DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wherein the second metal feature the third metal feature, and the fourth metal feature are configured to receive an alternating current (AC) in claim 40 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Regarding claim 40. Claim 40 recites the limitation “wherein the second metal feature the third metal feature, and the fourth metal feature are configured to receive an alternating current (AC)” in the last line of the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 40. Claim 40 recites the limitation “wherein the second metal feature the third metal feature, and the fourth metal feature are configured to receive an alternating current (AC)” in the last line of the claim language.
Applicant does not have written support in the originally filed specifications for wherein the second metal feature the third metal feature, and the fourth metal feature are configured to receive an alternating current (AC).
Claims 41-43 are rejected for dependence upon a 112(a) rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14, 20, 25, 26, 33, 34, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Selvaraj et al (U.S. 2016/0300907).
Regarding claim 12. Selvaraj et al disclose an electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20), comprising:
a substrate (FIG. 3a/3c, item 31s) having circuitry including a plurality of transistors ([0050], i.e. for integrated circuits including MOS transistors) connected by metal features ([0040], i.e. metal conductors 40) including vias and/or traces ([0040], i.e. metal conductors 40), the metal features including a first metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40c; FIG. 3c, item 40c) configured to be biases at a first DC voltage (FIG. 3c, item Vbias+), and a second metal feature (FIG. 3a, item 40t on right; FIG. 3c, item 40t) configured to be biased at a second DC voltage (FIG. 3c, item Vbias-) less than the first DC voltage (FIG. 3c, item Vbias+),
and a third metal (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28b; [0034], i.e. Conversely, lower plate 28b is implemented in a lower metal conductor level, such as the first or second metal level, as shown in FIG. 3a) positioned between the first metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40c; [0040], i.e. metal conductors 40) and the second metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t on the right; [0040], i.e. metal conductors 40),
wherein the third metal (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28b) and the second metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t on the right; [0040], i.e. metal conductors 40) are configured to receive ([0006], i.e. capacitor 7 is deployed directly at an external terminal (e.g., an input) of the integrated circuit; [0042], i.e. where voltage Vbias+ is greater than voltage Vbias−, will increase the capacitance values of junction capacitances CD1, CD2, CD3. This increase in those series capacitances CD1, CD2, CD3, in the circuit arrangement of FIG. 3c, will further reduce the effective parasitic capacitance at lower plate 28b) an alternating current (AC) signal ([0004], i.e. As well known in the art, some implementations of modern integrated circuits require the communication of signals between integrated circuits that are not referenced to the same ground voltage, either (or both) in the DC and AC sense; [0031], i.e. integrated circuit 14 serves as a transmitter of signals to integrated circuit 16, which is thus the receiver; [0031] pulse-width modulator 15a).
Regarding claim 13. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 12 above.
Selveraj et al further discloses wherein the third metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28b) is a trace comprising an electrically conductive material (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28b; [0034]) or a via filled with the electrically conductive material.
Regarding claim 14. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 12 above.
Selveraj et al further discloses wherein the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16) comprises an integrated circuit (IC) (FIG. 2, item 16; [0034], i.e. integrated circuit 16), including a semiconductor substrate (FIG. 3a/3c, item 31s).
Regarding claim 20. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 12 above.
Selvaraj et al further discloses wherein the first (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40c; [0040], i.e. metal conductors 40), second (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t on the right; [0040], i.e. metal conductors 40), and third metal features (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28b; [0034], i.e. Conversely, lower plate 28b is implemented in a lower metal conductor level) each comprises a same metal ([0040], i.e. metal conductors; [0034], i.e. metal conductor)
Regarding claim 25. Selvaraj et al discloses an integrated circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20), comprising:
a first metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40c; FIG. 3c, item 40c; [0040], i.e. metal conductors 40) configured to operate at a first voltage ([0042], i.e. voltage Vbias+ to n-well region 32w and n-type buried layer 36 (via regions 32c, 34));
a second metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t on right side; ; [0040], i.e. metal conductors 40) of a second circuit node (FIG. 3a, item 38w) configured to operate at a second voltage ([0042], i.e. voltage Vbias- to tank region 31t and substrate 31s, where voltage Vbias+ is greater than voltage Vbias-), the first voltage having a DC bias with respect to the second voltage ([0042], i.e. where voltage Vbias+ is greater than voltage Vbias-);
a third metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28b; [0034]) between the first (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40c) and second metal features (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t on the right) and,
the third metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28b) and the second metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t) are configured to receive ([0006], i.e. capacitor 7 is deployed directly at an external terminal (e.g., an input) of the integrated circuit; [0042], i.e. where voltage Vbias+ is greater than voltage Vbias−, will increase the capacitance values of junction capacitances CD1, CD2, CD3. This increase in those series capacitances CD1, CD2, CD3, in the circuit arrangement of FIG. 3c, will further reduce the effective parasitic capacitance at lower plate 28b) an alternating current (AC) signal ([0004], i.e. As well known in the art, some implementations of modern integrated circuits require the communication of signals between integrated circuits that are not referenced to the same ground voltage, either (or both) in the DC and AC sense; [0031], i.e. integrated circuit 14 serves as a transmitter of signals to integrated circuit 16, which is thus the receiver; [0031] pulse-width modulator 15a)
Regarding claim 26. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 25 above.
Selveraj et al further discloses wherein the first metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c item 40c) is a first interconnect trace (FIG. 3a/3c item 40c), the second metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c item 40t) is a second interconnect trace (FIG. 3a/3c item 40t), and the third metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c item 28a and 28b) includes a trace (FIG. 3a/3c item 28a and 28b) running parallel ([0033], i.e. several metal conductor levels are used within integrated circuit 16, several interlevel dielectric layers 30b through 30g vertically separate lower plate 28b from upper plate 28a) to the first (FIG. 3a/3c item 40c) or second (FIG. 3a/3c item 40t) interconnect trace.
Regarding claim 33. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 25 above.
Selveraj et al further discloses wherein the third metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28a and 28b) is configured to receive an AC potential ([0004]) with a 10V peak-to-peak voltage ([0004] As well known in the art, some implementations of modern integrated circuits require the communication of signals between integrated circuits that are not referenced to the same ground voltage, either (or both) in the DC and AC sense; [0031] pulse-width modulator 15a).
The use of the language "wherein the metal guard is configured to receive an AC potential with a 10V peak-to-peak voltage" in a device claim shall be interpreted as intended use. As long as the element of the metal guard in the prior art is met, then the intended use is met. Claim requires further positive structure to overcome the intended use.
Regarding claim 34. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 25 above.
Selveraj et al further discloses wherein the third metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28a and 28b) is configured to receive an AC potential ([0004]; [0031]) with a 100 Hz frequency ([0004]; [0031] pulse-width modulator 15a).
The use of the language " wherein the metal guard is configured to receive an AC potential with a 100 Hz frequency" in a device claim shall be interpreted as intended use. As long as the element of the metal guard in the prior art is met, then the intended use is met. Claim requires further positive structure to overcome the intended use.
Regarding claim 40. Selvaraj et al discloses an integrated circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20), comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (FIG. 3a/3c, item 31s);
circuitry (FIG. 3a/3c, item 31s) including a plurality of transistors ([0050], i.e. for integrated circuits including MOS transistors; [0035]. i.e. As known in the art for complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) integrated circuits) formed in or over the semiconductor substrate ([0035]. i.e. As known in the art for complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) integrated circuits, n-well region 32w is a typical n-doped region formed into the surface of p-type substrate),
metal features ([0040], i.e. metal conductors 40) connected to the plurality transistors ([0050]; [0035]), including signal vias ([0038]) and/or traces, the metal features ([0040], i.e. metal conductors 40) including a first metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40c; FIG. 3c, item 40c; [0040]) configured to be biased ([0042]) at a first DC voltage (FIG. 3c, item Vbias+), and a second metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t on right; FIG. 3c, item 40t; [0040]) spaced apart from the first metal feature (FIG. 3a, item 40c; FIG. 3c, item 40c; [0040]) and configured to be biased ([0042]) at a second DC voltage (FIG. 3c, item Vbias-) less than the first DC voltage (FIG. 3c, item Vbias+); and
a third metal feature (FIG. 3a, item 28b; FIG. 3c, item 28b; [0034]) between the first metal feature (FIG. 3a, item 40c; [0040]) and the second metal feature (FIG. 3a, item 40t on the right; [0040]), and a fourth metal feature (FIG. 3a, item 28a; FIG. 3c, item 28a; [0034]) between the first metal feature (FIG. 3a, item 40c; [0040]) and the second metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t on right; [0040]), wherein the second metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 40t), the third metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28b), and the fourth metal feature (FIG. 3a/3c, item 28a) are configured to ([0006], i.e. capacitor 7 is deployed directly at an external terminal (e.g., an input) of the integrated circuit; [0042], i.e. where voltage Vbias+ is greater than voltage Vbias−, will increase the capacitance values of junction capacitances CD1, CD2, CD3. This increase in those series capacitances CD1, CD2, CD3, in the circuit arrangement of FIG. 3c, will further reduce the effective parasitic capacitance at lower plate 28b) receive an alternating current (AC) signal ([0004], i.e. As well known in the art, some implementations of modern integrated circuits require the communication of signals between integrated circuits that are not referenced to the same ground voltage, either (or both) in the DC and AC sense; [0031], i.e. integrated circuit 14 serves as a transmitter of signals to integrated circuit 16, which is thus the receiver; [0031] pulse-width modulator 15a)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 32, 41, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvaraj et al (U.S. 2016/0300907) as applied to claims 12, 25, and 40 above, and further in view of Hopper (U.S. 2002/0149111).
Regarding claim 16. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 12 above.
Selvaraj et al further discloses wherein the metal features ([0040], i.e. metal conductors 40).
Selvaraj et al fails to explicitly disclose the metal features comprise copper or aluminum.
However, Hopper teaches the guard feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum (claim 14, i.e. the interconnect metallization layer is substantially composed of aluminum)
Hopper further discloses (in claim 13) that the metallization layer is substantially composed of copper).
Since Selvaraj et al and Hopper teach copper interconnects, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the integrated circuit as disclosed in Selvaraj et al with the guard feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum as disclosed by Hopper. The use of the interconnect metallization layer is substantially composed of aluminum in Hopper provides for exhibiting reduced variation in parasitic capacitance (Hopper, [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 32. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 25 above.
Selvaraj et al further discloses wherein the first (FIG. 3a, item 40c), second (FIG. 3a, item 40t), and third (FIG. 3a, items 28b) metal features ([0040], i.e. metal conductors 40).
Selvaraj et al fails disclose wherein the metal features each comprises comprise copper.
However, Hopper teaches the metal feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum (claim 13, i.e. wherein the interconnect metallization layer is substantially composed of copper)
Since Selvaraj et al and Hopper teach interconnects, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the integrated circuit as disclosed to modify Selvaraj et al with the teachings of the metal feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum as disclosed by Hopper. The use of the interconnect metallization layer is substantially composed of copper in Hopper provides for exhibiting reduced variation in parasitic capacitance (Hopper, [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 41. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 40 above.
Selvaraj et al further discloses wherein the third and fourth metal features (FIG. 3a, items 28a and 28b).
Selvaraj et al fails disclose wherein the metal feature is a trace substantially comprising copper.
However, Hopper teaches the metal feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum (claim 13, i.e. wherein the interconnect metallization layer is substantially composed of copper)
Since Selvaraj et al and Hopper teach interconnects, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the integrated circuit as disclosed to modify Selvaraj et al with the teachings of the metal feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum as disclosed by Hopper. The use of the interconnect metallization layer is substantially composed of copper in Hopper provides for exhibiting reduced variation in parasitic capacitance (Hopper, [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 42. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 40 above.
Selvaraj et al further discloses wherein the third and fourth metal features (FIG. 3a, items 28a and 28b).
Selvaraj et al fails disclose wherein the metal feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum.
However, Hopper teaches the metal feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum (claim 14, i.e. the interconnect metallization layer is substantially composed of aluminum)
Since Selvaraj et al and Hopper teach interconnects, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the integrated circuit as disclosed to modify Selvaraj et al with the teachings of the metal feature is a trace substantially comprising aluminum as disclosed by Hopper. The use of the interconnect metallization layer is substantially composed of aluminum in Hopper provides for exhibiting reduced variation in parasitic capacitance (Hopper, [Abstract]).
Claims 18, 19, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvaraj et al (U.S. 2016/0300907) as applied to claims 12 and 40 above, and further in view of Lu et al (U.S. 2015/0138873).
Regarding claim 18. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 12 above.
Selvaraj et al discloses the first (FIG. 3a, item 40c) and second metal (FIG. 3a, item 40t) feature.
Selvaraj et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 100 mm.
However, Lu et al teaches (FIG. 6a) wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 100 mm ([0080], i.e. the metallic nanowires can have a width of about 60 nm and pitch of about 150 nm).
Since Both Selvaraj et al and Lu et al teach metal conductors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the electronic circuit as disclosed in Selvaraj et al with the wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 100 mm as disclosed by Lu et al. The use of the metallic nanowires can have a width of about 60 nm and pitch of about 150 nm in Lu et al provides for an array of metallic nanowires that include metals capable of supplying filament-forming ions (Lu et al, [0080]).
Regarding claim 19. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 12 above.
Selvaraj et al discloses the first (FIG. 3a, item 40c) and second metal (FIG. 3a, item 40t) feature.
Selvaraj et al fails to explicitly disclose features are spaced apart by < 10 mm.
Selvaraj et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 10 mm.
However, Lu et al teaches (FIG. 6a) wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 10 mm ([0080], i.e. the metallic nanowires can have a width of about 60 nm and pitch of about 150 nm).
Since Both Selvaraj et al and Lu et al teach metal conductors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the electronic circuit as disclosed in Selvaraj et al with the wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 10 mm as disclosed by Lu et al. The use of the metallic nanowires can have a width of about 60 nm and pitch of about 150 nm in Lu et al provides for an array of metallic nanowires that include metals capable of supplying filament-forming ions (Lu et al, [0080]).
Regarding claim 43. Selvaraj et al discloses all the limitations of the electronic circuit (FIG. 2, item 16; FIG. 3a/3c, item 20) of claim 40 above.
Selvaraj et al discloses the first (FIG. 3a, item 40c) and second metal (FIG. 3a, item 40t) feature.
Selvaraj et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 100 mm.
However, Lu et al teaches (FIG. 6a) wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 100 mm ([0080], i.e. the metallic nanowires can have a width of about 60 nm and pitch of about 150 nm).
Since Both Selvaraj et al and Lu et al teach metal conductors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the electronic circuit as disclosed in Selvaraj et al with the wherein the first and second metal features are spaced apart by < 100 mm as disclosed by Lu et al. The use of the metallic nanowires can have a width of about 60 nm and pitch of about 150 nm in Lu et al provides for an array of metallic nanowires that include metals capable of supplying filament-forming ions (Lu et al, [0080]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Drawing objection.
On page 5 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that the limitations “wherein the second metal feature the third metal feature, and the fourth metal feature are configured to receive an alternating current (AC)” are based upon figure 2 and 4.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner respectfully points out that Fig. 2 does not show metal features connected to the plurality of transistors, wherein the second metal feature the third metal feature, and the fourth metal feature are configured to receive an alternating current (AC), and that Fig 4 does not show wherein the second metal feature the third metal feature, and the fourth metal feature are configured to receive an alternating current (AC). Examiner respectfully points out that the features in claim 40 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Regarding 112(a) rejection.
On page 5 of applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that FIG. 2, Fig. 4 and its corresponding description supports the limitation wherein the second metal feature the third metal feature, and the fourth metal feature are configured to receive an alternating current (AC). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner respectfully points out that neither Applicant’s FIG. 2, FIG. 4, nor corresponding description discloses applicant’s limitation.
Regarding 102 rejection.
On page 6 of applicant’s remarks, applicant appears to be arguing that Selvaraj et al fails to teach or suggest the third metal feature and the second metal feature are configured to receive and AC signal in claims 12 and 25.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that Selvaraj et al discloses the third metal feature and the second metal feature are configured to receive and AC signal in FIG. 2, FIG. 3a, FIG. 3c, and [0004], [0006], [0031]-[0035].
On page 7 of applicant’s remarks, applicant appears to be further arguing that FIG. 2 does not show the elements, and FIG. 3a does not show any AC signal circuit and the background is not sufficient to support AC signal.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertion. Selvaraj et al states in [0031] FIG.2 illustrates a portion of an electronic system including integrated circuits 14, 16 that are connected to one another. In this example, integrated circuit 14 serves as a transmitter of signals to integrated circuit 16. Selvaraj et al further states in [0032] FIGS. 3a and 3b illustrate, in cross-section and plan views, respectively, the construction of isolator structure 20 in integrated circuit 16 according to an embodiment. And Selveraj et al discloses an AC signal in [0031], i.e. integrated circuit 14 serves as a transmitter of signals to integrated circuit 16, which is thus the receiver; [0031] pulse-width modulator 15a.
Regarding 103 rejection.
On page 8 of applicant’s remarks, applicant appears to be arguing claims 16, 18, 19, 32, 41, 42 and 43 are allowable for the same reasons as above.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reason as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Farkas et al (U.S. 2018/0284011) discloses Circuits, Systems, and Methods for Corrosion Detection.
Farque (U.S. 4,894,135) discloses Electrolyte IR Voltage Compensator for Cathodic Protection Systems or the like.
Freeman (U.S. 4,437,957) discloses Cathodic or Anodic Protection System and Method for Independently Protecting Different Regions of A Structure.
Freeman (U.S. 4,255,242) discloses Reference Electrode IP Drop Corrector for Cathodic and Anodic Protection Systems.
/S.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 /JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815