DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (US 2016/0240800) in view of Kawamura et al (WO 2015/033559, see attached English language translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ma et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising first and second electrodes, i.e. an anode and a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and cathode (Abstract [0027]). The organic layer, i.e. an emitter layer, comprises a compound given by Formula 1 or 2 ([0027]). The compound has the following structure ([0078]):
.
In the above compound, the group X is NRE, O, or S and the groups RA, RB1, Rc, RD, and RE are H ([0063]-[0064]). The recited group M is Pt, the recited group X1 is O, and the bond between O and Pt is a covalent bond; the recited group X2 is N.
The recited groups Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4, Y5, Y6, Y7, Y8, and Y9 are C. The recited groups Y10 and Y11 are C. The bond between Y1 and Y10 is a double bond, the bond between Y1 and Y2 is a dingle bond, the bond between X2 and Y3 is a double bond, the bond between X2 and Y4 is a single bond, the bond between Y4 and Y5 is a double bond, the bond between Y5 and Y6 is a single bond, the bond between X3 and Y7 is a double bond, the bond between X3 and Y8 is a single bond, the bond between X4 and Y9 is a double bond, and the bond between X4 and Y11 is single bond. The bond between Y2 and Y3, the bond between Y6 and Y7, and Y8 and Y9 are single bonds.
The recited group CY1 is a C6 carbocyclic group; the recited group CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group; and the recited group CY5 is a C3 heterocyclic group. The recited group CY4 is a C6 carbocyclic group, i.e. benzene, and the recited group X4 is C, and therefore not one of the heterocyclic groups recited for CY4 of the present. Furthermore, the recited group X3 is N and not C as required in the present claims.
However, the above compound is but one embodiment and attention is directed to Formula (1) of the reference ([0069]) which is given as:
where the recited group CY4 is given by ring D and the recited group CY3 is given by ring C. In rings C and D, the groups X4 and X3 are disclosed as carbon or nitrogen ([0066]). Thus, the recited group CY3 can be benzene, i.e. the recited group X3 is C and the group CY3 is a C6 carbocyclic group.
Given that X4 can be N, ring D in the compound of the reference can be a heteroaryl as disclosed in Paragraph [0068] of the reference. The reference discloses that the term “heteroaryl” encompasses groups such as isoquinoline, i.e.
.
From the above, it is clear that isoquinoline, corresponding to the recited ring CY4, is a pyridine group condensed with a benzene group.
From the discussion above, the recited groups CY5, CY2, CY3, and M form a 6-membered ring. The recited group X51 corresponds to the group X and is O or S. The recited integers a1, a2, a3, and a4 are zero (0).
The reference teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. However, the reference does not disclose that the light emitting layer comprises a second compound given by Formula (2) as recited in the present claims.
Kawamura et al discloses an organic light emitting device, where the light emitting layer comprises the following host compound ([0048]-[0049] and Page 29 of WO 2015/033559):
.
This compound corresponds to the recited second compound represented by Formula (2):
,
where a11 is one (1), b11 is one (1); n11 is one (1); and L11 is an unsubstituted anthracene, i.e. a C14 arylene. In recited Formula (2), Ar11 corresponds to Formula 8C-3 of the claims:
,
where R801 and R802 are methyl groups. R805 correspond to:
,
where, as discussed above, a11 is one (1); b11 is one (1); n11 is one (1); and L11 is an anthracene group, i.e. an unsubstituted C14 arylene group. In Formula 8C-2 the remaining R-groups are hydrogen and R11 is a phenyl group, i.e. a hole transport group.
The reference discloses that utilizing the compound provides a low driving voltage and exhibits high luminous efficiency ([0005]).
Given that both Ma et al and Kawamura et al are drawn to organic light emitting device comprising electron transport layers, and given that Ma et al does not explicitly prohibit other ingredients from being present in the light emitting layer, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the compound as taught by Kawamura et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such compounds in the light emitting layer of the organic light emitting device disclosed by Ma et al in order to improve electroluminescent properties and obtain a device having improved efficiency of light emission and a long lifetime with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, in Ma et al, the recited ring CY1 is a six (6) membered ring; the recited group CY2 is six (6) membered ring; the recited group CY3 is a six (6) membered ring; and the recited group CY5 is a 5-membered ring. The 6-membered rings are benzene and pyridine, and the 5-membered ring is an imidazole ring, i.e. the group X in the compound of Ma et al is N.
Regarding claim 3, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the recited groups CY1 and CY2 are benzene rings; the recited group CY4 is an isoquinoline group; and the recited group CY3 is benzene.
Regarding claim 4, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the compound of Formula 1 in claim 1 does not require the recited groups L1 to L4 and L7, Ma et al discloses the compound as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 5, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the compound of Formula 1 in claim 1 does not require the recited groups R1 to R4, R7 and R8, Ma et al discloses the compound as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 6, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Ma et al discloses that the recited group X51 is O or S.
Regarding claim 7, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compound disclosed by Ma et al, the recited group X51 is O. From the discussion above, the recited groups CY1 and CY2 are benzene rings; the recited group CY3 is benzene; and the recited group CY4 is an isoquinoline. Thus, Ma et al discloses a compound given by recited Formula 1-2A of the claim.
Regarding claim 9, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compound disclosed by Kawamura et al, L11 in an anthracene group.
Regarding claim 10, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compound disclosed by Kawamura et al R11 is a phenyl group.
Regarding claim 12, the combined disclosures of Ma et al and Kawamura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Kawamura et al discloses that the amount of the compound relative to dopant is 19:1 ([0167]). Accordingly, the amount of the host compound, i.e. second compound, is greater than that of the dopant, i.e. first compound.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (US 2016/0240800) in view of Nishimura et al (US 2010/0171109) and Klubek et al (US 2007/0122657).
Regarding claim 13, Ma et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising first and second electrodes, i.e. an anode and a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and cathode (Abstract [0027]). The organic layer, i.e. an emitter layer, comprises a compound given by Formula 1 or 2 ([0027]). The compound has the following structure ([0078]):
.
In the above compound, the group X is NRE, O, or S and the groups RA, RB1, Rc, RD, and RE are H ([0063]-[0064]). The recited group M is Pt, the recited group X1 is O, and the bond between O and Pt is a covalent bond; the recited group X2 is N.
The recited groups Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4, Y5, Y6, Y7, Y8, and Y9 are C. The recited groups Y10 and Y11 are C. The bond between Y1 and Y10 is a double bond, the bond between Y1 and Y2 is a dingle bond, the bond between X2 and Y3 is a double bond, the bond between X2 and Y4 is a single bond, the bond between Y4 and Y5 is a double bond, the bond between Y5 and Y6 is a single bond, the bond between X3 and Y7 is a double bond, the bond between X3 and Y8 is a single bond, the bond between X4 and Y9 is a double bond, and the bond between X4 and Y11 is single bond. The bond between Y2 and Y3, the bond between Y6 and Y7, and Y8 and Y9 are single bonds.
The recited group CY1 is a C6 carbocyclic group; the recited group CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group; and the recited group CY5 is a C3 heterocyclic group. The recited group CY4 is a C6 carbocyclic group, i.e. benzene, and the recited group X4 is C, and therefore not one of the heterocyclic groups recited for CY4 of the present. Furthermore, the recited group X3 is N and not C as required in the present claims.
However, the above compound is but one embodiment and attention is directed to Formula (1) of the reference ([0069]) which is given as:
where the recited group CY4 is given by ring D and the recited group CY3 is given by ring C. In rings C and D, the groups X4 and X3 are disclosed as carbon or nitrogen ([0066]). Thus, the recited group CY3 can be benzene, i.e. the recited group X3 is C and the group CY3 is a C6 carbocyclic group.
Given that X4 can be N, ring D in the compound of the reference can be a heteroaryl as disclosed in Paragraph [0068] of the reference. The reference discloses that the term “heteroaryl” encompasses groups such as isoquinoline, i.e.
.
From the above, it is clear that isoquinoline, corresponding to the recited ring CY4, is a pyridine group condensed with a benzene group.
From the discussion above, the recited groups CY5, CY2, CY3, and M form a 6-membered ring. The recited group X51 corresponds to the group X and is O or S. The recited integers a1, a2, a3, and a4 are zero (0).
The reference teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. However, the reference does not disclose that the light emitting layer comprises a second compound given by Formula (2) as recited in the present claims.
Nishimura et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a light emitting layer, where the light emitting layer comprises a phosphorescent dopant and a phosphorescent host (Abstract). The phosphorescent host has a polycyclic fused aromatic skeleton with the following formula (Abstract, [0026], [0035] and Page 8):
This compound corresponds to the recited second compound represented by Formula (2):
,
where n11 is two (2). In recited Formula (2), Ar11 corresponds to Formula 8B-3 of the claims:
,
where R811 and R805 are:
,
where a11 is zero (0); b11 is one (1); and R11 is naphthyl, i.e. a hole transport group. In Formula 8B-3, the remaining R-groups are H.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following phosphorescent host with a polycyclic fused aromatic skeleton ([0038]):
.
This compound corresponds to the recited second compound represented by Formula (2):
,
where n11 is two (2). In recited Formula (2), Ar11 corresponds to Formula 8B-4 of the claims:
,
where R812 and R803 are:
,
where a11 is zero (0); b11 is one (1); and R11 is phenyl, i.e. a hole transport group. In Formula 8B-4, the remaining R-groups are H.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following phosphorescent host with a polycyclic fused aromatic skeleton ([0042]):
.
This compound corresponds to the recited second compound represented by Formula (2):
,
where n11 is two (2). In recited Formula (2), Ar11 corresponds to Formula 8B-5 of the claims:
,
where R801 and R804 are:
,
where a11 is zero (0); b11 is one (1); and R11 is phenyl, i.e. a hole transport group. In Formula 8B-5, the remaining R-groups are H.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following phosphorescent host with a polycyclic fused aromatic skeleton ([0049]):
.
This compound corresponds to the recited second compound represented by Formula (2):
,
where n11 is one (1). In recited Formula (2), Ar11 corresponds to Formula 8B-10 of the claims:
,
where R809 is:
,
where a11 is one(1); b11 is one (1); L11 is a phenylene group, and R11 is phenyl, i.e. a hole transport group. In Formula 8B-10, the remaining R-groups are H.
The reference discloses that the phosphorescent host has high stability so that the singlet and triplet energy can be transferred smoothly, resulting in enhanced luminous efficiency and long lifetime ([0114]-[0115]).
Given that both Ma et al and Nishimura et al are drawn to organic light emitting device comprising electron transport layers, and given that Ma et al does not explicitly prohibit other ingredients from being present in the electron transport layer, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the compound as taught by Nishimura et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such compounds in the electron transport layer of the organic light emitting device disclosed by Ma et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
The combined disclosures of Ma et al and Nishimura et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Ma et al does not disclose that the organic layer comprises a third compound given by Formula (3) as recited in the present claims.
Klubek et al discloses an organic light emitting device where a layer between the cathode and the light emitting layer, i.e. an electron transport layer, comprises the following compound (Abstract, [0010], [0018], and Page 7 – Inv-10):
This compound corresponds to recited third compound represented by Formula 3, i.e.
,
where n21 is one (1); a21 is zero (0); and b21 is one (1). Ar21 is given by Formula (9B-5), i.e.
,
where R201 corresponds to:
where, as discussed above, a21 is zero (0), b21 is one (1); n21 is one (1). In Formula (9B-5) R21 is an unsubstituted phenanthroline group, i.e. an electron transport group and the remaining R-groups are H.
The reference discloses that the use of the compound results in organic light emitting devices having increased luminance, good stability, and reduced driving voltage ([0010]).
Given that both Ma et al and Klubek et al are drawn to organic light emitting device comprising electron transport layers, and given that Ma et al does not explicitly prohibit other ingredients from being present in the light emitting layer, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the compound as taught by Klubek et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such compounds in electron transport layer of the organic light emitting device disclosed by Ma et al in order obtain an device having increased luminance, good stability, and reduced driving voltage with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14, the combined disclosures of Ma et al, Nishimura et al, and Klubek et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, it is clear that the recited compound as disclosed by Nishimura et al is different from the recited third compound taught by Klubek et al.
Regarding claim 15, the combined disclosures of Ma et al, Nishimura et al, and Klubek et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compound disclosed by Klubek et al, R21 is a phenanthrolinyl group substituted with a C6 aryl group.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786