DETAILED ACTION
Continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim status
The examiner acknowledged the claims filed 04/23/2026.
Claims 1, 6, 8-17, 19-23, 25, 28 and 31 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 17, 19-23, 25, 28 and 31 are previously presented. Claims 2-5, 7, 18, 24, 26-27 and 29-30 are previously cancelled. Claims 10-16 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention (election was made without traverse in the reply filed 01/26/2016). Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 17, 19-23, 25, 28 and 31 are hereby examined on the merits.
Examiner Note
Any objections and/or rejections that are made in the previous actions and are not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 17, 20-22, 25, and 31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nissen US Patent No. 6,291,525 (hereinafter referred to as Nissen) in view of DeWille US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0305799 A1 (hereinafter referred to as DeWille) and Cirigliano US Patent No. 6,022,576 (hereinafter referred to as Cirigliano).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, 22 and 31, Nissen teaches a liquid composition (e.g., liquid drink such as water, coffee, tea, sports drink, orange drink or complete nutritional drink, etc.) comprising HMB free acid, or salt thereof for improving a human’s perception of his emotional state (column 2, line 59-60 and column 4, line 5-20; column 1, line 55-58). HMB free acid is a liquid in ambient temperature thus reading on the limitation that the HMB free acid in a liquid from.
Nissen does not teach that the liquid composition comprises 0.5-3 grams of HMB acid. However, Nissen teaches that any suitable dose of HMB so as to improve a human’s perception of his emotional state, can be used, and with respect to calcium salt of HMB to administer, the dose is 5-300 gm per kg of body weight per 24 hours (column 3, line 35-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have optimized the amount of HMB in the composition such that it could effectively improve a human’s perception of his emotional state. As such, the amount of HMB as recited in claim 1 is merely an obvious variant of the prior art.
Nissen is silent regarding the liquid composition comprising soluble protein such as those listed in claim 31 and vitamin.
In the same field of endeavor, DeWille teaches a nutritional liquid drink that is shelf stable comprising a source of HMB such as calcium HMB or HMB free acid, soluble protein such as whey protein concentrate, whey protein isolate, casein hydrolysate and hydrolyzed collagen, and at least one vitamin ( [0014; 0016; 0038; 0035; 0042; 0012; 0064; 0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nissen by including a soluble protein such whey protein concentrate, whey protein isolate and casein hydrolysate, and a vitamin with reasonable expectation of success, since prior art has established that it is suitable to add soluble protein and vitamin to a nutritional drink that comprises HMB to provide extra nutrients.
Nissen in view of DeWille results in a composition comprising whey protein concentrate, whey protein isolate or casein hydrolysate all of which are known to be soluble protein, thus reading on the limitations that the composition is free of hydrolyzed collagen.
Nissen as recited above includes the embodiment teaching HMB in free acid form thus not requiring calcium HMB; further, Nissen does not require the presence of any other ingredients such as calcium, or fat in the composition (column 2, line 59-60 and column 4, line 5-20; column 1, line 55-58), which is interpreted to read on the limitations that the composition is free of calcium, is non-emulsified type, and that the composition has a fat content of less than 1% by weight as recited in claims 1 and 22.
Nissen is silent regarding the pH of the liquid composition being 2-4.7 or 2-2.8 as recited in claim 1 and 8.
DeWille teaches that a nutritional liquid drink that comprises HMB free acid, a vitamin and a soluble protein can have a pH of about 2.8-4.6 ( [0014; 0038; 0012; 0067]).
Cirigliano teaches that lower pH such as 2.8-3.1 contributes to the microbial stability of a beverage (column 9, line 15-16; column 10, line 15; Table 9 and Table 10).
Both Nissen and DeWille are directed to nutritional drink comprising HMB, Both Nissen and Cirigliano are directed to beverages. Further, where DeWille teaches a beverage having an acidic pH, Cirigliano teaches that lower pH contributes the microbial stability of a beverage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nissen by including the pH as disclosed by DeWille with reasonable expectation of success, for the reason that prior art has established that it is suitable to adjust the pH of a nutritional liquid drink that comprises HMB free acid, a vitamin and a soluble protein to a range of 2.8-4.6, and a lower pH contributes to the microbial stability of a beverage.
The pH as disclosed by DeWille falls within or overlaps with the pH ranges as recited in claim 1 and claim 8. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Nissen as modified by DeWille and Cirigliano arrives at the composition as claimed it thus logically follows that the prior art composition has the stability property as claimed. See In re Best. Of note is that the claim does not recite the volume of the liquid composition.
Regarding Claim 9, Nissen as modified by DeWille teaches that the nutritional liquid has a pH of about 2.8-4.6 ([0014; 0031]), the lower endpoint of which is very close to the upper endpoint of the pH as recited in the claim (note that DeWille teaches a lower endcap of about 2.8, which allows a value that is slightly below 2.8, and claim 9 recites an upper endpoint of “about 2.75”, which allows a value that is slightly above 2.75) that a skilled artisan would have expected them to have the same properties, considering that both DeWille and the claimed invention are directed to liquid compositions that comprise HMB free acid, soluble protein and/or vitamin. It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 17, Nissen in view of DeWille and Cirigliano as enumerated above, teaches a liquid composition containing HMB acid, soluble protein and vitamin which is essentially identical with the claimed liquid composition, it thus logically follows that the liquid composition of Nissen in view of DeWille possesses the property of not imparting a change in flavor or metallic after-taste to the liquid composition (note that Table 4 of the instant specification recites that adding HMB free acid as opposed to HMB salt to a beverage does not change flavor and does not impart a metallic after-taste).
Regarding claim 20, Nissen in view of DeWille and Cirigliano does not teach the volume of the drink. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have selected any serving size such that the drink could effectively improve a human’s perception of his emotional state . As such the volume as recited in the claim is merely an obvious variant of the prior art.
Further, DeWille teaches a serving size of 100-591 ml (0032). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nissen by including the serving size as disclosed by Wille with reasonable expectation of success, for the reason that prior art establishes that a nutritional drink containing HMB can have a serving seize of 100-591 ml.
Regarding claim 21, as recited above, Nissen as modified by DeWille results in a composition comprising whey protein concentrate, whey protein isolate or casein hydrolysate all of which are known to be soluble protein, thus reading on the limitation that the soluble protein is the primary source of protein as recited in claims 21.
Regarding claim 25, DeWille teaches that the total protein (e.g., soluble and insoluble) is 3-5% ([0055]), which is roughly about 30-50 g/L (assuming a density of 1 g/ml). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nissen by incorporating the amount of soluble protein as disclosed by DeWille with reasonable expectation of success, for the reason that prior art has established that such an amount of soluble protein is suitable in a drink that comprises HMB.
Claims 19, 23 and 28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over DeWille (US 2011/0305799 A1) in view of Rathmacher, Fuller, Baier, Nissen, and Abumard US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0179112 A1 (cite in the IDS filed 08/13/2014, hereinafter referred to as Fuller).
Regarding claims 19, 23 and 28, DeWille teaches a substantially clear, non-emulsified liquid composition (e.g., nutritional liquid) that is shelf stable comprising a source of HMB such as calcium HMB or HMB free acid, soluble protein and at least one vitamin such as vitamin D ( [0014; 0016; 0038; 0035; 0012; 0064; 0067]). DeWille teaches that the liquid composition has a fat content of less than 1% by weight ([0027]). DeWille teaches that nutritional liquid has a pH of 2.8-4.6 ([0014; 0031]). HMB free acid is a liquid in ambient temperature thus reading on the limitation that the HMB free acid in a liquid from.
DeWille teaches that if calcium HMB is used as the source of HMB, the nutritional liquid comprises 0.5-3 gram of calcium HMB per 240 ml nutritional liquid ([0036]). DeWille is silent regarding the amount of HMB free acid in the nutritional liquid in the case where HMB free acid is used. However, the amount of HMB free acid in the composition depends on, inter alia, the serving size of the nutritional liquid. In the instant case, DeWille teaches a typical serving size ranges from 100-591 ml ([0032]). DeWille also teaches that HMB supplementation increased lean mass (0006); clinical studies also suggest that HMB has at least two functions in recovery from illness or injury including protection of lean mass from stress-related damage and enhancement of protein synthesis (0006); it has been suggested that HMB may also be useful in enhancing immune function, reducing the incidence or severity of allergy or asthma, reducing total serum cholesterol and low density lipoprotein cholesterol, increasing the aerobic capacity of muscle, etc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have optimized the concentration of HMB in a specific serving of the nutritional liquid such that it could suitably deliver the aforementioned health benefits. As such, the amount of HMB as recited in claim 19 are merely obvious variant of the prior art.
DeWille teaches that the soluble protein may represent from 65-100% by weight of the total protein in the liquid composition ([0038]), and that the soluble protein comprises whey protein concentrate, whey protein isolate, casein hydrolysate, hydrolyzed collagen or combination thereof ([0042]), thus reading on the limitation that the liquid composition is free of hydrolyzed collagen since DeWille lists hydrolyzed collagen and other proteins and does not require that hydrolyzed collagen has to be there.
Regarding the limitation that the liquid composition comprises a soluble salt selected from the group consisting of calcium carbonate, calcium citrate, calcium gluconate, calcium lactate, calcium phosphate, and calcium panthothenate, 0033 of DeWille teaches that the liquid composition comprises calcium, and 0051 of DeWille teaches that a calcium source other than Ca-HMB is suitable; further, 0071 of DeWille teaches that citric acid or phosphoric acid is included in making the liquid composition for adjust pH, therefore, the final liquid composition reasonably includes calcium phosphate or calcium citrate.
DeWille teaches that the nutritional liquid comprises a vitamin, for example, vitamin D at a concentration that is up to about 1000 IU (0012). The higher bound “about 1000 IU” as disclosed by DeWille is very close to an amount that is slightly greater than 1000 IU as encompassed by the range of greater than 1000 IU in claim 19 that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect they have same property, given that both the claimed invention and DeWille are directed to liquid composition comprising HMB, a protein and vitamin D. It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2144.05).
Further, Fuller in the same field of endeavor teaches an enteral liquid composition such as an orally used liquid composition for increasing muscle mass, strength and functionality (0028), the composition comprising HMB in free acid form and a vitamin such as vitamin D (0028; 0042; 0041; 0045), wherein a synergism exists between HMB and vitamin for improving muscle strength and function (0068) and wherein the amount of Vitamin D in the composition can be selecting an amount of Vitamin D within the range of greater than 500IU, as the below examples indicate that 500IU is the lower threshold for an effective amount in individuals with inadequate levels of Vitamin D in their bloodstream, yet not too much Vitamin D as to be toxic. For example, vitamin D in the composition can be 1000-4000 IU (0050-0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified DeWille by including vitamin D at an amount of 1000-4000 IU with reasonable expectation of success, for the reason that prior art has established such an amount is suitable to be present in a liquid composition that comprises HMB and Vitamin D for improving muscle function.
DeWille as modified by Fuller arrives at the composition as claimed it thus logically follows that the prior art composition has the stability property as claimed. See In re Best. Of note is that the claim does not recite the volume of the liquid composition.
Response to Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 04/23/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of pending claims based upon the references as set forth in the last Office action.
Declarant argues on page 2 of the declaration that the In re Best argument by the examiner is incorrect because prior art in combination (e.g., Nissen in view of DeWille and Cirigliano, or DeWille in view of Fuller) does not arrive at the claimed composition. In particular, declarant argues that none of the working embodiment in DeWille and Fuller teaches combining HMB free form with other ingredients thus selecting HMB free acid from the list of DeWille and then combining with other ingredients produces a different composition than what DeWille actually reduced to practice. Declarant then concludes that what prior art teaches is a composition that contains CaHMB, soluble protein and vitamins thus failing to possess the stability property as recited in claim 1. Declarant goes on to reproduce the results of Examples 1-4 of the instant specification which shows the superiority of HMB free acid to CaHMB in physical stability, organoleptic properties, long term stability and quantitative stability when in a liquid composition on pages 3-4 of the Declaration.
The arguments that prior art does not teach a liquid composition that contains HMB free acid are presented previously, to which the examiner has responded . Prior art teaches a liquid composition that comprises every ingredient of claim 1. See para. 38, 41 and 43 of the OA issued 03/14/2025 and para. 37 of the OA issued 03/29/2024.
It is noted that the arguments that the examples or working embodiments of prior art do not teach HMB free acid are not new either. Para. 37 of the OA issued 10/23/2025 has responded to such arguments.
Given that either Nissan or DeWille teaches HMB free acid, the showing that HMB is superior to CaHMB as in Examples 1-4 of the instant specification is not relevant to the pending rejection.
Further regarding Examples 1-4, it is found that they are not actually commensurate in scope with the claim 1, since where claim 1 requires that the liquid composition is free of calcium, Ensure Clear drink as used in Examples 1 and 2, ISOPURE protein drink as used in Examples 3-4, and Gatorade G3-Recover or Spartos protein water as used in Example 3 actually contain a good amount of calcium. Declarant is invited to shed light on that.
Regarding the examiner’s opinion that the arts as cited do not show otherwise, i.e., that the combination of HMB free acid and vitamin D will wreck the liquid composition, declarant argues on page 5 of the Declaration that the relevant question is whether a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that the liquid composition has specific stability and organoleptic properties when substituting HMB free acid for CaHMB. Declarant then uses several para. on pages 5-6 to reason that there is no reasonable expectation of success with the substitution.
The argument is considered. It is not persuasive because the argument is based on a hypothetical substitution of HMB free acid for CaHMB in the rejection. However, there is no such a substitution in the arts or in the rejection. Rather, the art as cited (e.g., Nissan or DeWille) teaches that CaHMB or HMB acid is individual and parallel embodiment, hence no substitution one for another. Declarant’s argument would have made more sense if the rejection were about a substitution of CaHMB in a primary reference by HMB free acid from a secondary reference.
Declarant argues on page 5 of the Declaration that none of the cited references including Nissan, DeWille, Cirigliano or Fuller provides any experimental data on the behaviour of HMB free acid in a liquid composition containing a soluble protein.
The argument is acknowledged. However, where cited arts in combination teaches a liquid composition comprising the aforementioned ingredients, it matters not there is no experimental data on the behavior of HMB free acid in a liquid composition containing a soluble protein. Declarant is basically requiring that in a 35 USC 103 rejection if a primary reference containing ingredient A is modified with a secondary reference containing ingredient B to obtain a composition comprising A + B, there must be some data on the behavior of A + B. Such a requirement is supported in patent law, in MPEP or in any legal precedents.
Declarant argues on page 5 of the Declaration that Fuller does not address the physical stability, clarity, sedimentation behavior or organoleptic properties of its composition at all, rather, Fuller’s disclosure focuses on therapeutic function.
The argument is acknowledged. However, there is no requirement for Fuller as a secondary reference to discuss physical stability, clarity, sedimentation behavior or organoleptic properties for the reference to be qualified to modify DeWille, after all, Fuller is cited to teach that it is suitable to include HMB free acid and Vitamin D in a liquid composition for oral administration, since the two has a synergism for improving muscle strength and function.
For the reasons set forth above, it is determined that the declaration is insufficient to overcome the rejection of pending claims based upon the references as set forth in the last Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but were found not be persuasive.
The examiner notes that essentially all the arguments made in the Remarks (e.g., on whether cited arts in combination arrive at the composition as claimed, on unexpected result, on the statement made by the examiner in para. 38 of the OA issued 10/23/2025, on the “In re Best” legal precedent as cited by the examiner, etc.) are presented in the concurrently filed declaration, applicant is thereby invited to refer to “Response to Declaration” above for the examiner’s stance.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANGQING LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791