Status of the Application
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 14-20, and 25 have been examined in this application.
The filling date of this application number recited above is 06 July 2018. Domestic Benefit/National Stage priority has been claimed for 62/571,108 and 62/532,514 in the Application Data Sheet, thus the examination will be undertaken in consideration of 11 October 2017 and 14 July 2017, as the priority date, for applicable claims.
No additional information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed to date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boschker et al. (US 20130261954 A1), in view of Neuner et al. (US 20150154868 A1) in further view of Cordova et al. (US 20140180731 A1), and in view of JAIN et al. (WO 2015095610 A1).
As per Claims 1, 15, and 20, Boschker discloses a computing system, comprising: at least one processor; a communication interface; and memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (See Figures 2 and 3, as disclosed [0026] “According to a first aspect of the present invention, there is provided a mapping or navigation device comprising or connectable to position determining apparatus, the position determining apparatus being operable to determine one or more locations of the mapping or navigation device, the one or more determined locations forming at least one route;”), cause the computing system to:
receive, via the communication interface and from a user computing device, sensor data that specifies a plurality of location points at which the user computing device was located and that indicates [navigation points] of the user computing device, wherein the sensor data is captured by one or more sensors of the user computing device ([0162] “Throughout the journey, the location of the navigation device 200 as determined using the GPS receiver 224 is stored in the device memory 214 in order to construct a route trace 405 that comprises a plurality of location data points representative of locations of the navigation device 200 throughout at least part of a journey”);
…
… determine, based on the location points, trip endpoints associated with respective start locations and end locations of one or more trips (See Figure 15 which includes a start location 410 and end location 415, as disclosed [0164] “Examples of identity sensitive locations include a start location 410 of the route trace 405, a destination 415 and/or one or more intermediate or waypoint locations 420 specified or input by the user” and [0169] “In this way, it is more difficult for the user to be identified by cross referencing potentially identity sensitive locations 410, 415, 420 of the route trace 405, such as the start 410 and/or finish 415”);
determine one or more places of interest for a user of the user computing device based on the trip endpoints ([0151] “By touching the "Navigate to" virtual button 308, the navigation device 200 switches to display (as shown in FIG. 8) a plurality of virtual buttons that are each associated with a different category of selectable destinations. In this instance, the display shows a "home" button that if pressed would set the destination to a stored home location. The "favourite" button, if pressed, reveals a list of destinations that the user has previously stored in the navigation device 200 and if one of these destinations is then selected the destination for the route to be calculated is set to the selected previously stored destination. The "recent destination" soft button, if pressed, reveals a list of selectable destinations held in the memory of the navigation device 200 and to which the user has recently navigated. Selection of one of the destinations populating this list would set the destination location for this route to the selected (previously visited) location. The "point of interest" button, if pressed, reveals a number of options by means of which a user can opt to navigate to any of a plurality of locations, such as Automatic Teller Machines (ATMs), petrol stations or tourist attractions for example, that have been pre-stored in the navigation device 200 as locations to which a user of the navigation device 200 might want to navigate to”);
…
indicate location points that fall within the one or more geo-fenced regions associated with the one or more places of interest and location points associated with one or more low-density population areas as being non-shareable with third parties ([0051] “Conversely, identity sensitive locations having a low feature density may be indicative of sparsely populated areas, where potential addresses may be widely separated. In such cases, the size of the associated identity sensitive portion may be increased, thereby increasing the amount of location data removed from the route around the identity sensitive location” and [0178] “Data that characterises features associated with an identity sensitive location 410, 415, 420 may also be used to determine or adjust the associated identity sensitive portion 425, 430, 435 that is removed from the route trace” which teaches that the low-density population areas may be anonymized from the route, or location data being removed, to prevent being shared to third parties, as disclosed [0041] “In this way, a third party looking at the anonymized traces wont know which anonymized trace contains a start of the journey or an end of a journey”).
Although Boschker discloses of determining location points and the trip points associated with the route’s start and end points by tracing the GPS sensor data, the prior art does not seem to explicitly disclose of motion-based features (e.g. acceleration patterns) to determine the driving state of the user. However, Neuner teaches:
receive, via the communication interface and from a user computing device, sensor data that specifies a plurality of location points at which the user computing device was located and that indicates motion-based features of the user computing device, wherein the sensor data is captured by one or more sensors of the user computing device ([0021-0023] “The sensors used by the application may include some or all of the following sensors, as well as any other sensors providing relevant information: a) GPS data may be used, for example, for detecting a starting point from which a user departs, such as a parking place, home, office, etc. … c) Accelerometer data may be used to detect a walking state and walking speed. Similarly, driving may be detected by recognizing acceleration and deceleration patterns”);
identify, from the motion-based features and using one or more models, acceleration patterns associated with the user computing device ([0034] “FIG. 2A is a flowchart showing an exemplary algorithm for determining whether a car is in driving state … In step 220 the accelerometer is sampled to identify acceleration & deceleration patterns associated with driving in a city 230”);
determine, based at least in part on one or more temporal relationships between one or more impact events … indicated in the acceleration patterns, … whether the [vehicle is being driven] ([0034] “In step 220 the accelerometer is sampled to identify acceleration & deceleration patterns associated with driving in a city 230 … In step 290 the information derived from all the above sensors is used to determine the probability of the car being in a driving state”);
after determining that the user computing device is being used in the vehicle mode of transport where the user of the user computing device is driving, determine, based on the location points, trip endpoints associated with respective start locations and end locations of one or more trips (See Figure 3, as disclosed [0039] “In one embodiment, a first condition for identifying parking is that the car's previous state was driving 300 … The parking event is used as a trigger to activate the GPS 320 and calculate the location of the parking spot 330, which will be used for identifying when the user is re-approaching the car” wherein the GPS is used to determine a starting point, as disclosed [0022] “a) GPS data may be used, for example, for detecting a starting point from which a user departs, such as a parking place, home, office, etc.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the system to determine the driving state of the user based on acceleration/deceleration as in Neuner in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to [0002-0004] improve accuracy in tracking user location and increase battery life efficiency by utilizing sensors other than the GPS as taught by Neuner over that of Boschker.
Although Neuner teaches of determining the driving state of the vehicle by sampling accelerometer to determine acceleration patterns, and the GPS, the prior art does not seem to explicitly disclose of determining the user computing device location (e.g. driver or passenger) based on impact events indicated in the acceleration patterns. However, Cordova teaches:
determine, based at least in part on one or more temporal relationships between one or more impact events comprising a first impact event and a second impact event indicated in the acceleration patterns, whether the user computing device is located in a front portion or rear portion of a vehicle during one or more trips, wherein the first impact event is associated with a first acceleration peak when encountering a road feature and the second impact event is associated with a second acceleration peak when encountering the road feature, and wherein determining whether the user computing device is located in the front portion or the rear portion of the vehicle is based on comparing a relative amplitude of the first acceleration peak and the second acceleration peak, and when the user computing device is determined to be located in the front portion of the vehicle, whether the user of the user computing device is driving the vehicle or is a passenger in the vehicle ([0026] “As an example, the bump detection method can include detecting bumps between the initial entry signal and the terminal exit signal … The bump detection method can also include detecting if there are two z-acceleration values above a second predetermined threshold within a predetermined time period, determining that a bump was hit by the front axle and the back axle of the vehicle, and comparing a magnitude of the z-acceleration associated with the bump being hit by the front axle and the z-acceleration associated with the bump being hit by the back axle. The bump detection method can further include determining that the mobile device is in the front of the vehicle if the z-acceleration associated with the bump being hit by the front axle and the z-acceleration associated with the bump being hit by the back axle are approximately equivalent and determining that the mobile device is in the back of the vehicle if the z acceleration z-acceleration associated with the bump being hit by the front axle is less than the z-acceleration associated with the bump being hit by the back axle” and see also Figures 18B and 18C showing the graph of the two accelerations from front of car and back of car);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the system to determine the mobile device location of the vehicle based on the acceleration patterns from a bump detection method as in Cordova in the system executing the method of Neuner with the motivation of offering to [0003] and [0100] improve driver identification, accuracy for signal determination and precision as taught by Cordova over that of Neuner.
Although Boschker teaches of anonymizing areas or location points from the route, the prior art does not seem to explicitly disclose of refraining from communicating location data until it leaves the respective geo-fenced regions. However, JAIN discloses:
communicate, to the user computing device, a geo-fence configuration file that specifies one or more geo-fenced regions associated respectively with the one or more places of interest and that causes the user computing device to transition from operating in a first operating mode where the user computing device communicates location data while located within respective geo-fenced regions associated with the one or more points of interest to a second operating mode where the user computing device refrains from communicating location data until after determining that it has left the respective geo-fenced regions associated with the one or more point of interests ([0012] “The geo-fencing application may also be configured to switch to a mode where location information is collected less frequently or not at all while the associated mobile device is within an area represented by a passive geo-fence and resume the original frequency of location collection when the mobile device has left the area represented by a passive geo-fence” or see also [0014] “In one embodiment, a passive geo-fence may be created to represent an area within an active (or a. non-passive) geo fence (a geo-fence that represents an engagement area as defined by the service provider) … In operation, when a mobile device enters a geo-fence (an active geo-fence) that encompasses a passive geo-fence, the geo-fencing application reports the location information to the associated server system, but stops reporting the location information to the server when the mobile device enters the passive geo-fence, even though the mobile device is still within the area represented by the active geo-fence”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize switching the mode from communicating location data to not communicating the location data until the device leaves the passive geo-fence area as in JAIN in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to improve user experience by allowing selection of active and passive geo-fence areas which increases privacy and security as taught by JAIN over that of Boschker.
As per claims 2 and 16, Boschker teaches the computing system of claim 1, and the method of claim 15, wherein receiving the sensor data comprises receiving data captured by one or more of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, a barometer, a gravitometer, a proximity sensor, an ambient light sensor, an ambient temperature sensor, an orientation sensor, a pedometer, an altimeter, a satellite positioning sensor, or an activity recognition sensor built into the user computing device ([0035] “The position determining apparatus may comprise a GPS apparatus and/or a triangulation device, such as a microwave or radio frequency triangulation device”).
As per claim 7, Boschker may not explicitly disclose but JAIN teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein data that specifies the one or more geo-fenced regions omits identifying location data associated with the user of the user computing device ([0012] “A geo-fencing application executing on a mobile device may be configured to detect, based on the monitored location information, that the associated mobile device has entered the area represented by a passive geo-fence and stop reporting location information to the server until the mobile device is outside the area represented by the passive geo-fence”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the passive geo-fence which stops reporting location data as in JAIN in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to improve user experience by allowing selection of passive geo-fence areas which increases privacy and security as taught by JAIN over that of Boschker.
Claims 3-6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boschker, in view of Neuner in further view of Cordova , in view of JAIN, and in view of You et al. (U.S. 2016/0050536).
As per claims 3 and 17, Boschker teaches the computing system of claim 1, and the method of claim 15, wherein determining the one or more places of interest based on the trip end points comprises:
retrieving, from a historical trip information database, trip information identifying a plurality of trips taken by the user of the user computing device and captured by the user computing device ([0055] “The determination or variation of the identity sensitive portion may be dependent on user data, which may be stored on or accessible by the navigation and/or mapping device. The user data may comprise locations associated with and/or provided by and/or selected by the user. The user data may be stored in the memory of the device and/or may be retrieved from the server via the communications apparatus and/or input by the user”);
generating a list of trip endpoints based on the trip information retrieved from the historical trip information database ([0055] “Examples of suitable user data include a favourites list and/or recently visited locations and/or frequently visited locations and/or home or work locations”);
Boschker may not explicitly disclose, but You teaches:
applying a clustering algorithm to the list of trip endpoints to identify a plurality of clusters associated with the user of the user computing device (See Figure 3 – step 304, as disclosed [0036] “With the extracted features for each data point known, a clustering approach is applied at stage 304 to the set of extracted features to generate geographic position clusters corresponding to user locations of interest”);
determining a plurality of cluster center points for different clusters of the plurality of clusters ([0030] “To generate the radius for a given cluster, the distances between cluster points and the cluster centroid are calculated” wherein it’s obvious that the cluster centroid has been determined first to be used as a variable for the calculation);
determining a plurality of cluster radiuses for different clusters of the plurality of clusters ([0030] “Once the clusters are labeled, the radius of each cluster is calculated in an embodiment so that the radius can be used for further detection of unknown locations”); and
identifying one or more clusters of the plurality of clusters associated with the user of the user computing device as the one or more places of interest for the user of the user computing device (See Figure 4, as disclosed [0037] “Having identified a number of user locations of interest (clusters) through execution of the process 300, the device then labels each identified location of interest. An example labeling process 400 is shown in the flowchart of FIG. 4”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize clustering algorithm as in You in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to provide [0002-0003] “assistance or value to a user while the user passes among locations that are not known locations of interest” as taught by You over that of Boschker.
As per claims 4 and 18, Boschker teaches the computing system of claim 3, and the method of claim 17, wherein retrieving the trip information identifying the plurality of trips taken by the user of the user computing device and captured by the user computing device comprises retrieving data associated with a predetermined number of most recent trips taken by the user of the user computing device and captured by the user computing device ([0151] “The "recent destination" soft button, if pressed, reveals a list of selectable destinations held in the memory of the navigation device 200 and to which the user has recently navigated”).
As per claims 5 and 19, Boschker teaches the computing system of claim 3, and the method of claim 17, wherein the trip endpoints are specified in terms of latitude and longitude coordinates ([0161] “Once the destination has been set by the user and the navigation device 200 has commenced navigating the user, the navigation device 200, via the processor 202 and the GPS receiver 224 constituting a location determination unit, monitors the location of the navigation device 200 … Using longitude and latitude data relating to the location of the navigation device 200, the map data processor 290 accesses the map data 293 and retrieves terrain data 294, land use data 296 and road data 298”).
As per claim 6, Boschker may not explicitly disclose, but You teaches the computing system of claim 3, wherein communicating the geo-fence configuration file that specifies the one or more geo-fenced regions associated respectively with the one or more places of interest comprises defining the one or more geo-fenced regions around the one or more places of interest, respectively, based on the plurality of cluster center points determined for the different clusters of the plurality of clusters associated with the user of the user computing device and the plurality of cluster radiuses determined for the different clusters of the plurality of clusters associated with the user of the user computing device (See Figure 2 displaying a radius around each place of interest, as disclosed [0028] “After a number of location clusters have been obtained from the clustering process, labeling criteria are applied to each cluster to automatically label the clusters” and [0030] “Once the clusters are labeled, the radius of each cluster is calculated in an embodiment so that the radius can be used for further detection of unknown locations”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining a radius around each place of interest as in You in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to provide [0002-0003] “assistance or value to a user while the user passes among locations that are not known locations of interest” as taught by You over that of Boschker.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boschker, in view of Neuner in further view of Cordova , in view of JAIN, and in view of Phillips et al. (U.S. 2006/0270421).
As per claim 9, Boschker may not explicitly disclose, but Phillips teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the memory stores additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
based on communicating the geo-fence configuration file:
communicate, via the communication interface, to the user computing device, a notification indicating that the one or more geo-fence regions have been set ([0078] “In still yet another embodiment, the aggregate data 102 may be processed to provide a service to a plurality of users ... This transmission of data may be in the form of an alert, such as a text message, e-mail, automated telephone call, and so forth”), wherein communicating the notification to the user computing device causes the user computing device to wake and display the notification indicating that the one or more geo-fence regions have been set ([0087] “The application server 100 may host an alert application. The alert application may transmit the alert to a user in response to the occurrence of an event designated by the user as an alert-generating event” and also [0123] “The file or message may contain code the enables a specific user interface capability for the portable electronic facility 300, so that it displays a version of the user interface 1000 based on the contents of the electronic storage file 1004, message or other contents” wherein the notification indicating change or update of the information may cause the device to wake and display, as disclosed [0154] “The method may involve receiving location information 1100 on the portable electronic facility 300 and effecting a change on the portable electronic facility based on the location information 1100. The change may involve activating the portable electronic device, powering off portable electronic device, placing the portable electronic device in standby mode, starting an application, stopping an application or the output of information. The output may involve audio, video, a picture related a location, fax, email, instant message, text message, SMS, internet protocol, voice, voicemail, vibration, stimulation at least one of the five senses or an alert. The alert may involve fax, email, instant message, text message, SMS, internet protocol, voice, voicemail, vibration or stimulation of at least one of the five senses”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize notifications for data (e.g. geo-fence set-up) as in Phillips in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to provide [0004] “improved systems for using location-based information for a variety of purposes” as taught by Phillips over that of Boschker.
As per claim 14, Boschker may not explicitly disclose, but Phillips teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the user is a first user, the user computing device is a first user device, the sensor data is first sensor data, and the memory stores additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
capture, by a second user computing device, second sensor data using one or more sensors built into the second user computing device ([0015] “The information may be received via a sensor, which may measure the parameters of a device, facility or vehicle” and [0016] “The present invention may provide methods and systems for location determination involving capturing characteristics of a location using a portable electronic facility, transmitting those characteristics and receiving location based information. The characteristics may be captured as a picture, a photograph, verbally or using at least one sensor”);
receive, via the communication interface, from the second user computing device, the second sensor data captured by the second user computing device ([0071] “Referring to FIG. 4, the disclosed invention may gather a datum 104 from a portable electronic facility 300. The datum 104 may be stored in the database 100. In particular, the datum 104 may be representative of a position and/or velocity associated with the portable electronic facility 300. Alternatively or additionally, the datum may be representative of an output value from a sensor associated with the portable electronic facility 300 … The aggregate of a plurality of datum 104 from one or more portable electronic facilities 300 may comprise aggregate data 102, which may be stored within the database 100” wherein [0072] “Referring again to FIG. 1, the aggregate data 102 may flow from the database 100 to the application server 108” and also [0073] “Referring to FIG. 2, the aggregate data 102, in whole or in part, may be provided to a third-party service provider 200 in a predetermined format”. See also [0123] “Referring now to FIG. 10, the present invention may provide an adaptable user interface 1000, which may transmit a current location 1002 of a portable electronic facility 300, such as to another device or system”);
analyze the second sensor data received from the second user computing device ([0024] “The present invention may provide methods and systems of analyzing information related to at least one portable electronic facility involving transmitting information from the at least one portable electronic facility and analyzing such information using an analysis engine”. See also [0072-0079] which teaches various processes of analyzing the received data);
determine a second set of one or more places of interest for a second user of the second user computing device based on analyzing the second sensor data received from the second user computing device (the sensor data is provided to the third-party service provider which provides services, as disclosed [0073] “the aggregate data 102, in whole or in part, may be provided to a third-party service provider 200” and [0074] “The third-party service provider 200 may in turn provide a service to the first end user 202 or the second end user 204, wherein the service may be associated with the data”, by which the services include providing places of interest with respect to the received user location data, as disclosed [0075] “This may be useful in many applications including, but not limited to, a service that provides to the end user a map showing the location of the user and the user's immediate surroundings; a service that provides to the end user a map showing the location of a point of interest in the vicinity of the user; a service that provides to the end user a map showing the location of another user; a service that provides to the end user a map showing the location of a pet associated with the user, wherein the pet may be fitted with a collar containing a portable electronic facility; the establishment of a geofence (described below in detail) and the monitoring of the portable electronic facility with respect to its crossing the geofence; and so forth”);
generate a second geo-fence configuration file for the second user computing device based on determining the second set of one or more places of interest for the second user of the second user computing device, wherein the second geo-fence configuration file generated for the second user computing device comprises second configuration information defining at least one geo-fence around a place of interest of the second set of one or more places of interest for the second user of the second user computing device (See Figures 9-11 wherein the portable electronic facility 300 (user computing device) and adaptable user interface 1000 (communication interface) receives electronic storage file to generate and update geo-fence interface, as disclosed in [0111] and [0123-0124]. See also [0140-0143] disclosing various examples of establishing geo-fences); and
send, via the communication interface, to the second user computing device, the second geo-fence configuration file generated for the second user computing device, wherein sending the second geo-fence configuration file to the second user computing device causes the second user computing device to update one or more configuration settings to implement the at least one geo- fence defined by the second configuration information included in the second geo-fence configuration file (See Figure 9, as disclosed [0111] “Referring now to FIG. 9, as mentioned above, the location services facility may support a geofencing application that involves the geofence 900”, which teaches of implementing a geo-fence interface, and Figure 10 and [0124] discloses of files to update the user interface information, e.g. configuration file to update the geo-fence application).
Examiner’s Note: [0026] “A network of portable electronic facilities may be provided, allowing communication among portable electronic facilities, including information based on the tracked locations of the portable electronic facilities” teaches that another portable electronic facility, e.g. a second user computing device, may be used to perform the recited process above, since the claim limitations do not perform any interactions and/or communications between the first user computing device and the second user computing device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the second device to capture and provide second geo-fence configuration as in Phillips in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to provide [0004] “improved systems for using location-based information for a variety of purposes” as taught by Phillips over that of Boschker.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boschker, in view of Neuner in further view of Cordova , in view of JAIN, and in view of Haro et al. (U.S. 2015/0319568).
As per claim 10, Boschker may not explicitly disclose, but Haro teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the memory stores additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
based on communicating the geo-fence configuration file, communicate the geo-fence configuration file to a data analyst console computing device, wherein communicating the geo-fence configuration file to the data analyst console computing device causes the data analyst console computing device to wake and display map information associated with the one or more geo-fence regions ([0040] “The TMSS 107 may also transmit the refined location of the first MHSD and the geo-fence information to a second mobile device for display. For instance, a child may be in possession of the first MHSD while a parent monitoring the child's location with respect to the geo-fence may be in possession of the second MHSD. Accordingly, the second MHSD may receive the refined location of the first MHSD and the geo-fence information and may display the geo-fence and the refined location of the first MHSD on a map on its display device. In some embodiments, the TMSS 107 generates an alert (e.g., sound, visual, image, text) to be displayed (or generated) by the display device 108 or by the second MHSD when the first MHSD 101's refined location crosses the geo-fence”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending the geo-fence information to another device to display as in Haro in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to [0005] more accurately monitor geo-fence boundaries, e.g., monitoring a child's whereabouts with respect to a set perimeter, as taught by Haro over that of Boschker.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boschker, in view of Neuner in further view of Cordova , in view of JAIN, and in view of Kentley et al. (U.S. 2017/0126810).
As per claim 11, Boschker may not explicitly disclose, but Kentley teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the memory stores additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
based on communicating the geo-fence configuration file:
generate one or more autonomous driving commands for a vehicle used in completing a vehicle trip recorded in the sensor data received from the user computing device ([0068] “Planner 364 is configured to receive perception data from perception engine 366, and may also include localizer data from localizer 368. According to some examples, the perception data may include an obstacle map specifying static and dynamic objects located in the vicinity of an autonomous vehicle, whereas the localizer data may include a local pose or position. In operation, planner 364 generates numerous trajectories, and evaluates the trajectories, based on at least the location of the autonomous vehicle against relative locations of external dynamic and static objects. Planner 364 selects an optimal trajectory based on a variety of criteria over which to direct the autonomous vehicle in way that provides for collision-free travel”); and
send the one or more autonomous driving commands to the vehicle used in completing the vehicle trip recorded in the sensor data received from the user computing device, wherein sending the one or more autonomous driving commands to the vehicle used in completing the vehicle trip recorded in the sensor data received from the user computing device causes the vehicle to execute one or more autonomous driving actions in accordance with the one or more autonomous driving commands ([0068] “Further, planner 364 may transmit steering and propulsion commands (as well as decelerating or braking commands) to motion controller 362. Motion controller 362 subsequently may convert any of the commands, such as a steering command, a throttle or propulsion command, and a braking command, into control signals (e.g., for application to actuators or other mechanical interfaces) to implement changes in steering or wheel angles 351 and/or velocity 353”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize autonomous driving commands according to the trip as in Kentley in the system executing the method of Boschker with the motivation of offering to [0003-0007] provide improved autonomous driving vehicles to address safety risks, as taught by Kentley over that of Boschker.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boschker, in view of Neuner in further view of Cordova , in view of JAIN, in view of Parecki et al. (US 9411967 B2), and in view of Glasgow (US 20160225000 A1).
As per claim 25, Boschker may not explicitly disclose, but Parecki teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the computing system to:
delay a start of sensor data collection for a period after the user computing device has left a start point to obscure the start point of the user computing device ([Col 14 Lines 17-39] “In some implementations, user groups can create a Temporary Autonomous Zone (TAZ), a dynamically-generated blind spot or privacy, as defined above, produced for two or more IP-connected devices predefined as members of a TAZ … This temporary cache operates analogously to a tape-delay. Within the defined delay timeframe, the user can access the stored location data by means of an interface, and edit or delete it before it is reported …”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize delaying data collection for privacy as in Parecki in the system executing the method of Boschker, with the motivation of offering to [Col 1 Lines 15-27] allow users to have more control over their personal information as taught by Parecki over that of Boschker.
Boschker may not explicitly disclose, but Glasgow teaches:
perform a fourth data anonymization by anonymizing data related to a real-time traffic aggregation service ([0039] “If the anonymized reporting program is a traffic reporting program, then the user's geo-location information (e.g., extracted from the user's mobile cellular endpoint device) can be aggregated with other users' geo-location information to provide a comprehensive view as to the local traffic condition … Thus, by using the user's geo-location information, the anonymized reporting program is now able to provide a real-time traffic condition service that it otherwise would not be able to provide with such accuracy”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize anonymization related to real-time traffic aggregation service as in Glasgow in the system executing the method of Boschker, with the motivation of offering to [0039] improve accuracy for the real-time traffic condition service while ensuring privacy for the users as taught by Glasgow over that of Boschker.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11 to 16, filed 21-July-2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Armitage et al. (US 20140025225 A1) discloses [0036] “In even further examples, when vehicle monitor 120 and mobile phone 121 each include acceleration sensors, the acceleration data could be compared between vehicle monitor 120 and mobile phone 121, or among multiple mobile phones within truck 110. During acceleration events, such as turns, cornering, bumps, or other events, differences in acceleration among the various devices can indicate a position within truck 110 … For example, if mobile phone 121 is located near to the driver's seat or body during use of mobile phone 121, then collection node 150 could determine that the driver is associated with mobile phone 121 at that time”;
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY H JUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695