DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 14/802,878 originally filed 07/17/2015. The amendment presented on 05/22/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, 12-13, 15, 17, 21-22 and claims 5, 7-8, 14, 16, 18-20, and 23-32 are cancelled is hereby acknowledged.
Currently Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-13, 15, 17, and 21-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-13, 15, 17, and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the Park reference: Park is clear in teaching that a protection layer is provided on the display of the mobile device to prevent external users of the HMD, including the user themselves when NOT wearing the HMD device, from viewing the content of the protected area. The second UI is combined with the first UI in such a way that the user can view the entirety of the content displayed on the external device and touch screen “because the second UI lies over components of the first UI, [such that] the user can readily see the one complete UI without any special efforts, simply by seeing the first and second UIs at the same time.” (Park, [0112]) Furthermore, only a component requiring privacy protection among components being displayed on the external device is displayed on the HMD while allowing other components to continue being viewed and displayed by the external device. (Park, [0178] and Fig. 13 as an example.) Park teaches on screen button (i.e. item 420, 511, 711 etc,) and teaches virtual keys (i.e. buttons) throughout the disclosure that can be pressed to “reduce portions of the virtual user interface” or perform other actions. The point and purpose of “reducing” a displayed virtual interface would be that it is not needed or to simply change the function. A user, in view of the Park disclosure, has the option to bring items for viewing on the HMD or not by simply pressing the button to apply privacy mode or remove the mode. It is rather obvious, and flows naturally from the disclosure, that a user completing, for example, entering a password, would no longer need privacy mode and close (by again pressing the button) the privacy window. This clearly minimizes or “reduces” the onscreen windows of the HMD thereby freeing up the display screen of the HMD and not impeding the users line of sight.
In addition, Park makes it expressly clear that the devices are used or not used in conjunction when the user provides an input to the “mode switching icon 420”. Thus, Park also teaches “a control element adapted to switch the mobile device back into a standalone mobile device no longer controlling the wearable head device”. Therefore, it is respectfully submitted the prior art teaches the claimed invention and the rejection will be currently maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-13, 15, 17, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujigaki U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0218171 A1 hereinafter Fujigaki and further in view of Park U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0139439 A1 hereinafter Park.
Consider Claim 1 and similar Method Claim 10:
Fujigaki A system comprising: (Fujigaki, See Abstract.)
a wearable head device having a see-through display, wherein: the wearable head device is configured to run a computer application, and the see-through display is adapted to present content associated with the computer application; (Fujigaki, [0106] The head-mounted display 200 includes a processing section 210, a display section 220, a communication section 230, and a template storage section 240. The processing section 210 performs various processes. For example, the processing section 210 executes a command that corresponds to an HTTP request from the client apparatus. The display section 220 displays a display image. The communication section 230 communicates with the client apparatus 100 via the gateway 300. The communication section 230 may communicate with the server system 400 via the gateway 300 and the network 10. The template storage section 240 stores a template of contents displayed on the display section 120 of the client apparatus 100. For example, the template storage section 240 stores a template of an operation screen that is used to operate the head-mounted display 200.”)
a mobile device comprising a touch screen, wherein the mobile device is adapted to communicate with the wearable head device; and (Fujigaki, [0105], “The client apparatus 100 includes an operation section 150, a display section 120, and a communication section 130. The operation section 150 allows the user to perform various operations. The operation section 150 includes a touch panel, an operation key, and the like. The display section 120 displays a display image. The communication section 130 communicates with the head-mounted display 200 via the gateway 300. The communication section 130 may communicate with the external server system via the gateway 300 and a network 10.”)
one or more processors of the wearable head device and the mobile device, wherein the one or more processors are adapted to perform: running the computer application on the wearable head device; providing for display, via the see-through display, a virtual user interface associated with the computer application running on the wearable head device; (Fujigaki, [0108], “The details of a process are described below using a flowchart shown in FIG. 2. In a step S101, the head-mounted display 200 is turned ON. The URL of the head-mounted display 200 is displayed on the display section 220 of the head-mounted display 200 (see FIG. 3) (S102). The client apparatus 100 connects to the head-mounted display 200 based on the URL displayed on the display section 220 (S103).”)
the mobile device receiving from the wearable head device an indication of a computer application the wearable head device is currently operating, out of a plurality of available computer applications on the wearable head device; (Fujigaki, [0102], [0110-0113], [0111], “The communication section 230 transmits the generated operation screen information to the client apparatus 100 (S104), and the client apparatus 100 displays an operation screen on the display section 120 based on the received operation screen information (S105). FIG. 5 shows a specific example of the operation screen and a specific example of a screen displayed on the head-mounted display 200 that is operated using the operation screen.”)
providing for display on the touch screen of the mobile device, a second user interface associated with the computer application running on the wearable head device on the touch screen based on the indication of the computer application, the second user interface adapted to control the computer application running on the wearable head device, (Fujigaki, [0131], “This makes it possible to access the contents that correspond to the given URL by operating the head-mounted display 200 using the client apparatus 100. More specifically, when the user has input the URL of the access target contents in the text input area of the operation screen (see A1 in FIG. 5), and pressed the GO button, the contents that correspond to the input URL can be displayed on the display section 220 of the head-mounted display 200, for example.”)
the second user interface including a control element adapted to switch the mobile device back into a standalone mobile device no longer controlling the wearable head device. (Fujigaki, [0133], [0123], [0122], “When the head-mounted display 200 has determined that the received command is not a command that opens the designated URL, the head-mounted display 200 determines whether or not the received command is a key operation command (S109). Specifically, the head-mounted display 200 checks the value of the parameter "command" of the command (HTTP request). The head-mounted display 200 determines that the received command is a key operation command when the value of the parameter "command" is set to "key", and determines that the received command is not is a key operation command when the value of the parameter "command" is not set to "key". When the head-mounted display 200 has determined that the received command is a key operation command, the head-mounted display 200 performs a page change process, a link selection process, a link destination page display process, or a previous page display process corresponding to the command (i.e., the value of the parameter "action") (S110). When the head-mounted display 200 has determined that the received command is not a key operation command in the step S109, or has completed the steps S108 and S110, the head-mounted display 200 transmits the command execution result (success or failure) to the client apparatus 100 as an HTTP response (S111).”)
Park however teaches a mobile device comprising a touch screen; and (Park, [0090-0096], [0058] “The plurality of sensors may include a gravity sensor, a geomagnetic sensor, a motion sensor, a gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor, an infrared sensor, an inclination sensor, an ambient light sensor, an altitude sensor, an odor sensor, a temperature sensor, a depth sensor, a pressure sensor, a bending sensor, an audio sensor, a video sensor, a Global Positioning System (GPS) sensor, a touch sensor, etc. These sensors may be included as separate elements in the HMD 300 or incorporated into at least one element in the HMD 300.”)
a control element adapted to switch the mobile device back into a standalone mobile device no longer controlling the wearable head device, and (Park, [0080], “In accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, the external device displays a mode switching icon 420 so that its mode may be switched according to a user input. That is, upon receipt of a user input requesting data protection from the user, for example, upon touch of the icon 420, the external device may switch to the protection mode.”)
wherein the second user interface is displayed on the touch screen such that the second user interface on the touch screen is viewable through the see-through display of the wearable head device. (Park, [0097], “FIG. 6 illustrates another embodiment of displaying UIs on the HMD and the external device according to the present invention. The second UI of the HMD is the same as the first UI of the external device in the afore-described embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment, the second UI of the HMD includes only a part of the components of the first UI of the external device.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an external device for control and/or communication with a head mounted display device as seen in both Fujigaki and Park and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of providing a Head Mounted Display User Interface (HMD UI), to provide an optimized HMD UI considering the ambient environmental conditions in the proximity of the HMD. Especially, another object of the exemplary embodiments is to apply the HMD UI differently based on whether a usable object for the HMD UI exists in the proximity of the HMD. One of these recognized benefits is that HMD can be used in conjunction with various external devices. The HMD is connected to an external device through a network and thus can output content received from the external. Furthermore, the HMD can receive a user input to the external device or perform an operation in interaction with the external device. (Park, [0010])
Consider Claim 2 and similar Method Claim 11:
Fujigaki in view of Park disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the second user interface comprises one or more indications of available computer applications to be operated on the wearable head device, wherein a selection of one of the indications initiates a corresponding computer application on the wearable head device. (Fujigaki, [0102], [0110-0113], Park, [0076], [0039], “An external device 100 according to the present invention may output various types of content 111. For example, the external device 100 may output a variety of multimedia content including live broadcasting, movies, music, soap operas, Web pages, games, applications, etc.”)
Consider Claim 3 and similar Method Claim 12:
Fujigaki in view of Park disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the second user interface comprises one or more indications of computer applications currently running on the wearable head device; wherein a selection of one of the indications of computer applications via the second user interface allows the second user interface to interact with the corresponding computer application running on the wearable head device. (Park, [0080], [0081], “In another embodiment of the present invention, the external device may extract attribute information about content being displayed on the external device and may switch to another mode according to the extracted attribute information. The content may include any data displayable on the external device as well as a photo and a video. The attribute information about the content may be pre-stored in the storage unit of the external device. Further, the attribute information about the content may include information indicating whether data protection is needed. This attribute information may be set by the user.”)
Consider Claim 4 and similar Method Claim 13:
Fujigaki in view of Park disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the second user interface comprises a text entry user interface corresponding to the computer application running on the wearable head device. (Park, [0077], [0111], Fujigaki, [0112] For example, a text input area, a GO button, an arrow key, an ENTER button, a BACK button, and the like are displayed on the display section 120 of the client apparatus 100 (see A1 in FIG. 5). When the user has input the URL of the desired site in the text input area, and pressed the GO button, the corresponding contents are displayed on the display section 220 of the head-mounted display 200 (see A2 in FIG. 5). The user can go to another page or select a link in the contents by pressing the arrow key in a state in which the contents are displayed on the display section 220. The broken line (see A2) shown in FIG. 5 indicates an example in which a link in the contents is selected. When the user has pressed the ENTER button in a state in which the link is selected, the link destination page is displayed. When the user has pressed the BACK button, the previous page (display screen) is displayed.”)
Consider Claim 6 and similar Method Claim 15:
Fujigaki in view of Park disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the mobile device is a mobile phone and the control element switches the mobile device back into a phone having no control of the wearable head device. (Fujigaki, [0133], [0123], [0122], Park, [0080], “In accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, the external device displays a mode switching icon 420 so that its mode may be switched according to a user input. That is, upon receipt of a user input requesting data protection from the user, for example, upon touch of the icon 420, the external device may switch to the protection mode.”)
Consider Claim 9 and similar Method Claim 17:
Fujigaki in view of Park disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further adapted to perform: providing for display, via the see-through display, an application control element comprising a cursor. (Park, [0151-0154], Fujigaki, [0132], “When the HTTP request from the client apparatus is at least one command among a command to move a cursor within the display image (i.e., an image displayed on the display section 220 of the head-mounted display 200), a command to select contents designated by the cursor, and a command to return to the previous screen, the processing section 210 executes the command based on the HTTP request, and the display section 220 updates the display image corresponding to the execution result of the command.”)
Consider Claim 21 and similar Method Claim 22:
Fujigaki in view of Park disclose the system of claim 9, wherein: the mobile device functions as one of a touch based and movement based mouse device. (Park, [0151-0154], Fujigaki, [0132-0133], [0067], “This makes it possible to execute at least one command among the command to move the cursor, the command to select the contents designated by the cursor, and the command to return to the previous screen that has been received from the client apparatus as the HTTP request.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Granting of After Final Interviews: “Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations which would require more than nominal reconsideration or new search should be denied.” See MPEP § 713.09.
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626