DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, 23, 25, 41, and 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 2014/0014154) in view of Hiller et al. (US 2004/0238022), and further in view of Touminen et al. (US 2002/0158342) and Keskar et al. (“Significant improvement of thermoelectric performance in nanostructured bismuth networks”).
Regarding claim 18, Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator (see figs. 1-6) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (1, fig. 3, [0068]);
a plurality of thermoelectric structures (or rows of thermoelectric couples shown in fig. 1 and each thermoelectric structure is shown in fig. 3) arranged along a first direction (or the direction along the A-A line in fig. 2 or the horizontal direction in fig. 3), each thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermoelectric couples shown in fig. 3) comprising:
a first (or lower) electrode layer (21, fig. 3) disposed on the semiconductor substrate (1) and comprising first electrodes (or segments 21);
a dielectric layer (or insulating layer 20, fig. 3, [0029]) disposed on the first electrode layer (21, see fig. 3);
a second (or upper) electrode layer (22) disposed on the dielectric layer (20) and comprising second electrodes (or segments 22, fig. 3);
a plurality of thermoelectric materials (see p-type semiconductor 23, fig. 3, [0029]) disposed in the dielectric layer (20); and
a plurality of second thermoelectric materials (see n-type semiconductor 24, respectively, fig. 3 [0029]) disposed in the dielectric layer (20) and in alternating configuration with the plurality of first thermoelectric material (or the p-type semiconductor 23, see figs.1 and 3); and
a rectifier element (41 of electric storage circuit 4, see figs. 4-5) below the thermoelectric structures (see figs. 2-3), wherein the circuit (4) comprises a first input terminal (31, figs. 1-3 and 5) coupled to a first one of the first electrodes (or lower electrodes 21, see figs. 1-3 and 5) and a second input terminal (30, see figs. 1-3 and 5) coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode connected to the terminal shown in fig. 3);
wherein the thermoelectric structure provides electrical energy according to a temperature difference between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer in the thermoelectric structure ([0005-0007] and [0032]).
Hayashi et al. teaches metal is used for the conductive material (see [0028]). It is noted that electrode layers are conductive layers.
Hayashi et al. also discloses some of the electrodes are arranged to be extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction in a top view (see the electrodes 22 on the left side of each row in fig. 1).
Hayashi et al. does not explicitly teach the lower electrode layer (21) and the upper electrode layer (22) to be metal layers such that the lower electrode layer (21) is a first metal layer and the upper electrode layer (22) is a second metal layer; nor do they teach arranging the first one and the second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode segments being used for connection to the external circuit 4) extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction in a top-view.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to have used metal for the conductive lower electrode layer (21) and upper electrode layer (22) such that the lower electrode layer (21) is the first metal layer and the upper electrode layer (22) is the second metal layer, because Hayashi et al. explicitly suggests using metal for conductive material (or electrodes). In addition, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the thermoelectric structures of Hayashi et al. by rearranging the first one and second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode segments being used for electrical connection to the external circuit 4) extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction; because Hayashi et al. teaches arranging some of the electrodes extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and such modification is a mere rearrangement of the system parts that would not modify the operation of the system, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Hayashi et al. teaches using a rectifier element including in a circuitry that connects to the terminals of the thermoelectric generator (see figs. 2 and 5), and using 11 thermoelectric couples of the thermoelectric material (p-type and n-type) arranged alternatingly in an array with 2.5 couples on each cross sectional view (see figs. 1, 3 and 6). Hayashi et al. does not explicitly teach the rectifier element to be a rectifier bridge comprising a first input terminal coupled to the first one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segment) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermoelectric couples) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segment) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermoelectric couples); nor do they explicitly show 4 thermoelectric couples (or 4 pairs of p-type and n-type materials) at a cross sectional view such that the first one and the second one of the first thermoelectric materials/legs (or p-type materials) are at opposite sides of the first one of the second thermoelectric materials/legs (or n-type materials), and the third one and the fourth one of the second thermoelectric materials (or n-type materials) are at opposite sides of the fourth one of the first thermoelectric materials (or p-type material).
Hiller et al. teaches including a rectifier bridge (see the rectifier bridge circuit 82A-D shown in figs. 6A-B) comprising a first input terminal coupled to the first one of the first electrode (or the lower electrode attached to the heat sink with fins) of a thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermocouples P/N) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode attached to the heat sink with fins) of a thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermocouples P/N).
Hiller et al. also shows a cross sectional view having 4 thermoelectric couples such that the first one and the second one of the first thermoelectric materials/legs (or p-type materials) are at opposite sides of the first one of the second thermoelectric materials/legs (or n-type materials, see the bottom annotation of annotated fig. 6A below), and the third one and the fourth one of the second thermoelectric materials (or n-type materials) are at opposite sides of the fourth one of the first thermoelectric materials (or p-type material, see top annotation of annotated fig. 6A below).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the thermoelectric generator of Hayashi et al. by incorporating a rectifier bridge comprising a first input terminal coupled to a first one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segments on the surface of the substrate 1) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermocouples P/N) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segments) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermocouples P/N) as taught by Hiller et al.; because Hayashi et al. explicitly suggests using a rectifier element (see fig. 4 of Hayashi et al.), and Hiller et al. teaches such rectifier bridge would maintain a constant voltage polarity with minimal reduction in electrical power (see figs. 6A-B, and [0029] of Hiller et al.). In addition, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the thermoelectric generator of Hayashi et al. by rearranging the thermoelectric couples (or pairs of p-type material and n-type material) to have at least four (4) thermoelectric couples at a cross sectional view such that the first one and the second one of the first thermoelectric materials/legs (or p-type materials) are at opposite sides of the first one of the second thermoelectric materials/legs (or n-type materials), and the third one and the fourth one of the second thermoelectric materials (or n-type materials) are at opposite sides of the fourth one of the first thermoelectric materials (or p-type material) as taught by Hiller et al., because such modification would involve nothing more than a mere rearrangement of parts. A mere rearrangement of the system parts that would not modify the operation of the system, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Hayashi et al. does not teach the first thermoelectric material (or p-type semiconductor 23) to be a plurality of (first) nanowires, nor do they teach each of the second thermoelectric materials (or n-type semiconductor 24) to be a plurality of (second) nanowires.
Tuominen et al. teaches each of the first thermoelectric material (or p-type semiconductor) to be a plurality of (first) nanowires, and each of the second thermoelectric materials (e.g. n-type) to be a plurality of nanowires (see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermoelectric generator of Hayashi et al. by using the first thermoelectric materials of a plurality first nanowires and the second thermoelectric materials of a plurality of second nanowires as taught by Tuominen et al., because Tuominen et al. disclose such nanowires would allow a thermoelectric device to have high thermoelectric figures of merit ([0109]).
Hayashi et al. discloses using thermoelectric comprising bismuth or bismuth selenide (see [0029]). Tuominen et al. also suggests using material including bismuth such as bismuth and BiTe ([0081]).
Modified Hayashi et al. does not disclose the first nanowires are made of polycrystalline bismuth or bismuth selenide of Bi2Se3.
Keskar et al. discloses polycrystalline bismuth (see page 708 and “Appendix A”) providing high thermoelectric figures of merit (see fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used polycrystalline bismuth as taught by Keskar et al. for the first nanowires, because Hayashi et al. and Tuominen et al. suggest using thermoelectric materials containing bismuth Keskar et al. teaches polycrystalline bismuth would provide thermoelectric device with high thermoelectric figures of merit.
Regarding claim 20, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 18 above, wherein Hiller et al. discloses the rectifier bridge provides an output voltage according to the electrical energy from the thermoelectric structures (see claim 18 above, and figs. 6A-B of Hiller et al.).
Regarding claim 23, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 20 above, wherein Hayashi et al. discloses the thermoelectric generator comprising an energy storage device comprising a capacitor (see fig. 4). Hayashi et al. also teaches using a DC-DC converter (0065), which is a power management circuit comprising voltage converter or charge pumping circuitry.
Regarding claim 25, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 20 above, wherein Hayashi et al. discloses the rectifier element (41) has output (see fig. 4) and Hiller teaches the rectifier bridge to be a diode rectifier bridge with a first output terminal and a second output terminal (see figs. 6A-6B), or the rectifier bridge comprising four diodes as claimed.
Regarding claim 31, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 18 above, wherein Tuominen et al. shows the nanowires having different shapes such as circular, circular diameter cross section, triangular or other shapes (figs. 3 and 14, [0009-0010] and [0098]).
Modified Hayashi et al. does not explicitly disclose the nanowires having an elliptical cross section or hexagonal cross section.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second nanowires of modified Hayashi et al. to have elliptical cross section or hexagonal cross section, because Tuominen et al. discloses using other shapes from circular or triangle and such modification would involve a mere change in configuration of shape. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 52, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 18 above; wherein Hayashi et al. shows the terminal/end segment of the first electrodes (or lower electrode 21) is smaller than the segments in the middle of the first electrodes (or lower electrode 21, see fig. 3), and Hiller discloses the arrangement of thermoelectric couples such that an electrode having two terminal/end segments (see figs. 6A and 6B)
Hayashi et al. does not show the first electrodes comprises a first one, a second one, a third one, a fourth one, and a fifth one of the first electrodes sequentially aligned in the cross-sectional view, wherein the second one, the third one and the fourth one of the first electrodes (or the middle ones) are wider than the first one and the fifth one of the first electrodes (or the terminal/end ones) in the cross-sectional view.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermoelectric generator of modified Hayashi et al. by forming the second one, the third one and the fourth one of the first electrodes (or the middle ones) are wider than the first one and the fifth one of the first electrodes (or the terminal/end ones) in the cross-sectional view, because Hayashi et al. explicitly shows the terminal/end segment of the electrode to be smaller than the middle segments of the electrodes. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was the recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior device. The skilled artisan would have been able to select an appropriate size of electrode segments based on the desired properties of the thermoelectric generator.
Regarding claim 53, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 52 above; wherein Hiller et al. shows the second electrodes comprises at least 4 segments - or a first one, a second one, a third one, and a fourth one of the second electrodes sequentially aligned in the cross-sectional view. Hiller et al. also shows the first one of the first thermoelectric materials (or p-type) is vertically sandwiched between the first one of the first electrodes (or the terminal/end upper electrode on the left) and the first one of the second electrodes (or lower electrode on the left end), and the fourth one of the second thermoelectric material (or the n-type) is vertically sandwiched between the fifth one of the first electrode (or the fifth upper electrode) and the fourth one of the second electrodes (or the fourth upper electrode, see annotated fig. 6A of Hiller et al. above). It is noted in modified Hayashi et al., the thermoelectric material is nanowires (see claim 18 above).
Regarding claim 54, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 18 above; wherein the first and second thermoelectric materials are arranged alternatingly (see fig. 3 of Hayashi et al. and figs. 6A-B of Hiller et al.), which results in the arrangement as claimed in the instant claim. More specifically, Hiller et al. explicitly shows the first one of the second thermoelectric material (or n-type) is between the first one and the second one of the first thermoelectric material (or p-type, see annotated fig. 6A of Hiller et al. above), the second one of the second thermoelectric material (or n-type) is between the second one and the third one of the first thermoelectric material (or p-type, see annotated fig. 6A of Hiller et al. above), and the third one of the second of the second nanowires (or n-type) is between the third one and the fourth one of the first thermoelectric material (or p-type, see annotated fig. 6A of Hiller et al. above), and the fourth one of the first thermoelectric material (or p-type) is between the third one and the fourth one of the second thermoelectric material (or n-type, see annotated fig. 6A of Hiller et al. above).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hayashi et al. as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Amrutur et al. (US 2014/0126260).
Regarding claim 26, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 20 above.
Modified Hayashi et al. does not disclose a rectifier bridge with two PMOS and two NMOS as claimed.
Amrutur et al. discloses that the equivalence to a diode rectifier bridge is a MOS-based diode equivalent rectifier bridge by replacing the diodes with two PMOS and two NMOS (see [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to have used a rectifier bridge with 2 PMOS and 2 NMOS as claimed for the rectifier element in the thermoelectric generator of modified Hayashi et al., since it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent rectifier bridge recognized in the art as taught by Amrutur et al. and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Furthermore, such modification would involve nothing more than use of known rectifier bridge (or rectifier element) for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 49 and 51 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hayashi et al. as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Farahani et al. (US 2006/0137732).
Regarding claims 49 and 51, modified Hayashi et al. teaches a thermoelectric generator as in claim 18 above, wherein the first thermoelectric materials are nanowires of p-type (see claim 18 above).
Modified Hayashi et al. does not teach the first nanowires are implanted (or doped) with boron or gallium).
Farahani et al. teaches doping (or implanted) thermoelectric with boron or gallium to obtain a p-type thermoelectric material (see [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implanted (or doped) the first nanowires with boron or gallium to form p-type thermoelectric material as taught Farahani et al., because modified Hayashi et al. or specifically Tuominen et al. teaches the first nanowires are of p-type nanowires (see fig. 9 of Tuominen et al.). Such modification would involve nothing more than use of known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The Courts have held that the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 32-33, 39, 44-45, 47 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 2014/0014154) in view of Hiller et al. (US 2004/0238022), and further in view of Touminen et al. (US 2002/0158342) and Farahani et al. (US 2006/0137732).
Regarding claim 32, Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator (see figs. 1-6) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (1, fig. 3, [0068]);
a plurality of thermoelectric structures (or rows of thermoelectric couples shown in fig. 1 and each thermoelectric structure is shown in fig. 3) arranged along a first direction (or the direction along the A-A line in fig. 2 or the horizontal direction in fig. 3), each thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermoelectric couples shown in fig. 3) comprising:
a first (or lower) electrode layer (21, fig. 3) disposed on the semiconductor substrate (1) and comprising first electrodes (or segments 21);
a dielectric layer (or insulating layer 20, fig. 3, [0029]) disposed on the first electrode layer (21, see fig. 3);
a second (or upper) electrode layer (22) disposed on the dielectric layer (20) and comprising second electrodes (or segments 22, fig. 3);
a first thermoelectric element of a first material (see p-type semiconductor 23, fig. 3, [0029]) disposed in the dielectric layer (20) and between a respective single first electrode (or a segment 21) and a respective second electrode (or a segment 22, fig. 3); and
a second thermoelectric element of a second material (see n-type semiconductor 24, fig. 3, [0029]) disposed in the dielectric layer (20) and between a respective single first electrode (or a segment 21) and a respective single second electrode (22, see fig. 3); and
a rectifier element (41 of electric storage circuit 4, see figs. 4-5) below the thermoelectric structures (see figs. 2-3) which inherently provide an output voltage according to the electrical energy from the thermoelectric structures as the rectifier element is an electrical component of the electric storage circuit (4, see fig. 4);
wherein the thermoelectric structure provides electrical energy according to a temperature difference between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer in the thermoelectric structure ([0005-0007] and [0032]).
Hayashi et al. teaches metal is used for the conductive material (see [0028]). It is noted that electrode layers are conductive layers.
Hayashi et al. also discloses some of the electrodes are arranged to be extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction in a top view (see the electrodes 22 on the left side of each row in fig. 1).
Hayashi et al. does not explicitly teach the lower electrode layer (21) and the upper electrode layer (22) to be metal layers such that the lower electrode layer (21) is a first metal layer and the upper electrode layer (22) is a second metal layer; nor do they teach arranging the first one and the second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode segments being used for connection to the external circuit 4) extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction in a top-view.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to have used metal for the conductive lower electrode layer (21) and upper electrode layer (22) such that the lower electrode layer (21) is the first metal layer and the upper electrode layer (22) is the second metal layer, because Hayashi et al. explicitly suggests using metal for conductive material (or electrodes). In addition, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the thermoelectric structures of Hayashi et al. by rearranging the first one and second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode segments being used for electrical connection to the external circuit 4) extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction; because Hayashi et al. teaches arranging some of the electrodes extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and such modification is a mere rearrangement of the system parts that would not modify the operation of the system, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Hayashi et al. teaches using a rectifier element, but does not explicitly teach the rectifier element to be a rectifier bridge such that the first one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segment) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermoelectric couples) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segment) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermoelectric couples).
Hiller et al. teaches including a rectifier bridge (see the rectifier bridge circuit 82A-D shown in figs. 6A-B) comprising a first input terminal coupled to the first one of the first electrode (or the lower electrode attached to the heat sink with fins) of a thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermocouples P/N) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode attached to the heat sink with fins) of a thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermocouples P/N).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the thermoelectric generator of Hayashi et al. by incorporating a rectifier bridge comprising a first input terminal coupled to a first one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segments on the surface of the substrate 1) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermocouples P/N) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segments) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermocouples P/N) as taught by Hiller et al.; because Hayashi et al. explicitly suggests using a rectifier element (see fig. 4 of Hayashi et al.), and Hiller et al. teaches such rectifier bridge would maintain a constant voltage polarity with minimal reduction in electrical power (see figs. 6A-B, and [0029] of Hiller et al.).
Hayashi et al. does not teach the first thermoelectric element of a first material (or p-type semiconductor 23 or n-type semiconductor 24) to be a plurality of (first) nanowires, nor do they teach the second thermoelectric element of second material (or the other/opposite semiconductor material to the first material of n-type semiconductor 24 or p-type semiconductor 23) to be a plurality of (second) nanowires.
Tuominen et al. teaches the first thermoelectric element of a first material (or p-type semiconductor) to be a plurality of (first) nanowires, and the second thermoelectric element of a second material (e.g. n-type ) to be a plurality of nanowires (see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermoelectric generator of Hayashi et al. by using the first thermoelectric materials of a plurality first nanowires and the second thermoelectric materials of a plurality of second nanowires as taught by Tuominen et al., because Tuominen et al. disclose such nanowires would allow a thermoelectric device to have high thermoelectric figures of merit ([0109]).
Hayashi et al. discloses using thermoelectric comprising bismuth or bismuth selenide (see [0029]) and the first thermoelectric material to be p-type. Tuominen et al. also suggests using material including bismuth such as bismuth (Bi) and BiTe ([0081]).
Modified Hayashi et al. does not disclose the first nanowires are made of bismuth implanted with boron, or gallium.
Farahani et al. teaches doping (or implanted) thermoelectric with boron or gallium to obtain a p-type thermoelectric material (see [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implanted (or doped) the first nanowires with boron or gallium to form p-type thermoelectric material as taught Farahani et al., because modified Hayashi et al. or specifically Tuominen et al. teaches the first nanowires are of p-type nanowires (see fig. 9 of Tuominen et al.). Such modification would involve nothing more than use of known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The Courts have held that the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 33, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 32 above, wherein Hayashi et al. discloses the rectifier element (41) has output (see fig. 4), and Hiller teaches the rectifier bridge to be a diode rectifier bridge with first output and second outputs (see figs. 6A-6B), or the rectifier bridge comprising four diodes as claimed.
Regarding claim 39, Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator (see figs. 1-6) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (1, fig. 3, [0068]);
a plurality of thermoelectric structures (or rows of thermoelectric couples shown in fig. 1 and each thermoelectric structure is shown in fig. 3) arranged along a first direction (or the direction along the A-A line in fig. 2 or the horizontal direction in fig. 3), each thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermoelectric couples shown in fig. 3) comprising:
a first (or lower) electrode layer (21, fig. 3) disposed on the semiconductor substrate (1) and comprising first electrodes (or segments 21);
a dielectric layer (or insulating layer 20, fig. 3, [0029]) disposed on the first electrode layer (21, see fig. 3);
a second (or upper) electrode layer (22) disposed on the dielectric layer (20) and comprising second electrodes (or segments 22, fig. 3);
a plurality of first thermoelectric materials (see p-type semiconductor 23, fig. 3, [0029]) disposed in the dielectric layer (20); and
a plurality of second thermoelectric materials (see n-type semiconductor 24, fig. 3, [0029]) disposed in the dielectric layer (20); and
a rectifier element (41 of electric storage circuit 4, see figs. 4-5) below the thermoelectric structures (see figs. 2-3) which inherently provide an output voltage according to the electrical energy from the thermoelectric structures as the rectifier element is an electrical component of the electric storage circuit (4, see fig. 4);
wherein the thermoelectric structure provides electrical energy according to a temperature difference between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer in the thermoelectric structure ([0005-0007] and [0032]).
Hayashi et al. teaches metal is used for the conductive material (see [0028]). It is noted that electrode layers are conductive layers.
Hayashi et al. also discloses some of the electrodes are arranged to be extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction in a top view (see the electrodes 22 on the left side of each row in fig. 1).
Hayashi et al. does not explicitly teach the lower electrode layer (21) and the upper electrode layer (22) to be metal layers such that the lower electrode layer (21) is a first metal layer and the upper electrode layer (22) is a second metal layer; nor do they teach arranging the first one and the second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode segments being used for connection to the external circuit 4) extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction in a top-view.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to have used metal for the conductive lower electrode layer (21) and upper electrode layer (22) such that the lower electrode layer (21) is the first metal layer and the upper electrode layer (22) is the second metal layer, because Hayashi et al. explicitly suggests using metal for conductive material (or electrodes). In addition, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the thermoelectric structures of Hayashi et al. by rearranging the first one and second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode segments being used for electrical connection to the external circuit 4) extending along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction; because Hayashi et al. teaches arranging some of the electrodes extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and such modification is a mere rearrangement of the system parts that would not modify the operation of the system, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Hayashi et al. teaches using a rectifier element, but does not explicitly teach the rectifier element to be a rectifier bridge such that the first one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segment) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermoelectric couples) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segment) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermoelectric couples).
Hiller et al. teaches including a rectifier bridge (see the rectifier bridge circuit 82A-D shown in figs. 6A-B) comprising a first input terminal coupled to the first one of the first electrode (or the lower electrode attached to the heat sink with fins) of a thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermocouples P/N) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrode attached to the heat sink with fins) of a thermoelectric structure (or a row of thermocouples P/N).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the thermoelectric generator of Hayashi et al. by incorporating a rectifier bridge comprising a first input terminal coupled to a first one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segments on the surface of the substrate 1) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermocouples P/N) and a second input terminal coupled to a second one of the first electrodes (or the lower electrodes/segments) of each of the thermoelectric structures (or a row of thermocouples P/N) as taught by Hiller et al.; because Hayashi et al. explicitly suggests using a rectifier element (see fig. 4 of Hayashi et al.), and Hiller et al. teaches such rectifier bridge would maintain a constant voltage polarity with minimal reduction in electrical power (see figs. 6A-B, and [0029] of Hiller et al.).
Hayashi et al. does not teach the first thermoelectric material (or p-type semiconductor 23) to be a plurality of (first) nanowires, nor do they teach the second thermoelectric materials (or n-type semiconductor 24), nor do they teach a distance between the second sidewall of the first one of the first nanowires and the second sidewall of the first one of the second nanowires is smaller than a width of the first one of the second electrodes.
Tuominen et al. teaches the first thermoelectric material (or p-type semiconductor) to be a plurality of (first) nanowires, and the second thermoelectric material (e.g. n-type) to be a plurality of nanowires (see fig. 9). Tuominen et al. also shows, in fig. 9, the first one of the first nanowires (or p-type nanowires) is vertically sandwiched between a first one of the first electrodes (or the bottom electrode on the right – where the output current is annotated) and a first one of the second electrodes (or the shared top electrode), the first one of the second nanowires (or n-type nanowires) is vertically sandwiched between a second one of the first electrodes (or the bottom electrode – where the input current is annotated) and the first one of the second electrodes (or the shared top electrode), wherein the distance between the second sidewall of the first one of the first nanowires (or the outer right sidewall of the p-type nanowires) and the second sidewall of the first one of the second nanowires (or the outer left sidewall of the n-type nanowires) is smaller than the width of the first one of the electrode (or the shared top electrode, see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermoelectric generator of Hayashi et al. by using a plurality of first nanowires and a plurality of second nanowires for the first thermoelectric material and the second thermoelectric material, respectively, such that the distance between the second sidewall of the first nanowires and the second sidewall of the second nanowires is smaller than the width of the shared second electrode as taught by Tuominen et al., because Tuominen et al. disclose such nanowires would allow a thermoelectric device to have high thermoelectric figures of merit ([0109]).
Hayashi et al. discloses using thermoelectric comprising bismuth or bismuth selenide (see [0029]) and the first thermoelectric material to be p-type. Tuominen et al. also suggests using material including bismuth such as bismuth (Bi) and BiTe ([0081]).
Modified Hayashi et al. does not disclose the first nanowires are made of bismuth implanted with boron, or gallium.
Farahani et al. teaches using bismuth based material implanted (or doped) with boron or gallium to form p-type thermoelectric material (see [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implanted (or doped) the first nanowires with boron or gallium to form p-type thermoelectric material as taught Farahani et al., because modified Hayashi et al. or specifically Tuominen et al. teaches the first nanowires are of p-type nanowires (see fig. 9 of Tuominen et al.). Such modification would involve nothing more than use of known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The Courts have held that the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 44-45 and 47, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claims 32 and 39 above, wherein Tuominen et al. shows the nanowires having different shapes such as circular, circular diameter cross section, triangular or other shapes (figs. 3 and 14, [0009-0010] and [0098]).
Modified Hayashi et al. does not explicitly disclose the nanowires having an elliptical cross section or hexagonal cross section.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second nanowires of modified Hayashi et al. to have elliptical cross section or hexagonal cross section, because Tuominen et al. discloses using other shapes from circular or triangle and such modification would involve a mere change in configuration of shape. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 56, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 39 above, wherein Tuominen et al. shows the first one of the first electrodes (or the right bottom electrode) has a first extending portion laterally extending outside the first sidewall (or inner sidewall) of the first one of the first nanowires (or the p-type nanowires) and a second extending portion laterally extending outside the second sidewall (or the outer sidewall on the right) of the first one of the first nanowires (or the p-type nanowires, see fig. 9).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hayashi et al. as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Amrutur et al. (US 2014/0126260).
Regarding claim 34, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 32 above.
Modified Hayashi et al. does not disclose a rectifier bridge with two PMOS and two NMOS as claimed.
Amrutur et al. discloses that the equivalence to a diode rectifier bridge is a MOS-based diode equivalent rectifier bridge by replacing the diodes with two PMOS and two NMOS (see [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to have used a rectifier bridge with 2 PMOS and 2 NMOS as claimed for the rectifier element in the thermoelectric generator of modified Hayashi et al., since it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent rectifier bridge recognized in the art as taught by Amrutur et al. and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Furthermore, such modification would involve nothing more than use of known rectifier bridge (or rectifier element) for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hayashi et al. as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US Patent 6,313,392).
Regarding claim 55, modified Hayashi et al. discloses a thermoelectric generator as in claim 32 above, wherein the first nanowires are a thermoelectric material (see claim 32 above).
Modified Hayashi et al. does not disclose the first nanowires are made of polycrystalline Bi2Se3.
Sato et al. discloses polycrystalline Bi2Se3 are typically being used as the thermoelectric material (see col. 3, line 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermoelectric generator of modified Hayashi et al. by using polycrystalline Bi2Se3 taught by Sato et al. for the first nanowires, because such modification would involve nothing more than use of known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The Courts have held that the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues cited references do not teach the claimed inventions. However, the cited references do teach the claimed invention in claim 18 (see the rejection above).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the claimed inventions in claims 32 and 39 are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. (see the rejection above).
Conclusion
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726