DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed October 21, 2025 has been entered. Claims 15 – 17, 21 – 30, 35 and 37 – 40 are pending in the application with claims 1 – 14, 18 – 20, 31 – 34 and 36 being cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 – 25, 28 – 30 and 38 – 40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 15: “through the fan to” should read --by the fan to--.
Claim 21, line 5: “a pump assembly” should read --the pump assembly--.
Claim 21, line 12: “an air from an environment” should read --the air from the environment --.
Claim 21, line 15 and line 16: “the conduit” should read --the conduit feed port--.
In each of claims 23, 24 and 25, lines 1-2: “the sound reduction conduit” should read --a sound reduction conduit--.
Claim 28, line 13: “the conduit” should read --a conduit--.
Claim 29, lines 1-2: “said sound reduction conduit” should read --said
Claim 38, lines 7-8: “which flows to cool the motor a separate a feed pump stream” should read --which flows to cool the motor and a separate
Claim 38, line 11: “which motor stream” should read --which the motor stream--.
Claim 38, line 14: “the portal distance” should read --a portal distance--.
Claims 16, 17, 26, 27 and 35 are objected to for being dependent on claim 15.
Claims 22 – 25 are objected to for being dependent on claim 21.
Claims 29 and 30 are objected to for being dependent on claim 28.
Claims 39 and 40 are objected to for being dependent on claim 38.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiners Note
PTO-Form 892 hereby provides Human-assisted machine translation for previously cited references of Wenqi Wang (CN 102162440A) and Chen et al. (CN 101737303A). The rejections below cites the disclosure of from this new translation for respective references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 – 17, 21 – 30, 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenqi Wang (CN 102162440A – herein after Wang) in view of Chen et al. (CN 101737303A – herein after Chen) and evidenced by Crago, William T. (evidence reference 1; US 4,264,282 – herein after Crago) and/or Allard, Edward F. (evidence reference 2; US 4,516,657 – herein after Allard).
In reference to claim 15, Wang teaches a compressor assembly (in fig. 1), comprising (see figs. 1-6):
a fan (5; in fig. 5 and ¶31) which generates a cooling air (referred as “cold air”; see ¶31) from an air of an environment in which the compressor assembly is placed (as evident from disclosure in ¶24 and ¶28);
a pump assembly (see fig. A below) having a cylinder head (see fig. A below) and a pump (6, see ¶24) driven by a drive belt (see fig. A below);
a universal motor (4) having a commutator (see fig. A below) configured between the fan and a stator (see fig. A below), and configured to drive the drive belt [universal motor is a motor with a commutator which is designed to run on either DC or AC supply; as admitted by the applicant in the arguments filed 07/13/2022 on page 9 in bottom annotated figure, the motor of Wang has a commutator, thus the motor in Wang is a universal motor];
an air ducting shroud (air guide shroud 7, see ¶24) covering at least a portion of the universal motor (as seen in fig. 5 and 6) and configured to segment the cooling air flow into a feed pump stream (second cold airflow 76, see ¶24) and a motor stream (first cold airflow 75, see ¶24); and
a conduit (second air guide shroud 74, see ¶24) which receives the feed pump stream from the fan through a conduit feed port (labeled “c.f.p.” in fig. A below);
wherein the feed pump stream is configured to flow through the conduit to cool the pump assembly (see ¶24),
wherein the conduit (74) is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air having the air from the environment in which the compressor assembly is placed provided by the fan to the conduit feed port (as evident from fig. A below and disclosure in ¶24);
wherein the motor stream (75) is separate from the feed pump stream (76) and is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air having the air from the environment in which the compressor assembly is placed provided through the fan (5; see ¶24),
wherein the motor stream flows through the air ducting shroud along at least a portion of an inner motor side of the air ducting shroud to cool at least a portion of the motor (as discussed in ¶24) [“a portion of an inner motor side of the air ducting shroud” = space inside of the air ducting shroud 7 within which motor is present].
Figure A: Edited figs. 3 and 5 of Wang to show claim interpretation.
Wang does not teach the compressor assembly, wherein the conduit is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air having the air from the environment in which the compressor assembly is placed provided through the fan to the conduit feed port “at a location between the fan and the commutator”.
However, Chen teaches a similar compressor assembly (see figs. 1-2) comprising a conduit (see fig. B below) having a conduit feed port (labelled “c.f.p.”), wherein the conduit is configured to receive a portion of a cooling air at an exit of the fan or right after the exit of the fan (see circled region in fig. B below that is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air) [also see ¶19 of translation: “It should be noted that the housing 2 completely or partially covers the motor stator 3, crankcase 5, cylinder 7, valve seat 9, or cylinder head 10, forming a so-called air duct 11. The air duct 11 can consist of one flow channel or several flow channels; there can be only one air duct 11. There can be multiple air ducts 11. The gas in the air ducts 11 can flow continuously, converge, or branch. Continuous flow means that the airflow in each air duct 11 or channel does not cross-flow during the flow process. Converging flow means that two or more air ducts 11 or channels merge and flow together. Branching flow means that one air duct 11 or channel branches into two or more airflow streams].
Fig. B: Edited fig. 2 of Chen to show claim interpretation.
Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation of receiving the portion of the cooling air “at a location between the fan and the commutator”, i.e. no explicit criticality is stated as to why “a portion of the cooling air” needs to be fed between the commutator and the fan. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang’s shroud, in particular the conduit feed port in Wang’s shroud, for dividing the cooling fan flow prior to the upstream of the commutator in view of Chen who teaches dividing the cooling fan flow at or near the exit of the fan for the purpose of preventing a heating of a portion of the cooling air prior to being needed to cool the cylinder head in Wang [Additional note: Upon further consideration of Wang, the presented directional arrow “76” in Wang’s fig. 5, indicating the feed pump stream, starts as a horizontal line and then angles down towards port/opening 72. This implies portion of this feed pump stream coming from a region (see circled region in fig. A above) that is upstream of the commutator. Thus, implying another “port” to be present in the vicinity of that circled region that allows this stream 76 (referred as “second cold air flow” in ¶24 of translation)].
Wang teaches the compressor assembly wherein the cooling air follows a tortuous path (see fig. A above). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this tortuous path provides or plays a role for noise attenuation during operation of the compressor. Thus, the compressor assembly of Wang reducing the sound during operation of the compressor to some extent.
Wang further remains silent on “wherein the compressor assembly emits a sound level having a value in a range of 60 dBA to 75 dBA when the compressor is in a compressing state”.
Providing a compressor housing capable of providing a noise level which is in a range of 60 dBA to 75 dBA is well known from earlier filed patents of Crago and Allard, which are cited as evidence. Crago discloses (in Col. 7, lines 12-15) the compressor designed to achieve sound level of 60dBA. Allard discloses (in Col. 1, lines 6-8 and lines 60-62) the techniques to suppress sound level in air compressor to 72dBA are known. Allard further discloses (in Col. 1, lines 30-33) that the EPA issued a temporary goal of 75 dBA for field equipment with an ultimate goal of 65 dBA. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide claimed noise level to the compressor of Wang, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it would also have been an obvious matter of optimizing the system for the desired environment in order to meet safety requirements of nearby workers or to meet codes and other requirements and would not affect the device in an unknown, novel or nonobvious manner. Therefore, it would have been an obvious goal to modify the compressor so that it operates as quietly as possible.
In reference to claim 16, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, further comprising: a cylinder head shroud (see fig. A above) that covers (in circumferential direction) at least a portion of the cylinder head (shown in fig. A above).
In reference to claim 17, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, wherein the air ducting shroud (7) provides a cooling air flow path (path travelled by air via 72) which receives the cooling air from the fan (5) and which exhausts (in view of fig. 1) a cooling air effluent in the direction of an exit port (9).
In reference to claim 21, Wang teaches a compressor assembly (in fig. 1), comprising (see figs. 1-6):
a pump assembly (see fig. A above);
a fan (5; in fig. 5 and ¶31) which generates a cooling air (referred as “cold air”; see ¶31) from an air of an environment in which the compressor assembly is placed (as evident from disclosure in ¶24 and ¶28);
the pump assembly (see fig. A above) having a cylinder head (see fig. A above) and a pump (6) driven by a drive belt (see fig. A above);
a motor (4) having a commutator (see fig. A above) configured between the fan and a stator (see fig. A above) and configured to drive the drive belt [as admitted by the applicant in the arguments filed 07/13/2022 on page 9 in bottom annotated figure, the motor of Wang has a commutator];
an air ducting shroud (air guide shroud 7, see ¶24) which segments the cooling air into at least a first stream of cooling air (second cold airflow 76, see ¶24) which flows through a conduit feed port (labelled “c.f.p” in fig. A above),
wherein the conduit feed port is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air having the air from the environment in which the compressor assembly is placed provided by the fan and fed to the conduit feed port (as evident from fig. A above and disclosure in ¶24);
wherein said air ducting shroud (7) is configured to channel at least the first stream of the cooling air (indicated by 76) through the conduit feed port to at least a portion of the cylinder head (see ¶24; flow exiting at 72) and to channel a second stream of the cooling air (first cold airflow 75, see ¶24) separately from the conduit feed port along at least a portion of the motor (as discussed in ¶24);
a housing (1) covering at least a portion of the air ducting shroud (7) [in view of figs. 1 and 2: the shaded portion (see fig. C below) of the housing 1 overlaps/covers the air ducting shroud on the right].
Fig. C: Edited fig. 2 of Wang to show claim interpretation.
Wang does not teach the compressor assembly wherein the conduit feed port is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air having the air from the environment in which the compressor assembly is placed provided by the fan and fed to the conduit feed port “from a location between the fan and the commutator”.
However, Chen teaches a similar compressor assembly (see figs. 1-2) wherein a sound reduction conduit (see fig. B above) having a conduit feed port (labelled “c.f.p.”) is configured to receive a portion of a cooling air at an exit of the fan or right after the exit of the fan (see circled region in fig. B above that is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air) [also see ¶19 of translation: “It should be noted that the housing 2 completely or partially covers the motor stator 3, crankcase 5, cylinder 7, valve seat 9, or cylinder head 10, forming a so-called air duct 11. The air duct 11 can consist of one flow channel or several flow channels; there can be only one air duct 11. There can be multiple air ducts 11. The gas in the air ducts 11 can flow continuously, converge, or branch. Continuous flow means that the airflow in each air duct 11 or channel does not cross-flow during the flow process. Converging flow means that two or more air ducts 11 or channels merge and flow together. Branching flow means that one air duct 11 or channel branches into two or more airflow streams…”].
Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation of receiving the portion of the cooling air “from a location between the fan and the commutator”, i.e. no explicit criticality is stated as to why “a portion of the cooling air” needs to be fed between the commutator and the fan. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang’s shroud, in particular an opening (i.e. conduit feed port) of the sound reduction conduit in Wang’s shroud, for dividing the cooling fan flow prior to the upstream of the commutator in view of Chen who teaches dividing the cooling fan flow at or near the exit of the fan for the purpose of preventing a heating of a portion of the cooling air prior to be being needed to cool the cylinder head in Wang [Additional note: Upon further consideration of Wang, the presented directional arrow “76” in Wang’s fig. 5, indicating the feed pump stream, starts as a horizontal line and then angles down towards port/opening 72. This implies portion of this feed pump stream coming from a region (see circled region in fig. A above) that is upstream of the commutator. Thus, implying another “port” to be present in the vicinity of that circled region that allows this stream 76 (referred as “second cold air flow” in ¶24 of translation)].
Wang teaches the compressor assembly that reduces the sound to some extent. The tortuous path traveled by air that is introduced into air compressor provides for noise attenuation during operation of the compressor.
Wang remains silent on “wherein the compressor assembly emits a sound level having a value in a range of 60 dBA to 75 dBA when the compressor is in a compressing state”.
Providing a compressor housing capable of providing a noise level which is in a range of 60 dBA to 75 dBA is well known from earlier filed patents of Crago and Allard, which are cited as evidence. Crago discloses (in Col. 7, lines 12-15) the compressor designed to achieve sound level of 60dBA. Allard discloses (in Col. 1, lines 6-8 and lines 60-62) the techniques to suppress sound level in air compressor to 72dBA are known. Allard further discloses (in Col. 1, lines 30-33) that the EPA issued a temporary goal of 75 dBA for field equipment with an ultimate goal of 65 dBA. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide claimed noise level to the compressor of Wang, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it would also have been an obvious matter of optimizing the system for the desired environment in order to meet safety requirements of nearby workers or to meet codes and other requirements and would not affect the device in an unknown, novel or nonobvious manner. Therefore, it would have been an obvious goal to modify the compressor so that it operates as quietly as possible.
In reference to claim 22, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, wherein said motor is a universal motor [i.e. universal motor is a motor with a commutator which is designed to run on either DC or AC supply; as admitted by the applicant in the arguments filed 07/13/2022 on page 9 in bottom annotated figure, the motor of Wang has a commutator, thus the motor in Wang is a universal motor].
In reference to claim 23, Wang, as modified, teaches the compressor assembly, wherein a sound reduction conduit (74) provides the cooling air to cool at least in part the pump assembly (shown in fig. A above) and to cool at least in part a compressed gas outlet line (11) {the cooling of both components (part of the pump assembly and gas outlet line) is achieved by flow exiting at 72; it is to be noted that the compressor assembly is covered by housing 1 in view of figs. 1 and 2; and the outlet 9 in the housing is downstream of the asserted pump assembly}.
In reference to claim 24, Wang, as modified, teaches the compressor assembly, wherein a sound reduction conduit (74) provides a cooling air flow path (path travelled by air via 72) which receives the cooling air from the fan (5) and which exhausts (in view of fig. 1) a cooling air effluent in the direction of an exit port (9).
In reference to claim 25, Wang, as modified, teaches the compressor assembly, wherein a sound reduction conduit (74) provides a cooling air flow path (flow 76) which receives the cooling air from the fan (5) and directs the cooling air to the cylinder head (in fig. A above) and a compressed gas outlet line (11) {the cooling of both components (cylinder head and gas outlet line) is achieved by flow exiting at 72; it is to be noted that the compressor assembly is covered by housing 1 in view of figs. 1 and 2; and the outlet 9 in the housing is downstream of the asserted pump assembly}.
In reference to claim 26, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, further comprising:
a scoop (see fig. A above) that covers (in circumferential direction) at least a portion of a compressed gas outlet line (“compressed gas outlet line” is a port in the cylinder head through which the compressed gas exists into the conduit 11; the asserted scoop covers the cylinder head, thus covering “a portion of a compressed gas outlet line”).
In reference to claim 27, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, further comprising:
a cylinder head shroud (see fig. A above) that covers (in circumferential direction) at least a portion of the cylinder head (shown in fig. A above) and a scoop (see fig. A above) that covers (in circumferential direction) at least a portion of a compressed gas outlet line (“compressed gas outlet line” is a port in the cylinder head through which the compressed gas exists into the conduit 11; the asserted scoops covers the cylinder head, thus covering “a portion of a compressed gas outlet line”).
In reference to claim 28, Wang teaches a compressor assembly (in fig. 1), comprising (see figs. 1-6):
a pump assembly (see fig. A above) having a cylinder head (see fig. A above) and a pump (6) driven by a drive belt (see fig. A above);
a motor (4) having a commutator (see fig. A above) configured between a fan (5; in fig. 5) and a stator (see fig. A above), and configured to drive the drive belt [as admitted by the applicant in the arguments filed 07/13/2022 on page 9 in bottom annotated figure, the motor of Wang has a commutator];
the fan (5; in fig. 5 and ¶31) which generates a cooling air (referred as “cold air”; see ¶31) from an air of an environment in which the compressor assembly is placed (as evident from disclosure in ¶24 and ¶28);
an air ducting shroud (air guide shroud 7, see ¶24) configured to segment a portion of the cooling air exiting the fan and separate at least a first cooling air flow (second cold airflow 76, see ¶24) to cool the pump assembly from a second cooling air flow (first cold airflow 75, see ¶24) to cool at least a portion of said motor (4), and
wherein at least a portion of a conduit (74) configured to receive a portion of the cooling air (indicated by 76),
a housing (cover 1) which houses at least a portion of the air ducting shroud and at least a portion of the conduit [see ¶4: “an air compressor, including a housing, an air tank, and an air compression device, wherein the air compression device is disposed on the air tank, and the housing is disposed outside the air compression device. The air compression device includes a base, a drive motor, a fan blade, an air pump, and an air guide shroud..” and see ¶24: “The air compression device is mounted on the air tank 2, and the housing 1 is disposed outside the air compression device. The air compression device includes a base 3, a drive motor 4, a fan blade 5, an air pump 6, and an air guide shroud 7...”; in view of figs. 1 and 2: cover 1 is partially shown, however in view of the above cited disclosure, other portion (not shown in drawings) of this cover houses the air ducting shroud and the conduit]
Wang does not teach the compressor assembly wherein at least a portion of the conduit configured to receive a portion of the cooling air “at a location between the fan and the commutator”.
However, Chen teaches a similar compressor assembly (see figs. 1-2) wherein at least a portion of a sound reduction conduit (see fig. B above: labelled “conduit”) is configured to receive a portion of a cooling air at an exit of the fan or right after the exit of the fan (see circled region in fig. B above that is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air) [also see ¶19 of translation: “It should be noted that the housing 2 completely or partially covers the motor stator 3, crankcase 5, cylinder 7, valve seat 9, or cylinder head 10, forming a so-called air duct 11. The air duct 11 can consist of one flow channel or several flow channels; there can be only one air duct 11. There can be multiple air ducts 11. The gas in the air ducts 11 can flow continuously, converge, or branch. Continuous flow means that the airflow in each air duct 11 or channel does not cross-flow during the flow process. Converging flow means that two or more air ducts 11 or channels merge and flow together. Branching flow means that one air duct 11 or channel branches into two or more airflow streams…”].
Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation of receiving the portion of the cooling air “at a location between the fan and the commutator” i.e. no explicit criticality is stated as to why “a portion of the cooling air” needs to be fed between the commutator and the fan. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang’s shroud, in particular an opening (i.e. conduit feed port) of the sound reduction conduit in Wang’s shroud, for dividing the cooling fan flow prior to the upstream of the commutator in view of Chen who teaches dividing the cooling fan flow at or near the exit of the fan for the purpose of preventing a heating of a portion of the cooling air prior to be being needed to cool the cylinder head in Wang [Additional note: Upon further consideration of Wang, the presented directional arrow “76” in Wang’s fig. 5, indicating the feed pump stream, starts as a horizontal line and then angles down towards port/opening 72. This implies portion of this feed pump stream coming from a region (see circled region in fig. A above) that is upstream of the commutator. Thus, implying another “port” to be present in the vicinity of that circled region that allows this stream 76 (referred as “second cold air flow” in ¶24 of translation)].
Wang teaches the compressor assembly that reduces the sound to some extent. The tortuous path traveled by air that is introduced into air compressor provides for noise attenuation during operation of the compressor.
Wang remains silent on “wherein the compressor assembly emits a sound level having a value in a range of 60 dBA to 75 dBA when the compressor is in a compressing state”.
Providing a compressor housing capable of providing a noise level which is in a range of 60 dBA to 75 dBA is well known from earlier filed patents of Crago and Allard, which are cited as evidence. Crago discloses (in Col. 7, lines 12-15) the compressor designed to achieve sound level of 60dBA. Allard discloses (in Col. 1, lines 6-8 and lines 60-62) the techniques to suppress sound level in air compressor to 72dBA are known. Allard further discloses (in Col. 1, lines 30-33) that the EPA issued a temporary goal of 75 dBA for field equipment with an ultimate goal of 65 dBA. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide claimed noise level to the compressor of Wang, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it would also have been an obvious matter of optimizing the system for the desired environment in order to meet safety requirements of nearby workers or to meet codes and other requirements and would not affect the device in an unknown, novel or nonobvious manner. Therefore, it would have been an obvious goal to modify the compressor so that it operates as quietly as possible.
In reference to claim 29, Wang, as modified, teaches the compressor assembly, wherein said conduit (74) is configured to direct a portion of the cooling air (flow 76) to at least a portion of a compressed gas outlet line (11) {the cooling of component (compressed gas outlet line) is achieved by flow 76 exiting at 72; it is to be noted that the compressor assembly is covered by housing 1 in view of figs. 1 and 2; and outlet 9 in the housing is downstream of the asserted pump assembly}.
In reference to claim 30, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, wherein said motor is a universal motor [universal motor is a motor with a commutator which is designed to run on either DC or AC supply; as admitted by the applicant in the arguments filed 07/13/2022 on page 9 in bottom annotated figure, the motor of Wang has a commutator, thus the motor in Wang is a universal motor].
In reference to claim 35, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, wherein a portion of the feed pump stream (76) is received as a radial flow from the fan (5).
In reference to claim 38, Wang teaches a compressor assembly (in fig. 1), comprising (see figs. 1-6):
a fan (5; in fig. 5 and ¶31) which generates a cooling air (referred as “cold air”; see ¶31);
a pump assembly (see fig. A above) having a cylinder head (see fig. A above) and a pump (6) driven by a drive belt (see fig. A above);
a universal motor (4) having a commutator (see fig. A above) configured between the fan and a stator (see fig. A above), and configured to drive the drive belt [i.e. universal motor is a motor with a commutator which is designed to run on either DC or AC supply; as admitted by the applicant in the arguments filed 07/13/2022 on page 9 in bottom annotated figure, the motor of Wang has a commutator, thus the motor in Wang is a universal motor];
an air ducting shroud (air guide shroud 7, see ¶24) covering at least a portion of the universal motor (as seen in fig. 5 and 6) and configured to segment the cooling air flow into at least a motor stream (first cold airflow 75, see ¶24) which flows to cool the motor and a separate feed pump stream (second cold airflow 76, see ¶24) which flows through a conduit (74, see ¶24-¶26 of translation) having a conduit feed port (labeled “c.f.p.” in fig. A above);
at least a first motor path (see fig. D below) formed between a portion of the air ducting shroud and the motor through which the motor stream flows to cool the motor,
wherein the conduit feed port is configured at least in part to receive a portion of the cooling air (this portion of the cooling air forming the stream 76) at a location along a portal distance (see fig. D below);
wherein the feed pump stream (76) is fed through the conduit (74) to cool at least a portion of the cylinder head (see ¶24; flow exiting at 72); and
wherein the motor stream (75) flows through the air ducting shroud to cool at least a portion of the universal motor (as discussed in ¶24),
wherein the motor stream (75) which has been segmented from the cooling air has at least a portion channeled through the air ducting shroud as feed to the first motor path, and
wherein the conduit (74) and first motor path are separated by a portion (labeled “wall portion” in fig. D below) of the air ducting shroud (7).
Fig. D: Edited fig. 5 of Wang to show the modified compressor.
Wang does not teach the compressor assembly, wherein the conduit feed port is configured at least in part to receive a portion of cooling air “at a location along the portal distance between the fan and the commutator”.
However, Chen teaches a similar compressor assembly (see figs. 1-2) wherein a conduit (see fig. B above) having a conduit feed port (labelled “c.f.p.”) is configured at least in part to receive a portion of a cooling air at an exit of the fan or right after the exit of the fan (see circled region in fig. B above that is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air) [also see ¶19 of translation: “It should be noted that the housing 2 completely or partially covers the motor stator 3, crankcase 5, cylinder 7, valve seat 9, or cylinder head 10, forming a so-called air duct 11. The air duct 11 can consist of one flow channel or several flow channels; there can be only one air duct 11. There can be multiple air ducts 11. The gas in the air ducts 11 can flow continuously, converge, or branch. Continuous flow means that the airflow in each air duct 11 or channel does not cross-flow during the flow process. Converging flow means that two or more air ducts 11 or channels merge and flow together. Branching flow means that one air duct 11 or channel branches into two or more airflow streams…”].
Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation of “receive a portion of the cooling air at a location along the portal distance being between the fan and the commutator”, i.e. no explicit criticality is stated as to why “a portion of the cooling air” needs to be fed at the location between the commutator and the fan. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang’s shroud, in particular the conduit feed port in Wang’s shroud, for dividing the cooling fan flow prior to the upstream of the commutator in view of Chen who teaches dividing the cooling fan flow at or near the exit of the fan for the purpose of preventing a heating of a portion of the cooling air prior to be being needed to cool the cylinder head in Wang [Additional note: Upon further consideration of Wang, the presented directional arrow “76” in Wang’s fig. 5, indicating the feed pump stream, starts as a horizontal line and then angles down towards port/opening 72. This implies portion of this feed pump stream coming from a region (see circled region in fig. A above) that is upstream of the commutator. Thus, implying another “port” to be present in the vicinity of that circled region that allows this stream 76 (referred as “second cold air flow” in ¶24 of translation)].
Claims 37, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenqi Wang (CN 102162440A – herein after Wang) in view of Chen et al. (CN 101737303A – herein after Chen) and evidenced by Lucas et al. (US 6,447,264 – herein after Lucas).
In reference to claim 37, Wang teaches a compressor assembly (in fig. 1), comprising (see figs. 1-6):
a fan (5; in fig. 5 and ¶31) which generates a cooling air (referred as “cold air”; see ¶31);
a pump assembly (see fig. A above) having a cylinder head (see fig. A above) and a pump (6) driven by a drive belt (see fig. A above);
a universal motor (4) having a commutator (see fig. A above) configured between the fan and a stator (see fig. A above), and configured to drive the drive belt [i.e. universal motor is a motor with a commutator which is designed to run on either DC or AC supply; as admitted by the applicant in the arguments filed 07/13/2022 on page 9 in bottom annotated figure, the motor of Wang has a commutator, thus the motor in Wang is a universal motor];
an air ducting shroud (air guide shroud 7, see ¶24) covering at least a portion of the universal motor (as seen in fig. 5 and 6) and configured to segment the cooling air flow into at least a motor stream (first cold airflow 75, see ¶24) and a feed pump stream (second cold airflow 76, see ¶24); and
a conduit (second air guide shroud 74, see ¶24) having a conduit feed port (labeled “c.f.p.” in fig. A above);
wherein the conduit feed port is configured to have a portal distance (see fig. D above),
wherein the air ducting shroud (7) is configured to separate the feed pump stream which has been segmented from the cooling air flow and feeds at least a portion of the feed pump stream through the conduit feed port (as evident from fig. A above and disclosure in ¶24);
wherein the feed pump stream flows through the conduit to cool at least a portion of the cylinder head (see ¶24; flow exiting at 72); and
wherein the segmented motor stream flows through the air ducting shroud to cool at least a portion of the motor (as discussed in ¶24).
Wang further does not teach the compressor assembly, wherein the conduit feed port is configured to receive a portion of the feed pump stream “at a location along the portal distance between the fan and the commutator”.
However, Chen teaches a similar compressor assembly (see figs. 1-2) wherein a conduit (see fig. B above) having a conduit feed port (labelled “c.f.p.”) is configured at least in part to receive a portion of a cooling air at an exit of the fan or right after the exit of the fan (see circled region in fig. B above that is configured to receive a portion of the cooling air) [also see ¶19 of translation: “It should be noted that the housing 2 completely or partially covers the motor stator 3, crankcase 5, cylinder 7, valve seat 9, or cylinder head 10, forming a so-called air duct 11. The air duct 11 can consist of one flow channel or several flow channels; there can be only one air duct 11. There can be multiple air ducts 11. The gas in the air ducts 11 can flow continuously, converge, or branch. Continuous flow means that the airflow in each air duct 11 or channel does not cross-flow during the flow process. Converging flow means that two or more air ducts 11 or channels merge and flow together. Branching flow means that one air duct 11 or channel branches into two or more airflow streams…”].
Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation of feeding at least a portion of the feed pump stream through the conduit feed port “at a location along the portal distance being between the fan and the commutator”, i.e. no explicit criticality is stated as to why “a portion of the feed pump stream” needs to be fed at the location between the commutator and the fan. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang’s shroud, in particular the conduit feed port in Wang’s shroud, for dividing the cooling fan flow prior to the upstream of the commutator in view of Chen who teaches dividing the cooling fan flow at or near the exit of the fan for the purpose of preventing a heating of a portion of the cooling air prior to be being needed to cool the cylinder head in Wang [Additional note: Upon further consideration of Wang, the presented directional arrow “76” in Wang’s fig. 5, indicating the feed pump stream, starts as a horizontal line and then angles down towards port/opening 72. This implies portion of this feed pump stream coming from a region (see circled region in fig. A above) that is upstream of the commutator. Thus, implying another “port” to be present in the vicinity of that circled region that allows this stream 76 (referred as “second cold air flow” in ¶24 of translation)].
Wang does not teach the compressor assembly, wherein the conduit feed port has “a conduit entrance height and a conduit entrance length” and the portal distance (see fig. D above) “extends along a largest minor axis chord of the conduit feed port”.
A claimed feature “a conduit entrance height and a conduit entrance length” and a claimed extension “along a largest minor axis chord of the conduit feed port” is dependent on a shape of the port itself. The terms minor and major axis are associated with elliptical shapes and these shapes have height (i.e. width) and length. As evidenced by Lucas, a circular shaped (special form of ellipse) opening (168, in fig. 3) is shown which directs stream of air into an air inlet opening of the compressor (see col. 4, lines 45-49).
Thus, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the fluid feed port in Wang to have an elliptical shape so that the conduit feed port has “a conduit entrance height and a conduit entrance length” and “the portal distance extends along a largest minor axis chord of the conduit feed port” since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Furthermore, applicant places no criticality on having a particular shape of the conduit feed port.
In reference to claim 39, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, wherein the conduit feed port (labelled “c.f.p.” in fig. A above) has a certain cross-sectional area.
Wang remains silent on the cross-sectional area “in a range of 1.6 in2 to 36 in2”.
“A cross-sectional area of the conduit feed port” is a result effective variable since this area is dependent on the sizing of the opening/port which in turn affects the fluid flow therethrough (i.e. bigger port/opening allowing more fluid flow while smaller port/opening allowing less fluid flow). This is further evidenced by Lucas (see col. 4, lines 54-61), “The openings 144, 168, 176, and 148 (FIG. 2), and the restricted flow passageway created by the partition 180, are sized to provide a flow of air through the second compartment 120 to prevent the compressor 136 and motor 140 from overheating, and to ensure that the right amount of air flows into the air inlet opening of the compressor 136 so that the compressor 136 does not starve because of a lack of air”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the cross-sectional area of the conduit feed port “in a range of 1.6 in2 to 36 in2” in Wang’s fan since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, applicant places no criticality on the claimed range of cross-sectional area, indicating simply (see ¶189 of pg. pub of the instant application) “In an embodiment, the cross-sectional area of a conduit feed port 3999 can have a value in a range of from 1.0 in^2 to 5000 in^2, or larger. In further embodiments, the area of a conduit feed port 3999 can be 2.20 in^2; or 1.6 in^2; or 36 in^2” [the phrase “can” indicating a possibility or probability] and (see ¶169 of pg. pub of the instant application) “The following dimensions of air ducting shroud are shown in FIGS. 24-36. The dimensions are example dimensions for which an air ducting shroud 485 can be designed to achieve noise reduction in a compressor assembly. The dimension provided below are intended to provide examples and ranges which will accommodate a variety of motors, fans and pumps. Further, the dimension are intended to provide examples and ranges which will achieve efficient heat transfer rates from the pump assembly 25 and parts thereof. Additionally, the dimensions below provide examples and ranges which will achieve effective and quieter air flow paths to the pump assembly 25 and parts thereof”.
In reference to claim 40, Wang teaches the compressor assembly, further comprising a certain ratio of an internal cross-sectional area of the air ducting shroud to a cross-sectional area of the conduit feed port (labelled “c.f.p.” in fig. A above).
Wang remains silent on the ratio “in a range of 2:1 to 50:1”.
“A cross-sectional area of the conduit feed port” is a result effective variable since this area is dependent on the sizing of the opening/port which in turn affects the fluid flow therethrough (i.e. bigger port/opening allowing more fluid flow while smaller port/opening allowing less fluid flow). This is further evidenced by Lucas (see col. 4, lines 54-61), “The openings 144, 168, 176, and 148 (FIG. 2), and the restricted flow passageway created by the partition 180, are sized to provide a flow of air through the second compartment 120 to prevent the compressor 136 and motor 140 from overheating, and to ensure that the right amount of air flows into the air inlet opening of the compressor 136 so that the compressor 136 does not starve because of a lack of air”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ratio “in a range of 2:1 to 50:1” in Wang’s fan since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, applicant places no criticality on the claimed ratio, indicating simply (see ¶190 of pg. pub of the instant application) “The ratio of the area of the internal cross-sectional area of the air ducting shroud 3995 to the conduit feed port 3999 can have a range of 2:1 to 50:1. In further embodiments, the ratio of the area of the internal cross-sectional area of the air ducting shroud 3995 to the conduit feed port 3999 can be 11:1; or 7.57:1; or 4:1; or 3.5:1; or 3:1. The ratio of the area of the internal cross-sectional area of the air ducting shroud 3995 to the conduit feed port 3999 can contribute to the balance of cooling air which flows to the various parts of the pump assembly 25. For example, the balance between how much cooling air flow cools the motor 33 and how much cooling air flow passes through conduit 253 to the cylinder head 61 area” [the phrase “can” indicating a possibility or probability] and (see ¶169 of pg. pub of the instant application) “The following dimensions of air ducting shroud are shown in FIGS. 24-36. The dimensions are example dimensions for which an air ducting shroud 485 can be designed to achieve noise reduction in a compressor assembly. The dimension provided below are intended to provide examples and ranges which will accommodate a variety of motors, fans and pumps. Further, the dimension are intended to provide examples and ranges which will achieve efficient heat transfer rates from the pump assembly 25 and parts thereof. Additionally, the dimensions below provide examples and ranges which will achieve effective and quieter air flow paths to the pump assembly 25 and parts thereof”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated October 21, 2025, with respect to independent claims 15, 21, 28, 37 and 38 have been fully considered but they are not found to be persuasive.
With respect to Wang (see pages 12-14), description under “Detailed Technical Analysis of Wang”: Applicant has presented similar arguments as previously presented and addressed. No new arguments are presented. However, please note the following in view of further consideration of Wang. The presented directional arrow “76” in Wang’s fig. 5, indicating the feed pump stream, starts as a horizontal line and then angles down towards port/opening 72. This implies portion of this feed pump stream coming from a region (see circled region in fig. A above) that is upstream of the commutator. Thus, implying “a port” to be present in the vicinity of that circled region that allows this stream 76 (referred as “second cold air flow” in ¶24 of translation).
With respect to Chen (see pages 14-15), description under “Chen does not have a commutator”: Applicant has presented similar arguments as previously presented and addressed. No new arguments are presented.
With respect to Chen (see pages 15-16), description under “Chen’s Cover Shell”: Applicant has presented similar arguments as previously presented and addressed. No new arguments are presented. It is to be noted that even though Chen shows a shell with internal contours (as argued), Chen states (see ¶19 of translation): “It should be noted that the housing 2 completely or partially covers the motor stator 3, crankcase 5, cylinder 7, valve seat 9, or cylinder head 10, forming a so-called air duct 11. The air duct 11 can consist of one flow channel or several flow channels; there can be only one air duct 11. There can be multiple air ducts 11. The gas in the air ducts 11 can flow continuously, converge, or branch. Continuous flow means that the airflow in each air duct 11 or channel does not cross-flow during the flow process. Converging flow means that two or more air ducts 11 or channels merge and flow together. Branching flow means that one air duct 11 or channel branches into two or more airflow streams.” This cited disclosure outlines that the air duct can take on various structural and flow configurations, wherein one of the configurations “branching/branch” implies fluid from the cooling fan being divided at the exit of the fan or right after the exit of the fan into two or more separate streams for cooling different components.
With respect to Crago and Allard (see page 17): Applicant has presented similar arguments as previously presented and addressed. No new arguments are presented.
With respect to remarks presented in view of amendment made to the independent claims (see page 17 onwards): With respect to amended independent claims 15, 21, 37, 28 and 38, applicant has introduced new language in the claims which fail to structurally distinguish the instant invention over the prior arts of record. The claimed/argued concept/feature of “portion of the cooling air being fed into the conduit or conduit feed port between the fan and the commutator” remains the same. The arguments presented with respect to this feature has not been found to be persuasive because the combination of Wang and Chen teaches this feature. With respect to remark made for claim 21, examiner disagrees. As noted in the rejection, Wang teaches the claimed housing (1).
Conclusion