DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–11, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (U.S. Patent No. 5,613,505) in view of Lee (US 2022/0304387 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell teaches an aerosol provision (AP) device comprising:
a chamber for receiving a consumable which comprises aerosol-generating material and one or more susceptors (a hollow cylindrical cavity receives cigarette C comprising tobacco flavor medium and susceptor material; Campbell, Fig. 2; col. 6, ll. 26–39);
an aerosol generator operable to generate an aerosolised payload by providing one or more predetermined heating profiles to the aerosol-generating material (induction sources 102 are sequentially energized to heat respective portions of cigarette C and generate successive aerosol puffs; Campbell, Figs. 1–3; col. 6, ll. 8–20);
wherein the aerosol generator comprises a first heater comprising one or more magnetic field generators for generating a varying magnetic field (induction sources 102 comprise excitation coils/windings 104 supplied with alternating current to generate an alternating magnetic field; Campbell, Figs. 1–2; col. 6, ll. 26–45);
and a controller configured to select the one or more predetermined heating profiles based on a response of the one or more susceptors from an interaction between the one or more susceptors and the varying magnetic field generated by the one or more magnetic field generators (signature processor 624 receives the reflected-load-impedance signature of the susceptor resulting from interaction with the alternating magnetic field and provides a permissive signal to power-delivery control and logic subsystem 612 for controlling heater operation; Campbell, Fig. 15; col. 15, ll. 12–36).
Campbell does not teach the aerosol generator comprising a second heater comprising an electrically resistive heating element.
Lee teaches a heating assembly having an induction-heated first heating element 110 and an electrically resistive second heating element 130 (¶ [0091]). Lee further teaches that first heating element 110 and second heating element 130 are independently controlled by controller 12000 such that both heating elements or only one heating element may be operated (¶ [0097]). Lee teaches that operating both heating elements during preheating shortens the time required for the cigarette to reach the preset temperature (¶ [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Campbell's aerosol generator to include Lee's electrically resistive second heating element in addition to Campbell's induction heater, as taught by Lee, in order to shorten the time required for the aerosol-generating material to reach a preset heating temperature, with the predictable result of providing both induction and resistive heating capabilities.
Regarding claim 2, Campbell in view of Lee, hereinafter modified Campbell, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, teaches the controller is configured to cause the aerosol generator to begin providing the one or more predetermined heating profiles in response to the interaction between the one or more susceptors and the varying magnetic field, if the consumable is recognised based on the interaction between the one or more susceptors and the varying magnetic field. (signature processor 624 recognizes the reflected-load-impedance signature of the susceptor and provides a permissive signal to power-delivery control and logic subsystem 612; Campbell, Fig. 15; col. 15, ll. 12–36).
Regarding claim 3, modified Campbell teaches the controller is configured to not cause the aerosol generator to begin providing the one or more predetermined heating profiles in response to the interaction between the one or more susceptors and the varying magnetic field, if the consumable is not recognised based on the interaction between the one or more susceptors and the varying magnetic field. (signature processor 624 provides a NO-GO condition when the reflected-load-impedance signature does not correspond to an appropriate cigarette/susceptor, thereby preventing power delivery; Campbell, Fig. 15; col. 15, ll. 24–36).
Regarding claim 4, modified Campbell teaches the one or more predetermined heating profiles comprises a plurality of predetermined heating profiles, the plurality of predetermined heating profiles comprising a first predetermined heating profile and a second predetermined heating profile, wherein the first predetermined heating profile is different from the second predetermined heating profile. (the respective induction sources are separately controllable and may be fired in any sequential order or other desired pattern; Campbell, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 3–18).
Regarding claim 5, modified Campbell teaches the first predetermined heating profile heats at a first power level and the second predetermined heating profile heats at a second power level, wherein the first power level is different from the second power level. (the respective induction sources are separately controlled to provide respective heating operations; Campbell, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 3–18).
Regarding claim 6, modified Campbell teaches the first predetermined heating profile heats for a first time period and the second predetermined heating profile heats for a second time period, wherein the first time period is different from the second time period. (the separately controlled induction sources are energized according to respective sequential heating periods; Campbell, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 3–18).
Regarding claim 7, modified Campbell teaches the first predetermined heating profile heats according to a first heating curve and the second predetermined heating profile heats according to a second heating curve, wherein the first heating curve is different from the second heating curve. (the separately controllable induction sources are operated according to respective desired heating patterns; Campbell, Fig. 3; col. 6, ll. 3–18).
Regarding claim 8, modified Campbell teaches the controller is configured to select the first predetermined heating profile and the second predetermined heating profile based on a response of the one or more susceptors from the interaction between the one or more susceptors and the varying magnetic field generated by the one or more magnetic field generators. (signature processor 624 receives the reflected-load-impedance signature of the susceptor and supplies the resulting permissive signal to power-delivery control and logic subsystem 612 controlling the induction heating operation; Campbell, Fig. 15; col. 15, ll. 12–36).
Regarding claim 9, modified Campbell teaches the controller is configured to cause the first heater to provide the first predetermined heating profile to the aerosol-generating material, and cause the second heater to provide the second predetermined heating profile to the aerosol-generating material. (power supplied to first heating element 110 and second heating element 130 is independently controlled; Lee, ¶ [0118]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Campbell, as set forth in the rejection of claim 9, teaches the controller configured to cause the first heater to provide the first predetermined heating profile to the aerosol-generating material and cause the second heater to provide the second predetermined heating profile to the aerosol-generating material.
Modified Campbell does not expressly teach a delay between starting providing the first predetermined heating profile and starting providing the second predetermined heating profile.
Campbell teaches separately controllable induction sources and teaches that the respective sources may be fired in any sequential order or another desired pattern to heat selected portions of the cigarette (col. 6, ll. 3–18). Lee teaches that first heating element 110 and second heating element 130 are independently controlled by controller 12000 such that both heating elements or only one heating element may be operated (¶ [0097]).
It has been held that the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement is obvious when the results would have been predictable. MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Campbell's sequential-heating control to the independently controlled first and second heaters of modified Campbell by initiating the first heating profile before initiating the second heating profile, thereby providing the claimed delay, because Lee's independent control permits the heaters to be operated separately while Campbell expressly teaches sequential activation of separately controllable heating sources, with the predictable result of permitting the respective heaters to operate according to a desired sequential heating pattern.
Regarding claim 11, modified Campbell, as set forth in the rejection of claim 9, teaches the controller configured to cause the first heater to provide the first predetermined heating profile to the aerosol-generating material and cause the second heater to provide the second predetermined heating profile to the aerosol-generating material.
Modified Campbell does not expressly teach the first predetermined heating profile and the second predetermined heating profile being provided at least partly at the same time.
Lee teaches that first heating element 110 and second heating element 130 are independently controlled by controller 12000 and that, in a preheating mode, both heating elements are operated together (¶ [0097]). Lee further teaches that operation in the preheating mode shortens the time required for the cigarette to reach the preset temperature (¶ [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to operate the independently controllable first and second heaters of modified Campbell such that the first predetermined heating profile and the second predetermined heating profile are provided at least partly at the same time, as taught by Lee, in order to shorten the time required for the aerosol-generating material to reach the preset heating temperature.
Regarding claim 14, modified Campbell teaches the first heater and the second heater are arranged such that at least a quantity of the aerosol-generating material is heated by both the first heater and the second heater. (first heating element 110 and second heating element 130 are operated to heat a portion of cigarette 20000; Lee, ¶ [0119]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Campbell teaches the controller is configured to cause the aerosol generator to provide the selected one or more predetermined heating profiles to the aerosol-generating material in response to activation of an activation mechanism of the AP device by a user. (sensor 620 generates a signal in response to the smoker drawing on the electrical article, the draw signal being used to control circuitry that causes the heater to operate; Campbell, col. 14, ll. 45–55).
Regarding claim 17, modified Campbell teaches the first heater and the second heater are configured to heat the aerosol-generating material in a solid form. (cigarette C includes solid tobacco flavor medium heated by the induction heating arrangement; Campbell, col. 13, ll. 8–18; second heating element 130 heats cigarette 20000; Lee, ¶ [0097]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Campbell teaches the first heater and the second heater are configured to heat the aerosol-generating material comprising tobacco. (tobacco flavor medium is heated by the induction arrangement; Campbell, col. 13, ll. 8–18; first heating element 110 and second heating element 130 heat cigarette 20000; Lee, ¶ [0119]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (U.S. Patent No. 5,613,505) in view of Lee (US 2022/0304387 A1), and further in view of Lee ’943 (US 2022/0264943 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Campbell in view of Lee, hereinafter modified Campbell, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, teaches the one or more susceptors is a first coded portion of the consumable. (the susceptor provides a characteristic reflected-load-impedance signature used to identify an appropriate cigarette; Campbell, col. 15, ll. 12–36).
Modified Campbell does not teach the consumable comprising a second coded portion and the AP device comprising a sensor configured to detect the second coded portion.
Lee ’943 teaches a cigarette comprising first and second segments having respective identification elements and first and second sensors configured to detect the respective identification elements (¶ [0125]). Lee ’943 further teaches that the identification elements may differ in physical properties including thickness, area, weight, pattern, shape, material, or color (¶ [0130]), and that the controller may synthesize the sensor results to determine whether the cigarette is an appropriate cigarette (¶ [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Campbell to further provide Lee ’943's second identification element on the consumable and corresponding sensor configured to detect the second identification element, thereby providing an additional identification characteristic for determining whether the inserted consumable is an appropriate consumable.
Regarding claim 13, Campbell in view of Lee and Lee ’943, hereinafter modified Campbell, as set forth in the rejection of claim 12, teaches the controller configured to select the one or more predetermined heating profiles based on the response of the one or more susceptors from the interaction between the one or more susceptors and the varying magnetic field generated by the one or more magnetic field generators. (the reflected-load-impedance signature of the susceptor is used by the control circuitry for controlling the heating operation; Campbell, col. 15, ll. 12–36).
Modified Campbell does not expressly teach selecting the one or more predetermined heating profiles additionally based on detecting the second coded portion by the sensor.
Lee ’943 teaches that controller 850 receives and synthesizes detection results from the sensors detecting the identification elements of the cigarette to determine whether the cigarette is an appropriate cigarette (¶ [0132]). Lee ’943 further teaches identifying properties of the cigarette based on the result detected by the cigarette-recognition sensor and heating the cigarette according to a temperature profile corresponding to the identified cigarette (¶ [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Campbell such that selection of the predetermined heating profile is additionally based on detection of the second coded portion by the sensor, as taught by Lee ’943, in order to identify properties of the inserted consumable and apply a heating profile corresponding to the identified consumable.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (U.S. Patent No. 5,613,505) in view of Lee (US 2022/0304387 A1), and further in view of Kuczaj (US 2016/0174610 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Campbell in view of Lee, hereinafter modified Campbell, as set forth in the rejection of claim 15, teaches an activation mechanism of the AP device configured to be activated by a user. (sensor 620 generates a signal in response to the smoker drawing on the electrical article, the draw signal being used to control circuitry that causes the heater to operate; Campbell, col. 14, ll. 45–55).
Modified Campbell does not teach the activation mechanism comprising a button.
Kuczaj teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising user interface 20, which may comprise a button, and controller 18 for controlling power supplied to heating element 14 (¶ [0064]). Kuczaj further teaches that the heating profile may begin upon activation of the device (¶ [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Campbell to provide Kuczaj's button as a user activation mechanism for initiating the controlled heating operation, thereby providing a known user-operated mechanism for activating the aerosol-generating device.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 on the ground of statutory double patenting as being directed to the same invention as claim 11 of copending Application No. 19/713,209.
Regarding claim 3, when the complete dependency chains are considered, instant claim 3 and claim 11 of copending Application No. 19/713,209 are coextensive and define the same aerosol provision device, including a chamber for receiving a consumable comprising aerosol-generating material and one or more susceptors; an aerosol generator comprising a first heater having one or more magnetic-field generators and a second heater having an electrically resistive heating element; a controller configured to select one or more predetermined heating profiles based on the response of the one or more susceptors to the varying magnetic field; initiation of the one or more predetermined heating profiles when the consumable is recognized based on the interaction between the susceptors and varying magnetic field; and prevention of initiation of the one or more predetermined heating profiles when the consumable is not recognized based on that interaction. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the same invention.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 on the ground of statutory double patenting as being directed to the same invention as claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/713,428.
Regarding claim 13, considering its dependency from claims 12 and 1, instant claim 13 and copending claim 1 require the same aerosol provision device having a chamber for receiving a consumable; a first heater comprising one or more magnetic-field generators; a second heater comprising an electrically resistive heating element; the first and second heaters arranged such that at least a quantity of the aerosol-generating material is heated by both heaters; one or more susceptors constituting a first coded portion of the consumable; a second coded portion; a sensor configured to detect the second coded portion; and a controller configured to select the predetermined heating profile(s) based on both detection of the second coded portion by the sensor and the response of the susceptors to the varying magnetic field. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the same invention.
Claims 1–2, 4–11, and 14–15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–13 of copending Application No. 19/713,209.
Regarding claim 1, the copending claims recite the same aerosol provision device having a chamber for receiving a consumable comprising aerosol-generating material and susceptors, an aerosol generator having a magnetic-field first heater and electrically resistive second heater, and a controller selecting predetermined heating profiles based on the response of the susceptors to the varying magnetic field. The difference in the particular combination of these limitations does not render instant claim 1 patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 2, the copending claims further recite recognition of the consumable based on the interaction between the susceptors and varying magnetic field and initiation of the predetermined heating profile in response thereto. Instant claim 2 therefore constitutes an obvious variation of the copending claims.
Regarding claims 4–7, the copending claims recite the corresponding plurality of different predetermined heating profiles and their differing power, duration, and heating-curve characteristics. The selection of the particular recited heating-profile characteristic does not render these claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claims 8–9, the copending claims recite controller selection and application of first and second predetermined heating profiles using the respective first and second heaters. The particular dependency and arrangement of these limitations in the instant claims constitutes an obvious variation.
Regarding claims 10–11, the copending claims recite corresponding temporal control of the first and second predetermined heating profiles, including delayed initiation and at least partial simultaneous provision. These claims therefore are not patentably distinct.
Regarding claims 14–15, the copending claims recite the corresponding dual-heater arrangement and controller-controlled application of predetermined heating profiles. The claimed variations do not impart patentable distinctness.
Claims 12–13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the pertinent claims of copending Application No. 19/713,209 in view of Kuczaj.
Regarding claims 12–13, the copending claims provide the underlying dual-heater aerosol-provision device and susceptor-response-based controller architecture but do not provide the claimed first and second coded portions and associated sensor detection. Kuczaj provides the coded-consumable/sensor feature. It would have been obvious to incorporate such coded-consumable identification into the copending aerosol-provision device to permit identification of the consumable and selection of an appropriate operating profile.
Claims 1–12 and 14–18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–15 of copending Application No. 19/713,428.
Regarding claims 1–3, the copending claims recite the same dual induction/resistive heater aerosol-provision architecture, susceptor-response-based heating-profile selection, and consumable-recognition control. The differences in the grouping and dependency of these limitations do not render the claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claims 4–7, the copending claims recite first and second predetermined heating profiles having corresponding differing power, duration, and heating-curve characteristics. These constitute the same heating-profile control subject matter arranged in obvious variations.
Regarding claims 8–11, the copending claims recite selection and application of the first and second predetermined heating profiles and corresponding temporal coordination of the first and second heaters, including delayed and overlapping operation. The instant claims therefore are not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 12, the copending claims recite the first coded portion comprising the susceptors, the second coded portion, and sensor detection thereof. Instant claim 12 constitutes an obvious variation of this coded-consumable arrangement.
Regarding claims 14–16, the copending claims recite corresponding dual-heater and user-activation arrangements. The claimed combinations constitute obvious variations of the same device.
Regarding claims 17–18, the copending claims recite corresponding heating of solid aerosol-generating material and tobacco-containing aerosol-generating material. These limitations do not render the claims patentably distinct.
Claims 1–18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–15 of copending Application No. 19/713,454.
Regarding claims 1–3, the copending claims define the same dual-heater aerosol-provision device, susceptor-response-based profile selection, and recognition/nonrecognition control.
Regarding claims 4–7, the copending claims recite the corresponding plurality of predetermined heating profiles, including different power levels, different time periods, and different heating curves.
Regarding claims 8–11, the copending claims recite corresponding selection and provision of first and second predetermined heating profiles by the respective heaters, including delayed and at least partly simultaneous provision.
Regarding claims 12–13, the copending claims recite corresponding first and second coded portions, sensor detection, and controller selection based on the coded portion and susceptor response.
Regarding claims 14–16, the copending claims recite the corresponding heater arrangement and user-activation subject matter.
Regarding claims 17–18, the copending claims recite corresponding solid and tobacco-containing aerosol-generating material. Accordingly, the differences in dependency and combination of these limitations constitute obvious variations of the same aerosol-provision device rather than patentably distinct subject matter.
Claims 1–18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–14 of copending Application No. 19/713,455.
Regarding claims 1–3, the copending claims recite the same dual-heater aerosol-provision architecture and corresponding susceptor-response-based profile-selection and consumable-recognition control.
Regarding claims 4–7, the copending claims recite corresponding first and second predetermined heating profiles and differing power, duration, and heating-curve characteristics.
Regarding claims 8–11, the copending claims recite corresponding profile selection, application by the respective heaters, and temporal coordination of heater operation.
Regarding claims 12–13, the copending claims recite corresponding coded-consumable detection and selection based on sensor detection and susceptor response.
Regarding claims 14–16, the copending claims recite corresponding dual-heater and user-activation limitations.
Regarding claims 17–18, the copending claims recite corresponding solid and tobacco-containing aerosol-generating material. Accordingly, the differences in the distribution and dependency of these limitations do not render the instant claims patentably distinct.
Claims 1–18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–9 of copending Application No. 19/713,464.
Regarding claim 1, copending claim 1 recites the same chamber, consumable, susceptors, magnetic-field first heater, electrically resistive second heater, common heating of at least a quantity of aerosol-generating material by both heaters, and controller-controlled predetermined heating profiles. Copending claim 1 additionally incorporates coded-consumable, sensor, differing-heating-curve, and recognition/nonrecognition limitations. The omission of those additional limitations from instant claim 1 merely renders instant claim 1 broader and does not establish patentable distinctness.
Regarding claims 2–3, copending claim 1 expressly requires initiation of the first and second predetermined heating profiles when the consumable is recognized based on interaction between the susceptors and varying magnetic field and prevention of initiation when the consumable is not recognized. Instant claims 2–3 therefore are not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 4, copending claim 1 recites distinct first and second predetermined heating profiles having different heating curves. The recitation of a plurality comprising those first and second profiles does not render instant claim 4 patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 5, copending claim 2 recites first and second predetermined heating profiles operating at different respective power levels. Instant claim 5 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 6, copending claim 3 recites first and second predetermined heating profiles operating for different respective time periods. Instant claim 6 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 7, copending claim 1 expressly recites first and second predetermined heating profiles having different respective heating curves. Instant claim 7 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 8, copending claim 1 requires controller selection based on both detection of the second coded portion by the sensor and the response of the susceptors to interaction with the varying magnetic field. Instant claim 8 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 9, copending claim 4 requires the controller to cause the first heater to provide the first predetermined heating profile and the second heater to provide the second predetermined heating profile. Instant claim 9 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 10, copending claim 5 further requires a delay between starting provision of the first predetermined heating profile and starting provision of the second predetermined heating profile. Instant claim 10 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 11, copending claim 6 further requires the first and second predetermined heating profiles to be provided at least partly at the same time. Instant claim 11 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Regarding claims 12–13, copending claim 1 positively recites the first coded portion comprising the susceptors, the second coded portion, the sensor configured to detect the second coded portion, and controller selection based on both sensor detection and susceptor response. The coded-consumable subject matter of instant claims 12–13 therefore does not render the claims patentably distinct.
Regarding claims 14–16, the copending claims recite the same dual-heater architecture and controller operation. The additional arrangement and activation limitations constitute obvious variations of the same aerosol-provision device and control architecture.
Regarding claim 17, copending claim 8 requires the first and second heaters to be configured to heat aerosol-generating material in solid form. Instant claim 17 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 18, copending claim 9 requires the first and second heaters to be configured to heat aerosol-generating material comprising tobacco. Instant claim 18 therefore is not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747