DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-17, and 19-23 were previously pending and subject to the non-final action filed on 03/26/2025. In the response filed 07/28/2025, claims 1, 6, 9, 10, 15 and 17 and 21-23 were newly added claims. Therefore, claims 1, 3-10, 12-17, and 19-23 are currently pending and subject to the final action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2025, with respect to claims 1, 3-10, 12-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument 1: Claim 1 recites, inter alia, "determining, by the one or more computing devices analyzing an updated interlock configuration object property included as part of the updated interlock logic data corresponding to at least the first subset of the plurality of field components in response to the interlock event, that the first field component and the second field component will maintain an operable relationship when an interlock chain represented by at least the first interlock chain visualization is bypassed, indicating that the interlock chain can be bypassed." Applicant respectfully submits that none of the applied references, alone or in combination, disclose, teach, or suggest at least these elements of claim 1.
The Office Action points to Brandes as allegedly disclosing the above-recited elements of claim 1. See Office Action at pages 15-16. Brandes discloses that an interlock can be bypassed when a "maintenance bypass" is activated by maintenance personnel. See Brandes at [0065]. Brandes further discloses "hierarchical relationships between units of an industrial enterprise" where an "advisable state event" may be due to different "advisable state classes" of events, such as "Invalid Configuration, Maintenance Bypass, 1/O Fault" or other classifications.
Id. at [0062]-[0064]. However, Brandes does not disclose or suggest computing devices determining that field components will maintain an operable relationship when an interlock chain is bypassed to thereby determine whether the interlock can be bypassed, much less, that such determination would involve using updated interlock configuration data, as recited in claim 1. The Office Action alleges that this disclosure of Brandes, among other paragraphs related to the machine permissives, teaches the above-recited elements of claim 1.
However, this statement appears to misinterpret the definition of a permissive in the context of Brandes. A permissive indeed generally indicates "when an action can take place," and more specifically, is a condition that must be true or satisfied to proceed with a next event/action in a sequence. Thus, the statement in paragraph [0065] of Brandes clearly indicates that the permissive itself was bypassed by maintenance personnel, and not that the permissive is determining that the component can be bypassed, as suggested in the Office Action. See Office Action at page 16. In other words, the "maintenance bypass events" mentioned in Brandes can be activated "when maintenance personnel have bypassed' one such condition (i.e., a permissive) as part of a sequence corresponding to the "machine or device". Brandes at [0065] (emphasis added). There is no indication in Brandes that a permissive "determines that the component can be bypassed," much less, that the permissive is specifically indicative of whether a bypass can take place.
In addition, the "advisable state framework" of Brandes is a part "of the operator interface to facilitate documentation and navigation of advisable state notifications." Brandes at [0042]. The advisable state framework is used to "render a Maintenance Bypass icon on or near a graphic object representing the machine." Brandes at [0050]. Thus, as described in Brandes, the advisable state framework is used for delivering notifications and presenting icons on a graphical user interface and does not describe or suggest the above-recited claim elements. Accordingly, Brandes fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least the above-recited elements of claim 1.
Examiner response 1: After careful consideration, review of the prior arts and applicant’s arguments. The examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Weatherhead-3906 teaches: obtaining, by the one or more computing devices, updated interlock logic data associated with the plurality of field components that specifies new conditions that tripper interlock for at least the first field component and a second field component of the plurality of field components based on the interlock event; (Weatherhead-3906 − [0050-0051] Status display generator 506 can be linked to valve control module 402 using any appropriate referencing mechanism. Status display generator 506 can automatically be made aware of any conditions (e.g., permissives, interlocks, alarms, modes, etc.) [0051] Status display generator 506, having analyzed valve control module 402 and determined that a necessary condition has not been met, can display an overall status icon 514 on display screen 508 conveying that the "valve open" command is not available (as indicated by the "X"). Closing a value will update with a different new condition a “√” check mark for the status in Fig. 5. [0062] Conditions listed in this exemplary application include a valve disabled/enabled status 604, interlock status 608, permissive status 610, and etc.)
Brandes teaches: determining, by the one or more computing devices analyzing an updated interlock configuration object property included as part of the updated interlock logic data corresponding to at least the first subset of the plurality of field components (Brandes − [0048] Organizational model 324 can represent an industrial enterprise in terms of multiple hierarchical levels, where each level comprises units of the enterprise organized as instances of types and their properties. Exemplary types can include, for example, assets (e.g., pumps, extruders, tanks, fillers, welding cells, utility meters, etc.), structures (e.g., production lines, production areas, plants, enterprises, production schedules, operators, etc.), and processes (e.g., quality audit, repairs, test/inspection, batch, product parameters, shifts, etc.). [0050] The advisable state framework can refer to organizational model 324 in connection with rendering a given advisable state notification on appropriate display screens and graphic objects throughout multiple hierarchical views. [0051] some features of the advisable state framework can be realized through interaction with device tags 322 in the controller 304 that support advisable state notification. [0053] Similar to device configuration validation, device tags 322 can support retrieval and/or provision of data relating to one or more of I/O fault detection, operational status, maintenance status, or other such advisable state classes)
Brandes recites organizational model of hierarchical levels of assets of their properties and parameters. The organizational model and device tags 322 determine configuration data such as I/O fault detection, operational status, maintenance status and other advisable state classes.
in response to the interlock event, (Brandes − [0066] "I/O Fault" events may be triggered when the data corresponding to an I/O value has not updated for an excessive duration of time, which suggests a fault with the I/O point. I/O Fault indications alert the operator that the data value associated with the flagged I/O point may be out of date or "stale." "I/O Fault" icons can be used to guide the operator to the affected device and I/O point.) that the first field component and the second field component will maintain an operable relationship when an interlock chain represented by at least the first interlock chain visualization is bypassed, indicating that the interlock chain can be bypassed; (Brandes − [0050] The advisable state framework can refer to organizational model 324 in connection with rendering a given advisable state notification on appropriate display screens and graphic objects throughout multiple hierarchical views. For example, a maintenance bypass notification for a particular machine may cause the advisable state framework to render a Maintenance Bypass icon on or near a graphic object representing the machine rendered on a workcell-level display screen [0065] "Maintenance Bypass" events are triggered when a maintenance bypass has been activated for a machine or device. A maintenance bypass can be activated, for example, when maintenance personnel have bypassed an interlock or a permissive for the machine or device. [0070] FIGS. 9 and 10 illustrate another exemplary advisable state event. In response to detection of this event (either by the advisable state framework of the operator interface or by the industrial controller in response to detection of a state change of a maintenance bypass variable associated with the pump's controller tag), the "Maintenance Bypass" icon is displayed on appropriate displays throughout the navigational hierarchy of the operator interface application. At the highest level, as illustrated in FIG. 9, a "Maintenance Bypass" icon 906 is displayed near a graphical object 902 representing the affected pump on an overview screen. As illustrated in FIG. 10, selecting the Maintenance tab navigates to the Maintenance screen 1002, where the maintenance bypass mode for the affected pump is shown. In the present example, the maintenance bypass was triggered by the fact that run feedback 1004 is not being used for the motor even though the motor is configured to have run feedback. The "Maintenance Bypass" class of advisable states is represented by a yellow triangle marked with an exclamation point.)
The examiner maintains that maintenance personnel bypassing an interlock or a permissive for the machine or device meets the limitation that an interlock can be bypassed. Therefore, the prior art of record is maintained for teaching the limitations recited in the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-17, 19, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weatherhead et al. (USPGPUB: 20120083906; Filed Date: Sep. 30, 2010, hereinafter “Weatherhead-3906”) in view of Weatherhead-7624 (USPGPUB: 20080097624; Filed Date: Sep. 28, 2007, hereinafter “Weatherhead-7624”) in view of Brandes et al. (PGPUB: 20140121789; Filed Date: Oct. 30, 2012, hereinafter “Brandes”) in view of Cemal (An Expert System for Diagnosing Faults on CNC Machine Tool Breakdown, June 1992, hereinafter “Cemal”) in view of Siemens (PCS 7 in the mining industry, Pub Date: Sep. 2016, hereinafter “Siemens”) and in further view of Nazrul et al. (US PGPUB: 20050260962; Filed Date: May 20, 2004, hereinafter Nazrul).
Regarding independent claim 1, Weatherhead-3906 teaches: A method of visualizing one or more interlock chains in a process control system, (Weatherhead-3906 − [0009] One or more embodiments of the present disclosure relate to an enhanced operation diagnostics system that can provide an operator with a summary of operational conditions associated with a particular control action, together with the present statuses of the respective conditions.[0010-0011] The condition summaries can be organized according to category, allowing a user to navigate the condition statuses according their respective categories (e.g., alarms, interlocks, permissives, module mode, etc.).)
wherein a plurality of field components in the process control system implement a plurality of respective functions in accordance with one or more process control modules, (Weatherhead-3906 − [0031] HMI 102 can exchange data with controller 106 to facilitate visualization of information relating to controlled processes 110.sub.1-110.sub.N and to allow an operator to submit data to controller 106 in the form of issued commands (e.g., cycle start commands, device actuation commands, etc.), setpoint values, and the like. [0034] For example, it may be undesirable to activate a first conveyor if a downstream conveyor is not also running. The portion of the control program that controls the first conveyor may therefore contain an interlock from the downstream conveyor that ensures the downstream conveyor is running before the first conveyor is allowed to run.)
and wherein the method comprises: detecting, by one or more computing devices, an interlock event causing a stoppage of at least a first field component of the plurality of field components; (Weatherhead-3906 − [0048] Valve control module 402 can be programmatically associated with a number of intrinsic and extrinsic conditions that dictate when setting of output 442 is allowed to occur. For instance, a limit switch input 408 indicating when the valve is in the closed position can be linked to an appropriate "Closed Limit Switch" input of valve module 402)
obtaining, by the one or more computing devices, pre-configured interlock logic data associated with the plurality of field components, (Weatherhead-3906 − [0049] Generation of condition diagnostic information for the exemplary valve control module described above is illustrated in FIG. 5. Status display generator 506 can be embedded within or otherwise associated with a display screen or faceplate 508 that is part of a visualization application running on a human-machine interface that is communicatively coupled with the controller.)
wherein the pre-configured interlock logic data specifies conditions that trigger interlock for each of the plurality of field components, (Weatherhead-3906 − [0050] Status display generator 506 can be linked to valve control module 402 using any appropriate referencing mechanism. Once this association between status display generator 506 and valve control module 402 has been established, status display generator 506 can automatically be made aware of any conditions (e.g., permissives, interlocks, alarms, modes, etc.) associated with the valve control module 402 that must be satisfied before the module will allow valve control output 422 to be set)
obtaining, by the one or more computing devices, updated interlock logic data associated with the plurality of field components that specifies new conditions that tripper interlock for at least the first field component and a second field component of the plurality of field components based on the interlock event; (Weatherhead-3906 − [0050-0051] Status display generator 506 can be linked to valve control module 402 using any appropriate referencing mechanism. Status display generator 506 can automatically be made aware of any conditions (e.g., permissives, interlocks, alarms, modes, etc.) [0051] Status display generator 506, having analyzed valve control module 402 and determined that a necessary condition has not been met, can display an overall status icon 514 on display screen 508 conveying that the "valve open" command is not available (as indicated by the "X"). Closing a value will update with a different new condition a “√” check mark for the status in Fig. 5. [0062] Conditions listed in this exemplary application include a valve disabled/enabled status 604, interlock status 608, permissive status 610, and etc.)
causing, by the one or more computing devices, at least the first interlock chain visualization to be presented to a user via a user interface; (Weatherhead-3906 − [0050] Status display generator 506 can be linked to valve control module 402 using any appropriate referencing mechanism. Once this association between status display generator 506 and valve control module 402 has been established, status display generator 506 can automatically be made aware of any conditions (e.g., permissives, interlocks, alarms, modes, etc.) associated with the valve control module 402 that must be satisfied before the module will allow valve control output 422 to be set)
Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teach: the pre-configured interlock logic data includes data defining a plurality of interlock configuration objects conforming to an object oriented programming protocol,
However, Weatherhead-7624 teaches: the pre-configured interlock logic data includes data defining a plurality of interlock configuration objects conforming to an object oriented programming protocol, (Weatherhead-7624 − [0030] System 100 can include various interlock switches, for fault diagnostic coverage. [0022] State propagation components are provide within a hierarchical architecture where control information such as resets, faults, are communicated up or down hierarchy of modules. [0027] The logic includes program code for communicating control information to communicate up or down hierarchy of the modules.)
automatically generating, by the one or more computing devices analyzing the pre- configured interlock logic data, (Weatherhead-7624 − [0077-0078] Visualization aspects include associated graphics that present the resource state and properties to applications interacting with the resource. For example: faceplates, icons, state overlays, edit dialogs, help files. At 780, system messages allow modules to listen for and publish data model messages to external components. Inbound messages are typically used to manage modules (configure, initialize, propagate properties, and so forth) and publish messages on module activity (resource state, data model messages, and so forth).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, and Weatherhead-7624, to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). Weatherhead-7624 teaches monitoring status of modules in a parent and child relationships. Weatherhead-3906, and Weatherhead-7624 are analogous art of solving the problem for monitoring components in an automation processing plant. The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teach: and each of the plurality of interlock configuration objects includes properties representing (i) an interlocking relationship between a respective pair of field components among the plurality of field components and (ii) whether an interlock chain including an interlock between the respective pair of field components can be bypassed;
However, Brandes teaches: and each of the plurality of interlock configuration objects includes properties representing (i) an interlocking relationship between a respective pair of field components among the plurality of field components (Brandes − [0048] Organizational model 324 can represent an industrial enterprise in terms of multiple hierarchical levels, where each level comprises units of the enterprise organized as instances of types and their properties. [0050] The advisable state framework can refer to organizational model 324. In addition, since the organizational model 324 defines a number of higher organizational levels above the workcell level--including a line, area, site, and enterprise level--the framework will propagate the advisable state indication upward through the chain of organizational relationships defined by organizational model 324, such that the Maintenance Bypass icon is rendered on or near suitable graphic objects on each level (e.g., hierarchical view) of the operator interface. For example, if the bypassed machine in the example above is part of a #2 Die-cast line, the advisable state framework will render a notification, not only on the graphic object for the bypassed machine, but also on an area overview screen for the Die-cast area in which the #2 Die-cast line resides, and a site overview screen (on which the maintenance bypass icon may be rendered on a graphic representing the particular site or facility that houses the Die-cast area).)
and (ii) whether an interlock chain including an interlock between the respective pair of field components can be bypassed; (Brandes − [0050] [0065] "Maintenance Bypass" events are triggered when a maintenance bypass has been activated for a machine or device. A maintenance bypass can be activated, for example, when maintenance personnel have bypassed an interlock or a permissive for the machine or device. [0070] At the highest level, as illustrated in FIG. 9, a "Maintenance Bypass" icon 906 is displayed near a graphical object 902 representing the affected pump on an overview screen. As illustrated in FIG. 10, selecting the Maintenance tab navigates to the Maintenance screen 1002, where the maintenance bypass mode for the affected pump is shown. In the present example, the maintenance bypass was triggered by the fact that run feedback 1004 is not being used for the motor even though the motor is configured to have run feedback.)
determining, by the one or more computing devices analyzing an updated interlock configuration object property included as part of the updated interlock logic data corresponding to at least the first subset of the plurality of field components (Brandes − [0048] Organizational model 324 can represent an industrial enterprise in terms of multiple hierarchical levels, where each level comprises units of the enterprise organized as instances of types and their properties. Exemplary types can include, for example, assets (e.g., pumps, extruders, tanks, fillers, welding cells, utility meters, etc.), structures (e.g., production lines, production areas, plants, enterprises, production schedules, operators, etc.), and processes (e.g., quality audit, repairs, test/inspection, batch, product parameters, shifts, etc.). [0050] The advisable state framework can refer to organizational model 324 in connection with rendering a given advisable state notification on appropriate display screens and graphic objects throughout multiple hierarchical views. [0051] some features of the advisable state framework can be realized through interaction with device tags 322 in the controller 304 that support advisable state notification. [0053] Similar to device configuration validation, device tags 322 can support retrieval and/or provision of data relating to one or more of I/O fault detection, operational status, maintenance status, or other such advisable state classes)
in response to the interlock event, (Brandes − [0066] "I/O Fault" events may be triggered when the data corresponding to an I/O value has not updated for an excessive duration of time, which suggests a fault with the I/O point. I/O Fault indications alert the operator that the data value associated with the flagged I/O point may be out of date or "stale." "I/O Fault" icons can be used to guide the operator to the affected device and I/O point.) that the first field component and the second field component will maintain an operable relationship when an interlock chain represented by at least the first interlock chain visualization is bypassed, indicating that the interlock chain can be bypassed; (Brandes − [0050] The advisable state framework can refer to organizational model 324 in connection with rendering a given advisable state notification on appropriate display screens and graphic objects throughout multiple hierarchical views. For example, a maintenance bypass notification for a particular machine may cause the advisable state framework to render a Maintenance Bypass icon on or near a graphic object representing the machine rendered on a workcell-level display screen [0065] "Maintenance Bypass" events are triggered when a maintenance bypass has been activated for a machine or device. A maintenance bypass can be activated, for example, when maintenance personnel have bypassed an interlock or a permissive for the machine or device. [0070] FIGS. 9 and 10 illustrate another exemplary advisable state event. In response to detection of this event (either by the advisable state framework of the operator interface or by the industrial controller in response to detection of a state change of a maintenance bypass variable associated with the pump's controller tag), the "Maintenance Bypass" icon is displayed on appropriate displays throughout the navigational hierarchy of the operator interface application. At the highest level, as illustrated in FIG. 9, a "Maintenance Bypass" icon 906 is displayed near a graphical object 902 representing the affected pump on an overview screen. As illustrated in FIG. 10, selecting the Maintenance tab navigates to the Maintenance screen 1002, where the maintenance bypass mode for the affected pump is shown. In the present example, the maintenance bypass was triggered by the fact that run feedback 1004 is not being used for the motor even though the motor is configured to have run feedback. The "Maintenance Bypass" class of advisable states is represented by a yellow triangle marked with an exclamation point.)
Weatherhead-3906 teaches: at least a first interlock chain visualization of a first interlock chain but does not explicitly teach: a first interlock chain visualization of a first interlock chain at least in part by identifying each interlock configuration object of the plurality of interlock configuration objects that indicates a respective interlocking relationship that (i) directly references the first field component or (ii) indirectly references the first field component by directly referencing any field component that is related to the first field component to determine a primary interlock source,
However, Cemal teaches: a first interlock chain visualization of a first interlock chain at least in part by identifying each interlock configuration object of the plurality of interlock configuration objects that indicates a respective interlocking relationship that (i) directly references the first field component or (ii) indirectly references the first field component by directly referencing any field component that is related to the first field component to determine a primary interlock source, (Cemal – [pdf page 4-5] The expert system select an existing database for determining the structural and hierarchical components. For example Machine Tool (GMEISTER.42A) is select, a hierarchical list of menus are displayed in Fig. 3. Illustrated in Fig. 3, the Headstock is the main component, the V-Belt pulley sub component of the Headstock and the Pressure sleeve is sub component of the V-belt pulley. Based on structural information, it is possible to view the hierarchical structural information of the machine tool to guide the user as illustrated in Fig. 3. For example an alarm/fault such as insufficient part blockage would generate the diagnosis with the structural information as illustrated in Fig. 5.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes and Cemal to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). Weatherhead-7624 teaches monitoring status of modules in a parent and child relationships. Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes and Cemal are analogous art of solving the problem for monitoring components in an automation processing plant. The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Weatherhead-3906 teaches: does not explicitly teach: wherein the first interlock chain visualization graphically indicates interlock dependencies among at least a first subset of the plurality of field components, and wherein the first subset includes (i) the first field component and (ii) the primary interlock source;
However, Siemens teaches: wherein the first interlock chain visualization graphically indicates interlock dependencies among at least a first subset of the plurality of field components, and wherein the first subset includes (i) the first field component and (ii) the primary interlock source; (Siemens − [pdf page 49-50, Sect. 5.4] The interface displays a series of multiple conveyor belts. A primary crusher screening, first conveyor belt, second conveyor belt and third conveyor belt. An alarm icon displayed in red on the first conveyor belt.)
causing, by the one or more computing devices, at least the first interlock chain visualization to be presented to a user via a user interface; (Weatherhead-3906 − [0050] Status display generator 506 can be linked to valve control module 402 using any appropriate referencing mechanism. Once this association between status display generator 506 and valve control module 402 has been established, status display generator 506 can automatically be made aware of any conditions (e.g., permissives, interlocks, alarms, modes, etc.) associated with the valve control module 402 that must be satisfied before the module will allow valve control output 422 to be set)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal and Siemens to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal and Siemens are analogous art of solving the problem for monitoring components in an automation processing plant. The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teach: responsive to determining that the interlock chain can be bypassed, causing, by the one or more computing devices, a virtual bypass option to be presented to the user via the user interface;
However, Nazrul teaches: and responsive to determining that the interlock chain can be bypassed, causing, by the one or more computing devices, a virtual bypass option to be presented to the user via the user interface. (Nazrul − [0009] One or more of the control signals can be bypassed to investigate the effect of each of the control signals alone, or in various combinations. [0056] For example, the LNA display 700 (Fig. 7) can include an option to bypass the amplifier 212 and/or to disconnect the SBI circuit 226 Fig. 2). Fig. 7 interface displays Bypass LNA option for bypassing the amplifier 212.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal, Siemens and Nazrul to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Regarding dependents claim 3, depends on claim 1, Weatherhead-3906 teaches: wherein the information associated with the first field component includes one or both of (i) a state of the first field component, and (ii) a measurement obtained by the first field component. (Weatherhead-3906 − [0052] Diagnostic area 602, generated by status display generator 506, lists the one or more conditions or categories of conditions that affect the availability of the "open valve" operation, and indicates which conditions are preventing the operation. Conditions or categories having a checkmark are in a proper state to allow the desired open command to be issued. Conditions with an "X" are preventing the open command from being issued and must be corrected before the valve can be opened.)
Regarding dependents claim 4, depends on claim 3, Weatherhead-3906 teaches: wherein automatically generating at least a first interlock chain visualization includes: automatically generating a first interlock chain visualization that extends only between a graphic representation of the primary interlock source. (Weatherhead-3906 − [0052] Diagnostic area 602, generated by status display generator 506, lists the one or more conditions or categories of conditions that affect the availability of the "open valve" operation, and indicates which conditions are preventing the operation. Conditions or categories having a checkmark are in a proper state to allow the desired open command to be issued. Conditions with an "X" are preventing the open command from being issued and must be corrected before the valve can be opened.)
Regarding dependents claim 5, depends on claim 3, Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teach: wherein automatically generating at least a first interlock chain visualization includes: automatically generating a first interlock chain visualization that extends at least between a graphic representation of a root field component of the first interlock chain and a graphic representation of the first field component.
However, Siemens teaches: wherein automatically generating at least a first interlock chain visualization includes: automatically generating a first interlock chain visualization that extends at least between a graphic representation of a root field component of the first interlock chain and a graphic representation of the first field component. (Siemens − [pdf page 50, Sect. 5.4] An emergency stop was triggered in the area of the first conveyor belt, causing an alarm to be triggered by the PCS 7 alarm logging system and to be displayed in the alarm line of the runtime interface. The block icons for the route and the group are marked with an alarm icon. As a result of the alarm, the drive of the first conveyor belt was stopped and locked to prevent a restart.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal, Siemens and Nazrul to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Regarding dependents claim 6, depends on claim 3, Weatherhead-3906 teaches: automatically generating, by the one or more computing devices, a first interlock chain visualization that extends at least between (i) a graphic representation of a field component shared between the first interlock chain and a second interlock chain, and (ii) the graphic representation of the first field component; (Weatherhead-3906 − [0053] Since permissive indicator 610 represents a composite status of the multiple permissives 416 depicted in FIG. 4, this category of conditions can be expanded (e.g., by selecting the permissives icon 610) to display the statuses of the individual permissives. An exemplary permissive display 702 is illustrated in FIG. 7 as a "pop-up" display that can be overlaid over display screen 508 when the permissive icon 610 is selected. In the present example, permissive #3 of the permissives 416 is in a state that is preventing the valve from being opened.)
Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teach: automatically generating a first interlock chain visualization that extends at least between a graphic representation of a root field component of the first interlock chain and a graphic representation of the first field component.
However, Siemens teaches: automatically generating, by the one or more computing devices, and contemporaneously with generating the first interlock chain visualization, a second interlock chain visualization that extends at least between (i) either the graphic representation of the shared field component or another graphic representation of the shared field component, and (ii) a graphic representation of a third field component of the plurality of field components; (Siemens − [pdf page 50, Sect. 5.4] An emergency stop was triggered in the area of the first conveyor belt, causing an alarm to be triggered by the PCS 7 alarm logging system and to be displayed in the alarm line of the runtime interface. The block icons for the route and the group are marked with an alarm icon. As a result of the alarm, the drive of the first conveyor belt was stopped and locked to prevent a restart.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal, Siemens and Nazrul to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Regarding dependents claim 7, depends on claim 6, Weatherhead-3906 teaches: wherein causing at least the first interlock chain visualization and the second interlock chain visualization to be presented to the user via the user interface includes: causing the first interlock chain visualization to be presented to the user via the user interface; (Weatherhead-3906 − [0051] Status display generator 506, having analyzed valve control module 402 and determined that a necessary condition has not been met, can display an overall status icon 514 on display screen 508 conveying that the "valve open" command is not available (as indicated by the "X"). Status display generator 506 can also provide an expansion button 512 that, when touched or clicked, will provide more detailed diagnostic information relating to the conditions and their present statuses, as illustrated in FIG. 6.)
Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teach: and causing the second interlock chain visualization to be presented to the user via the user interface, and the first interlock chain visualization to be hidden on the user interface, in response to the user selecting the second interlock chain visualization.
However, Siemens teaches: and causing the second interlock chain visualization to be presented to the user via the user interface, and the first interlock chain visualization to be hidden on the user interface, in response to the user selecting the second interlock chain visualization. (Siemens − [pdf page 51, Sect. 5.4] To determine the cause of the alarm, open the faceplate for the group and switch to the "Object list" view. The red symbols in the list mark the object that triggered the system stop. Switching between different faults in the object list view.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal, Siemens and Nazrul to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Regarding dependents claim 8, depends on claim 1, Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teach: causing, by the one or more computing devices, a single reset control to be presented to the user, via the user interface, contemporaneously with the first interlock chain visualization; detecting, by the one or more computing devices, a user activation of the single reset control; and in response to detecting the user activation of the single reset control, causing, by the one or more computing devices, a reset of at least the first subset of the plurality of field components.
However, Siemens teaches: causing, by the one or more computing devices, a single reset control to be presented to the user, via the user interface, contemporaneously with the first interlock chain visualization; (Siemens − [pdf page 52, Sect. 5.4] Before you can put the faulty conveyor belt back into operation, you must acknowledge the current fault and reset the belt conveyor drive again.)
detecting, by the one or more computing devices, a user activation of the single reset control; (Siemens − [pdf page 52, Sect. 5.4] Before you can put the faulty conveyor belt back into operation, you must acknowledge the current fault and reset the belt conveyor drive again.)
and in response to detecting the user activation of the single reset control, causing, by the one or more computing devices, a reset of at least the first subset of the plurality of field components. (Siemens − [pdf page 52, Sect. 5.4] Before you can put the faulty conveyor belt back into operation, you must acknowledge the current fault and reset the belt conveyor drive again.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal, Siemens and Nazrul to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Regarding dependents claim 9, depends on claim 1, Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teaches: using, by the one or more computing devices, at least the second interlock chain visualization to be presented via the user interface, and wherein the second interlock chain visualization graphically indicates interlock dependencies among at least a second subset of the plurality of field components, and wherein the second subset includes (i) the third field component and (ii) at least one other field component of the plurality of field components.
Siemens teaches: detecting, by the one or more computing devices, a subsequent interlock event occurring after the interlock event and causing a stoppage of at least a third field component of the plurality of field components; (Siemens − [pdf page 59 MinAS alarm view] CEMAT Alarm List used to provide selective information about the location and type of fault. Displaying a plurality of interlocks that have been triggered, A rope switch fault occurs at 3:09:02 PM time and another filed component (second one) Coarse material flow fault occurs at 3:29:23 PM which occurs after the rope switch fault.)
automatically generating, by the one or more computing devices analyzing the updated interlock logic data, at least a second interlock chain visualization; (Siemens – [5.3. pdf page 51] Faults in groups can be displayed by double clicking the list entry. Showing a list of field components where the belt conveyor has a fault and the rope switch has a fault. A fault is an interlock.)
causing, by the one or more computing devices, at least the second interlock chain visualization to be presented via the user interface, and wherein the second interlock chain visualization graphically indicates interlock dependencies among at least a second subset of the plurality of field components, and wherein the second subset includes (i) the second field component and (ii) at least one other field component of the plurality of field components. (Siemens – [5.3. pdf page 51] Faults in groups can be displayed by double clicking the list entry. Showing a list of field components where the belt conveyor has a fault and the rope switch has a fault. A fault is an interlock. [pdf page 59 MinAS alarm view] CEMAT Alarm List used to provide selective information about the location and type of fault. Displaying a plurality of interlocks that have been triggered, A rope switch can be a second filed component.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal and Siemens to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal and Siemens are analogous art of solving the problem for monitoring components in an automation processing plant. The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Regarding independent claim 10, is directed to a system. Claim 10 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and the claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependents claim 12, Weatherhead-3906 teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the one or more computing devices to: cause information associated with the first field component to be presented to the user via the user interface, (Weatherhead-3906 − [0051] Status display generator 506, having analyzed valve control module 402 and determined that a necessary condition has not been met, can display an overall status icon 514 on display screen 508 conveying that the "valve open" command is not available (as indicated by the "X"). Status display generator 506 can also provide an expansion button 512 that, when touched or clicked, will provide more detailed diagnostic information relating to the conditions and their present statuses, as illustrated in FIG. 6.)
wherein the information associated with the first field component includes one or both of (i) a state of the first field component, and (ii) a measurement obtained by the first field component. (Weatherhead-3906 − [0052] Diagnostic area 602, generated by status display generator 506, lists the one or more conditions or categories of conditions that affect the availability of the "open valve" operation, and indicates which conditions are preventing the operation. Conditions or categories having a checkmark are in a proper state to allow the desired open command to be issued. Conditions with an "X" are preventing the open command from being issued and must be corrected before the valve can be opened.)
Regarding dependents claim 13, depends on claim 12, Weatherhead-3906 teaches: wherein the first interlock chain visualization extends only between a graphic representation of the first field component and a graphic representation of the primary interlock source. (Weatherhead-3906 − [0052] Diagnostic area 602, generated by status display generator 506, lists the one or more conditions or categories of conditions that affect the availability of the "open valve" operation, and indicates which conditions are preventing the operation. Conditions or categories having a checkmark are in a proper state to allow the desired open command to be issued. Conditions with an "X" are preventing the open command from being issued and must be corrected before the valve can be opened.)
Regarding dependents claim 14, depends on claim 12, Weatherhead-3906 does not explicitly teach: wherein the first interlock chain visualization extends at least between a graphic representation of a root field component of the first interlock chain and a graphic representation of the first field component.
However, Siemens teaches: wherein the first interlock chain visualization extends at least between a graphic representation of a root field component of the first interlock chain and a graphic representation of the first field component. (Siemens − [pdf page 50, Sect. 5.4] An emergency stop was triggered in the area of the first conveyor belt, causing an alarm to be triggered by the PCS 7 alarm logging system and to be displayed in the alarm line of the runtime interface. The block icons for the route and the group are marked with an alarm icon. As a result of the alarm, the drive of the first conveyor belt was stopped and locked to prevent a restart.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Weatherhead-3906, Weatherhead-7624, Brandes, Cemal, Siemens and Nazrul to obtain a method of detecting alarms and displaying the alarms conditions in a human machine interface (HMI). The motivation for combining provides the benefit of monitoring individual devices (parts) in the automation component.
Regarding dependents claim 15, depends on claim 12, Weatherhead-3906 teaches: wherein the instructions cause the one or more computing devices to: automatically generate a first interlock chain visualization that extends at least between (i) a graphic representation of a field component shared between the first interlock chain and a second interlock chain, and (ii) the graphic representation of the first field component; (Weatherhead-3906 − [0053] Since permissive indicator 610 represents a composite status of the multiple permissives 416 depicted in FIG. 4, this category of conditions can be expanded (e.g., by selecting the permissives icon 610) to display the statuses of the individual permissives. An exemplary permissive display 702 is illustrated in FIG. 7 as a "pop-up" display that can be overlaid over display screen 508 when the permissive icon 610 is selected. In the present example, permissive #3 of the permiss