equipment rack within a data center facility, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)). The choice of place where the free-space optics communication system is employed is a matter of intended use and the present combination is capable of operating within a data center and placed on equipment racks.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US11777599B2), Mitchell et al. (US11909439B2), and Mendenhall et al. (US6535314B1) in view of Keyes et al. (US10142017B1).
Regarding claim 5, the present combination discloses The optical communication system of claim 4, as described and applied above, wherein the beacon light source is further configured to modulate the beacon signal to encode data for communication to the second terminal (Mitchell et al., Fig. 2; Fig. 9; Column 6, lines 5-6; Rx and Tx beams are typically data encoded, however beacon beams may also be data encoded), and wherein the second terminal further comprises a beacon detector configured to receive the beacon signal and to extract the data from the beacon signal (Mitchell et al., Fig. 9; the wavefront sensor (WFS) 950 receives the beacon signal as shown).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose extract the control data from the beacon signal, wherein the control data and the alignment information are communicated between the first terminal and the second terminal without requiring a radio frequency link or a wired data connection between the first terminal and the second terminal.
Keyes et al. discloses extract the control data from the beacon signal, wherein the control data and the alignment information are communicated between the first terminal and the second terminal without requiring a radio frequency link or a wired data connection between the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 2; Column 14, lines 1-18; The beacon beam 24a may be transmitted by the first communication device 200a with low-rate data. The pattern of beacon beam modulation may be encoded with data. The on/off pattern may become essentially a bitstream which can have error-correction algorithms applied to it, etc. Since the beacon beam 24a may be seen even when the main communications link is impaired, the beacon beam 24a may be used for low-rate telemetry and/or for sending information helpful for tracking acquisition. When received by the one or more processors 210b of the second communication device 200b, the pattern may be detected, and the data may be extracted. Data that may be transmitted via the beacon beam 24a includes, for example, the identifier of the first communication device 200a, location information of the first communication device 200a, received signal strength of a beacon beam 24a from the second communication device 200b received at the first communication device 200a, and other information useful for correcting any misalignment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add control data to beacon light, as taught by Keyes et al., in the present combination in order to communicate low-rate telemetry and for sending information helpful for tracking acquisition.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US11777599B2), Mitchell et al. (US11909439B2), and Mendenhall et al. (US6535314B1) in view of Lang et al. (US3566126).
Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The optical communication system of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the pointing, acquisition, and tracking system is configured to detect signal at the first terminal during the acquisition sequence to determine an angular direction of the second terminal (Mitchell et al., Fig. 2; Fig. 8; Fig. 11; Column 4, lines 43-50; Column 9, lines 45-54; The beam steering unit 205 (e.g., controlled by the controller 250) may operate in different modes, such as a beam acquisition mode or a beam tracking mode. For example, an initial Tx direction can be established through a beam acquisition mode. The Tx direction may be determined or updated based on feedback signals (e.g., alignment errors), for example from the wavefront sensor 210 (this feedback path not shown in FIG. 2). The Rx beam 750 is offset from the central detector 715 but is close enough that the central detector 715 still receives a portion of the Rx beam 715. The inner detectors 710 also receive portions of the Rx beam 750. These inner detectors 710 allow the controller to detect smaller misalignments from the central detector 715 and adjust the FSO terminal accordingly (e.g., during a tracking mode). The angular direction of the beam 1105A is adjusted as shown in Fig. 11).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose the second terminal further comprises a retroreflector configured to return incident light back toward the first terminal.
Lang et al. discloses the second terminal further comprises a retroreflector (Fig. 1; retro-reflector 25 in terminal 10) configured to return incident light back toward the first terminal (Fig. 1; Column 2, lines 31-37; In the absence of data transmitted from terminal 10, a portion of the transmitted energy from terminal 12 is reflected from the retroreflector 25, located at remote terminal 10, to the receiver at terminal 12 and is used to generate a control signal for the beam steering element 18 to insure that the transmitted signal from terminal 12 is being directed to terminal 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a retroreflector, as taught by Lang et al., in the present combination in order to ensure that the transmitted signal is being directed to the remote terminal even if remote node is not transmitting data.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US11777599B2), Mitchell et al. (US11909439B2), and Mendenhall et al. (US6535314B1) in view of Grover (US20230421258A1).
Regarding claim 7, the present combination discloses The optical communication system of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the first terminal further comprises a transceiver device (Mitchell, Fig. 2A; the Tx source 225 and Rx detector 230) configured to generate the modulated optical signal and output the modulated optical signal through a fiber optic port (Mitchell, Fig. 2A, Column 6, lines 4-6; The Tx source 225 converts transmit data from the modem 235 into Tx beams. The Tx source 225 can include a laser. The Tx beam is transmitted through Tx/Rx fiber 215) and transmit optics configured to receive the modulated optical signal from the fiber optic port and produce a beam directed onto the beam steering element (Mitchell et al, Fig. 2; Fig. 9; transmit beam is sent to the beam steering unit 905 via the filter 925 and splitter 920).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a Small Form-factor Pluggable transceiver.
Haber discloses a Small Form-factor Pluggable transceiver (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; Para. 36; an electro-optical conversion unit (EOC) 106 comprise small form-factor pluggable (SFP) transceivers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a Small Form-factor Pluggable transceiver. A SFP is well-known in the art and it offers users to plug or unplug the transceiver modules without turning off the host device, which prevents system downtime during maintenance or upgrades.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US11777599B2), Mitchell et al. (US11909439B2), and Mendenhall et al. (US6535314B1) in view of Javitt et al. (US6381055B1).
Regarding claim 10, the present combination discloses The optical communication system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a relay positioned at a location having line-of-sight to both the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal each direct their respective modulated optical signals toward the relay, and the relay redirects the modulated optical signals between the first terminal and the second terminal.
Javitt et al. discloses a relay (Fig. 1; relay point 30) positioned at a location having line-of-sight to both the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 1; Column 5, lines 32-34; relay point 30 has line of sight link to access point 20 and line of sight link to terminal 40 as shown. Assembly 21 is oriented to communicate with assembly 31 of relay point 30 along communication pathway 23), wherein the first terminal and the second terminal each direct their respective modulated optical signals toward the relay, and the relay redirects the modulated optical signals between the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 1; Column 5, lines 53-56; In addition to providing direct communication between points 50 and 70 along path 54, indirect communication may be provided via communication paths 55 and 83, via relay point 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the relay point, as taught by Javitt et al. in order to provide exceptional network flexibility.
Conclusion
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634