DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a color filter layer [claims 1, 12 and 20], a gate driving chip [claims 2, 5, 8, 13, 15, 17 & 20], a scanning line [claims 2, 5, 8, 13, 15, 17 & 20], the dielectric material [claim 2], and a spacing support unit [claim 11, 19 and 20] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show a color filter layer, a gate driving chip, a scanning line and a spacing support unit as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
a)Regarding claim 12, the claim states: “…forming a color filter layer on the second substrate…” In the specification, this limitation is shown in paragraph [0051]. However, there is no process of making, in such full, clear, concise on how the layer is formed on the substrate. The specification does not provide if the forming of this layer on the substrate is done by coating (spraying, dipping, powder coating), chemical vapor deposition (CVD), sputtering, layer-by-layer (LbL) assembly or other techniques include blending, which mixes polymers, or mechanical transfer, which involves physically moving a pre-formed layer onto the substrate.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not giving patentable weight to the above limitation at this time until further explanation is given by the applicant. Since claims 13-19 depend from claim 12, they also are rejected for the above reason.
b) Regarding claims 13, 15, and 17, the claims state: “…wherein the step of forming the circuit area comprises forming a driving area integrated with a gate driving chip function and a lead area…” In the specification, this limitation is shown in paragraphs [0056], [0058] and [0061]. However, there is no process of making, in such full, clear, concise on how the areas are formed on the substrate. The specification does not provide if forming of these areas are done by coating (spraying, dipping, powder coating), chemical vapor deposition (CVD), sputtering, layer-by-layer (LbL) assembly or other techniques include blending, which mixes polymers, or mechanical transfer, which involves physically moving a pre-formed layer onto the substrate.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not giving patentable weight to the above limitation at this time until further explanation is given by the applicant. Since claim 14 depends from claim 13, claim 16 depends from claim 15, and claim 18 depends from claim 17, they also are rejected for the above reason.
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a)Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation "the dielectric material" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further it is not clear if “the dielectric material” is a separate item or part of a liquid crystal layer of claim 1 which is also being claimed in between the first substrate and second substrate. It is not clear if the dielectric material could be what the liquid crystal layer is made of. Since claims 3-4 depend from claim 2, they also are rejected for the above reason.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position at this time that the dielectric material is part of the liquid crystal layer until further explanation is given.
b) Regarding claim 5, the claim states: “…the spacer layer is disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate corresponding to the lead area.” Claim 5 depends from claim 1 which states: “…the first substrate comprises a circuit area…; the circuit area is formed with a spacer layer…” It is not clear how the spacer layer is disposed between the first substrate and a second substrate when the spacer layer is actually part of and located in the first substrate. Since claims 6-7 depend from claim 5, they also are rejected for the above reason.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position at this time that the spacer layer is located within the first substrate and not being between substrates until further explanation is given.
c) Regarding claim 8, the claim states: “…the spacer layer is disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate corresponding to the driving area and the lead area, respectively.” Claim 8 depends from claim 1 which states: “…the first substrate comprises a circuit area…; the circuit area is formed with a spacer layer…” It is not clear how the spacer layer is disposed between the first substrate and a second substrate when the spacer layer is actually part of and located in the first substrate. Since claims 9-10 depend from claim 8, they also are rejected for the above reason.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position at this time that the spacer layer is located within the first substrate and not being between substrates until further explanation is given.
d) Regarding claim 11, the claim states: “…wherein a spacing support unit is further provided between the first substrate and the second substrate…” It is not clear if “spacing support unit” is a separate item or part of a liquid crystal layer of claim 1 which is also being claimed in between the first substrate and second substrate.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position at this time that the spacing support unit is located within the liquid crystal layer until further explanation is given.
e) Regarding claim 12, the claim states: “…disposing a spacer layer is between the first substrate and the second substrate corresponding to the circuit area.” It is not clear if the spacer layer is a separate item or part of a liquid crystal layer which is also being claimed in between the first substrate and second substrate. Since claims 13-19 depend from claim 12, they also are rejected for the above reason.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position at this time that the spacer layer is separate layer from the liquid crystal layer until further explanation is given.
f) Regarding claim 19, the claim states: “…wherein a spacing support unit is further provided between the first substrate and the second substrate…” It is not clear if “spacing support unit” is a separate item or part of a liquid crystal layer of claim 1 which is also being claimed in between the first substrate and second substrate.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position at this time that the spacing support unit is located within the liquid crystal layer until further explanation is given.
g) Regarding claim 20, the claim states: “…the spacer layer is disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate corresponding to the driving area and the lead area, respectively.” The claim also states: “…the first substrate comprises a circuit area…; the circuit area is formed with a spacer layer…” It is not clear how the spacer layer is disposed between the first substrate and a second substrate when the spacer layer is actually part of and located in the first substrate. The claim further states: “…wherein a spacing support unit is further provided between the first substrate and the second substrate…” It is not clear if “spacing support unit” is a separate item or part of a liquid crystal layer of claim 1 which is also being claimed in between the first substrate and second substrate.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position at this time that the spacer layer is located within the first substrate and not being between substrates until further explanation is given. Also, the examiner is taking a position at this time that the spacing support unit is located within the liquid crystal layer until further explanation is given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun et al (US Pub 2004/0017538).
Regarding claim 1, Yun et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] a display panel (LCD apparatus 500), comprising: a first substrate (substrate 200); a second substrate (substrate 100) comprising a color filter layer (color filter layer 120) and disposed opposite to the first substrate (200); and a liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 300) disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100); wherein the first substrate (200) comprises a circuit area (combo of driving area Dr and seal line areas Sl) and a display area (display area Ds); the circuit area (DR/Sl) is formed with a spacer layer (spacer 151), a dielectric constant of the spacer layer (151) is lower than a dielectric constant of the liquid crystal layer (300).
Regarding claim 2, Yun et al disclose wherein the circuit area (DR/Sl) comprises: a driving area (driving area DR) integrated with a gate driving chip (gate driving circuit 230); and a lead area (data driving circuit 250) for transmitting a signal of the driving area (DR) to a scanning line [not shown] in the display area (Ds); the dielectric material (1st spacer 151) is disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100) corresponding to the driving area (Dr).
Regarding claim 3, Yun et al disclose wherein a cross-sectional shape of the spacer layer (151) corresponds to a shape of the driving area (Dr).
Regarding claim 5, Yun et al disclose wherein the circuit area (DR/Sl) comprises: a driving area (driving area DR) integrated with a gate driving chip (gate driving circuit 230); and a lead area (data driving circuit 250) for transmitting a signal of the driving area (DR) to a scanning line [not shown] in the display area (Ds); the spacer layer (151) is disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100) corresponding to the lead area (250).
Regarding claim 6, Yun et al disclose wherein a cross-sectional shape of the spacer layer (151) corresponds to a shape of the driving area (Dr).
Regarding claim 8, Yun et al disclose wherein the circuit area (DR/Sl) comprises: a driving area (driving area DR) integrated with a gate driving chip (gate driving circuit 230); and a lead area (data driving circuit 250) for transmitting a signal of the driving area (DR) to a scanning line [not shown] in the display area (Ds); the spacer layer (151) is disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100) corresponding to the driving area (Dr) and the lead area (250).
Regarding claim 9, Yun et al disclose wherein a cross-sectional shape of the spacer layer (151) corresponds to a shape of the driving area (Dr).
Regarding claim 11, Yun et al disclose wherein a spacing support unit (2nd spacer 152) is further provided between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100), and the spacer layer (151) is made of a same material as the spacing support unit (152).
Regarding claim 12, Yun et al disclose a method for manufacturing a display panel (LCD apparatus 500), the method comprising the steps of: providing a first substrate (substrate 200/210) [see Figs. 3F-3G and paragraphs [0060]-[0063] for details]; providing a second substrate (substrate 100/110) disposed opposite to the first substrate (200/210) [see Figs 3A-3D & 3H and paragraphs [0047]-[0054] & [0063] for details]; forming a color filter layer (color filter layer 120) on the second substrate (100/110) [see Figs. 3A-3D and paragraphs [0047]-[0051] for details]; disposing a liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 300) between the first substrate (200/210) and the second substrate (100/110) [see Fig 1 and paragraph [0064] for details]; exposing a periphery of a display area (display area Ds) of the first substrate (200/210) to form a circuit area (combo driving area Dr and seal line area Sl) [see Fig. 3H and paragraphs [0051], [0056]-[0057] and [0059] for details]; and disposing a spacer layer (spacer 151) between the first substrate (200/210) and the second substrate (100/110) corresponding to the circuit area (Dr/Sl) [see Fig. 3E and paragraphs [0056]-[0059] for details], wherein a dielectric constant of the spacer layer (151) is lower than that of the liquid crystal layer (300).
Regarding claim 13, Yun et al disclose wherein the step of forming the circuit area (DR/Sl) comprises: forming a driving area (driving area DR) integrated with a gate driving chip (gate driving circuit 230) function and a lead area (data driving circuit 250) for transmitting a signal of the driving area (DR) to a scanning line [not shown] in the display area (Ds); the spacer layer (151) is disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100) corresponding to the driving area (Dr).
Regarding claim 14, Yun et al disclose wherein a cross-sectional shape of the spacer layer (151) corresponds to a shape of the driving area (Dr).
Regarding claim 15, Yun et al disclose wherein the step of forming the circuit area (DR/Sl) comprises: forming a driving area (driving area DR) integrated with a gate driving chip (gate driving circuit 230) function and a lead area (data driving circuit 250) for transmitting a signal of the driving area (DR) to a scanning line [not shown] in the display area (Ds); the spacer layer (151) is disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100) corresponding to the lead area (250).
Regarding claim 16, Yun et al disclose wherein a cross-sectional shape of the spacer layer (151) corresponds to a shape of the driving area (Dr).
Regarding claim 17, Yun et al disclose wherein the step of forming the circuit area (DR/Sl) comprises: forming a driving area (driving area DR) integrated with a gate driving chip (gate driving circuit 230) function and a lead area (data driving circuit 250) for transmitting a signal of the driving area (DR) to a scanning line [not shown] in the display area (Ds); the spacer layer (151) is disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100) corresponding to the driving area (Dr) and the lead area (250).
Regarding claim 18, Yun et al disclose wherein a cross-sectional shape of the spacer layer (151) corresponds to a shape of the driving area (Dr).
Regarding claim 19, Yun et al disclose wherein a spacing support unit (2nd spacer 152) is further provided between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100), and the spacer layer (151) is made of a same material as the spacing support unit (152).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al (US Pub 2004/0017538) in view of Kim et al (US Pub 2008/0151133).
Regarding claims 4,7 and 10, Yun et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] a display panel (LCD apparatus 500), comprising: a first substrate (substrate 200); a second substrate (substrate 100) comprising a color filter layer (color filter layer 120) and disposed opposite to the first substrate (200); and a liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 300) disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100); wherein the first substrate (200) comprises a circuit area (combo of driving area Dr and seal line areas Sl) is formed with a spacer layer (spacer 151). However, the prior art does not disclose the spacer layer comprises a polystyrene material. Kim et al disclose [see Fig. 10 above] ] a display panel (LCD apparatus 500), comprising: a first substrate (substrate 100); a second substrate (substrate 200) comprising a color filter layer (color filter layer 220) and disposed opposite to the first substrate (100); and a liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 300) disposed between the first substrate (100) and the second substrate (200); wherein the first substrate (100) comprises a circuit area [shown but not numbered] is formed with a spacer layer (spacer 250) where the spacer layer (250) comprises a polystyrene material [see paragraph [0073] for details]. Further, Kim et al teaches that the addition of spacer with a polystyrene material is advantageous because it helps improve the display panel and reduce the load of a circuit during use. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Yun et al by adding a polystyrene material to the spacer layer as taught by Kim et al in order to help improve the display panel during use by a user during testing and manufacturing.
Regarding claim 20, Yun et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] a display panel (LCD apparatus 500), comprising: a first substrate (substrate 200); a second substrate (substrate 100) comprising a color filter layer (color filter layer 120) and disposed opposite to the first substrate (200); and a liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 300) disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100); wherein the first substrate (200) comprises a circuit area (combo of driving area Dr and seal line areas Sl) and a display area (display area Ds); the circuit area (DR/Sl) is formed with a spacer layer (spacer 151), a dielectric constant of the spacer layer (151) is lower than a dielectric constant of the liquid crystal layer (300); wherein the circuit area (DR/Sl) comprises: a driving area (driving area DR) integrated with a gate driving chip (gate driving circuit 230); and a lead area (data driving circuit 250) for transmitting a signal of the driving area (DR) to a scanning line [not shown] in the display area (Ds); the spacer layer (151) is disposed between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100) corresponding to the driving area (Dr) and the lead area (250); wherein a spacing support unit (2nd spacer 152) is further provided between the first substrate (200) and the second substrate (100), and the spacer layer (151) is made of a same material as the spacing support unit (152). However, the prior art does not disclose the spacer layer comprises a polystyrene material. Kim et al disclose [see Fig. 10 above] ] a display panel (LCD apparatus 500), comprising: a first substrate (substrate 100); a second substrate (substrate 200) comprising a color filter layer (color filter layer 220) and disposed opposite to the first substrate (100); and a liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 300) disposed between the first substrate (100) and the second substrate (200); wherein the first substrate (100) comprises a circuit area [shown but not numbered] is formed with a spacer layer (spacer 250) where the spacer layer (250) comprises a polystyrene material [see paragraph [0073] for details]. Further, Kim et al teaches that the addition of spacer with a polystyrene material is advantageous because it helps improve the display panel and reduce the load of a circuit during use. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Yun et al by adding a polystyrene material to the spacer layer as taught by Kim et al in order to help improve the display panel during use by a user during testing and manufacturing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858